Errols Weekly Music Update.

June 24, 2011

Weekly Update – 06/24/2011

Allman Brothers at the Beacon Theater on Wed. July 27 for a benefit show whereby the proceeds will be donated to community-based organizations that provide education and support services to people with chronic hepatitis C. Tickets on sale now. $73.35 and $169.55.

Tedeschi Trucks Band at the Beacon on Sat. Sept. 10. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $63.15 and $99.95 (Already in with “pre-sale” tickets yesterday).

Bob Dylan and Leon Russell at Jones Beach on Sat. Aug. 13. Tickets on sale Mon. June 27 at 10:00 a.m. (If you have a Citi card you can purchase “pre-sale” tickets up until 11:59 p.m. Sun. June 26).$34, $69, $89.90 and $143.50.

Stevie Nicks at PNC Bank Arts Center on Thurs. Sept. 1 and at Jones Beach on Sun. Sept. 4. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. PNC: $25, $62.35, $84.50, $143.50 and $201; Jones: $27, $52, $62.50, $84.70 and $201.

Elvis Costello at the United Palace Theater on Sat. Rocktober 1 and at the Wellmont Theater on Thurs. Rocktober 6. Tickets on sale today at noon. United: $60.05, $70.30, $90.85 and $138.10; Wellmont:$45, $55, $95 and $125.

Sugarland at the Mohegan Sun on Fri. & Sat. Rocktober 14 and 15. Tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. $70.45 and $90.90

Britney Spears at the XL Center in Hartford CT on Tues. Aug. 9. Pre-sale on now if you own a Citi card until 5:00 p.m. tonight. General public tickets on sale Mon. June 27 at 10:00 a.m. $26.50, $56.50, $92.50, $172 and $347. (You have to be out of your mind if you buy the $347 tickets).

Alien Ant Farm at the Gramercy Theater on Sat. Aug. 6. Tickets on sale today at noon. $19

Other items:

Thoughts and prayers go out to the family and friends (including all the members of Bruce’s E-Street Band) on the terribly sad passing of Mr. Clarence “Big Man” Clemons. I was under the impression that he was going to come out of his sickness and would eventually get back on stage with Bruce and company. Bruce’s words were poignant and passionate as one could feel his heavy heart. I think it goes without saying that their band will never be the same without the Big Man but you know that Clarence would want for Bruce and the E-Street band to continue on. This is such a sad event and it is weird feeling to encounter because we never think that our contemporaries will pass on, we still feel like it is 1981, right? It is foreign to me to have the songs that I listened to while growing up are now being played on the “oldies” format and then beyond confusing when legends like Clarence leave this world. Again, a very sad happening. Rest in peace Clarence.

U2 and Bono made a touching tribute to Clarence at a show in California earlier this week as they prepared to play the awesome “Moment of Surrender” song. You can see a clip of it here http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/06/20/u2-dedicates-song-to-clar_n_880680.html. Very nice touch gentlemen!!!

Thoughts and prayers go out to Leslie West for a speedy recovery after having emergency surgery last weekend to remove one of his legs below his knee after it swelled up significantly on June 18. He is expected to make a healthy recovery but faces extensive rehabilitation. Best wishes Leslie for a healthy recovery.

Sad news about Glen Campbell. It was just released that he is in the beginning stages of Alzheimer’s. My thoughts and prayers are with you Glen, and your family and friends.

Doctors have informed Adele that she should not sing (and also not speak too much) for the next month or so as she tries to recover from laryngitis. Her North American tour has been postponed for the time being and there is a chance that if she doesn’t take care of her vocals, she could do some serious damage to them that could last a lifetime. I’m no doctor and don’t want to sound like I’m preaching, but her bad habit of smoking can’t really be helping, right?

Sean Kingston seems to be making a nice recovery from his jet ski accident almost a month ago as he recently posted a picture on Twitter and thanking his fans for all the warm wishes and prayers. Doctors say he should make a full recovery in six months. This really is something considering he was near death after the crash. He was just released from the hospital. All the best Sean!!!

Talk about your “Odd Couple” music matchings- Metallica has teamed up with the legendary Lou Reed and they have recorded 12 songs together. The “unnamed” album has no release date as of yet but I will keep you posted. Apparently after the “once in a lifetime” Rock and Roll Hall of Fame concert(s) at Madison Square Garden a few years ago, where the boys jammed with Reed, sparked an interest between the two which led to recent Lou Reed sightings in the hometown of Metallica-San Francisco-fueling the rumor mill that a collaboration was occurring. This has to peak your interest, no?

Mick Jagger has formed his own “super-group” and its name is “SuperHeavy” which includes Dave Stewart, Joss Stone, Damian Marley and A.R. Rahman (composer). Their album will be released in September. The first single-“Miracle Worker”- will be released soon as they are working on the video. Jagger actually sings in Urdu for a song called “Satyameva Javate” which translates into “the truth alone triumphs.”

My favorite “rock” song of the week is “God of Thunder” by KISS. I love the way Gene is supposed to be so demonic and now seeing him on his own TV reality show kind of makes me chuckle when I listen now a days. “I am the lord of the waste lands…and I command thee to kneel.” They don’t make songs like this anymore.

Nuggets

Mechanical Resonance

 

Tesla. I can recall the first time that Tesla came into my radar-it was after the Diamond Dave/Van Halen debacle whereby either Dave left on his own or Eddie dismissed him. I was not a happy camper because I felt Roth was “the guy” for Van Halen (although as you know I quickly warmed up to the Red Rocker taking over the controls as the front man). So I followed both bands after the split up. Dave grabbed Steve Vai for guitar and Billy Sheenah on bass and quickly formed an “all-star” rock band which would be the template for future mixing and matching of talents to form “super groups.” (Ironically Hagar has now done the same thing by drafting Joe Satriani, Michael Anthony and Chad Smith for the new superband-“Chickenfoot”). Anyways, Diamond Dave headed out on tour with Vai and Sheehan and guess who they tapped to be the opener? Yes that’s right-Tesla. Now I go through phases with opening acts because sometimes I easily dismiss them (which is a flaw in my character I guess) and other times I embrace the idea and hope that the opening band pulls me in so that I have another act to follow. I don’t know why I am not consistent with the approach of trying to find more bands, although in some cases I do know the openers but probably choose not to go.

With Tesla, I did not know who they were and this was before their most recognized song-“Signs”-(which is a cover) was released, so I had not heard one song on the radio by these guys but once they took to the stage I started to notice that something real good was happening. Little by little after every song they performed my interest in purchasing their music sky rocketed and by the end of the show I was hooked. To this day, Tesla was the best opening band that I have ever seen and the day after that concert I ran to the music store and bought their debut album-“Mechanical Resonance”- and the rest as they say is “history.” To this day, Tesla remains one of my most favorite bands and yes folks these guys still create new music while touring their ass off every year and remain one of the hardest working bands out there. I ran into a fellow “Brooklyn-nite” at the Sully Erna show and he thought Tesla stop making albums in the 1980’s. After losing my breath and vision for a few seconds, I came to; then informed him of his fallacy with the hopes that he would explore this awesome band from Sacramento, CA.

“Mechanical Resonance” is an album that I listen to “top to bottom” and in my opinion there is not a bad song on the entire work but I recognize that I have a biased opinion of these guys-they can never do any wrong. So I know there are songs on this that the “general” public would probably skip over, hence the reason why it lands here in the “nuggets” section of the blog. If you want to get over the notion that Tesla is some kind of “hair-band” or that they only have “one” song (Signs) then my recommendation is to start with their debut and work your way through their impressive catalog-“satisfaction guaranteed or your money back.” C’mon what do you have to lose? Here they are the golden nuggets from MR and the band named Tesla (in no particular order).

Getting Better – I remember the first time I heard this song I thought it was going to be a slow ballad but then at the 1:07 mark, it kicks into straight up rock and roll. This is and has always been one of the fan favorites at their live shows. If you are one of those folks who thinks that “Signs” is the only song they have, why not take a stroll down this lane with “Getting Better” and if you say you don’t like it- you are lying to yourself and to me. Jeff Keith is/has been one of the best rock singers in the business for some time now and he shines brightly in this upbeat track. “Ahh it’s getting’ better now…everyday…yeah yeah yeah.”

Changes – Arguably the best track on the album and also has to land in their top ten songs of all-time. The guitar riff is so addictive that you won’t be able to get it out of your head. Once the tempo picks up the song becomes that much better. Tell me Jeff doesn’t knock this one out of the ball park with his great vocals?!! The guitar solo is rip roaring and if this doesn’t prove that they were not a “hair-band” then I don’t know what will. The arrangement is second to none and in my opinion this is one of their many “masterpieces.” “Times making changes in my life…changing you and me…”

Modern Day Cowboy – If you like rock music, then it is nearly impossible not to like this song. A couple of summers ago there was a local fair in a town nearby and this one ride had all these “classic” and “hard” rock tunes streaming over the speakers at a very loud decibels and once this song came on I freaked and immediately ran near the gates surrounding the ride to jam away. I don’t think this song gets the deserved attention that it truly deserves (although “Rock Band” did add this song to its catalog). This track usually creates a frenzy at their shows because the guitar work is so good, the solo is righteous. Great summer song!!!

Rock Me To The Top – Tesla rocks baby and the proof is in the pudding with this bad boy. Yes it may remind you of Def Leppard (especially the background vocals) but what is wrong with that, especially the “early” Leppard when they were cutting their teeth and trying to make it in the business. Take a listen to these guitars and tell me these guys aren’t talented? It kills me that this band doesn’t get the respect it deserves, this is some good rock and roll here folks. This could be a good work out song because it moves.

Little Suzi – Another crowd pleaser, I’m telling you folks it doesn’t get much better than the songs I have listed so far, including this one. I would put this song up to any rock song out there and it can go “toe-to-toe” with the best of ‘em. The acoustic guitar work is infectious and the injection of the electric guitar makes Tesla one of the best bands out there to incorporate both sides of the guitar into their songs. Put on a great set of headphones and squeeze until your ears almost meet inside your head and tell me this song isn’t great?!

Comin’ Atcha Live – Another great workout song (beginning will remind you of Van Halen’s “Eruption”) but it takes just about a minute to get rollin’ but once it does watch out. The drums are incredible and it keeps the train buzzing along at break-neck speed. The weird thing is that this song was used extensively at their “Acoustic” shows and most people forget that this is an “electric” guitar song where the speed is much faster than the acoustic concerts. The guitar solo is spellbinding and it has to make you want to give someone a “high five” like they just scored the winning basket in the final seconds of a championship series game. This again is “straight up rock and roll, no additives or preservatives!!!” Hard not to like this song.

Songs That You Are Scared To Admit You Like

 

The Tide Is High – Blondie– Ok now that summer is here there are usually some songs that seem to get more air-time during this season than at other points of the calendar year and the drums that start this song make it seem like you are on a Caribbean beach (and also eerily similar to “Summertime” by Will Smith, looks like Will borrowed part of this song). Whenever I do hear this song the chorus stays in my head all day long- it is very addictive. “The tide is high but I’m moving on…number one…number one…”

Fight For Your Right – Beastie Boys– I think I read somewhere that the Beasties did not want to make this record because they thought it was a joke and maybe it is but I can’t get enough of this song. The lyrics are juvenile and listening to the production now seems a little dated (but at the time it was by far the coolest thing out) and it is a little scary for me to bounce around the house with my baseball cap turned sideways (for those of you who know me) and mimic these guys. I can recall being at a party for one of my brother’s best friend and he stole the spotlight as he was singing and dancing all over the place, he ruled the floor as the people around him said-“wow he really likes that song.” “Ahh mommy’s just jealous…it’s the Beastie Boys!!!!”

Daybreak – Barry Manilow– There are guilty pleasures and then there is Barry Manilow. It is like a lightning rod every time I mention him on this blog (which has only been a few times) and emotions run high but I have to be real and state that I absolutely love this song. It has the obligatory hand clap and an infectious melody that has to make you sing along with him. For some reason I can just picture him singing this on “American Bandstand” and being interviewed by Mr. Dick Clark. I can listen to this song all day long.

The Way We Were – Barbara Streisand– When you are married to the biggest Barbara Streisand fan who owns much of her catalog it is hard not to like her songs and this one always stands out in my mind. This is a tough song to listen to if you are in a sad mood because it will bring tears to your eyes. A classic tune and I’m not sure this song belongs on this list but I am assuming I made the right call.

Jaded – Aerosmith – I know there used to be a lot of complaints about how Aerosmith turned into this “power ballad” machine during the 1990’s and for the most part I agreed with that assessment but I also liked most of those songs. Now this isn’t a ballad but you can’t get any more “pop” than this song and most die-hard fans of Aerosmith don’t even recognize this song-it is like they kicked it out of their catalog and memory forever. Again I am okay with that but I will keep the “pop” alive and happily listen-“My, my, baby blue…yeah you’re so jaded…I’m the one who jaded you.”

Lost Without Your Love – Bread– I love this band and can’t get enough of their spectacular songs which help define the great music for the decade of 1970. This song is beautiful and I will never be afraid to admit I love this tune. Mr. Gates had this way of making you drift off into another stratosphere and this song is the epitome of that statement.

More Than Words – Extreme – Talk about the ultimate “power ballad” from a rocking band-this song is the poster child for that subject and it is weird how most of the general population can probably only name one song that Extreme did-yes this would be it. Now it was (is) not cool for the “rocker” to admit that they love this song so I will do it for them- I can’t get enough of this tune. “Hold me close…don’t ev-her let me go…more than words.” Power ballad at its best. Love this tune.

Faith – George Michael – C’mon you know you like the acoustic riff and the infectious melody, especially the chorus-“cause I got to have faith…I gotta have faith…I gotta have faith, faith, faith.” Hey which version would you rather listen to-this one or Limp Bizkit’s version? (Don’t even say Bizkit). This is another song that is hard to get out of your head once you listen to it.

Shannon – Henry Gross– This one hit wonder always brings me back to my summers spent as a child/teenager up in Otisville N.Y. and this was forever played on WABC AM radio by either Ron Lundy or Harry Harrison as the most popular DJ’s. Is it cheesy?-Yes; Is it “bubble-gum?”-Yes; but I love it. Hey there is such a thing as cheesy popcorn, right? “Shannon is gone I heard she’s drifting off to sea…”

When I Need You – Leo Sayer– At our last family game of Scrabble, I put this song on the “set-list” and you had to see the reactions of both my boys’-it was like they had eaten something very sour. They immediately said that it was from the “1970’s” and they would be correct but my wife and I were singing it word for word (which just intensified their dislike). I say- what do they know? Love this song!!!

Mambo No. 5 (A Little Bit Of) – Lou Bega– I just recently learned that it is not cool to admit that you like this song. I don’t know why that is because this is one of my most favorite “dance” songs. I can remember when our family made a trip down to Disney in FL and my wife and I were able to go out dancing and when this song came on, I was like Tom Cruise in “Risky Business” as I was in my own world dancing like crazy. Love this song.

The Morning After – Maureen McGovern– These songs are on my I-Pod so I kid you not. I love these “classic old school” type of songs. When is the last time you have heard this tune? I bet it has been a while but this is “comfort” food for your soul. Love it.

High Enough – Damn Yankees– Talk about sappy hair-band power ballads? This could be the poster child for it but I absolutely love this song and can listen to it everyday for the rest of my life. “Can you take me high enough…to fly me over yesterday.” The Shaw/Blades harmonization is a diamond in the ruff and most people don’t know that this combination has produced some of the best vocals in the 20th Century. Ok, I know it is very cheesy to see the right wing fanatic Ted Nugent “playing to the video” like someone from Poison or Warrant but it was the times.

Hopelessly Devoted To You – Olivia Newton John– Whenever I hear this song I can’t move, it stops me right in my tracks and I just listen with keen admiration. I know all those of you out there who say you don’t like this song are lying-you won’t admit it-but you like it. And it is from the great movie-“Grease”-so how can anyone not like it? Great song.

Top Ten

For the last few weeks when I have put my I-Pod on “shuffle” songs by Skid Row (early Skid with Sebastian) and Bon Jovi have been popping up all over the place, so I figured it was a sign to combine both of these bands for this week’s “top ten” list. Now with respect to Bon Jovi, the focus here will again be their “early” material as I believe that both my sons’ have stated that if I did a top ten for this band, they would stop reading the blog. My relationship with this band has soured, especially the last ten years or so and it’s not so much the musical direction they have taken but more the way they have taken the “safe” path whereby it seems like all of their new material sounds very similar-there is no more edge to this band. (Not that they even had a material edge in their younger days). But on the other hand, they have been around for decades and have managed to nudge their way into every radio station format (just like U2) so they must be doing something right? (At least that is what I am telling myself). Even back in their heyday, I could never understand how these guys would be tapped the headliners for those massive rock festivals when bands like Dio, The Scorpions, Judas Priest were going on before them. But I can not say that I do not like their early material (and a song here and there from their later years) and in fact I used to go see these guys every time they came to the Tri-State area during the late 1980’s. Yes I bought in to the “pop” hard rock appeal of Bon Jovi and have to admit that their live shows were very good. Now I acknowledge that it really is sort a slap in the face to name only five songs from this “hit-making machine” but I think I just put in context where I am coming from, hence the reason for naming only five songs.

Now with Skid Row, the focus here is really only the first few albums with Sebastian Bach. I am keenly aware that this band went on without him and has had a very successful career and are still touring these days. I jumped on the band wagon with their sophomore release-“Slave to The Grind” because I thought it was much heavier than their debut which spawned hits for MTV to lift that format to its legendary status (I don’t think MTV has played any videos since Sebastian left Skid Row-which was a long time ago). I can recall driving all the way to Hershey Park with my friend Sal to go see Guns & Roses, with Skid Row being the opening act. It was a steamy day/night and Skid Row added more thunder to what was already going on in the sky and I have to say that I was really impressed with their sound at the time. Again they steered away from the “pop” metal with their second album and this was the tour that highlighted “Grind” and the results were stellar. I’m not sure what happened with the band but my assumption is that egos came into being and displaced a band headed in the right direction, in my opinion. So I am stuck on an island and have been informed that I could only have five song selections from the bands- Bon Jovi and Skid Row-“These Are Them:” (Oh one thing I forgot to mention, Bon Jovi basically “discovered” Skid Row and was instrumental in them signing a recording contract).

Skid Row

5.     18 and Life –OK I know this was the “poster child” for MTV during its “hey-day” and since it is now 2011 I think the nausea has worn off from them playing this video at least seven times a day for almost three years straight. If you can block that from your mind you realize that this is a quality track that arguably is their most popular and recognized song. I never considered this a “hair band” song but it clearly came out during this era and is usually viewed as one of the better songs associated with the “hair” movement. This is a classic song and has stood the test of time. I also think of summer when I hear this because it has often come up on my shuffle when I walk the beaches on Cape Cod.

4.     I Remember You –OK so this fits the mold of “Poison” or any “power ballads” that seem to dominate the airwaves during the late 1980’s and pre-Nirvana. This is another song where the video was played endlessly on MTV and I would say this song catapulted them to “rock star” status. It has some “sugar on it” but sometimes the sweetness is the best part of a nutritional diet. Every so often you can have a piece of cake and not feel guilty about it-this is one of those songs.

3.     The Threat –The next three songs come from “Slave to the Grind” which was released in 1991 and was a stark difference from their debut as they turned on the “heavy” switch which resulted in them having the first “metal” album to debut at number one on the Billboard charts. This knock-out of an album is, in my opinion, the best work these guys ever put out and it is due to songs like this one. Talk about an edge? Sebastian sounds possessed and seemed determine to shed the “hair-band” skin that everyone just assumed they would ride the “MTV” gravy train with power ballads. The guitar solo is righteous and Mr. Bach was at his very best during this period of rock before Nirvana came along and ruined everything.

2.     Slave To The Grind – The title track to their sophomore album will just knock your socks off as it seems to be a mixture of metal and punk which created this unbelievable vibe that Skid Row was a force to reckon with and be sure to look over your shoulder if you are walking down skid row. Again the guitar work is something to take notice and the heavy head-banging beats are perfect for your next kick boxing (or any kind of) workout. This kind of music psyches me up like none other and I wish they could have continued on as a unit just to see where this change in direction would have taken them. But at least we have this recording to show that this band was deservedly popular at one point and made their mark on metal/hard rock music.

1.     Monkey Business – If I had to come up with a list of all time great hard rock/metal songs, this one would definitely be included. Ironically the first time I heard it was actually on MTV as the video was “debuted” in the summer of 1991 and it just blew me away. I immediately bought the album and listened to it like a zillion times during the rest of 1991. I absolutely love the slow start to this classic tune and just like when water boils, once it reaches that point you need to watch out so that you don’t get burned from how hot this song is. This song makes me think of a how mean a dog would become if you try to take away the bone it is enjoying-this song grabs a hold of you and doesn’t let go-just like that dog holding on to its bone.

Bon Jovi

 

Image of Bon Jovi

5.     In & Out Of Love – It’s amazing on how a band sounds when they are trying to “make it big” and sometimes those songs end up being the best arrangements in an artists’ catalog. I would say that this tune lands in that category; there is an edge, a hunger that is apparent in this track that captivates the listener as Richie’s guitar riff is reminiscent of early Kiss-yes that’s right it is always back to KISS for me but that’s what I hear. Obviously the keyboards give it the flavor that KISS didn’t have but remember Doc was manager for both bands. They did the “hair band” thung by talking in the song asking the girl if she wanted to go for a ride on the bus. (obviously something they wouldn’t do now).

4.     Runaway – Now this is a Bon Jovi song that one can sink their teeth into as the head-banging groove is almost too much too take and Richie’s guitar work is something to take notice of as they blast their way into stardom. I can remember adding this to our rotation at MBIA for Dave’s boot camp class and as the volume was turned up everyone out on the floor was able to listen to this classic Bon Jovi tune. I bet you the folks out on the floor wanted to come in and join our class just because of this song-if this doesn’t move you, check for a pulse right now.

3.     Lay Your Hands On MeOK, I know what you are thinking, this song is so “cheesy” complete with all the bells and whistles of the “hair-band” movement but you have to remember that I have always had a huge appetite for this era. Seriously, I have always loved this song and maybe it is the “gospel” like vibe from Jon and the female background singers or maybe it is the “flashy” guitar riff from Richie but whatever it is, I find myself never skipping to another song when it lands on my I-Pod shuffle. I know many of you out there are making faces like you just ate one of those “sour” candies but like I said sometimes I need a little cheese in my diet as well. Oh well you can’t please everyone….

2.     Wanted Dead Or Alive – Even my uncle Gary likes this song and that is an almost achievement because he left the rock world behind in 1977, (I don’t think I have ever heard him say that he likes a song from the “teenage” music that I still listen to but I will never forget him saying that he liked this song), so I don’t want to hear any negative comments. This is by far their most popular song and when you see them perform it acoustically, you have to be mesmerized. Every band has that “signature” song and in my opinion, this is it. Richie’s guitar solo is rip roaring good and the entire vibe of the song puts you back in the wild wild west. “But I walk these streets…a loaded six-gun on my back…I play for keeps…cause I might not make it back.” I know that it is over-played and could have landed on my list of classic rock songs that should be banned for the next ten years but I haven’t heard it in a while, so I can leave it here at number two.

1.     Born To Be My Baby– This was another staple in the MBIA boot camp class as I can recall singing along to every word while running, dancing and “air-guitaring” to this upbeat fun song that again reminds me so much of summer. I know my kids are squinting in pain but again sometimes I need the “pop” in the more “pop”-ular songs or join the rest of the “pop”-ulation in loving a song. (usually I pick the most obscure songs, right?). “Two, three, four- nah,nah,nah,nah…rainy night and we worked all day…” LOL, I know what you are thinking but I am sticking to my guns. This is a perfect song to sing to that someone special in your life, albeit it with loud guitars!!!

Trivia Questions

Answers from last week:

1.     50 Cent

2.     Mickey Dolenz

3.     Billy Idol

4.     Geddy Lee

This week’s trivia (Random)-

1.     I am the lead singer for a rock band for some time now. We have had our ups and downs and we did break up for a while and I had trouble finding work because all I ever wanted to do was sing in a rock band. During our time away from each other one of the jobs I held was being a DJ spinning records at a Gentleman’s club. We came back strong in 2004 and haven’t stopped working since with two new albums as well as a double “cover” album and we seem to be on tour almost 10 months out of each year. Who am I and what is the name of our band?

2.     I came on the scene in the late 1980’s and turned the music world on its ears with my soulful voice and energetic ways. One of the first tours I had, I opened up for Little Feat and the buzz I created was evident as there was just as many people watching me as well as Feat. The next time around I was a headliner. I have been compared to Janis, who is my idol and I performed one of her most famous songs on a music awards ceremony and took the house down. Who am I?

3.     We exploded on the scene in the early 1990’s and took out every “hair band” in our path as the kids gravitated to our genre which we are credited with creating and still considered the best in this genre. Who are we?

4.     I was on top of the male dominated rock world during the 1980’s and women around the globe emulated the way I looked and dressed. In “Fast Times at Ridgemont High” their were some many girls at the high school depicted in the movie who looked like me? I married the guitarist in my band and we have been together ever since and I still tour every year. Who am I?

Name That Tune

Answers from last week:

1.     Simple Man – Lynyrd Skynyrd

2.     What’s Your Name – Lynyrd Skynyrd

3.     That Smell – Lynyrd Skynyrd

4.     Gimme Back My Bullets – Lynyrd Skynyrd

Can you guess the title from the following lyrics from part of the song?

1.     “…I said you can’t hide on the inside all the pain you’ve ever felt…ran to my heart but don’t look back… cause we’ve got nobody else…”

2.     “…what’s wrong with that…I’d like to know…cause here I go again…I…love…you…”

3.     “…just listen to the music of the traffic in the city…linger on the sidewalk where the neon signs are pretty…how can you lose…”

4.     “…always priests and politicians…have words to thank for their positions…words that scream for your submission…”

Back on this Day

Back on this day in 1967, Pink Floyd made their television debut on the “Tops of the Pops” on BBC and performed “See Emily Play.”

Back on this day in 1972, Procol Haram’s “A Whiter Shale of Pale” entered the Billboard charts and would peak at #5. Number 5? Are you kidding me? It should have been number one forever, such a phenomenal song. John Lennon had said that was one of his all time favorite songs.

Back on this day in 1984, Jimmy Page joined Yes on stage in Germany to perform a rendition of the Beatles “I’m Down.”

Back on this day in 1995, Pearl Jam ended their set early in San Francisco due to Eddie Vedder being sick. Neil Young finished up the show with a longer set but many PJ fans were not happy.

Back on this day in 1999, Eric Clapton sold his guitar that he composed “Layla” on for $497,500 and the proceeds went to a charity for centers for people with alcohol and drug dependencies.

Back in the day in 2000, KISS held a two day auction where they sold $875,000 on this day from the sale of stage props, costumes and instruments that they had used over the years.

If it is your birthday today, you share the same birth date with the legendary guitarist Jeff Beck, Mick Fleetwood, Chris Wood (Traffic), Colin Blunstone (Zombies) and John Illsley (Dire Straits).

By the way, tomorrow-June 25- marks the second year since Michael Jackson passed away. I still can’t believe he is no longer with us. Thoughts and prayers go out to his family and friends as tomorrow will be a tough day for many.

2 Comments »

  1. Mambo #5, really that song is horrible

    Comment by Anonymous — June 24, 2011 @ 9:17 am

  2. George Michael’s faith is an outstanding song, for me it stands out of the list.
    Mambo 5 sucks! The only good thing about the sing is nothing.

    Comment by Anonymous — July 3, 2011 @ 12:32 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

