Errols Weekly Music Update.

May 6, 2011

Weekly Update – 05/06/2011

The Big Four are coming to the East Coast and will arrive at Yankee Stadium on Wed. Sept. 14. Tickets for Metallica, Megadeth, Slayer & Anthrax go on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $225, $125 and $90. (I’m already in)

Soundgarden at the Prudential Center (“The Rock”) on Fri. July 8 and at Jones Beach on Sat. July 9. Tickets on sale next Fri. May 13 at 10:00 a.m. The Rock: $51.15 & $78.35; Jones: $52 & 104.25

Kings of Leon at Jones Beach on Wed. Aug. 10. Pre-sale tickets for Citi Card holders begins this Mon. May 9 at 10:00 a.m. until next Fri. May 13 at 10:00 p.m. General public tickets available next Sat. May 14 at 11:00 a.m. $47.35 and $143.50.

Death Cab for Cutie at the Williamsburg Waterfront (North 8th street and Kent Avenue) on Tues. Aug. 2. Tickets on sale today at noon. $47.15.

Alicia Keys at the Beacon Theater on Thurs. June 30. Tickets on sale today at noon. $43.65 and $171.05. (Who is going to stop this madness of this widening ticket prices? It’s really not fair to the consumer).

Panic at the Disco at Rumsey Playfield in Central Park on Thurs. Sept. 1. Tickets on sale today at noon. $37.49.

Taking Back Sunday at the Best Buy Theater in New York on Sun. July 17 and at Oakdale Theater in Wallingford CT on Thurs. July 21. Best Buy: Pre-sale on now until tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. for AMEX cardholders. General public on sale today at noon.$35; Oakdale: Tickets on sale at 10:00 a.m. $34.50.

Rascal Flatts at the Comcast Theater on Thurs. Aug. 11. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $30.75 and $91.15.

O.A.R. at the Comcast Theater on Fri. Aug. 12. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $33 and $45.50

The Kills at Terminal 5 on Mon. Aug. 8. Tickets on sale today at noon. $30 ($35 day of show).

Fountains of Wayne at the Bowery Ballroom on Wed. Aug. 3. Tickets on sale today at noon (pre-sale for AMEX cardholders until 11:00 a.m. this morning). $29.10

Ratatat at the Summer Stage at Central Park on Wed. July 13. Tickets on sale today at noon. $30 ($40 day of show).

Ray LaMontage and the Pariah Dogs at the Rumsey Playfield (Central Park) on Mon. Sept. 26. Tickets on sale today at 10:00 a.m. $50 ($60 day of show).

George Thorogood at the Wellmont Theater on Sat. Rocktober 1. Tickets on sale today at noon. $35 ($40 day of show).

Straight No Chaser at the Beacon Theater on Tues. Nov. 22. Tickets on sale now. $29.50 – $49.50.

The following shows all go on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. If you have a Citi Card you can purchase “pre-sale” tickets until 10:00 p.m. tonight.

Jones Beach

Price

PNC

Price

Yes & Styx

Mon. July 11

$26 & $101.70

Tues. July 5

$21.55 & $101.55

O.A.R.

Sat. July 9

$32 & $89.70

Motley Crue, Poison, New York Dolls

Sun. July 17

$38.50 & $115.80

311 and Sublime

Fri. July 22

$40.50, $62, $101.70

Thurs. July 21

$39, $69.85 & $101.55

Aretha Franklin

Thurs. July 28

$40 & $143.50

Sat. July 30

$25 and $143.50

Weezer & Flaming Lips

Fri. July 29

$74.40 & $106.75

Thurs. July 28

$77 and $106.70

Maroon 5 & Train

Fri. Aug. 12

$36, $48, $69.90, $80.20 & $146.50

Fri. Aug. 26

$32, $58, $79.90 & $144

Janet Jackson

Sat. Aug. 6

$32, $51.85, $73.50, $90.20, $106.20 & $143.50

The NY Pops perform music of Billy Joel

Sat. Aug. 13

$31.50 & $102.25

Miranda Cosgrove

Sat. July 23

$24.50 & $116.80

 

Other items:

Whew…I thought America was going to get it wrong again but they finally voted off Jacob Lusk last night and it is now down to the final four. I have a feeling that James Durbin will pull it off but would not be surprised if any of the remaining contestants win it all. My bride loved the performance by Jennifer Lopez last night and thinks her new song-“On The Floor”- is the best new song out there. I have to admit that was some production and with the smaller venue it looked larger than life.

Have to hand it to the producers of Glee, this past Tueday night’s episode utilizing the songs from the landmark album-“Rumors”-by Fleetwood Mac was probably the best vocal show this season. The return of Kristin Chenoweth, the Broadway actress, was a perfect way to kick off the show with her singing “Dreams” with Will and starting the “rumor” that he was leaving for Broadway. The versions were all stripped down to the bare essential which made it that much better and the highlight, in my opinion, was the cover of “Never Going Back Again.” It was impressive having all those people playing the acoustic guitars around Artie. The story line around Sam’s dad losing his job was apropos for these tough economic conditions and made the cover of “Don’t Stop” that more emotional. The idea of writing story lines around one album is something that I hope they do more of, think of the possibilities in the future. Very cool.

I picked up the new album by Sixx: A.M.-: “This Is Gonna Hurt” and I have to say that I am pretty impressed. Nikki Sixx’s “side project” is no longer a project-these guys are for real. Weird thing is that there are only three members listed so they must have had a “session” drummer. The lead singer-James Michael- reminds me of Myles Kennedy of Alter Bridge, he has that same rock vibe with his vocals. The album really flows and I think the song-“Lies of the Beautiful People”- will be real big very soon. They have the right ingredients a la Nickelback, in the sense that they have some “power ballad” types (see “Smile”) that have that contemporary sound. I would say that this is a “buy.”There is a “heaviness” sound to it but it doesn’t run too deep, it is melodic. Check it Out.

The Beastie Boys-“Hot Sauce Committee: Part 2”- is picking up rave reviews from most everyone including Rolling Stone which gave it a four star rating. I almost pulled the trigger but then I kept hearing curse words and it just bummed me out. I am not going to sit here and tell you that I don’t have songs/records with curse words in them but with these guys-who are veterans in the game now- I just don’t understand why it’s needed. I do like their sound and they seem to have gone back to the basics, Who knows I may take the plunge but for now I will wait on the sidelines until more songs like-“Makes Some Noise”- pull me back in.

Slipknot members are stating that they are going to be moving forward with or without front man-Corey Taylor- who has not yet committed coming back to the band. The band has welcomed back former member Donnie Steel into the mix and he will be back on bass guitar.

Rage Against The Machine are not in the studio or working on any new songs contrary to the rumors out there. Tom Morello said that they will play one show this year but that is as much activity that is planned so far. Don’t you find that weird? I do. Most of their fans were waiting many years for their comeback and this is what they get? One year of touring and nothing else? Just weird. My gut tells me it’s Zack holding things up.

Workout Songs

Rock Mix Workout 2

Here is a mixture of boot camp and Spin work out songs in no particular order.

Ready to Go (U.S. Mix) – Republica – Perfect song for Spin and for the most part I think it could work for boot camp. This track is “ripping” and should be great for any type of work-out. I can recall being in a Spin class in Danbury CT and this song came on towards the end of the class and just kicked our butts. Not really sure if this band is still around but if they can make quality songs like this, I say bring it on. (5:00)

Roll On Down The Highway – Bachman Turner Overdrive – Boy do I remember Chris putting this song on his set list when he taught us how to Spin at MBIA and he usually saved it for the last song before the cool down. He kicked our *ss until we all screamed “Uncle” but it was all in good fun. He used to make us stand up and give it our all during the guitar solo and I never realized how long this solo was until we were all pleading for it to end as our quads were screaming in pain. This is one of the best Spin songs ever. I think it could work for boot camp or if you are running or doing any other physical activity and you need motivation. Look no further than this track. Thanks again Chris!!!(3:56)

Paradise City – Guns & Roses – This was another Chris song that he purposely put at the end of Spin class so as to make you scream out in pain. But the results are huge and believe me there is nothing better than this song once it gets rolling. I used to make believe I was blowing the whistle and it was off to the races. This is a mixture of a hill climb and then towards the end it becomes an all out sprint. “So far away…so fa—ar awy…so fa-ar away” C’mon turn up that resistance, I want a real seven-don’t cheat yourself. Ok get ready to put that resistance down to a five, here we go-sprint….faster…match the speed of Slash’s guitar… “I want to go…oh won’t you please take me home…” Oh I don’t know how much more I can give, I want to throw up. Friggin’ phenomenal ending to a song!!! Whew I’m gasping for air.(6:46)

Birthday – Beatles – We used to use this song for Boot camp class at MBIA and it’s a good song to get the juices flowing as it has a consistent beat which can make you bounce around. Isn’t that what you are really looking for when you work out? Something that keeps you moving along. And you can clap along as well, what could be better? Singing along is.(2:42)

My Girl – Aerosmith – Aerosmith just knows how to rock and roll, don’t they? This knee slapping song will get you out of your seat and move your booty to the beat. If this doesn’t get the juices flowing you better check for a pulse. Steven Tyler was flat out fantastic through “Pump” and he gives it that extra kick in the pants-you have to feel it. This could be utilized for Spin or Boot camp, take your pick. “My Girl!!!!”(3:10)

Revival – Allman Brothers – I remember this was one of the first songs I threw on for a Spin class for Meagan when she worked at MBIA. The beginning takes a while to start but once the 1:35 mark hits and Gregg starts singing -“People can you hear it”- well in my opinion this is one of the best songs to spin to. You can feel the love and can have a lot of fun with this one as you can do the “up and down” thing where you come off the seat. If you get the urge to sing and dance don’t worry, you won’t be the only one.(4:05)

Round & Round – Bodyrockers – Not sure who these guys are but remember I used to scour I-Tunes looking for moving work out songs and I came across this track and immediately downloaded it. For those of you who like loud guitars-it’s here; for those of you who like to dance-it’s here. It sort of like a rock band meets a “house” band and the result is a pumped up groove that will knock you out. This is lots of fun. Get it now!!(3:24)

Desperado – Me First and the Gimme Gimmes – Ok not the best covers you will come across, especially with such a “scared” song. These guys turn this song on its head and turn it into a heavy/punk anthem. But you know what? It moves…it really moves. And the best part is that you probably know all the words, so why not take a chance? (2:28)

Stone Cold Crazy – Metallica – Love Queen but Metallica’s blistering version of this song knocks you right off your seat. I would say that this could be used for either Spin or Boot camp. Lars is lights out on the drums but before you know it-poof the song is over. (Always a sign that a song is great). Note: There is an “F” bomb here so be advised.(2:17)

Say Hey (I Love You) – Michael Franti & Spearhead – Just a pure fun song and can be utilized for any time of workout. Granted it is a bit slow for the hard hitting boot camp but this could be used as a cool down or stretch song. You could have a blast with this song in a Spin class as almost everyone should like this type of music, I really can’t believe that one would not like this song. Hand claps everywhere. “Hey I’ll be gone today but I’ll be back.” (3:55)

Rockin’ Robin – Jackson 5 – I can just picture the big smile on the face of Taxter when I threw this song on a mix for boot camp class. Their take on this classic tune is probably better than the original. Another song where hand clapping is mandatory. I told you that some “oldies” song can really get you moving and this one falls into that category. Is it simple? Yes. Is it fun? You bet and that is the number one reason why you should have it in your set list (2:33)

Kick Start My Heart – Motley Crue – What better song title than this one to get you moving? Consistent drum beats will have you head-banging in no time. “Wooo yeah…kick start my hear…woo yeah…baaaaabbbyyy”Mick Mars guitar riff should make it easy for you to slide your feet across the floor. I am air-guitaring right now as I jump around the room like a mad man. Perfect for boot or Spin. Ok I now it slows down in the middle but don’t stop; keep going as Tommy will drum you back into shape. (4:42)

Your Mama Don’t Dance – Poison – We played this song so much at the MBIA boot camp that I really haven’t listened to this song since 2005 (self imposed) but I figured that if you need a little pick me up, Poison does a nice job with this Messina & Loggins classic. Have at it!!!(3:00)

Don’t Phunk With M y HeartBlack Eyed Peas –This band makes some cool grooves and most times you can really move to them. Love the way he says “comfort” now in a public setting sometimes the language can get a little salty but for the most part this is a fun band. “Crazy is what crazy do.” (4:05)

Songs That Should Be Banned From Classic Rock Radio For The Next Ten Years

Playlist Plus: Classic Rock (Dig)

Last Sunday afternoon as our family gathered for lunch, my oldest son came up with this theme (I guess in his car ride home with his mom after going grocery shopping he must have heard “Carry On Wayward Son” by Kansas) and I immediately said I loved it. He is only 16 and has claimed to have heard the following songs “like a million times already.” Hence for those of you out there who are older than16, you have probably endured at least two times that amount and if you are a “rock” fan then you could possibly get physical ailments that may cause you become sick if you hear “that song again.” At the beginning of our lunch, the entire family was into it as each of us were naming songs that are played every day of every year on the “classic” rock radio format. An hour later it was just my oldest and I as we scoured my record collection (ha isn’t that funny?!) by way of my I-pod and came up with many songs and my guess is that this theme could be used more than a few times as I am assuming some of you out there might list some of yours. Now the one thing I want to make absolutely clear is that we all love these songs but unless it is a one hit wonder our family believes that there has to be other songs from the particular artist/band that classic rock radio can choose from to play for their audience. So here are some songs that we feel that should be put away for the next ten years on classic rock radio stations across the nation so that when it is played 10 years from now a whole new generation will discover what we already know-these songs are great but it’s enough already.

Carry On Wayward SonKansas – How many albums has Kansas made? Better yet how many songs do you think they have recorded? Is it a great song? Yes. Is it their most popular song? Well if one goes by the program directors across the States at class rock radio stations who claim to have a “no repeat day” – I would bet that they have a .45 of this song and nothing else by Kansas (Ok maybe they also have “Dust in The Wind” but that’s it). Maybe the term should be rephrased to “No Repeat Decade!!”When we hear the opening words of this song in the car-“Carry on my wayward son…there’ll be peace when you are done”- every one screams in unison- “Turn It Off!!!”

Sweet Home AlabamaLynyrd Skynyrd – Oh my this is another song which is a classic but I would bet that this song has been played more on the classic rock radio format than any other song in the history of radio (until we get to the next song). No offense but instead of using a bull horn to break up a crowd just put this song on and when folks hear the “Turn it Up” part they will scatter faster than those bugs that you see on the TV commercials when “Raid” is coming to get them.

Stairway to HeavenThe Mighty Led Zeppelin – Yes you know that it kills me to put the Mighty Led Zeppelin on this list but I have to be honest with myself-I can’t listen to this song anymore. I think I have must have put this rule into effect a long time ago because even when I am by myself in the car and could listen to the whole song and claim to have not heard it in at least seven years, I still can’t do it. I immediately turn to any pre-programmed station and take deep breaths.

We Will Rock You / We Are The ChampionsQueen – This was the greatest song ever when it was released. Who didn’t like the –“Boom Boom Pow-(Oh wait that is another song) but you know what I am talking about. Banging on the drum part on the piano was ingenious and infectious. Then if your favorite sports team won a championship this song was played. I say that the only time they should play this song in New York is the earlier of: A) Ten Years or B) If the NY Jets win a Superbowl or the NY Mets win a World Series. (Could be “A” right?)

Sweet Emotion / Dream OnAerosmith – Our family couldn’t agree on which song to pick so we decided to put both of these songs down. For me personally, when I hear “Sweet Emotion” I start to break out in hives and immediately seek shelter. My youngest-who is 13- says that he can’t take “Dream On” anymore. Can you imagine if he is already sick of it what you and I are going through? Love Aerosmith but they have so many other great songs but you’d never know it if you listened to classic rock radio.

Any Boston Song from Their Debut AlbumBoston – Ok this album is arguably one of the greatest debuts in the history of music but we all agreed that every one of the songs on this album should not be played for the next ten years. (My oldest wanted to exempt “Let Me Take You Home Tonight” but I was having none of it). Listen I love Boston and miss Brad Delp but they have other songs that can be played on the radio besides “More Than a Feeling” and “Peace of Mind” and…you get the picture.

Enter SandmanMetallica – My oldest wanted this song on the list and would not take “no” for an answer and I have to admit he is right. On the classic rock radio format one only hears this song from them and then maybe the cover of Bob Seger’s “Turn The Page.” You know how I feel about Metallica but if the Mighty Led Zeppelin can be on this list then they can appear as well with this track.

(Can’t Get No) Satisfaction/ Jumping Jack FlashRolling Stones – Another two songs that we could not decide on, so both appear. Whenever I hear the opening guitar riff to “Satisfaction” (yes I know it’s legendary) I run for the hills because I can’t…I can’t deal with it…I want to scream…I can picture a “robotic” Charlie Watts hitting the drums-“onetwothree”…And I have the same reaction with “Jumpin’ Jack” and I really can not distinguish between the two songs any longer. Sorry Stones fans but these two songs have been played more than a zillion times and I can’t take it any more.

Baba O’ReillyThe Who -I know that my best man Johnny loves this song and never gets sick of it so I know he has a problem with this song being on this list and I recognize that this song made my top ten songs by the Who but my oldest was adamant that this tune is played way too much. Begrudgingly I have to agree but I did not say that you couldn’t listen to these songs-we’re just asking for radio programmers to not play it on the airwaves. (satellite or free). By the way, my bride says any song by The Who.

China GroveDoobie Brothers – Again I recognize the quality of the song and it is a perfect “air-guitar” tune but I’d take “Black Water” for the next ten years instead. Don’t you agree? As soon as I hear the opening guitar licks I hit the dial so fast that I could audition for hitting the buzzer on Jeopardy (not saying I could answer the “answer” but I could team up with someone and when the answer is posted all I would need is for someone to play the opening notes…I would win the buzz battle every time).

Road House Blues (Live)The Doors – If someone (thing) from another planet landed on earth and spent a few months listening to classic rock radio, they’d be convinced that the Doors only recorded one song and this would be it. I’m not the biggest Doors fan as you know and as a teenager I liked this song a whole lot but now as an adult (because of hearing it every day on the radio) I almost physically get sick. I get an immediate headache and look for the Tylenol. “Let it roll…baby…all night long.” Pleaaasssseeee get me out of here.

ParanoidBlack Sabbath – As you all know I have been on a steady diet of Black Sabbath for the past month or so but without this song. To think that this song was a “throw in” as they needed a few more minutes to complete this landmark album but there are so many other songs that can be played by this unbelievable band. It’s enough already.

Crazy TrainOzzy – How many times have you heard-“All aboard…ha, ha, ha, ha, ha…eye..(eye)..(eye)?” Don’t you feel like slapping something when you hear it? Ok so maybe it’s only me but I can’t any more. Could be the best hard rock anthem ever made but it makes me “crazy…and that’s how it goes.” Sorry folks.

Brown Eyed GirlVan Morrison– When ever I hear this song I want to break something. Yeah I know it’s a great song by a legend…blah, blah, blah…If I had enough money I would buy up every recording of this song and lock it up in a vault and throw away the key. I was at a “silent auction/dinner dance” event last year and the DJ sensing an older crowd threw this song on and I almost threw up my food. I had to run out of the room until it was over and had to zig-zag through the crowd because everyone else was headed out to the dance floor. Using my brother’s phrase…Really?

MoneyPink Floyd – Whenever I hear the “cash register” sound I’m out, literally I think I faint from exhaustion from this song. In my opinion, it is one of the most boring songs ever recorded. Don’t get me wrong, I recognize its importance from the legendary album it comes from but if I never hear this song again it wouldn’t be long enough.

Boys Are Back In TownThin Lizzy – I apologize John but my oldest again stated that this song had to be on the list because if you listen to classic rock radio you would think that this is the only song this freaking under-rated band ever recorded. It’s a damn shame because it is so not true and if you need any convincing, I will put you in touch with John to enlighten you as he did to me.

Smoke On The WaterDeep Purple – This kills me to put on the list as well but I have to admit that it is played all the time on classic rock radio. This band has so many other songs (with various lead singers) and this song is always played. Don’t get me wrong, I love it but it is time to pick another great song by this band and wear it out for the next ten years.

New Year’s DayU2 – Another song which is constantly played. You may remember that I wrote a few months back that I was always confused on why and how U2 songs ended up on so many different radio formats. With respect to the classic rock format I am making a plea to all radio programmers-PICK ANOTHER SONG TO PLAY!!!

Top Ten

This week my I-Pod shuffle seemingly kept landing on songs by Joe Jackson and Squeeze so I was convinced that it was a sign to do a combined top ten for this week. And this makes sense to me (I know, I’m weird) because I only followed Joe Jackson’s career for a very short time and basically lost touch after ‘Jumpin’ Jive” which was released in 1981. That same year was the last album that I purchased by Squeeze-“East Side Story”-so again it makes sense in my mind to do five songs from both of these artists because I really was on each respective bandwagon for a short period of time and do not purport to know all there is to know about either. But I will say that in my opinion, both of these artists produced some of their best songs ever during this stretch and I would contend that many of you out there fall into the same boat as I do when it comes to favoring this period of time whereby each were in their “prime” once 1981 came to a close.

As I have previously mentioned, the first concert I ever attended was a Joe Jackson show in Central Park in 1980. When he hit the scene in the late 1970’s I thought he and his band were one of the most talented bunch of musicians to emerge with that “new wave”-(now referred to as “alternative”) style of music that exploded at the turn of the 1980’s decade. There was the Talking Heads, The B-52’s and in my opinion Joe Jackson (and to a certain extent Squeeze) which fall into that category of “new wave.” Joe made some more “conventional” new wave (unlike the Talking Heads and early B-52’s) music which had so much energy and force. I had the feeling back then (and still do now) that Joe sort of easily dismisses the kind of music he made during “Look Sharp” and “I’m The Man” as sort of a novelty, like he did it as a goof or something. Once he left that new wave world, he has never returned and I scratch my head on why he couldn’t do a reunion tour with his original band-even if it were for just one show in New York City. I can guarantee it would sell out in a matter of moments but he has stuck to his guns so I guess it’s one more dream that I have to move on from. (Hey I received a dream come true when The Cars announced a show at the Hammerstein later this month, so it is not all bad). Who knows maybe he does play some of these classic songs when he tours every once in a while but I get the feeling he does the “Sting” thing where he changes the original vibe of the song and adds new “flavors” to the sound. (I don’t want that, I can’t have that and I won’t deal with it). Anyway, for a two-to-three year period Joe Jackson was “The Man” and made some of the best songs that still resonate with many of us out there and I bet a whole new generation of fans as well.

With Squeeze it was a whole new ballgame for me (although my friends back in Brooklyn would say that it was right up my alley) because I initially though their music was “weird” (c’mon- “I think I’m go-go…go-go…go-go?”) sort of like The B-52’s weird…Okay not that weird, but you know what I am getting at. I have to again thank my Uncle Gary for turning me on to Squeeze (as well as The B-52’s and Talking Heads) as he exposed me to “Argy Bargy” which turned out to be one of my most favorite albums of the 1980’s. Once I “got it,” then I thought Squeeze was one of the most talented musicians and song writers of their generation. But after “East Side Story” they kind of fell off my radar as there were many personnel changes and apparent in-fighting that caused delays and in my opinion affected future outputs of their work. (But I could be wrong). I saw Squeeze at Giants Stadium with David Bowie and Lisa, Lisa & The Cult Jam (again weird comes to mind) and Squeeze was the highlight that night as Bowie refused to do any of his “popular” stuff. (Remember I recently “discovered” a lot of Bowie’s work just a few years ago so take a deep breath). In a short period of time, Squeeze just kept the “hits” coming and had to be considered one of the premier bands during that occasion. Paul Carrack entered the fray and took some of their songs to another level but was gone in a New York minute. But at least we still have the original recordings and I think Tillbrook and Dilford are still back together (which in my opinion was the best recordings of Squeeze) and still touring.

So here I am on this island and have been informed that I can have ten songs but only five each from Joe Jackson and Squeeze. “These are Them:”

Image of Joe Jackson

Joe Jackson

5.     Don’t Wanna Be Like That – I think if I had to pick one song that identified Joe Jackson during his “new wave” phase this tune would be the winner. It has everything that identified him as an artist: an edge you can feel, a certain rawness that he delivered better than most, a particular “don’t mess with me” type of attitude and a his vocals are just so “natural” for this type of genre. Who knows maybe he did the right thing by moving on to other genres because he set a high bar to top. But there is a part of me that feels that there is still a “rebel” inside of him that loves this type of music…at least that is what I tell myself. “Take me away…don’t wanna be like that!!!” Excellent musicianship.

4.     One More Time –Love the opening riff on this track, it immediately caught my attention way back when and once the bass enters the fray it makes the groove that much better. Don’t kid yourself folks this band was hot when they were around and could play with the best of them. If there is one quality that I think separates Joe from the rest of the pile is his ability to create hooks and melodies that keep you singing all day long. “One more time…say you’re leaving…say goodbye…one more time…” Joe please come back with the original band for one night (maybe two) and start the show off with this song, make one of my dreams come true!!

3.     Sunday Papers – If there was another adjective that I could use to describe Mr. Jackson, it would be-“cool.” C’mon how cool is this song? Could be one of the coolest songs recorded in the 1970’s. Don’t cha just love the bass line? And what about the lyrics? “Mother doesn’t go out anymore…just sits at home and rolls her spastic eyes…if you want to know how to be a star…you can read it in the Sunday papers…” Again there is such an infectious groove and chorus that keeps this tune in your head all day long. “Sunday papers…don’t ask no questions…don’t get no lies…” Rock on my friends!!

2.    Look Sharp – The only way to listen to this song is LOUD!!! How cool is this song? I love the arrangement and the drums give it that extra kick in the pants. “Well hey shut your face…maybe you will see or hear!!!” I hope Joe realizes this song is one of the best songs of the 1970’s-yes that’s right I said it. This deservedly was played incessantly on the radio for like two straight years. The break where the piano trades “barbs” with the drums is flat out phenomenal. Tell me you don’t “air-drum” to every part that the drummer performs and then the lead guitarist takes off with a solo that makes the song take off. I love the lyrics, could be his best ever. “Check your watch and wallet before it’s too late!!”

1.     I’m The Man – Oh my…once I hear this song I feel like a mouse running on one of those treadmills that just keep spinning and spinning. I think I could keep a generator going if it were hooked up to a treadmill if I just kept playing this song over and over in my headphones. “I had a giant rubber shark…and it really made a mark…did you looka looka looka all the blood…” Boy do I feel like I am back in the MBIA boot camp class going out of my mind as this song is blaring within the small walls of that exercise room. “Right Now!!!!!!… I think I’m gonna find a new trend!!!…anything from a thin safety pin to a pork pie hat…” My bride hates when I play this song in the house because the walls shake and she doesn’t like all the screaming. What??!!! That’s the best part!!! Joe this is the best!! Thanks and if you did come back for one show in New York please be sure to play this phenomenal tune!!

Image of Squeeze

Squeeze

5.     Separate Beds – I never knew who sang the lead vocals between Glenn and Chris but whoever sings the lead on this track is the voice that I know very well. His vocals are pure perfection with respect to tone and clarity. This is from Argy Bargy which was released in 1980 and in my opinion was so different from everything that was out there. In a weird way, these guys remind me of a “new wave” version of The Beatles. (take a deep breath, I said reminds). This song brings back so many great memories of my teenage days spent in Sunset Park Brooklyn. I can remember listening to this album (and many others) while laying on the hardwood floor with my head close to the two tall speakers and when no one was home…well lets just say I hope the neighbors liked my music. This wasn’t the heavy stuff so I’m assuming there were not too many windows shut when it came on.

4.     Another Nail In My Heart – “The case was pulled from under the bed…she made a call to a sympathetic friend and made arrange..ma..uhhh…uhhhh..uhhh…uhhh…ants…” How great is this song? I can listen to this tune all day. Love the drum work especially when it accentuates the –“with where have you beens”- one, two on the cymbals. Then there is a sweet guitar solo that is friggin’ awesome. These guys are super talented-“and here in the bar the piano man’s found another nail for my heart”-this is a perfect Spin song. Love the way the piano takes the song to its end.

3.     I Think I’m Go Go – This is like “psychedelic new wave,” I remember when my uncle played this song for me and at first I thought it was one of the weirdest songs that I had come across. But just like sometimes when you have a fight with the bully on your block then later you become the best of friends, this song became one of my favorites. The arrangement is so good as it takes on different shapes and sizes and is exemplified by the phenomenal vocals, lead and backing. I love the part when they come back from the “military beats” (“PIX and rock and roll”) and the lead vocalist sings- “Buckingham Palace… trains all late…funny men all out in the rain…”The ending is psychedelic with all those “missile”-like noises from the organ. Just an all around fantastic song.

2.     Tempted – It’s ironic that this is arguably their most popular song ever and it is sung by Paul Carrack who was essentially in the band for a “cup of coffee.” (Black coffee that is…in bed). Paul added that classic R&B sound to this song and together they created a masterpiece. Love the intro with the keyboards and bass while Paul whispers-“I bought a tooth brush”- before he actually starts singing those words. I’d have to say that this track has to land in the top ten songs for the 1980’s decade. I love the part where Paul sings-“At my bedside empty pocket…a foot without a sock…your body gets much closer…”-does it get any better than this song. This was soclose to being my most favorite Squeeze song.

1.     If I Didn’t Love You – It came down to this song and “Tempted” but the more I “battled” between the two, I kept leaning towards this classic and it is due to the overall arrangement which shifts gears and timing with such precision. These guys had a way of repeating words and phrases but did it in a way where you weren’t annoyed. I think this is their best vocal performance as well-listen carefully the deep voice follows the lead vocalist just as good as when the moon seems to follow you everywhere when you take a walk on a nice summer night (you know what I’m talking about)-every time you turn around, the backing vocals are there making the song that much better. “Hmmm…if I…if I…if I…if I…if I” Love the guitar work where it sounds like someone jumping up steps two at a time to get to the top of that stoop so you can ring the bell for that someone special to look out the window and let you know they are coming down. I think this is their ultimate masterpiece.

Trivia Questions

Answers from last week:

1.     Joe Satriani

2.     Patsy Cline

3.     Johnnny Nash- I Can See Clearly Now

4.     The Romantics – What I Like About You This week’s trivia (Random)-

1.     I was one of the biggest artist’s during the 1980’s and was there for the birth of MTV as plenty of my videos were played. One of them probably hurt my career as I disappeared from the music scene for a long time. I am now back currently touring and was one of Ringo’s guests on his annual summer tour a few years ago. Who am I?

2.     As a band we had most of our success as a result of us releasing one of our most popular albums in 1980 (we have fifteen studio albums). We are still touring today as we have captured another generation of fans as we will always take it on the run. Who are we?

3.     I have won three Grammy’s in my life time, each for best Rhythm & Blues song, with the first in 1971 and then in 1981 I shared the award with two other song writers. A few years ago, Pete Carroll (then the head coach at USC) brought me in to give a pep talk to his team and to sing as well. I am so grateful for my grandma’s hands. Who am I?

4.     Between 1991 and 1994, I was the recipient of five Grammy awards and this was well after I had already had four Grammy’s. I released two albums for those years which have sold over 14 million copies combined. I was elected to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2000 and I am the daughter of a Broadway musical star. Who am I?

Name That Tune

Answers from last week:

1.     I’m Into Something Good – Herman’s Hermits

2.     Free Bird – Lynyrd Skynyrd

3.     Mainstreet – Bob Seger

4.     Why Can’t This Be Love? – Van Halen

Can you guess the title from the following lyrics from part of the song?

1.     “…those crazy nights…I do remember in my youth…I do recall…those were the best times most of all…”

2.     “…do my dreaming and my scheming lie awake and pray…do my crying and sighing laugh at yesterday…”

3.     “…somewhere out on the horizon…out beyond the neon lights…I know there must be something better…”

4.     “…life isn’t easy from the singular side…down in the hole some emotions are hard to hide…it’s your decision…”

Back on this Day

Back on this day in 1965, Keith Richards stated that he fell asleep in a hotel in Florida and when he woke up he discovered that he composed the riff to “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction.”

Back on this day in 1973, Paul Simon began his first solo tour without Art Garfunkel with a show the Boston Music Hall in Massachusetts.

Back on this day in 1978, Kansas’s album-“Point of Know Return” (my favorite) peaked at number 4 on the Billboard album chart. It went on to sell over 4 million copies in the U.S. alone.

Back on this day in 1994, Pearl Jam began their fight against Ticket Master by filing a memorandum that they were a monopoly (still are and the Justice Dept. allowed Live Nation to join them…makes sense). I salute the members of Pearl Jam for their fantastic effort to end the monopoly and wish the outcome could have been different. Shame on the others who didn’t help out. Now look what we have-only two ticket prices now- “a lot” and “a little.”

Back on this day in 2006, Axl Rose appeared on the “Eddie Trunk” show and stated that the long awaited “Chinese Democracy” was to be released in the fall 2006. He was off by two more years-it was finally released in November 2008.

If it is your birthday today, you share the same birth date with Bob Seger.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

