Errols Weekly Music Update.

April 22, 2011

Weekly Update – 04/22/2011

Gladys Knight at the Beacon Theater on Thurs. May 5. Tickets on sale now. $79, $101.50 and $143.20.

Sully Erna at the Hammerstein Ballroom on Thurs. May 19. Let’s try it again this Friday-Tickets on sale today at 10:00 a.m. $48.50.

Jennifer Hudson at the Beacon Theater on Wed. July 6. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $73.35 and $121.45.

BB King, Buddy Guy & J. Geils Band at Jones Beach on Sat. Aug. 27. Tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. $44.85 and $171. Also appearing at the PNC Bank Arts Theater on Sun. Aug. 28. Tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. $17 and $207.25. (I am sorry, I love BB and Buddy but the pricing terms of these shows are outrageous, this is now insane).

Steve Earle at the Music Hall of Williamsburg on Mon. Sept. 12 and at the Town Hall on Tues. Sept. 13. Tickets on sale for the Town Hall this morning at 11:00 a.m. $35 and $50. Tickets on sale for the Music Hall at noon. $40

Animal Collective at the Prospect Park Band Shell on Tues. July 12. Tickets on sale today at noon. $35.

Debbie Gibson and Tiffany at NYCB Theater on Fri. July 29. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $41.50 and $52.

Grace Potter and the Nocturnals at the Central Park Stage on Sat. Sept. 24. Tickets on sale today at noon. $37.50

ZZ Top at the Mt. Laurel Pocono Mountain Performing Arts Center (Bushkill, PA) on Sat. Aug. 20. Tickets on sale now. $46.50, $76.50 and $86.50.

Frankie Valli & The Beach Boys at the Mt. Laurel Pocono Mountain Performing Arts Center (Bushkill, PA) on Thurs. Aug. 25. Tickets on sale now. $46.50, $66.50 and $96.50.

Kenny G and Michael Bolton at the Beacon Theater on Sun. June 19. Tickets on sale now. $58.50, $83.60, $121.45 and $174.70.

Other items:

Ok what is it going to take to finally get Jacob Lusk voted off of American Idol? I didn’t think Stefano Langone was going to win it all but he is definitely a better singer/performer than Lusk. I have to believe next week he is gone. By the way, everyone thought that American Idol would fail once Simon left (including myself) but after this season, I say “Simon who?” This year’s show has been better than any year before. The chemistry between the judges is astounding and Jennifer Lopez has been the best judge they ever had-she keeps it real. Steven Tyler is….well Steven Tyler, doesn’t get any better. Producers of the show are going to figure out a new system for next year to try and correct the bias towards the male singers due to the largely female based voting audience. The girls haven’t had a winner since Jordan Sparks in 2007. Come to think of it, the male winners since that time really haven’t turned out to be superstars. Even last night, with no disrespect to David Cook, but his new single was nothing that stood out. Though I will give Simon credit when he said that Carrie Underwood would be the best American Idol there ever was, he had that right.

Jon Bon Jovi opened a homeless shelter for displaced youths in Philadelphia PA this week. He has been a long time supporter of homeless charities and thinks that failing to support these youths “denies all of us of their talents and visions.” I know I get on Bon Jovi sometimes (the band) but this is a beautiful thing that Jon has done and I applaud him. Thanks Jon!!!

Steven Tyler granted a dying fan’s final wish as he was able to call Lawrence Ori who was in a hospice and Steven was able to talk to him via “Skype.” Ori was a huge fan of Aerosmith and Steven told him that he loved him and was glad to meet him. Sadly a few hours after the call, Lawrence passed away. Nice job Steven!

The Foo Fighter’s had their first number one album that debuted in the top spot of Billboard 200 when they sold 235,000 copies of “Wasting Light.” I told you this album is good-now go out and buy it so they can keep it there another week.

Slash has squashed the rumors that Corey Taylor (Slipknot) will be taking over as the new lead singer of Velvet Revolver. Slash is quoted as saying that “he’s great, I love him but he is not the answer to the Velvet Revolver problem.”

Fans of Twisted Sister set the “DVR” for this Tueday night (technically Wed. morning) as they will be a guest on the Jimmy Fallon show at 12:35 a.m. on April 27.

My favorite “blues/rock & roll/rap” song of the week is “Hillbilly Stomp” by Mr. Kid Rock. I know my friend Slats would absolutely love this song because I can picture him making believe he is a rap star while ripping this song. Now the lyrics are “salty” (including an “F” bomb) so if there are youngsters around, you can not play it. I have it blasting right now because the wife and kids are out of the house-the walls are shaking!!! This song is “the bomb.”

Album Review – “The Wild, The Innocent and the E-Street Shuffle” by Bruce Springsteen (& The Unnamed E-Street Band) released on Sept. 11, 1973

The Wild, the Innocent & the E-Street Shuffle

(My boy’s had off from school this week and they wanted to contribute. This is a review from my oldest son).

In my constant quest to expand my musical horizon I recently decided to search for music outside the world of the blues and jazz and go back to the genre I started in which is good old fashion rock and roll. Recently I’ve explored a lot of guitar based music in an attempt to learn from it and become a better player myself.  However I realized that good guitar playing isn’t alone what made guys like Stevie Ray Vaughan, Clapton, and Hendrix legends.What made them legends was the fact that they were great artists, besides being amazing guitar players they knew how to create good songs, knew how to sing, and knew how to write good songs. So after realizing that I decided to expand my tastes beyond “guitar based” music and decided to head back into the world of rock and roll and find artists who I had never really listened to before.

Songwriting is something I have been really fascinated with lately and I wanted to find rock artists who were known for their songwriting and naturally the first two artists I thought of that were Bob Dylan and Bruce Springsteen. Even though I’ve grown up on rock and roll (because of my dad) I had never really experienced either one’s music simply because my dad has never been into Springsteen or Dylan. But I needed to experience their music myself in order decide whether or not I liked them.  So I ended up buying “Blonde on Blonde” from Dylan and “E-Street Shuffle” from Springsteen and I enjoyed both of them.

The album that appealed to me more was the Springsteen record only because it was shorter but had strong songs, and Springsteen’s voice along with his songwriting captivated me (not to say I didn’t like “Blonde On Blonde” because I did). Another great thing is his backup band The E-Street Band which adds so much more to the record. Overall I’m glad I chose this as my first Springsteen record and would recommend newcomers to start with either this album or “Born to Run.”

Side 1:

The album starts off on a high note with the funky “E-Street Shuffle” that will immediately have you grooving. This song sets the tone of the album and displays everything that is present in the album like Springsteen’s voice and excellent songwriting along with the powerful instrumentals of the E-Street Band. Just when you think the song is over the opening guitar riff is played followed by a short instrumental part which launches right into the next song. The album progresses here with the fan favorite “4th of July, Asbury Park (Sandy).” This is one of my personal favorites on the album; this is one of the best ballads you will ever hear. The heart of this song is without a doubt its great lyrics, Springsteen paints a picture in your head with his words that just makes you smile. Even if you didn’t pay any attention to the lyrics there is something about the song, I don’t know how to explain it but you can just feel the passion. It’s definitely one of rock’s defining ballads.

The somber tone of “Sandy” is quickly lost when “Kitty’s Back” begins with its ringing guitar intro that sets the tone of the song. This is really the only song on the album that, in my opinion gives the E-Street Band time to improvise and show how good they really are, this song displays an excellent organ solo from David Sancious, a nice guitar solo from Bruce, and a great horn section that gives the song a nice groove. Throw in Bruce’s great vocals and some good lyrics and you have one awesome song. The album slows down a little after that powerful song with the acoustic “Wild Billy’s Circus.” My first impression of this song was not very good, I didn’t enjoy it at all but it has recently grown on me. This is a song you have to carefully listen to and really pay attention to it in order to appreciate its quiet beauty.

Side 2:

Now even though Side 1 is really good and provides excellent tunes, Side 2 is the gem on this record. It has three long epics that blew me away when I first listened to them, for me Side 2 will always be my favorite part of this album.  Side 2 begins with the peaceful piano intro to “Incident On 57th Street.”   This song tells the story of “Spanish Johnny” who meets a woman named “Puerto Rican Jane” and proceeds to fall in love with her. The lyrics tell such a vivid story about their struggle with love; the lyrics are so good that when you listen to them you can almost feel what Johnny and Jane are feeling. When I hear this song I feel like I am in the world of Johnny and Jane, and I forget about everything else around me. A song has to be really good for it to transport you to another world like that. Even running close to 8 minutes long this song flies by before you know it and is definitely one of the best Springsteen songs ever.

“Incident” goes right into the best song on the album, the rock classic “Rosalita (Come Out Tonight).” Now I don’t care how you feel about Bruce, even if you’re not a fan it’s impossible not to like this song. It has such an infectious groove that you can’t help but smile every time you hear it.  The horns and saxophone are absolutely perfect in this song along with the vocals and lyrics. The verses are great and the chorus is so addicting you will be singing it all day long.I think my favorite part of the song is when the band goes into the a-cappella chant “Oh you’re papa says he knows I don’t have any money” and goes in the nest verse. If this song doesn’t excite you, you may want to check your pulse because it is definitely one of the best rock and roll songs ever. If only every song could be this good.

The energy from Rosalita is brought down on the final track of the album “New York City Serenade” which boasts some phenomenal piano and guitar work. The piano intro will have you in awe and when the guitar jumps in you will just be blown away at the peacefulness of it. I wish the intro could last forever but after about 2:25 minutes Springsteen’s voice comes in and starts the song.  This is the perfect closer for the album as it some of Springsteen’s best vocals.He sings this song very quietly which gives the song a sense of intimacy. As the songs ends you really appreciate the album for what it is, a collection of great songs.  This really is an underrated album because it’s constantly in the shadow of “Born to Run” but I have to say that in many ways it’s a better record.  If you don’t own this album do yourself a favor and pick it up as soon as you can.

Workout Songs

Don't Quit Music: Bootcamp Burn (Exercise, Fitness, Workout, Aerobics, Running, Walking, Weight Lifting, Cardio, Weight Loss, Abs)

Figured I would keep the Boot Camp theme going, here are some more songs that will get the juices flowing: (these are in no particular order, like last week)

Here Comes My BabyThe Tremeloes– Use this as a “start-up”song (“warm up,” whatever you want to call it) it’s an “oldie” but a classic. You’d be surprised how many “oldie” songs there are that can get the blood pumping. And the best part is that you can even whistle to this song (remember you have to use this at the beginning of your work-out while you can still whistle).

Go FasterThe Black Crowes – Another great song for just starting a boot camp class. It starts off a little slow but it quickly turns into a rockin’ song that you will have a blast dancing and singing to-“Can you make this thing go faster”- I can remember everyone in the MBIA boot camp class liking this song the very first time they heard it and I knew I had a “hit” on my list-again it is tough making every song work in your work out. Get over the guitar aspect and put it in your play list.

The MiddleJimmy Eat World-Keeping with the theme of “warm-up” this song starts to get you moving faster as you head to the next station in boot camp. It’s such a shame that I could not save my boot camp and spin lists because I had some really good ones. This song was utilized many times during the MBIA boot camp days, it’s not too heavy and it contains a consistent beat that will have you kicking your legs high in the air. Cool song!!!

HigherGloria Estafan – Even though there are lots of “rock” songs in my selections, during my years at MBIA I knew I had to mix it up because I didn’t want to give everyone a headache with the crazy stuff all the time. This is the perfect release from all the head-banging songs and makes you move in ways you’d never thought possible. The part where Gloria sings-“Here we here we go now” – right about the two minute mark and then all the bongos/percussion perform a solo, it is so good. Thanks to my bride for playing this around the house, it caught my ear and I said-“that is a song I could use for boot camp.”

The Cup of LifeRicky Martin – Whew… talk about getting the juices flowing? This is a great song to exercise to, I can remember I had a “Ricky Martin” section with like three songs in a row (yes I know I said that only Green Day had two songs in a row but like I said, this is now coming back to me little by little) and the women in the class loved it. Yeah I know it’s not cool for guys to like it (maybe this should also land in the “songs that you are scared to admit you like” section) but if you are in a boot camp class and need “motivating” music-look no further than this. Great work-out song, period end of story.

Hit Me UpGia Farrell – Great song from the “Happy Feet” soundtrack and it is perfect for the movie title because there is no way you won’t be happy singing and dancing to this song. Again I definitely mixed in the “dance” music in my CD’s for boot camp and this song was utilized many times over. This definitely get the juices flowing.

I’m ReadyGeorge Thorogood– George does a blistering cover of the Fats Domino classic, this is pure rock and roll that will have you “twisting” all over the place and “air-guitaring” all around the room. If this doesn’t move you then again, head back to the couch. You will clapping your hands and stamping your feet like crazy.

RockerAC/DC– This song is a “cross-over” in the sense that it can be used for “boot camp” as well as “Spin.” Ask Chris about this song, he’ll tell you I was possessed when I put it on a list for one of his “Spin” classes. This is almost three minutes of pure blazing rock and roll that has to get you dancing around the house like Macaulay Culkin did in “Home Alone.” That’s how I feel when I hear this song.

Don’t Phunk With My Heart – Black Eyed Peas – Ok how could you have a workout and not have a Black Eyed Peas song? This song will keep your feet moving and if you are at a “cardio” station in the boot camp class you will have just a little over four minutes to groove along with this “phunk-y” tune. This is just pure fun.

American Idiot – Green Day – Green Day is the perfect band for “work-out” music because their beats are pulverizing and have to get you energized like no other band/artist. Now I will say that if you are putting this song on in a “public” setting, make sure that everyone will be okay with hearing the “F”- bomb very loud and clear (there are no clean versions, sorry). That is the only negative with this track, other wise you will be raring to go the moment this song starts. On your mark, get set…GO!!!!

Now That We Found LoveHeavy D & The Boyz – Again I used to scour my music library searching for the most upbeat songs that will keep your feet and body moving and in my opinion this is one of the best songs that can be utilized for your next work-out. This is pure fun (and I think for the most part the lyrics are “PG-13”). Heavy D does a great job rapping over this great dance song. You need to have this in your mix.

SolutionTesla – Oh man does this song rock or what? You know I love these guys and whenever I hear this track I immediately go back to the gym room at MBIA. I saw Tesla perform this song at one of their shows and it blew me away. I don’t care what anyone says-these guys can rock with the best of them.

Two Lane BlacktopRob Zombie – Say what you will but guys like Zombie and Manson make some of the best workout songs because their songs are usually heavy and quick-perfect combination for your workout, no? Love the female background vocals-gives the song some flavor. And it has hand-claps, so you know it is a favorite of mine. If you can get used to the heaviness, this is a good workout song!! “Hook me up…hook me up…c’mon…driving…black top rollin’”

Rock and Roll JesusKid Rock – When Kid Rock makes songs like these, there is nothing better-nothing, I tell you. This is pure rock and roll and if this song doesn’t get you out of your seat, then nothing will. This song is so friggin’ good that I have to listen to it over and over again. And it has to be LOUD!!! This fits Kid like a glove-again find me a better song??!!!

Top Ten

Image of Green Day

Since both of my sons’ are on a spring break from school, they wanted to contribute to the page this week, so I figured we could all do a “top ten” list together but as I am finding out as they grow older, tastes have changed dramatically and trying to nail down an artist or band that we all like seems to be getting more difficult than I would have ever imagined. We sat down at the dinner table and were throwing names out there-I thought for sure that Maroon 5 was going to work but now my oldest son has soured with their latest super pop effort and on the flip side, my youngest seems to like pop more than ever. That suggestion died as quickly as it was brought up, so then I said “Green Day.” I figured that since this was our first concert together and we all have the last two albums (and more “greatest hits”) on each respective I-Pod, this would be the perfect match. My youngest immediately said yes, I stated that I was in, but my oldest did not instantaneously solidify the agreement. He was kind of wavering and making faces so my youngest, acting like an umpire who has a manager in his face, raised his arm and gave his brother the “out” sign. And not that he was looking for confirmation from me but I had to agree, so it will be just my youngest and I who will be giving you our list of favorite top ten songs by Green Day.

I can’t say that I am the biggest Green Day fan that is out there but I have seen them the last two times that they have come to the Tri-State area and would definitely be up for another return to the Garden (or anywhere else they decide to play) to hear them play. When “Dookie” exploded on to the scene back in the early 1990’s, I would equate my interest to this band the same way I was with Nirvana-I liked the songs that I heard on the radio and/or MTV but something always held me back on purchasing their albums. I will not even get into the never ending debate of if they should be considered a punk band, in my opinion it doesn’t matter because whatever one would like to call their music, it has always rocked.And I will be perfectly honest, my first Green Day purchase was their “International Superhits” release which housed all those “single” hits on one package, so this was perfect for me. But this doesn’t mean that I can’t get psyched up for this band, on the contrary, some of their songs take me to another stratosphere.

I was looking for “American Idiot” from them before they recorded it and even then I needed convincing from my friend Paul and others, where many said that they had done their “Sgt. Pepper’s.” Now that was a pretty big statement but I went with the recommendation and never looked back. In my opinion, “American Idiot” is a complete masterpiece equipped with that familiar sound that their fans all loved but the “blood, sweat and tears” that went into the production and arrangement proved to all the “nay-sayers” that they could make songs longer than a few minutes. The result was an unbelievable collection of songs that flowed beautifully, were so melodic and I knew that they had turned a corner in their career where most will eventually say that this album was the “black top” that paved the way on their journey to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

Their latest release-“21st Century Breakdown” is a solid album with many great songs. I do think for the next album they will have to reinvent the formula again because they run the risk of trying to recapture the magic of “Idiot” which could be a “once in a lifetime” album. (I mean nothing negative I’m just trying to make a point that it’s hard to recreate that formula, I think new ingredients are needed for the next album).

So here we are, my youngest son and I, stuck on an island and told that we can only have ten songs by Green Day. “These Are Them:” (My son’s songs are in red and mine are in blue).

10.     Minority– I was going through a decision: I couldn’t decide on “Minority” or “Extraordinary Girl.” I finally picked “Minority” because I thought it was more “Green Day” or more rebellious. I also thought the music video was pretty funny and interesting. In addition, because “Extraordinary Girl” is more popular and popular music is frowned upon in this establishment, I picked Minority for number ten.

10.     Warning – I love this song, the groove is so infectious. Are some of their songs “simple” sounding? Yes but as I always mention-sometimes simple equates to genius. Now I am not going to say this song is “genius” but it is so good that I usually have to rewind it and listen to it twice once I hear it. I can remember putting this song on a set list for Chris’s spin class when he taught at MBIA, it is really fun to pedal to this track-try it, you’ll love it. Try not to “air-guitar” while on the bike because if you have an instructor like Chris he/she will get off their bike in a matter of seconds to turn up your resistance if you are having so much fun. Do what I did-hold on to the handle bars and dance your body from side to side. Great song.

9.      Coming Clean– Coming Clean really inspires me. The song is about a teenager is finally becoming mature and how everyone else doesn’t believe in him.Even though it is a short song, it’s really fun and enjoyable. It’s like a song you can easily listen to twice in a row.

9.      Welcome to Paradise– Controlled chaos, this term comes to mind when I think of Green Day and this song is the perfect example of what I am talking about. This song is “light’s out” from the very beginning, so fast, so furious that you better hold on for the ride. Their songs get you go from “zero to sixty” in a matter of seconds, no? They are full of amazing energy; it’s like sticking your finger in an electrical outlet- you are instantaneously charged for action. I can remember when “Dookie” came out, my good friend Mike bought it right away and listened to it all the time and he introduced me to this track. Love this song. \m/ \m/

8.      East Jesus Nowhere– This song is an amazing rock anthem. The bass guitar is really noticeable and great, the drums are chest pounding, but what really gets me is that great guitar lick that starts in the beginning.I recommend this song to all who enjoy this kind of rebellious alternative music, I know I do.

8.      Restless Heart Syndrome – This song displays their unbelievable progression as a “song-writing” band as well as crafting sensational arrangements. When you listen to this track you have to be impressed with how far they have come as a band, especially with the “string” section that gives it that dramatic flair that most associate with orchestra’s. I also think this is one of Billie Joe’s best vocal performances as his voice is so melodic and you can hear the range he has, really nice job. What else can be said about the drummer-Tre Cool- he kind of sits and waits for his turn and by the end of the song, he is all over it. This tune has that “grandiose” feel to it and in my opinion one of the best songs on “21st Century.”

7.      Poprocks and Coke– This next one is just a really happy song just for people to have fun dancing around in their rooms. When I first asked my brother what the name of this song, I was really confused on what he told me. Why the song would be named “Poprocks and Coke” when the song is really about how a boy is always there for his girl. Who knows?

7.      Last Night on Earth–Call me sappy and I will gladly accept this title because this song is stunning. This song takes me far above the clouds as I drift off to another world. Is this really Green Day? Wow while I’m drifting I think of my mother, my aunt Carol and my recently departed great aunt Sarah and wondering if they are having coffee together like they did down here on earth. Armstrong’s vocals are absolutely remarkable. This is one of the best songs-yes even though it is a ballad.

6.      American Eulogy– The first time my brother and my father and I heard this song, the first thing my father said was “I can’t believe I’m letting you guys go to their concert.” The two sections of the song, Mass Hysteria/Modern World, are a story of what this world has come to. I personally enjoy the bass player’s singing part in Modern World; it really brings out a rebellious message.

6.      Hitchin’ A Ride– Love the violin “effect” in the beginning of the song which makes you think that this song is going to be soft but then it quickly changes pace and grabs you by the throat without a thought of letting go. This song has one of the heaviest guitar riffs that gets me so psyched up- this is a perfect workout song as well because if you pick up a jump rope you could start out slow but try and keep up with the progressive pace, it really is a lot of fun. Green Day will forever be remembered as one of the most energetic bands of all time and songs like this one is the proof in the pudding. This is “head-banging” at its best. \m/ \m/

5.      ¡Viva la Gloria! – The soft piano in the beginning of the song makes you think that the song is a ballad, but as soon as the guitar enters it’s a cool rock song. Even though it’s not a ballad, it is still a love song about the fictional characters of Christian and Gloria. I like this song because it’s not a complicated song, it’s a nice song just to listen to.

5.      Boulevard of Broken Dreams – This has to be considered one of their best songs by most everyone out there, no? I would assume that most anyone would have this song somewhere in their top ten. There is something about this song that really gets me every time I hear it. In my opinion, it signifies that “jump” to superstardom-sort of like when a major league baseball pitcher gets that 300th win or when a professional organization wins the coveted title of “champion.” Don’t get me wrong, Green Day were already there as “stars” before American Idiot was released but this song (and album) took them to another level: where Icons live.

4.      Last Night On Earth– This song brings back happy, proud memories of one of my best friends. I always think of her when I hear this song. This love ballad is a very calm and peaceful song that even non-Green Day fans would like. It’s not likely you will come across such a calm and nice song from Green Day, but I really love it.

4.      Wake Me Up When September Ends–I don’t care if this track is played on WPLJ or Z-100 or any other “pop” radio station around the U.S. and I don’t mind that the “general masses” like this song, so go ahead and make fun of me for putting it here on the list but I will hold my head high because this is an amazing piece of work. I can remember the first time I heard this song as I listened in my car to “American Idiot” and I was polarized listening to the vocals because I could relate it to my mother (instead of “father”) and just like the lyrics state-“seven years has gone so fast”-boy how true that is for my family and I. When the drums enter to give it that dramatic feel, I am lifted off my feet and look to the skies while just letting the song take me where it may. Phenomenal song.

3.      Brain Stew/Jaded– This was the first song I ever learned to play on the guitar and I know what you’re thinking, why isn’t it number one. Even though this is the first one I played, it is not their best. The song does contain that real heavier side of Green Day which I love. The guitar in the song is very intense and suitable for any hard rocker. As soon as the song ends Jaded comes in and speeds things up. This has to pump anyone up, no? It contains the fastest drumming ever, which is just the coolest thing.

3.      Geek Stink Breath– As mentioned last week, I will forever remember this song (as well as the next) as one of the stalwart’s that was used for our boot camp class at MBIA from 2002 – 2005. This is like getting pulverized by Mike Tyson when he was in his prime, is this a knockout or what? It starts off with a crushing “one-two” punch which is repeated a few times just for emphasis and launches into this all out free-for-all as the lead guitar, bass guitar and drums unify to create a wall of sound that few others can emulate. Listen to Billie Joe play with his vocals as he sounds like he is slobbering the words towards the end of the song. This is Green Day at their best. Totally awesome song!!! \m/ \m/

2.      Burnout-One of the many songs I learned how to play on the guitar, Burnout is one of my all time favorite Green Day songs. The guitar is just so exhilarating and the drum solo really shows off Tre Cool’s drumming skills. To me, it really is just an exciting song to listen to and to see in concert. The song really speeds up my day and not a day goes by that I don’t listen to the song. This is the essence of Green Day.

2.      She– Don’t cha just love the bass and drums as they start off another powerful song from this amazing trio-“She…she screams in silence”- and then right around the 25 second mark this track blasts off into a scorching out of control pace that makes the “roadrunner” appear slow. Listen to the phenomenal drumming- so fast and out of this universe-that all I want to do is run around in a frenzy looking for “pillowed” walls to crash into-or better yet-where is that mosh pit? Let me at them-if you need a release this could be the greatest release song ever recorded. “SCREAM AT ME….UNTIL MY EARS BLEED!!!! YAAAAAAAAAHHHH!!!!”

1.      Jesus of Surburbia/City of the Damned/I Don’t Care/Dearly Beloved/Tales of Another Broken Home – The first part of this song is just perfect. Jesus of Suburbia is one of my favorite parts of the song. Then it goes straight into City of Damned.I love the line in the song where it says “I read the graffiti in the bathroom stall, like the holy scriptures of the shopping mall.” I Don’t Care is the most rebellious part of the song complaining about the modern age and what is going on in the middle east. Dearly Beloved is the break in the song where it randomly goes soft with the jingle bells in the background and then goes right back to the fast bass line of Tales From Another Broken Home.This nine minute masterpiece really shows the world what Green Day is made of- that’s why it is my number one.

1.      Jesus of Surburbia/City of the Damned/I Don’t Care/Dearly Beloved/Tales of Another Broken Home – This is Green Day’s “Master of Puppets”- a complete and utter masterpiece which I believe will be so hard to top on any future work that they record. Talk about “giving it your all?!” They poured their entire heart and soul into these tunes which resulted in a stunning accomplishment of a “concept’ song- yes that’s right- do you know how bands used to record “concept” albums-well this track is a concept song within their first concept album. The thing is I can’t decide which one of the parts of the entire concept for which I like best. I love them all-love the transitions into each, which is pure brilliance by the way. I remember seeing them perform this song at Giants Stadium in the summer of 2005 and thinking that it was one of the greatest performances of a song that I had ever seen or heard. They get into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame just based on the recording of this song-it’s automatic. ‘Nuff said.

Trivia Questions

Answers from last week:

1.     Johnny Cash

2.     Marilyn Manson

3.     Bad English

4.     Jeff Lynne (nice job Chris)

This week’s trivia (Random)-

1.     Before my landmark album was released in 1977, I was trying to make it in the business and caught a break when I was asked to sing some songs on a “Free for All” in 1976. I am still going strong today and am still “alive” on a current TV reality show. Who am I?

2.     We are from Rockford IL and noticeably missing from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame even though we were eligible many years ago. We love the Beatles and worked with their legendary producer George Martin on a record. Who are we?

3.     I brought back that legendary “Sinatra” sound during the 1990’s at a time when “grunge” had over taken the air-waves. My “old school” vocals are legendary. I also had a recurring part on a show for NBC during the early 2000’s. Who am I?

4.     We are a female rock band that took our love of the Runaways & the Ramones and have turned it into straight up rock and roll. We were all born in 1979 but we are a “old school” type of band that has a very contemporary sound. Who are we?

Name That Tune

Answers from last week:

1.     Then Came You – Dionne Warwick

2.     Ben – Michael Jackson

3.     Poundcake – Van Halen

4.     Wanted Dead or Alive – Bon Jovi

Can you guess the title from the following lyrics from part of the song?

1.     “…it’s so easy to blow up your problems…it’s so easy to play up your breakdowns…”

2.     “…beauty I’ve always missed…with these eyes before…just what the truth is…I can’t say anymore…cause I love you…”

3.     “…see the people walking down the street…fall in line just watching all their feet…they don’t know where they want to go…”

4.     “…everything here is so clear you can see it…and everything is so near you can feel it…and it’s real, so real, so real…”

Back on this Day

Back on this day in 1969, The Who performed “Tommy” in its entirety for the first time at a concert in Dolton, U.K.

Back on this day in 1972, Deep Purple’s “Machine Head” reached the number one spot on the U.K. album chart and stayed there for three weeks. Have I mentioned that it is a travesty that Deep Purple is not in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame?

Back on this day in 1978, Gerry Rafferty released the song-“Baker Street”- which peaked at number 2 on the Billboard charts.

Back on this day in 1981, Eric Clapton was hospitalized in Seattle after being involved in a car accident.

Back on this day in 1990, Ric Ocasek performed in New York’s Central Park as part of “Earth Day.” The B-52’s and Hall & Oates were also among the performers.

Back on this day in 1993, The Who’s “Tommy” debuted on Broadway at the St. James Theater where it remained open until June 1995.

If it is your birthday today, you share the same birth date with Peter Frampton, Paul Carrack (Squeeze), Mel Carter (“Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me”) and Glen Campbell.

1 Comment »

  1. Pumped up by Ricky Martin lol

    Comment by Anonymous — April 22, 2011 @ 7:39 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

