Errols Weekly Music Update.

January 21, 2011

Weekly Update – 01/21/2011

Rod Stewart and Stevie Nicks (Heart & Soul Tour) at Madison Square Garden on Sat. March 26. If you have an American Express card you can purchase “pre-sale” tickets until 10:00 p.m. tonight. General public tickets on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. $64.75, $116.35 and $174.15

Chris Cornell performing songs from his entire career Acoustically will be at the Town Hall Theater in New York City on Tues. Apr. 12 and also at the Wellmont Theater on Sat. Apr. 16. Town Hall: If you have an American Express card you can begin purchasing “pre-sale” tickets next Wed. Jan. 26 at 10:00 a.m. until Fri. Jan. 28 at 8:00 a.m.. General public tickets on sale next Fri. Jan. 28 at 10:00 a.m. $44.15 and $75.35. Wellmont Theater: General public on sale next Fri. Jan. 28 at noon. $40. (the Wellmont it is)

Trey Songz at the Theater in Madison Square Garden on Fri. Feb. 11. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $64.15 and $117.35

Trey Anastasio and his band at Terminal 5 on Tues. Feb. 22. Tickets on sale tomorrow at 1:00 p.m. $39.50 (Acoustic and Electric evening)

The Kills at Terminal 5 on Fri. Apr. 29. Tickets on sale today at noon. $25 ($30 day of show).

James Blunt at the Beacon Theater on Thurs. Apr. 21. Tickets on sale this morning at 11:00 a.m. $52.90, $63.15 and $73.35

Kylie Minogue at the Hammerstein Ballroom (I ain’t calling it by its new name) on Mon. May 2. If you have an American Express card you can purchase “pre-sale” tickets until 10:00 p.m. tonight. General public tickets on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. $100.40, $139.30 and $164.90 (Really? No tickets under $100 for Kylie Minoque? What am I missing?)

Good Charlotte at Irving Plaza on Tues. Mar. 8. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $39.50 (keep in mind that the actual ticket price is $27.50 but the approved merger of Ticketmaster and Live Nation allows them to rip off the consumer by charging $12 in fees, which represents almost 50% of the actual ticket price).

Other items:

Thoughts and prayers go out to family and friends of Don Kirshner who passed away on Jan. 17 at the age of 76. Don’s legacy with the world of music is legendary as he presented so many artists to the viewing TV audience during the 1970’s and 1980’s with his show “Don Kirshner’s Rock Concert.” And back in those days (before MTV) one could never find musicians on TV until Don came along (sort of the modern day Ed Sullivan). I loved watching those shows. He was a big influence on The Monkees and they were never the same once they fired Don. He was also the manager of Bobby Darin and involved in countless other musicians lives. Rest in peace Don and thanks for those great shows.

Thoughts and prayers go out to the family and friends of all the victims that were killed and wounded in Arizona a few weeks back. I am not sure if you caught this but at the funeral of the little girl-Christina Taylor Green- the very sad ceremony ended with Billy Joel’s version of “Lullaby (Goodnight My Angel).” Talk about a heart crushing moment? For the rest of my life whenever I hear this song (and the poignant words) I will never forget that it was played at her funeral. I’m crying now while typing these words to you-too heartbreaking.

For those of you headed out to see John Mellencamp on tour this winter and thinking you are going to see his greatest hits-think again. According to an interview in the latest issue of Rolling Stone he states-“if you think that I will be playing my greatest hits you might as well stay home.” Ouch. I hear he does some of his classics but with a new twist on the songs. He has used T. Bone Burnett as his producer, so you can forget “R.O.C.K. in the U.S.A.”

My father should be proud as my favorite “old school” song of the week belongs to The Platters with their classic-“Smoke Gets in Your Eyes.” I had forgotten how much I loved this song and sadly it came about because of a Honda commercial. But that commercial made me go and purchase this unbelievable song. I wish I could sing like that-“they don’t make songs like this anymore.” Thanks Dad!!

Continuing with the “oldies” theme, my other favorite song of the week is “Since I Don’t Have You” by The Skyliners. Boy does this song bring back wonderful memories of my mother and Aunt Carol, along with my Dad as I can picture them all sitting around the kitchen table singing this wonderful song. Again-“they” don’t make songs like this anymore.”

The famous Dire Straits song-“Money for Nothing”- will no longer be allowed to be played over Canadian air-waves in its current format because of the “F” word-no not that one, the other one. “…that little ____, he’s a millionaire…” Unless that word is edited out of the song, it is now illegal to play that song. Weird thing though is that the “single” originally had that word taken out and MTV had edited that word out when they showed the video all those years ago. Canada must be “old school” and only play from vinyl’s.

Queens of the Stone Age front man-Josh Homme-recently said in an interview that he almost died last year on the operating table after complications arose following surgery on his leg. He had to remain in bed for three months and was only given the green light to begin working by doctors in the middle of December. Whew, thank goodness he is on the mend.

Slash has put it out there that he will never allow any of his music to ever be done on the hit TV series “Glee.” He says he can’t tolerate the show. I would love to see them perform “Sweet Child of Mine” (LOL!!) but I guess that will never happen…unless they ask Axl….

With all the hoopla surrounding Steven Tyler as an American Idol judge, apparently Aerosmith is NOT going to break up, as a matter of fact rumor has it that Steven has moved his band mates to CA and they will begin recording their next album very soon. Tyler told anyone who would listen that reports of the band’s demise has been totally overblown by the press and his gig with AI will not get in the way of the band or touring. So far the new lineup has been a “love-fest” and at points Steven looks like he isn’t paying attention but I get the sense he is genuine with his responses to the contestants. There were a few kids that they put through that I know Simon would have never done-and so I guess it starts-this whole season everyone who has watched this show from year one will be saying-“Simon would have never…..”

Vince Neil has been sentenced to two weeks in jail after being picked up for a DUI. He begins the jail time on Feb. 15. Back in 1984, he served 20 days after causing an accident that killed Nicholas Dingley-drummer for Hanoi Rocks.

Marilyn Manson has apparently signed a contract to be a judge and coach on an Austrian talent show called “Tomorrow’s Heroes.” (Hey if Steven can do it, then why not Marilyn?) If you know anyone in Austria, the show begins tonight.

Nuggets

Stand!

When I did the last posting, I received an e-mail from someone letting me know that he read my blog for the first time and he liked the format and stated that the page is “informative.” Thanks! He also suggested doing something on Sly & the Family Stone. Now I am not going to sit here and profess that I know everything about this band-I can’t-I was a toddler when they exploded on the scene but I do know one thing-this band could have been the most important and exciting band to ever grace the stage. People are still talking today about their performance at Woodstock and besides maybe the Jimi Hendrix set, one would be hard-pressed to find an artist or band to have played better than the “Family” at the three day festival in 1969. Now we all know the turbulent times of the 1960’s and this band was right there in the thick of things, fighting to get their point across while preaching “togetherness” but outside forces (from what I have read) were there to try and break up this family. Now since this is a music page, I will concentrate on the music but with this band, one can not ignore the message. Think about some of the songs that this legendary band has recorded? These songs are etched into our soul and will last for generations to come. “Dance to the Music” could arguably be the greatest record ever recorded in the history of music-no really, if this song doesn’t land in the top ten songs ever recorded, then I don’t know anything about music. Can you imagine being in the recording studio when this was recorded? (Every one had to be jumping in the air and giving “high fives” around the room-I wonder if they knew that they were making recording history?) Who didn’t want to be “Cynthia” or “Jerry?” It has to be considered one of the coolest songs ever recorded, no? Or how about “Everyday People?”-which is from their fourth album “Stand”-which was made in 1969 and is the focus of today’s discussion on “golden nuggets.” Next time you hear this song, listen to the lyrics and realize the social impact, it is really unbelievable and this was recorded after the death of Martin Luther King (for whom we celebrated his life this past Monday) and all the other social unrest during those turbulent times. This has to rank up there with “What’s Going On” by Marvin Gaye or “A Change is Gonna Come” by Same Cooke in my opinion but again I will get back to the music.

Sly & the Family Stone is one of my “brothers’” –Slats- favorite bands and more than a few years ago he wanted to know if I had the song-“M’Lady”-which is off their third album-“Life”-which I think is my favorite album from this great band-and I sent him a CD playlist which included this fan favorite from the band. I can picture Slats singing along to this song and moving and gyrating, which is what the song does to you. On another note, he had a totally cool encounter with some members of the “Family” band at BB Kings in the past year and was able to hang out with them and listen to them jam the night away. By the way, Slats is the best drummer that I personally know.

Getting back to the album-“Stand”- which is the album that shot the band to superstar status (now I would be remiss if I didn’t mention their other landmark album-“There’s a Riot Going On”-which many believe is their masterpiece but the focus for today is “Stand”) and I say that because of the amount of sales it sold-now you know that for me that doesn’t mean that albums with less “fan fare” don’t rate-probably the exact opposite from me, right? How many songs or albums have you read on this blog and said “he writes about the most obscure things!” I just mentioned that “Life” may be my most favorite album by them and that did not have the same commercial success. Anyway, in the case of “Stand” it did have the commercial success and it is a great album but I have to be totally honest and say that there is one song that I don’t want to write about and one other song that is over 13 minutes long, so I have to be honest and say that each of these songs appear on side one and side two, thus eliminating “perfect” album sides for me. Now granted I listen to the entire album (though I really have to be in the mood for “Sex Machine”-great groove but way too long for me) but I have to be honest and say it lands here in the section I label “Nuggets” but you can not go wrong by obtaining the entire album (including the “add-ons”-which is cool). Now usually I say “What if?” about those artists who have passed on and in the case of this band, I often think “What if this band did a reunion tour?” I’d have to say it would sell out just as fast as the Mighty Led Zeppelin-yes I just said that. Here are the golden nuggets from the album “Stand” by Sly & the Family Stone in no particular order:

Sing a Simple Song – How freaking great is this song? The greatest thing about this band was the way is meshed so many different genres of music into one “bag.” Funk, soul, blues, R&B and plain old rock and roll-who did it better? The groove in this song is so infectious, the bass lines will make you move your body in ways you never thought possible. This song has been “sampled” by so many artists (including Tupac) and that is a sign of how much this track is loved and revered. It is so hard to pick my favorite song on this album but if I had to make a choice, this may just be it-so freaking phenomenal.

I Want to Take You Higher – This band had it all- the great psychedelic grooves with phenomenal vocals, awesome horn section, guitars, bass and drums that fused everything together and created magic. Don’t you just love the baritone voice that appears throughout-“Sound is in your city too…” which was then offset by the high pitched vocalist-almost too much to take. “Boom laka laka boom…” How great is this song? I have rewound it so many times, it’s like “Ground Hog Day.” This “funkadelic” classic is timeless and it’s impossible not to like this song. By the way, the album version is the better version than the “single” version only because it is about 3 minutes longer.

Stand – The title track is such a fun song to sing along to and the lyrics behind the music are poignant. This is a finger snapping song that could be used at your next Karaoke party and you can bring up your friends if you are afraid to be in the spotlight to help you sing the tune. “There’s a midget standing tall and a Giant standing beside him that’s about to fall”.” The song kicks it up a notch with about 50 seconds left in the song as the drums become more persistent while causing you to glide your feet across the dance floor a la Michael Jackson style.

Everyday People What else can I say about this song? Not only is it one of the most important songs ever written, the groove is totally infectious as it grabs you in a headlock and doesn’t let go. How can anyone not sing along to this song? I defy you!!! “I am every day people…there is a blue one who can’t except the green one…and so on and so on…” Isn’t it amazing how these lyrics still apply, especially since our Country has become so polarized? I love how the horn section follows behind the vocalists throughout the tune. Next time you listen to this song just follow the horns and you’ll see what I am talking about. This song has to move you-in more ways than one.

You Can Make It If You Try – For some reason I can picture an older version of the Jackson 5 doing this song (and of course adding Janet to do the female part). The drumming in this song is what gets me all the time-I love it and can’t get enough of it-I want to take lessons right now just because of this song. Listen to the musicianship on this track-starts off with the “James Brown” like horn section and when Sly plays the organ part, I want to go back in time and go to Woodstock. I was born too late!!!! Folks these are some of the most bodacious grooves ever created in the history of music, I’m sorry. This is so classic it is like it’s brand new-it sounds like it was recorded yesterday. Simply amazing. It is so good it is over before you know it.

Songs With Terrible Endings

Last week the snow storm that “missed” the New York City area and only dumped 9 inches on them, blanketed my town New Fairfield CT with a whopping 28 inches, so needless to say it was going to take some time to dig out the driveway. Anyway, I knew I was going to be out there for some time, so I decided to put on my I-Pod beneath my noise resistant headphones which I use when I mow my lawn. I was so bundle up that I couldn’t move and I was hoping for a really good mix because like I mentioned it was so cold that I really couldn’t stop, take my gloves off, dig into my sweats (which was covered by nylon workout pants so as to not get soaked) to find the I-Pod and hit the next button- you know what I mean, right? So the mix of songs is going good and then a song by the Black Rebel Motorcyle Club comes on-“What Ever Happened to My Rock and Roll”- and the beginning is going real nice and I am feeling the vibe. But then I start to hear all this noise and I didn’t know if it was still the same song, it went to the point where I was out of my mind, so the thing I did not want to do-I had to- I let go of the reigns of the snow blower and checked for the artist and song and it still was the same tune. It turns out that the last 80 seconds of the song slowed down and started making all these weird noises and so totally annoying. (yes I must have forgotten that when I purchased it). So that had me thinking-“what other songs have terrible endings?”- and could I make this a category on the page? Folks, here are songs, in my opinion that are really good but have terrible endings-again in no particular order:

What Ever Happened to My Rock and Roll” – Black Rebel Motorcyle Club – Starts off with a bang as I wonder why this band doesn’t have more popularity than it currently does. They are a mix of Jet and Oasis (maybe?) and the song has a driving groove that works well when you are shoveling or utilizing the snow blower because one needs all the energy they can get while doing this physical workout. I was loving it but then at the 1:20 mark left in the song it happens- the song crashes and burns and this could be the sole reason they are not more popular. Beware, you may look to break something.

Black Diamond” – Kiss – It pains me to put down a song from one of my favorite bands’ but I have to be honest here. “Out on the streets for a living”- yes those classic words from Peter Criss on vocals and don’t get me wrong I love this song but once it gets to the end where it  s  l  o  w  s  d  o  w  n…..I have to turn it off. I wonder who thought of making the ending like that? Was it Gene, Paul, Ace or Peter? Or maybe the production guys? Whomever thought of it…..bad idea.

Shooting StarBad Company– You know I love these guys and love this song but it seems to drag on forever. How many times can one say-“don’t you know that you are a shooting star?”- and once the “Nah…Nah…Nahs” start I shut it down. Sorry boys but this song could have ended at the four minute mark. Even on “Rock Band” it is annoying…..

I’m Your Captain/Closer to Home” – Grand Funk Railroad – Talk about the longest ending of a song ever, huh? It’s weird sometimes I can actually listen to the entire 10:00 minute version of the song but it is a rare occasion. Again I love the song and the band-you know I have always stated that this band is one of the most underrated bands in the history of music-but I’m not sure how many times I can sing-“I’m getting closer to my home…”

Santa Claus is Coming to Town” – Harry Connick Jr. – I know the holidays are over (but it wasn’t that long ago we were listening to Christmas music and you know I love to gather more and more songs by various artists so as to have more of a flavor of the great Christmas classic tunes and I took a listen on I-Tunes (remember they now let you listen for 1:30) and I said cool, I’ll buy it. The problem is they play the middle of the song-which is very cool just like the beginning. But then with about 40 seconds left in the song it is a free-for-all with all these horn instruments playing as loud as they could so as to top one another and I found myself looking to break the CD that I put this song on for Christmas. These types of songs are supposed to be enjoyable-not sound like an alley way of screaming cats-rest assured this song will never make my future Christmas playlists.

Voodoo” – Godsmack – Now there is actually nothing wrong with the musical ending to this song but for some reason, the band decided to have the last 4:25 of “nothing”-that’s right-Nothing-so if you wanted to throw this song on a mix for a party or for whatever reason-you can’t because there is no sound for over 4 minutes but the song is not actually over. Very annoying.

Layla” – Derek & the Dominos – Now I know by putting this song down it is considered blasphemy and I struggled with my decision to put it here as I do respect the greatness of this song but I have to tell you, the ending is seemingly the longest ending to a song ever and literally I often look for something to break by the end of the tune or I have to turn the dial. But you know it was made in the 1970’s and that was the thing back in those days- to have long drawn out endings to songs-probably because they didn’t want their songs ending up on pop radio.

Top Ten (of an Artist You Are Scared to Admit You Like)

Image of Rob Zombie

This week’s I-Pod shuffle landed on “Electric Head Pt. 1 (The Agony)” by White Zombie and it had me thinking, do I admit that I like Rob Zombie and his musical career to date? I’d have to say yes. Now this is another artist where you probably don’t admit to the general public that you listen to, he is definitely an acquired taste. Now you know I learned my lesson with Marilyn Manson, of whom I tried very hard to be discreet about and the same goes for Mr. Zombie. (C’mon don’t cha just love the way that sounds-“Mr. Zombie??!!”-I know there is something wrong with me). Anyway, about six years ago I left MBIA and headed back to S&P and I was doing this “blog” but it was only to a few friends via e-mail. When I arrived back at S&P, my friend Scott informed me that there was someone in the group who I needed to add to my e-mail list because they were definitely into some of the music I listened to. Now I think this person would not mind me stating that they are into Rob Zombie but just in case, I will not reveal the name (hey we work in the business world and admitting something like this might just make people look at you a bit differently-but in my case the cat is already out of the bag with the admission of liking some of Marilyn Manson’s music, so how bad can Rob Zombie be?-Ok don’t answer that!). Anyway we really connected on the genre of metal, so I threw some names out there and to my surprise I actually found someone else who had heard of Rob Zombie and liked him as well. And then to be further surprised, the person pointed out someone else in the group who was into him-so you know what happened next, right? “Road-Trip!!”- We all went to see him perform live at the Nokia Theater (now “Best Buy” Theater) in March 2006 and what a blast we all had. The energy that he and his band had that night was electrifying-the mosh pit grew so large we almost ended up near the entrance of the place.

My first introduction into Mr. Zombie was of course-“Thunder Kiss ‘65”- and I was blown away-the sound and the energy was so raw that I needed to find out who this guy was but in a weird way I was afraid to venture down that path and I did not purchase White Zombie’s “debut” album (I know all you die hards this was not his first). It wasn’t until I heard “More Human Than Human” that I decided to take a chance and I bought-“Astro-Creep: 2000.” At first I did not get it (or like it) but just like Soundgarden’s “Superunknown” I went back and gave it another try and eventually it grew on me. This was by far the weirdest music I had ever heard but intriguing enough (and of course filled with massive guitar riffs) to keep me coming back. And as soon as I considered myself a fan of White Zombie-they disbanded. (Maybe they were getting too soft if I was listening, huh?) Anyway I followed Rob’s career and believe it or not, I think he added “funk” and “soul” to his solo career-of course he is still strange and his music leans mostly to the heavy side but he made some solo songs that most anyone could listen to, albeit that they were cover songs-most notably-“I’m Your Boogie Man” by KC & The Sunshine Band. Then he hooked up with one of my favorites-Howard Stern-and did a song with Howard-“The American Nightmare”- for the movie-“Private Parts.”

Now I am not a fan of scary movies so I do not follow his theatrical career with his crazy scary productions of Halloween and other “creature of the night” type movies-not for me, never was, never will be. I can’t say that I am his biggest fan and do not purport to know all there is about this man, I will say that I wish he would take the same approach Kid Rock did and try to not make an album where every other lyric has to be “hey mother f****r”-that is getting old in my book but I still like many of his songs. So here it is I am on an island and informed that I can only have ten songs by Rob Zombie (including his days with White Zombie)-“These are Them:” (Now there is one song that is one of my absolute favorites but even I can not list it here as the title, lyrics and every thing about the song is so wrong. I only listen to it on my headphones or in my car by myself. I don’t play it around my wife or kids-it is that bad)

10.     Two-Lane Blacktop –I introduced the MBIA boot camp team (Dave, Tricia, CIC, Nick) to this song back in 2003 and it became one of the staples in our energetic class. First of all, it has “hand-claps” so you know in my book it is good, right? If you are looking for a great work-out song, look no further than this ball of fun. I can remember “air-guitaring” down the middle of the gym when I came to the “wind-sprint” station and singing-“come on baby…come on baby…hook me up…hook it up”- and then making believe I was playing the drums. Awesome tune.

9.     What? – Almost every one of his songs (including White Zombie) starts off with some one talking (who knows maybe it is from old movies?) and some kid says-“I don’t have to tell you anything” and then the guitar riff kicks in and you are ready to join the mosh pit. This is a short song but packs a wallop of a punch but I have to admit that his vocals are one of the wackiest he has ever done but there is something about this song that keeps me coming back for me. Good-weird-stuff right here-the organ sounds like it is from a scary movie made in the 1950’s with a twist of blazing metal.

8.     Mars Needs Women – This sounds like he did the song with Alice Cooper (or at least with Alice Cooper in mind). It starts off with some nice acoustic guitar (almost AIC like) and it does take some time to get started but then the big bass drum kicks in as Rob states that “Mars Need Women.” Then the big guitar riff enters the fray and before long you have a bone crushing sound that turns into a crowd favorite as the buzz raises to a fever pitch just like when a bee hive is disturbed and you have to run for your life. This is a modern day Alice Cooper, the bass lines will have your chest pulsating. Of course watch out for the F-bombs.

7.     Superbeast – I also have to mention another friend of mine who likes Rob as he seem to frequently put his songs on his list of Spin songs for the classes he taught at MBIA. I can remember the first time Chris put Rob Zombie on in class and I was out of my mind. If you have never “spun” to a song by Rob Zombie-well you just haven’t lived just yet. Please I’m begging you, ask your Spin instructor to put this song on his or her mix of songs and tell me this doesn’t get you moving-you will spin yourself right out of your seat and you will be able to turn the knob up to a “nine” and be able to get over that mountain. Or on the flip side, take it down to a “2” and sprint your legs away.

6.     (Go To) California – I can remember the first time hearing this song and being totally mesmerized by the groove. If anyone tried to hypnotize me, they could use this song-it just might work. I told you I bought my youngest son these super cool headphones that almost cover your entire head and let me tell you when you hear this song with those headphones-you are in another stratosphere. The groove is super infectious and even though it may be simple, it is so addictive; this is “metal” dance music.

5.     Bring Her Down (To Crippletown)– Rob always seems to put that scary organ type sounds into his songs (a la Frankenstein) and no one can do it like him. Folks this is some good stuff right here. I can picture Frankenstein slowly getting off the operating table (like in the classic Abbott & Costello movie where they meet Frankie) as he busts all the metal holding him down on the table and then he slowly starts to move like a monster…but wait…what is he doing? Why he is starting to dance??!! He then breaks a chair into pieces and uses one of the longest pieces of wood to make believe he is playing guitar, forget electricity to keep him alive-he has this song to keep him going. Rock on my friends!!! \m/ \m/

4.     Demon Speeding – Another great exercise song-no not that kind of “exercise” (though the beginning sounds weird, right?) for your next work-out. “Why don’t you ask me what it feels like to be a freak?” This is great rock and roll folks right here-a little heavy-yes Ok-but bearable. Chris definitely threw this on his play list for our Spin days at MBIA. I think Rob Zombie and his agents should put out a disc of “workout” tapes (a la Jane Fonda) and this track would definitely be part of that work-out. I love the guitar solo, I actually hit the volume to a bleeding pace on that part. This song rocks. \m/ \m/

3.     Never Gonna Stop– This song will forever remind me of Chris, who was our Spin instructor at MBIA, as he definitely threw this Zombie song into his rotation more than any other Zombie song. Man, did he ride us hard but we all loved it and he always did his part as he very rarely jumped off his bike because he showed us who was in charge. I can remember almost passing out from exhaustion but this song kept me going as I kept saying to myself-“never gonna stop…never gonna stop” as I tried to keep pace. Then we would all “Scream if you want it…cause I want more…scream if you want more…cause I want more.” This has to rank up there as one of the best songs to “spin” to-yes give it a chance-don’t just blow it off-I am telling you-“this is the bomb.”

2.     Super Charger Heaven – Now for someone who attends mass every Sunday morning at 7:30, this song puts me in a quandary. As you know to me it has always been about the music and I focus on the lyrics on a secondary basis. For those of you who don’t know this song (which I am assuming is most of you reading this) the only words I know to this song (even though I have heard it hundreds of times) is “yeah…devil man…devil man…call me…” So you see…but the freaking music behind it is so high energy with pounding beats and blazing guitars. I have no idea what Rob is singing until the chorus-“devil man”-but I don’t care because I am running around the room in a wild frenzy wishing that I could enter the mosh pit (with my kids, who am I kidding?) right now. Wow this is 3:37 seconds of thrash metal that puts hair on your chest. Awesome!!!

1.     Thunder Kiss ‘65I know what you’re probably thinking (especially if you are a fan of Mr. Zombie)-how can you put this at number one? Isn’t this his “Stairway?” Yes it is but EVERY time I hear this song it is like I am hearing it for the first time. The opening guitar riff could be the best ever to start a song. It is again like trying to disturb a bee’s nest in the middle of a summer day-you know it is not a good idea but put this song on in your headphones and believe me you will knock that nest down and run so fast that you will not get stung. I love the part in the middle where the woman says-“I never try anything, I just do it…you want to try me?”-then as the screaming goes on in the background-I am out of my mind again-where is that mosh pit? This time I am going. This song has to be considered one of the best head-banging songs ever created-who would’ve believed that a Zombie created it?.

Trivia Questions

Answers from last week:

1.     Ray Charles

2.     James Taylor

3.     Josey Scott from Saliva

4.     George Thorogood

This week’s trivia (Random)-

1.     I was part of one of the most popular bands during the 1970’s and we made one of the most popular albums in music history. The band is still touring after having a reunion but I did not join them. I am perfectly happy living in England and do not like to fly which was part of the reason I did not sign up for the reunion. Who am I?

2.     I did a raunchy cover of “Brick House” about eight years ago and actually had Lionel Richie help me in the recording. I made it contemporary by adding some rap in the tune. I also like to make horror films in my spare time. Who am I?

3.     I am the lead guitarist in one of the most popular hard rock bands to come out of LA but most people don’t even know who I am (even though the lead guitarists typically grabs the spot light) as the three other personalities in this band sometimes becomes too much as we have split up and “reunion-ized” as well. There was talk of replacing me when we did our reunion tour because of sickness, but I wouldn’t let that happen and I played a steady lead as I always have done. Who am I?

4.     Our group was one of the pioneer leaders in the field of rap and opened the door for many artists to follow in our footsteps. We recently had a “reality” show after being out of the spotlight. But when we were in that spotlight in the 1990’s we really liked to push it to another level. Who are we?

Name That Tune

Answers from last week:

1.     Suite: Judy Blue Eyes – Crosby, Stills & Nash

2.     Anticipation – Carly Simon

3.     Time After TimeCyndi Lauper

4.     You Light Up My Life – Debby Boone

Can you guess the title from the following lyrics from part of the song?

1.     “…my uncle has a country place that no one knows about…he says it used to be a farm before the motor law…”

2.     “…whether I’m right…or whether I’m wrong…whether I find a place in this world…or never belong…”

3.     “…headbangers in leather…sparks flying in the dead of the night…it all comes together…when they shoot out the lights…”

4.     “…I like a good beer buzz early in the morning…Billy likes to peel the label from his bottles of Bud…”

Back on this Day

Sadly back on this day in 1984, Jackie Wilson (“Mr. Excitement”) passed away after being in a coma for 8 years and 4 months after he had a heart attack on Sept. 29, 1975 while performing “Lonely Teardrops” on stage. He fell and a lack of oxygen to his brain left him a comatose state. Sadly, his mother passed away two weeks after his heart attack as she was distraught. Jackie was 49 when he passed on. Very sad.

Sadly back on this day in 1999, Charles Brown (“Merry Christmas Baby”) passed away at the age of 76.

Sadly back on this day in 1999, Peggy Lee passed away at the age of 81, she was best known for her version of “Fever.”

Back on this day in 1966, George Harrison married Pattie Boyd. (They divorced in 1974). Paul McCartney was the best man. They met while filming “A Hard Day’s Night.” (I think George has set a record for consecutive appearances with “Back on this Day”).

Back on this day in 1984, Yes Reached the top of the Billboard charts (Hot 100 singles) for the only time with the hit-“Owner of a Lonely Heart.”

Back on this day in 1995, Tony Bennett sang during halftime of Superbowl XXIX in Miami.

Back on this day in 2006, a chartered plane carrying Bon Jovi skidded off the runway in Hamilton Ontario-no one was injured.

If it is your birthday today, you share the same birth date with the late Wolfman Jack and Richie Havens.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

