Errols Weekly Music Update.

May 27, 2011

Weekly Update – 05/27/2011

George Thorogood & The Destroyers at BB Kings on Mon. & Tues. Sept. 26 & 27. Tickets on sale now. $49.50

Explosions in the Sky at the Wellmont Theater on Mon. Rocktober 3. Tickets on sale today at noon. $27 ($30 day of show)

Ellie Goulding at Terminal 5 on Fri. July 29. Tickets on sale today at noon. $36.70

William Elliot Whitmore at the Mercury Lounge on Tues. July 19. Tickets on sale today at noon. $12. (This is the dude that opened for Chris Cornell on his acoustic solo tour).

Other items:

Congratulations to Scott McCreery on becoming the next American Idol as he is surely destined for super stardom. I say he will be right up there with Carrie Underwood as far as album sales once he gets going. He has a remarkable confidence for someone who is only 17 years old. Did you see him singing along Tim McGraw like he’s been doing this for years, he’s a total natural. Congratulations also goes out to Lauren Alaina, in my opinion, despite her vocal chord trouble, did a better job on Tuesday night than Scotty. She really came on down the stretch and besides Carrie Underwood, I’d have to say she is the best female vocalist the show has ever had.

I have to say that I was a bit apprehensive about the show this year, especially after Simon left but I have to say that the addition of Jennifer Lopez was the best move the show has ever done. She is by far the best judge the show has ever had and that’s only after one season. Steven Tyler was another great addition, although the last few weeks he seemed to be a bit bored but I want them both back for next season. The show has been revitalized and should be in position to continue to be the best “reality” series on television for the next few years. It’s weird, it seems as if Simon was on the show like ten years ago. All the “negativity” in the air has been cleared and a breath of fresh air has cleared out all the nonsense and confusion from the last few years of the show where they didn’t know what they wanted-four judges, Ellen, no Ellen. I look forward to next January.

Again have to hand it to the producers of American Idol-each year it has to get harder and harder to improve beyond the prior year’s final show. The guests, were in Randy’s words-“Hot!!!” How cool was it to see Judas Priest on American Idol. Judas Priest??!! Are you kidding me. “Breaking the Law” is one of the best songs ever recorded and I have to say that Durbin improved on this song because I wasn’t feeling him on “Living.”

The only thing that saved me with the “Jacob” performance was Gladys Knight, if it wasn’t for her, I wanted to skip right over it. Surprisingly, Jack Black has a decent voice and he sounded better than Casey Abrams on their duet. One of the highlights of the show was when the girls sang along with Beyonce- how cool was that? It seemed larger than life, didn’t it?

The duet with Tony Bennett and Haley was off the charts and might have been the best moment of the whole night. I can’t wait for Tony’s second “duets” album to come out this fall. Did you see him out there? I ask you, who has a better voice? It’s a gift and Tony I thank you, that was tremendous.

Another highlight of the show was Marc Anthony’s performance-the man can sing and of course how cool and hot was it when his wife Jennifer joined the fray? I thought Randy was going to pass out. Did you see Sheila E playing the drums? She was so friggin’ good. Unbelievable performance.

How cool was it when Tom Jones came out with the guys? This could have been the best produced show that American Idol has ever done. Tom Jones sounded exactly as he did on the great records he made so long ago. The man still has his chops. And then there was GaGa. She started off calmly enough but you knew something was coming and once that guy entered the picture you knew the “family” viewing was about to end. I think we were all “on the edge” and took a big breath of relief as the song ended that nothing else happened.

My personal favorite highlight of the night is when Carrie Underwood came out to sing with Lauren. I don’t know what it is about that woman but just like when Frosty was locked in the steam room with the plants, I melt away. She is royalty in my opinion and to think she was unknown prior to American Idol is the reason I keep tuning into this show every year. Carrie Underwood is phenomenal.

I don’t know what it is but I am becoming more of a fan of Bono and The Edge as their “Spiderman” song was awesome. Bono seemed head and shoulders above any other performer on the show Wednesday night. He is “larger than life” and still commands an audience’s attention like no other.

Steven Tyler has reinvented himself and proved to all of America on Wednesday night that he still has it. Come on his performance had to give you chills down the back of your spine. If Joe Perry and the boys don’t start getting along with him, he might just not want them back and form his own band. Did you see how much Jennifer was into it? I love it!!!

My favorite “old school” song of the week is “Sylvia’s Mother” by Dr. Hook & the Medicine Show. “And the operator says $0.40 more for the next three minutes…please…” When is the last time you have heard this bad boy? This puts me right back in Otisville N.Y. where the clock still says 1974. This is classic.

You want to see a really cool video? My oldest son, who is knee deep into the “blues” played for me a clip of Howlin’ Wolf singing “How Many More Years.” Pay particular attention to the man in the background sitting on the stool moving his arm vertically and then horizontally. Unbelievable… so funny but yet at the same time you realize how great this man was. My oldest son states that he is often overshadowed by other “big names” but this guy is special. There is a reason he is in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and this is exhibit A- Have fun listening and viewing: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Ou-6A3MKow

Nuggets

By the Way

The Red Hot Chili Peppers. It is weird how sometimes I have maybe an album or two from a certain artist (for instance-“Glass Houses” by Billy Joel) and even though the artist or band has decade’s worth of work, in my world they really have one or two. And that album for me with the Chili Peppers is “By The Way” which was released in 2002. (I do have “Stadium Arcadia” but as I have said before that should have been one album instead of a “double” album because on a combined basis it equals one good piece of work). If I had to pick a reason on why I was attracted maybe it was less of a “funk” selection of songs and rather melodic, where most of the melodies were written by John Frusciante, who has since left the group as the lead guitarist. Don’t get me wrong I have a bunch of “single” songs by the Chili Peppers but “By The Way” is really the only album I like from top to bottom. Now in my opinion, this is a great album but I acknowledge that the general public, could not listen to this album from track # 1 through #16 and probably the first reason is that it is way too long. Besides-“Superunknown” by Soundgarden, I can’t think of one other album that you need to invest almost 70 minutes just to listen to the entire thing. Hence that this falls into the category of the golden “nuggets” and there are really some spectacular songs on this album. I went to see the Chili Peppers on May 20, 2003 (there’s that date again, right May 20) at Madison Square Garden and they blew me away and they did so many songs from “By the Way” as it was the tour to promote this album. I was so impressed with the guitar work from Frusciante and of course the mighty Flea on bass. So here they are, some real golden nuggets from the album “By The Way.” (In no particular order)

By The Way – How great is this song? This was the song that pulled me in. It is a perfect work out song “by the way.” Who doesn’t like to sing the chorus-“Standing in line to see the show tonight and there’s a light on…heavy glow…by the way I tried to say I’d be there…” This still has the funk that Flea wanted and there is no way one can not move once they go back to the “fast pace” of this track. It is controlled chaos and I dance around in a circle and flail like a wild man all by myself, making believe I was big enough to join in on those mosh pits. What a way to kick off an album. It is hard to find a better song that starts off an album, can you name one? I think not.

Universally Speaking – Ok so far I am going in order because after the frenzied start with “By The Way” this track without a doubt proves that Mr. Anthony Kiedis is one heck of a vocalist. His voice is crystal clear and makes me want to become a singer. You can feel it in your throat as you try to mimic how he sings it. “Simply put I saw your love stream flow…simply put I saw your love stream flow.” Awesome tune with a nice guitar solo that takes the song out.

The Zephyr Song – I’m not sure why Flea thought that the “funk” was not as apparent in this album as in their prior selections. The great thing about the Peppers is how they can change the melody on a dime and make it a brand new song within a song-do you know what I mean? The chorus is so addictive and I feel like flying away when I hear Anthony sing it the way he does. Again there is a nice guitar solo that will have you floating on air. I look up to the beautiful skies because the northeast had it’s first great day of spring, no summer and listening to this song outside makes the day that much better.

Can’t Stop – I remember putting this song on a Spin CD class that Chris taught at MBIA and talk about getting psyched??!! There is nothing better than working up a sweat, you are losing your breath and thinking of taking it easy and A) Chris will have none of that and B) once this song kicks in you will find the energy to make it work. Once the drums start playing, I am out of my seat and bouncing along making believe that I am Flea and air-bass-guitar my way to oblivion. “Wait a minute I’m passing out win or lose…just like you…far more shocking than anything I knew…” Talk about a sing-a-long song and when the guitar plays behind Kiedis vocals, it’s like Page and Plant all over again. Anthony could be a rap star as well because he is lights out!!! “This life is more than just a read through!!!”

I Could Die For You – “Eye could die for you”- Anthony seems to take a little from Herman of Herman’s Hermits as he punctuates the word “I.”This song is from the heart-you can feel the passion of Kiedis’ lyrics and the way he sings it. A beautiful ballad that makes you close your eyes and just let the song take you to another place far far away. Listen to this song with a great set of headphones and let me know where you went. I am back in time floating around my 6th grade class at P.S. 169 and wonder where everyone is. (I know they are on “Facebook” but I’m not going there). This is a “beaut.”

Minor Thing – Wow what a tune. The jamming is incredible as Flea and John exchange their talents and the result is nothing short of spectacular. Listen keenly to the bass lines throughout the tune and hear why Flea is one of the most respected Bass players of all-time. Frusciante is no slouch either as I don’t think he gets all the accolades that he deserves. I can picture all the players in the studio with the headphones over their ears as they sit in separate rooms but the music brings them close. Anthony gets in his rap but again proves that he has the pipes that make him one of the most revered singers in the music business.

Midnight – Another “ballad” type that really takes you away, the music in the beginning sounds like wind that blows your hat off and as you turn around to run after it, you are now in another place. That place is in front of the Chili Peppers as they are jamming this song out and you are the only person at the concert. This is where the song takes me, it makes you feel like you are part of the band because you can feel “it.” The passion, the time it took to write and produce a song like this. “Everyone knows…anything goes…and now we are the lotus kids…so you better take note of this.” Phenomenal tune.

Don’t Forget Me – Listen to the thumps of the bass by Flea in the beginning and tell me you are hooked in. This is a slow trudging song that makes you want to do a slow head-bang, it will make you feel like there is something in the air, (think an Allman Brothers show) and as Frusciante blazes away in a low key way but you know he is there. Anthony’s vocals are mesmerizing as I am totally engulfed into what they are trying to sell. They did their job because it is like they took me into their kaleidoscope and spit me out once the song ends. When it does I hold my hand over my face and ask-“what just happened?”- I want another ride!!! Such an addicting song.

“Memorial” Weekend Playlist

Patriotic Hymns & Marches/Various

 

Since it feels like it has been winter and the longest coolest spring on record here in the Northeast, it was almost if Mother Nature looked up and realized that it is the end of May and that she needed to make us feel loved by providing a taste of what is to become the normal with the last two days really feeling like summer is finally upon us. Believe me, I know most everyone will not mind if we go straight to summer even if we feel cheated out of a warm spring because it really feels like it has been raining for the last two months and prior to that the Northeast still has snow on the ground in April. And to celebrate the beginning of summer we also have the honor and privilege to salute those who are serving and who have served in our Armed forces by never forgetting what they do (have done) and by being there for them in any way you can to help out. Make them feel like the special people they are. So with that in mind as we are all prepared to break out the grills and badminton nets for this weekend’s barbeques, I figured I would give you a set list of songs that you may want to throw on your party list. Here they are in no particular order:

Get TogetherThe Youngbloods – How cool is this song? And it will take you back to the good ole days as “they” don’t make songs like this anymore, right? The words are still very appropriate despite the fact that this song was written more than 40 years ago. The 1960’s produced some of the finest music in any decade with so many different genres it really is mind boggling when you think about it. Perfect way to begin the weekend by “getting Together” and enjoying the beginning of summer and remembering our brothers and sisters who protect and have protected this great Country.

U.S. Field Artillery MarchTraditional– There is nothing better than some good old classic band marching tunes which just make you feel good and this song will make you stand up and salute. This is “comfort food” type of song, as it has to put a smile on your face. It also signifies that the 4th of July is right around the corner.

Battle Hymn of the Republic Traditional– I purchased a “Patriotic” CD a few years back that has two discs worth of great American songs including this one. “Glory Glory Halleluiah…his truth is marching on!!!” Songs like this give us a sense of pride, make you sing along and yet at the same time make you think of all the people who have served this great Country. Sad but powerfully passionate.

96 Tears ? & The Mysterians– How great is this song? You have to include some of the 1960’s music because as mentioned there was some much great music to come out of that decade. Don’t you just love that monotone keyboard work-this is where the B-52’s picked up some of their influence, no? “You’re gonna cry 96 tears…you’re gonna cry, cry cry.”

I Saw The LightTodd Rundgren– Jon, Diana and I were talking about Todd Rundgren when we were headed up to Roseland Ballroom to see The Cars as they had gone to see Todd when he fronted “The New Cars” and informed them of this freak of a fan for him that worked in The Danbury Mall. He has produced some of the best songs and this one has to be included-such a great sing along song that I think that anyone could like. “I saw the light in your eeyyyyyeesss.”

Our CountryJohn Mellencamp – Who writes and sings about America better than Mr. Mellencamp? He just exudes “Country” pride. By the way John, there is nothing wrong with making songs like this-it comes from the heart and is so much fun to sing along to and has this way of bringing everyone together. Totally a summer tune in my opinion. I can smell the burgers and hot dogs on the grill with this song playing in the background.

Summer WindFrank Sinatra– What better way to kick off the summer with “the Chairman of The Board?” How great is this song? Remember that Bugs Bunny cartoon episode where he was doing his best Frankie impersonation and all the women were screaming and passing out? He was Elvis before Elvis and The Beatles before The Beatles. Take your partner and do a ballroom dance around the grass and smell the summer wind.

Sweet Child of MineGuns & Roses– What a song to listen to in the summer, no? There is something that just says that this song should be played in the summer time. We can all do our best Axl impersonation by swaying side to side and squealing-“She’s got eyes of the bluest skies.” Then we can all take off as Slash plays one of the best guitar solos on any song he has ever recorded and air-guitar along with him. I think even grandma won’t mind a “heavy” song or two just to shake out the winter cobwebs that we all have.

Swingtown Steve Miller Band– When is the last time you have heard this song? “Ooh who oh oh oh oh…come on and dance…come on dance.” This should get the “older” folks up there shaking a leg awkwardly while the younger generation says-“what is this stuff?” It has the psychedelic organ/keyboards and the sound of something washing up on shore-makes you feel like you are on the beach-which we all will be in a month or two.

After Party Ozomatli – This band has put out some real cool songs. This will get everyone at the BBQ out of their seats to form a “conga” line where the leader can snake around the backyard while dancing, clapping the hands to this great groove. This is pure fun. I am surprised that this band is not bigger than they are. Perfect summer song.

Ain’t No Other ManChristine Aguilera – I for one don’t really understand the recent fuss over her career, people are writing stories as if she is done. With a voice like hers, the career will always be far from over. She also has made songs (like this) that has to get you out of your seat and dance all around. Yes I know I can’t dance either but sometimes it is fun to try-so come on get up and dance.(It is going to be 85 degrees this weekend-if this song doesn’t do it for you then the temperature has to).

You’re A Grand Old FlagTraditional – Wow this song makes me stand at attention and salute. I’m telling you folks you have to buy this CD-“Patriotic Songs of America”- I am not sure who is singing this version but the vocals are perfect. Don’t forget it is Memorial Day as well, so thank those who have protected us and remember this day by playing songs that salute them. Where are the hot dogs and apple pie?

God Bless The U.S.A.Lee Greenwood – Even though the pace is real slow and it is a sad sounding song it also becomes inspirational as one listens to the lyrics. The words to this song is what this weekend is all about. Put your arms around the people to your left and right, sway back and forth and sing it loud-“I love this land, God bless the U.S.A.”

Got To Give It Up, Part 1Marvin Gaye – What is a summer party without Marvin Gaye? Incomplete right? As I mentioned last month on the page, I “re-discovered” this song while channel surfing about a year ago and was blown away on how great this tune is. I am trying to write about this song but I keep pulling away to move my arms and body while sitting. I could be the best “sitting down” dancer there is. (Maybe not but you get what I’m talking about). You need to have this song on this weekend at some point!!!

You and ILady Gaga – I can actually say that I was waiting for her new album-“Born this Way”- to be released this past Tuesday because I had seen a clip of this song when she performed it on her current tour and was so impressed that I couldn’t believe that I wanted a Lady GaGa song. Could it be for real? Yes and I think it is because there are some guitars in it but the arrangement is spectacular in my opinion. I don’t think there are any curse words but I am getting a little older so I may have missed it. Great song, period end of story.She showed me something with this track.

On The FloorJennifer Lopez – I know this song is now in overdrive and teetering on the edge of being played way too much but strike while the iron is hot and play this bad boy. If this doesn’t wake you up then go back in the house and wait for winter.

Tonight TonightHot Chelle Rae – Ok every party needs the latest bubble gum pop song to get things going, right? This teeters on cheesy but the beat is something that draws me in. I know my oldest son is going to squirm when he sees this song on the list. But I just picture a bright sunny day with a party going on and everyone just having a good time.

You Can Make It If You TrySly & The Family Stone – what is a BBQ without Sly? This is such a great song and makes you realize just how impressive this band is. You have to feel this and I certainly do and am strutting across the room. “You can make it if you try!!!” Love the bass lines from that dudes vocals.

Get On the Good FootJames Brown – Keeping with the funk vibe, who better than the King of Funk- Mr. James Brown. Now I don’t know about you but when I hear this song I think of Eddie Murphy doing his best impersonation on Saturday Night Live. You really can’t go wrong with any James Brown song, right? The bass line in this song is “sick.”

Hash PipeWeezer – Now this might get the neighbors as well as some of your family members (and might as well say some of your friends) very annoyed with this track but I love the high pitch vocal part by Rivers Cuomo. The topic of the song is not really conducive for a party with various generations, so you are better off playing this before everyone gets to the party. But I had to put this down because I love this song!!!!!

Heat WaveMartha Reeves & The Vandellas– Perfect song to kick off the summer weekend, no? “Whenever I’m with him…something inside” C’mon this is great stuff right here folks, you have to own this song. I love this track!!!

Green Onions Booker T & The MG’s – You can time this perfectly-put this song on when people are lining up in your back yard waiting to grab some food. There is no singing on this tune but the groove is so infectious and totally reminds me of summer. This will have everyone shaking their butts while waiting for the goodies.

Twistin’ The Night AwaySam Cooke – How great is this song? Almost too much to take, this has to be on your set list this weekend. Doesn’t get much better than Mr. Sam Cooke. This is such a classic tune, you’ll be clapping and dancing all over the place.

Top Ten

Image of Willie Nelson

It is coming up on one year since that I saw Willie Nelson at Radio City Music Hall and I have to say that I am very happy that I was able to see one of the most legendary performers of the last few generations. Now of course you all should know that I have only recently started to delve into his music and I can’t even to profess to know a slither of what his “die-hard fan” knows. I won’t be able to do find an “obscure” song (for which I receive many comments that I tend to list tracks on these top ten lists that no one else knows about). I don’t have the usual intimate stories of where I might have been or how it affected my life but I suppose I will have them in the future. But even if I don’t all I know is that when I am on the train when I commute, I put his songs on and I drift off into another stratosphere. I will say I do hear my mother whispering in my ear-“See I told you that you will love “Country” music.” I guess she is right-can’t get any more “Country” than Willie Nelson, correct?

What else can be said about this Icon that hasn’t already been stated? His career has spanned six decades and there are no signs of slowing down. He has written some of the greatest songs that this Country has ever heard and there are songs that he has performed that may be he didn’t write but no one can come close to doing it like he can. I do have a funny story though, last year when I went to see Willie at Radio City my oldest son was curious to why I was listening to his music and didn’t understand the connection. I informed him that I was trying to broaden my horizons and there was something that now has my attention about his music that I did not encounter as a younger lad. After the show I told him that Willie played a mean guitar and he still didn’t believe it. Fast forward to this year as my oldest is totally consumed with the blues and any great guitar player(s). He recently purchased one of those annual “guitar” players festival DVD’s that Eric Clapton hosts each year in Chicago (which is usually hosted by Bill Murray) and guess who was a guest? That’s right-Mr. Nelson and my son said he was pretty good-now for those of you who don’t know my son, that is “high” praise because usually there is a quick dismissal accompanied with a scoff. So who knows, maybe he will discover Willie’s music at a much younger age than I.

Like I have said so many times on this page, it is never too late to discover music, whether it is contemporary or a bit older or whether the artist is still alive or not. Isn’t it an exhilarating feeling? I think so and that is what has happened to me with Willie Nelson. His music takes me back to a simpler time and when I hear his songs I am sitting at the breakfast table with my grandmother and mother over Norweigan pancakes (I know the Swedes say Swedish and so on but for today it’s Norweigan) discussing how much I miss them and how much I treasure them. Willie Nelson is a living legend and just like BB King you must make an effort to see them live to know what I am talking about. So here it is I am on an island and have been informed that I can only have ten songs by the genius named Willie Nelson-“These Are Them:” (Covers are allowed because as I have stated his versions are unlike any other’s)

10.     Hello Walls – Willie has this way of hypnotizing you and haven written songs that were made popular by Patsy Cline (“Crazy” “Faded Love”) his songs of heartache are something that you can turn away from. Whenever I hear this song, I stop in my tracks and listen so intently to his story of how she walked out on him and now he is talking to the walls. C’mon we’ve all been there at some point in our lives, I know I have been caught talking to myself. “Is that a tear drop… in the corner of your pane…now don’t you try to tell me that its rain…she went away and left us all alone.” He talks to every part of the room wondering how things turned out the way they did, I bet we all have said that at some points in our lives. Sad but excellent song.

9.       The Party’s Over – Again sadness seems to permeate many of his songs but it is so hard to not to love these songs. This has a wonderful melody, very simple and the backing vocals make it that much better. Willie’s voice is crystal clear-“Turn out the lights…the party’s over…call it a night…and tomorrow starts the same old thing again.” Now in this song it was him who did the wrong by partying too long and too many nights, so his love had to leave. This is a great sing along song.

8.       All of Me – Now I know there are so many versions of this song out there by various artists but does anyone sing it better than Willie? I think not. And to make it swing his way, he has an awesome guitar solo to pad the voting ballot. For some reason, I picture the middle of winter with the snow falling heavily as the fireplace is going and there are a few friends sitting around enjoying some coffee or hot chocolate while this plays in the background. Does it get any better? His vocals are stupendous. Awesome tune.

7.       Stay A Little Longer (Live) –Who says Willie can’t turn on the burners and pick up the pace? This is a knee slappin’, hand clapping, “dog on the bone” type of song that has an awesome piano solo as well as some pretty snappin’ guitar playing. My oldest son has to listen to this song and I think he will be impressed by Willie’s skills on guitar. I want to pick up the harmonica and start to wail just like the person in this song-reminds me of Steven Tyler when he gets going. There is something so “country” about this tune that I feel like I am at the Grand Ole Opry-not that I have ever been there-but his music takes me right there-don’t ask me why. I just feel it.

6.     Shot Gun Willie –I don’t know if there is such a genre as “funky-country-blues” but that is exactly how I feel whenever I hear this song. Willie has a righteous guitar solo that it makes me fall to the ground and pound the pavement with my hands- it’s that good. This is the “cool” Willie as he is so calm and collected as the music just pores out of his soul and into your ears for your listening pleasure. I could see this turning into a big jam song when he performs this live because the groove just opens itself for solo after solo. If the Allman’s covered this, it would be a minimum 20 minutes. This is funky-country-blues, I’m sorry.

5.      Uncloudy Day – Love Willie’s guitar work on this tune, this is a finger snappin’ kind of track and a perfect sing along song. There is something that is so natural, so innocent about work like this, this is pure like the season’s first snow fall or that first “real” day of summer when there is not a cloud in the sky and it is nice and warm, not too warm but just…real. The piano solo reminds me of an old Country & Western movie where someone is walking through those swinging wood doors into a saloon looking for a shot of some kind, either liquor or guns. Again, just like in a movie, nothing real, especially the gun part. “Oh they tell me of an uncloudy day!!”

4.       Angel Flying To Close To The GroundRight now I am sitting at a camp fire watching in amazement along with everyone else there as Willie serenades the audience with his comforting vocals. I look up to the deep dark skies that is illuminated by the moon as I picture that angel coming down from heaven and flying to sit right next to me and yes it is my mother. His guitar playing is absolutely breath taking as we are all in another world as the red of the flames from the campfire is bristling through our eyes as we think of all of our angels flying to close to the ground. How unbelievable is this song? I am so glad that I did not this slip by me any longer, I finally “got it” and will never look back. If you need a song by Willie to pull you in, look no further than this absolute masterpiece.

3.       Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain – Not too much here with this song except Willie and his guitar but that is what makes it so mesmerizing. I remember being foolish and young and used to think that Willie wasn’t such a good singer-boy was I wrong on that part. If anyone needs any proof that this man has a voice of gold-put this song on and listen to its beauty. It’s a very touching song as the melody tugs at your heart as the tranquility will bring you to wherever you want to be. For me, I feel like I am camp side with the fire going and Willie is there just playing his guitar and singing his magic. Imagine if that could happen? Imagine selling tickets around a camp fire outing? I think that would be one of the coolest and most intimate of settings. Maybe someone will build a setting and this could be a new venue? But please keep Ticketmaster and Live Nation out of the picture-we need purity, not a “monopoly” and greed.

2.       Always On My Mind– My oldest son and I always differ in our opinion on who sings this song better- Elvis or Willie. The first thing I’d like to say is that we are arguing over two legends and everyone has their opinion on what version they like better but for my money, no one sings this song like Willie. There is something so enthralling about this song that captivates me like few other songs do. I don’t know what I like better-Willie’s voice or the splendid guitar solo. “Little things I should have said and done…but you were always on my mind…” It has to be considered one of the greatest love songs ever written and performed, no? In my opinion, this is an absolute masterpiece and really like a once in a lifetime type of song.

1.       Night Life – This song started to grow and grow in stature for me over the last year or so and every time I listened to it, the more I was convinced that this is my most favorite song by Mr. Willie Nelson. I have to believe that one of his influences had to be Hank Williams because in the very beginning of the song he totally sounds like Hank, right?-“when the evening sun goes down… you will find me hangin’ round…the night life… ain’t a good life…but it’s my life…” When I listen to this song I feel like this is the most natural song that Willie has ever recorded, it just seems to flow out of him so naturally. If an artist can make you feel it then he or she has succeeded in pulling you into their world and his mixture of country music along with a tinge of blues again is so natural, that it is a “marriage made in heaven.” Thank you Willie for your gift of music to all of us, where would we be without it or you?

Trivia Questions

Answers from last week:

1.     Neil Sedaka

2.     Sebastian Bach

3.     Tom Jones

4.    Jefferson Airplane

This week’s trivia (Random)-

1.     My dad was an analyst for NASA. I have written most of the songs for a band that started out in the late 1970’s and this band was at the forefront of the “new wave” genre and we recently reunited and are on tour. I produced the “Blue” and “Green” albums by Weezer.Who am I?

2.     Who is Declan McManus?

3.     I am a rock diva who has been performing since the 1970’s and was part of a huge band in the 1970’s and we made a landmark album in 1977. I have recorded a popular duet with Tom Petty. I just recently put out a new album and appeared on the Oprah show where there were many “younger” divas who paid homage to me.Who am I?

4.     I made one of the most popular rock/folk albums in the 1970’s, I have won four Grammy’s and am in the Songwriters Hall of Fame as well as the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame as a song writer. I decided to give myself a new last name by looking through the phone book. Who am I?

Name That Tune

Answers from last week:

1.     I’m Yours – Jason Mraz

2.     Julie, Do Ya Love Me – Bobby Sherman

3.     Laughter in The Rain – Neil Sedaka

4.     Positively 4th Street – Bob Dylan

Can you guess the title from the following lyrics from part of the song?

1.     “…she’s winding them down on her clock machine…and she won’t give up because she’s seventeen…”

2.     “…I don’t care if you use me again…I don’t care if you can abuse again……”

3.     “…all I need is what you’ve got…all I’ll tell is what you’re not…all you know is what you hear, hear.…”

4.     “…I dream frequently…sometimes it comes out funny…I go through insan-tity…all they want is money…”

Back on this Day

Back on this day in 1966, Bob Dylan invited the Beatles back stage before his performance at London’s Royal Albert Hall and Paul McCartney played “Tomorrow Never Knows” for him and Dylan responded by saying-“Oh you don’t want to be cute anymore.”

Back on this day in 1974, Lisa Marie Presley who was five years old at the time meets Michael Jackson for the first time when her dad performed a concert in Lake Tahoe, Nevada.

Back on this day in 1977, The Sex Pistols released “God Saved The Queen” as a single and it went on to sell over 100,000 copies despite being banned by the BBC. It peaked at number two on the UK charts.

Back on this day in 1987, U2 held a concert in Rome where neighbors flooded the local police station with calls asking if there was an earthquake running through their city as the sound system was so loud, they thought it was more than a rumbling.

Back on this day in 1998, The Monsters of Rock Tour kicked off their inaugural tour as Van Halen (with Hagar) were the headliners with The Scorpions, Metallica, Dokken and Kingdom Come made their way into East Troy, WI. I was at that show once it stopped at Giants Stadium later that summer. I was at Giants Stadium at 11:00 a.m and didn’t get back home to Brooklyn until 2:00 a.m.

Back on this day in 1994, The Eagles started their “Hell Freezes Over Tour” with what they thought was going to be five or more shows in Irvine CA. The tour lasted over two years.

Back in the day in 1999, Rush was the first rock band to receive a star on the Canadian Walk of Fame in Toronto.

If it is your birthday today, you share the same birth date with Pete Sears (Jefferson Starship) and Sean Kinney (Alice In Chains).

1 Comment »

  1. I never gave Kid Rock much of a chance… Maybe I should!

    Comment by Diana — July 8, 2011 @ 10:01 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

