Errols Weekly Music Update.

August 6, 2010

Weekly Update – 08/06/2010

Styx at the Beacon Theater on Thurs. Rocktober 28 performing the “Grand Illusion” and “Pieces of Eight” in their entirety. Tickets on sale this morning at 11:00 a.m.$39.50 – $79.50.

Chrissie Hydne at Irving Plaza on Sat. Rocktober 25. Tickets on sale today at 10:00 a.m. $34.50.

Primus at Wellmont Theater on Sat. Rocktober 9. Tickets on sale today at noon. $40.

Blues Traveler at the Brooklyn Bowl (61 Wythe Avenue) on Fri. & Sat. Nov. 5 and 6th. Tickets on sale today at noon. $15

Sarah Bareilles at Webster Hall on Wed. Nov. 10. Tickets on sale today at noon. $25 ($30 day of show).

Filter at Bowery Ballroom on Sat. Aug. 21. Tickets on sale now $20.

Gorillaz at Madison Square Garden on Fri. Rocktober 8. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $49.50 – $125.

Paul Anka at the Westbury Theater on Sat. Nov. 20. Tickets on sale Sun Aug. 8 at 12:30 p.m. $61.50 – $71.50.

Smokey Robinson at the Westbury Theater on Fri. Nov. 12. Tickets on sale Sun Aug. 8 at 12:30 p.m. $60 – $75.

Rusted Root at Nokia Theater on Fri. Nov. 12. Tickets on sale today at noon. $22.50.

Seether at the Starland Ballroom (Sayerville NJ) on Thurs. Sept. 16. Tickets on sale today at noon. $25.50

Other items:

My new favorite song of the week belongs to Jerry Lee Lewis-that’s right the legendary Jerry Lee Lewis- with his pure rock and roll boogie flavored-“Rockin’ My Life Away”- and guess who helps out the big man?-Mr. Kid Rock and Slash. Jerry still has his chops and his wailing on the piano is still something to behold. Kid Rock-in my opinion- a legend in the waiting-if he keeps up this kind of singing, watch out. He is absolutely a ball of fun and this genre fits him like a glove. The Kid even manages to spray his rap style in there-you have to listen carefully. Slash’s guitar solo is so slippery sweet-just like when you put a hot knife into that stick of butter that was in the refrigerator. This song will land in my top ten songs of 2010 without a doubt-you need to own this right now.

My other favorite new song of the week is-“The Suburbs” by Arcade Fire. My friend Dan gave me one of their CD’s a few years back but I never really took a liking to their sound but I really like the title track of their new album and wouldn’t be surprised if I ended purchasing the entire CD. Check it out.

The Black Crowes have released a new CD-“Croweology”- and it contains many of their hits performed acoustically. If you are a fan of this band, this is a must buy. And for $9.99 on I-Tunes it’s a no brainer as you get 22 songs. Are you kidding me? (Ok “Best Buy” has it for $7.99) I have said this before but I wish I could be Chris Robinson for one tour-I think he is one of the coolest rock stars ever. These boys know how to sing rock and roll, gospel, the blues and anything that feels good. They played this past Wednesday night on the Jimmey Kimmel show-check them out and tell me Chris isn’t the man??!!http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ts3VbVVFdQs

Ozzy says “Never say Never” even though he has been in legal battles with his former bandmates in Black Sabbath for the past few years over using the name of Black Sabbath. There has been some real hard feelings but Ozzy thinks that they could reunite again and make a new “ultimate” album. I know there would be many out there who would love for that to happen.

The “2010 Crossroads Guitar Festival” which was held in Chicago this year on June 26 and then put into Movie theaters for one day only-Tues. July 27- (my oldest son wanted to go so bad but it was playing at least 40 miles from our house) will be released on two DVD’s on Nov. 9. It will contains four hours of footage with such guitar legends as Clapton (of course it is his festival), BB King, Buddy Guy, Jeff Beck, ZZ Top and new addition John Mayer. Look for it- this has to be good.

Deftone’s bassist-Chi Cheng– is still under medical care (still in a semi-conscious state) after being in a car accident in Nov. 2008. His family is using doctors from New Jersey who are supposedly on the cutting edge of treatments for people who have been in accidents like Chi. This is so heart-breaking, I truly hope his family and friends will find light at the end of the tunnel and I hope and pray he comes out of this. Peace. If you would like to make a donation please go to www.oneloveforchi.com

Apparently not everyone is happy with the rumor that Steven Tyler may be sitting as a judge on American Idol including Mr. Joe Perry who recently said in an interview that he was completely caught off guard and can’t understand why Steven would do this gig when Aerosmith has so many plans in the next year such as recording a new album. Sounds like things are not so great in “Aero-land.” Lots of strange things have happened between these two guys the last few years. Who knows what will happen if Tyler gets Simon’s spot.

The Cult’s new single-“Every man and woman is a Star”- was released this past Tuesday and after a few listens it will start to grow on you. These guys have been rockin’ for a long time and they “still got it.” The chorus is addicting.

Album Review: “Women and Children First” by Van Halen released on March 26, 1980

Women & Children First

Ok you know I have been touting this album for the past few years on this page, defending it every chance I get because in my opinion, plenty of people (and critics alike) seem to bypass this album when the topic of which are the best Van Halen albums (with Diamond Dave) that were ever recorded. Now I totally get “VHI,” “VHII” and “Fair Warning” maybe being put ahead of “Women and Children” but I totally lose it when people state that “1984” or even “Diver Down” is better. Now you all know that I totally love Van Halen and have every album they recorded (again except for the Gary Cherone experiment) and I will continue to endorse this as a masterpiece as long as I am on this earth. But even Van Halen albums have a pecking order and there is no way “Women” finishes behind “1984” or “Diver Down”-I’m sorry. Forget a perfect album side-which I contemplated-but then quickly realized-“what am I thinking? The entire album kicks some serious butt!!!” From the opening guitar riff of “And the Cradle Will Rock” to the heavy slow trudging head bang guitar that lasts around 13 seconds (called “The Growth”) after the brilliant “In a Simple Rhyme” ends-No the album doesn’t end at “Rhyme” so let it go to the end (I know you- the Van Halen fan- are aware of this, so excuse me while I make the point). Another thing that drives me crazy (I have also made this point in the past) is that I see this in the remaining stores that sell CD’s for like $4.99 but every other Van Halen album is priced at the full price of $12.99 (or something like that). And it’s usually in the bin with the “Slim Whitman” greatest hits- I usually make a bee line and complain to the store owner (because the kids working there-what do they know?) It’s like putting the portrait of the Mona Lisa on sale in the 99 cents store. But I guess you could look at it like you have just bought a priceless “antique” at a local yard sale as the person selling it doesn’t realized he or she just lost a gem. Well no matter how anyone looks at it-I’m telling you right now if you are a Van Halen fan with Mr. Roth at the helm, most likely this is already in your music library, but if it is not, now is your chance to run out and get it immediately.

This masterpiece, yes masterpiece, starts off with the “wind blown” like guitar riffs created by the masterful Edward Van Halen with one of their best songs-“And the Cradle Will Rock”-Stop right here- you have to rewind it before Alex jumps in on the drums and listen to it time and time again. Can I get any more psyched? Then as the screams of the most awesome David Lee Roth come into play-well this takes me over the edge. “Back in the day” David Lee Roth was the greatest front man of any band ever-he was by far the coolest dude to ever play the part of a rock star and his acrobatics during Van Halen’s early day concerts is something that hasn’t been duplicated since and most likely will not be replicated ever. How heavy is this song? And how freaking phenomenal is Alex Van Halen on drums? Of course throughout the entire song (and album) you can feel the bone crushing bass beats of Michael Anthony. When Eddie enters with his mind blowing guitar solo-well I say right then and there that this album is worth of the price of admission (especially if you took it from the “Slim Whitman” bin). Love the part before Eddie’s solo when Diamond exclaims-“Have you seen Junior’s grades??!!!” This song (and album) reminds me of my good friend-Slats- who I know is a huge fan of this album (as well as another childhood friend John G. as he would mimic Diamond Dave all the time) and I know he loves to drum out to this tune. “Everybody Wants Some” was always a fan favorite at their live shows- it starts off with Alex’s drumming and right away I feel like I am in a jungle trying to get through some rough vines as they are everywhere. Eddie’s guitar work adds to the mysteriousness of the song and then bam!!! “But everybody wants some…I want some too…” To this day there is a verse that Diamond Dave sings that I still have no clue what he’s trying to say, something that sounds like “mook-bee.” Anyway during their heyday, once the song slowed down again, Dave would break off and tell the audience a long story about his escapades. This would go on for sometime and then when Alex’s constant drumming started again, the white lights would shine on the thousands of fans as everyone would thrust their arms high and sing-“But everybody wants some…” Ahh those were the days. I’m telling you folks there was not a better live band in all the land during the years from 1978 – 1985. “Fools” pays homage to the Plant/Page thing as Dave moans/groans and makes noises as Eddie answers him back on guitar. As Dave quiets down, Eddie takes over on guitar as he awaits for his brother Alex to make his grand entrance on drums. You can barely hear Eddie’s guitar but it slowly gets louder and when Michael & Alex join in the fray it becomes this hypnotic steady head-banging beat. You can hear Alex hitting the “high hat” throughout this song as Eddie’s heavy guitar chords engulf your ears- his guitar work is lights out. Dave makes all these weird noises and squeals as the song fades out. “Romeo Delight” is my favorite track on this album and the arrangement is of top quality. This blazing song kicks off with all three musicians jamming at a high fast pace before Mr. Roth chimes in with his most excellent vocals-“what’s to like, cause I ain’t leaving… save it please I can’t take it anymore…” Just last week I made a CD for a long car ride and I didn’t tell my oldest son what the name of this song was and what album it was from (he knew it was VH but didn’t know the tune). As he listened (along with my younger son) I could see that he was enjoying it (they both were) and I had the volume on “30” (it usually sits at 12 or so). I was trying to air-drum to every drum beat-especially the end where Michael & Alex bring the song to a crashing end. When it finished, I told them it was “Romeo Delight”-a song that they had previously dismissed-but I know they are both fans of this track.

Side two kicks off with the heavy metal psychedelic-“Tora Tora”-which only lasts about a minute but it has this cool vibe and of course Dave can be heard screaming again and laughing and then BAM!!! It quickly turns into the lightning fast-“Loss of Control.” I know Slats loves this song-“May-day..May-day…” I can’t get enough of this song as I frantically dance all around the room trying to mimic a tornado. Alex’s drumming is out of this world. I can clearly remember my last Spin class at MBIA I threw this song on a CD and you want to talk about an all out sprint? Try doing this song for the full 2:37 seconds at the fastest pace you can try-you will certainly be sweating by the time the song is over. The pace quickly slows down as the blues laden-“Take Your Whiskey Home”- has to put a smile on your face because Diamond Dave is absolutely fantastic on this tune. He is so natural singing to Eddie’s guitar-(these guys are great together). The pace picks up a bit but it is still a slow head-banging song which flat out rocks. Eddie’s guitar solo is pure perfection but it is Dave who steals the show as he laments about how his woman doesn’t want him around because the bottle gets in the way. And watch out for Michael Anthony’s bass lines which will have you performing the Wayne’s World “We Are Not Worthy” bow. The title track is my second favorite song on this album and again Dave steals the show with his phenomenal vocal piece. I just lose it when he says “but you got women’s on your mind,” I have to hit the rewind button to listen again. Remember I mentioned a childhood friend-John G.- well I immediately think of him as he emulated Mr. Roth “to a T”- especially the part where Dave says-“Edward…thank ya..” I can still picture him on the stoop on 46th street in Sunset Park Brooklyn singing this song like he wrote it. Flat out masterpiece of a song. This classic album ends with the extraordinary-“In a Simple Rhyme”- and in my opinion the arrangement on this track may be the best that they ever recorded. It flows so naturally-“Well ain’t love grand when you finally hit it…I’m always a sucker for a real good time…”- and then gets as soft as any other Van Halen song but you know it won’t stay there for too long as Michael’s bass guides Eddie’s entrance for a magnificent guitar solo. As I scour their library I don’t think they ever made a song like this one-this is totally different from everything else. Of course the signature background vocals really shine on this song and as the track ends it softly fades away. But just for good measure so that you don’t forget this is Van Halen that 13-15 second “secret” ending (“The Growth”) pounds into your ears as you nod your head and say “yes!!! How great is this album?”

“Women and Children First” is Van Halen’s hidden gem because I think most look to other albums but just like when you are looking for that special ingredient in your cupboard, you may have to move a few things to the side before that unique feature is staring you right in the face. It was always there and that’s my analogy for “Women” because this album will be waiting for you when you want straight up rock and roll as you scour through other artists rock albums (and even other Van Halen albums) before the cool cover attracts your attention and you say –“let me give this a whirl.” Ladies and Gentlemen, I am here to tell you that when this happens you won’t be disappointed. What are you waiting for? \m/ \m/

“NUGGETS”:

Reckless

I introduced the concept of nuggets to you last week and simply put-in my opinion there are some real golden “nuggets” that appear on albums but maybe the entire album (or album side) is not as perfect. For a long time I was trying to figure out how I could review-“Reckless” by Bryan Adams but I had to be honest with myself as I thought there were some “fillers” so I even had a hard time picking a perfect album side. But there are enough songs on the entire album that I feel would have been a perfect album side if they were bunched together instead of appearing on opposite sides. I have been a fan of Mr. Adams for a long time and last year I took my oldest son to his first show-which was Bryan (also the first time I had seen him)- and he proved that he still has his voice, guitar skills along with stage presence which will last for a long time. I remember when “reckless” came out, I couldn’t stop listening to this album throughout the summer of 1985 (it was released in Rocktober 1984). His work spawned six singles that made it to the top 15 on the Billboard charts (a feat previously only completed by Michael Jackson for his “Thriller” album) Now in my opinion, the first two songs of the album and the last two songs are not that great but the six pack in between are stellar hits that really help send his career into another stratosphere. So here they are in no particular order, my “nugget” picks of the week:

Heaven – Sappy? Ok yes…You know I’m all about sappy…This is the perfect love song for any couple and I can remember watching Sal & Mimi dancing to their first song as husband and wife to this tune like it was yesterday. This song makes you drift off into another dimension as I can picture lying on a grassy hill in the summertime just looking up at the clear blue sky. “Oh thinking about our younger years…there was only you and me…we were young and wild and free…”-believe me boys and girls those words take on a whole new meaning as you get to be my age. Ahh this song takes me back to when I first met my bride and I knew she was the one for me. This song will do that to you.

Kids Wanna Rock – This was always my favorite song on “Reckless” and it still is. First thing you have to do is turn up the volume so it is real LOUD!!!! “Gimme my DJ, I got something he’s gotta play!!!!” Back in 1984, I was so amped up on rock and roll so when I heard this song I immediately bought the record. This is the “head-banging” Bryan Adams-you didn’t think he had it in him, did you? Don’t kid yourself-the man knows how to rock and this is the proof in the pudding. (And he helped out Motley Crue on Dr. Feelgood, so what about that?). This song was a staple in our boot camp class at MBIA from 2003 through 2005 and I know all of us would love to turn back the clock to be at Dave’s class at 6:00 a.m. to rock out to this and many other songs. “So turn it up, turn it up..turn it up… Woo!!!”

Summer of ’69 – Ignoring the fact of finding out why Bryan wrote this song when I saw him live in concert last year, this song will always be a favorite because it is a song of nostalgia. For some it may really be the summer of 1969 and it takes you back in time when you were younger and having a great summer. I tell my boys all the time-enjoy every bit of the summer (as well as life) now that you don’t have to work. Boy would I love to go back to long days of summer when all we did was grab a towel and get on the “N” train to head to Coney Island to ride the waves of euphoria. I took my boys to Coney Island last week and we took off our shoes and walked along the waters’ edge all the way to Brighton Beach. The rush of memories is sometimes overwhelming and then I looked over at my boys-who are such wonderful young men-and it brings a tear to the eyes. This is what this song does for me-brings me back but also makes me look to the future.

Somebody – Love the groove in this song-it keeps me coming back for more. It makes you bounce your head up and down as you sing every word with the fervor that Bryan displays-“I need somebody… hey what about you?” This is a crowd sing along song (like many of his) and I had the pleasure of hearing (and singing along with) the crowd at the Beacon Theater last year- it was pure fun. The chorus is addictive and once it is in your head you won’t be able to stop singing it.

It’s Only Love – Does this song rock or what? Love the opening guitar riffs. This is my second favorite song on “Reckless” (are you sensing a pattern?- yes- heavy guitar licks!!) And who better to assist him on this rocking classic but the knockout Ms. Tina Turner? She flat out hits a homerun with her passion and energy. Take a listen to this song and tell me it doesn’t sound like it was recorded last night? My only complaint is that it is too short. This is a song that should never be done by anyone else but Tina and Bryan-it’s that good-probably the best song of 1984-if not- then it is in the top ten. Flawless duet if I ever heard one. \m/ \m/

Run To You – Another phenomenal song that will last through the ages. Have you passed this on down to your kids? Your grandkids? What are you waiting for? Sometimes I have a hard time putting into words how great some songs are and this one falls right into this category. Bryan’s vocals are super solid-“She says her love for me could never die…but that would change if she ever found out about you and I…”-I wish I could have written and sang this song like he does. I love when Bryan’s vocals dig deep down and his higher pitch at certain points in the song is like the cherry on top of your ice cream sundae. Folks, it doesn’t get much better than this song.

So there you have it- “Reckless” is worth the price of admission and I would recommend purchasing the entire album because of these six classic tunes. Run – don’t walk- to buy this now!!!

“TOP TEN”:

This past week my I-Pod shuffle kept landing on both Linkin Park and Rage Against the Machine so I decided to do my favorite top five songs from both to equal this week’s top ten. Now I admit that I have to be in the mood to listen to both of these bands because there is a lot of anger accompanied with heavy guitar riffs along with screams which could last more than 30 seconds which make the experience of listening to these guys a little hard on the ears. But when I am in the mood to listen-watch out-there are some really good songs that both entities have supplied to their faithful.

Now with Linkin Park it did take me a while to get into them, my friend Eric kept imploring me to give these guys a chance during my time at MBIA. He lent me-“Hybrid Theory”- and I did like some of the songs but it just didn’t click. Then came-“Meteroa”- and I was off and running. This album struck an immediate chord with me and I couldn’t get enough of it. The disc is really short (less than 40 minutes) but it packs a wallop of a punch, so much so that I usually end up enjoying it twice as I have to put it back in and listen to it all over again. I wasn’t knee deep into the heavy metal rap scene but I did venture into some of these bands (and I know that Linkin Park doesn’t want that label, so forgive me) and it seemed that the time from 1996-2004 was full of “Nu-Metal” acts, so I did get into somewhat. (Yes I have Limp Bizkit CD’s-I know another band that LP does not want to be associated with-at least I know their fans don’t).

Then in 2003, Metallica went on tour and did the stadium venue that summer and took along Linkin Park (as well as Bizkit…but by that time Bizkit seemed to be out of the picture). It was one of the hottest summer days that year and Linkin Park made it even hotter as they blew everyone away with their electrifying set. I was amazed on how great they were live, they gave it everything they had that day and it was something I will never forget.

Now with Rage, I remember when I first heard-“Killing In the Name ” –and was intrigued by what I was hearing. There was a certain energy that I had never heard from any band and these were recorded songs, not even “live” songs. Now I loved the energy of the songs which included the musicianship from Tom Morello on guitar and Brad Wilk on drums and I loved the way Zack de la Rocha rapped but I have to honestly say that I did not agree with most of their political views. (Of course I don’t want to leave out the pulsating bass of Mr. Tim Commerford). Again I am a man of music and most of my focus is on the melody, beats or whatever sound that is coming through my speakers. Now obviously (especially as a parent) I recognize much of the harsh language that comes with this genre so I can’t make believe I don’t know what’s going on. For me it is the equivalent of listening to Howard Stern-he may not be for everyone, especially in a public setting-but when I am by myself or with other adults who know what it is all about, I can listen all day. Same with these bands, I recognize that this may be an acquired taste and is not for everyone. I will say that the “Battle of Los Angeles” is my favorite Rage album and it is in my opinion their most compete body of work from top to bottom. So here I am on an island and have been told that I can have five songs from Linkin’ Park and Rage Against the Machine, “These are Them:”

Linkin Park

Image of Linkin Park

5.     In the End – Thanks to Eric, this is one of the gems from “Hybrid Theory” and this process is harder when it’s limited to five songs but this song kept winning when I put it up against the other tunes I had on my list. I love the piano melody and I think that was probably the main reason this song lands here. I also love the singing going on behind the rapping (love the part where he says “watch the time go right out the win-doe”) and really don’t understand why they kind of walked away from these types of songs because in my opinion this style put them on the map. “I put my trust in you…pushed as far as I can go… for all this… there’s only one thing you should know…” How great is that part of the song? The ending of the song is the same as the beginning-the piano- awesome!!!

4.     Numb –This song could arguably be their best and most popular song, right? (I also love the way they used this song to collaborate with Jay-Z and I seem to hear that song more often than the original). This song brings me back to 2004 and the trip our family made down to the Smokey Mountains of Tennessee to visit my brother and sister-in law. This song was everywhere and we had gone into an arcade that had a jukebox, this song was playing when we walked in and even my brother in law said he liked the song. So of course I love to play the songs that I like in a public place so I played this song again along with basically the entire “Meteroa” album (I feel a review coming on). This was an instant classic and will continue to be for years to come.

3.     Faint – Believe it or not this song has sentimental value despite all the screaming, screeching and the loud guitars. This song will forever bring me back to the boot camp class at MBIA where I met some of the best friends I have ever encountered in my lifetime. I can remember the first time I put this song on the playlist for Dave and informed him that the girls were not going to like this song and probably will end up holding their ears. Sure enough as I was in my station I looked over to Tricia at her station and she had this look of disgust. I had to keep from laughing because I knew the part where the singer screams-“Nooooowww Hear me out noooowww… you’re gonna listen to me like it or not.. Right noooowwww!!!’ was coming up and I could see Tricia holding her ears while trying to say something but it was so loud that we couldn’t hear her. Eventually she came around and actually ended up liking the song-I think I changed her opinion on hard rock/metal/rap because these songs you can really move to-if you open your mind.

2.     Given Up – It baffles my mind that I have my top two songs from the album-“Minutes to Midnight”- because Linkin Park went out of their way to publicize that they were not going to do songs like they did on “Hybrid” or “Meteroa” (meaning no “rapping”). But when I listen to this song it has everything right up my alley- loud guitars and that primal scream that makes him one of the best screamers out today (I may have to revise my list of the top ten screamers of all time). The pace is fast and furious as one can clearly feel the rage coming out of every orifice of Chester’s body-especially when the pace slows down and he’s just pleading-“Put me out of my misery..” and that scream lasts about one minute. I know this is not for everyone especially if mom or dad are around or grandma and grandpa-you get the picture? But if you are at a Stadium with all LP fans then it can be one of the greatest experiences you’ll have. (Even though it’s anger and rage-I know- I’m weird).

1.     Bleed It Out – I remember when I heard this song for the first time I knew it was going to be my favorite Linkin Park song (despite the silly “F” bomb but you can buy the “clean” version). This song is so freakin’ awesome!!! I love the incredible pace with the hand claps, how cool is that? Then when the drums come in and smash that consistent beat I dance all around in circles-this could be one of the best workout songs ever. I was gone from MBIA but I sent a disc to Tricia with this song-this was the song that I had to let everybody else hear- and she said the reaction was the same as when I had played “Faint” for the first time. But everyone was bouncing at their exercise station. I’m still clapping my hands. This is the best!!!

Rage Against the Machine

Image of Rage Against the Machine

5.     No Shelter – Taken from the “Godzilla” soundtrack this song is the “bomb.” The groove in this track is spectacular as the drumming explodes which enables you to move your feet and head with such ease you might start to believe that you could rap like Zack. Like I said, I love the way this guy raps/sings/screams and he was one of the best-if not the best- in the heavy metal genre rap, personally I don’t think anyone comes close. Morello is all over the place with his awesome guitar work and the bass pulsates as you can feel your chest vibrate (if you have it at the right decibel level). Is there a better band that accentuates every note with such complete “In-Sync-Ness” between every instrument as well as the vocals? This band creates a force that few can emulate. (Watch out for the “MF” bomb, sorry)

4.     Testify – I remember the first time I heard this song, I felt like I was being lifted off the ground as the guitar riffs created by Morello makes it feel like there is a tornado of some back down (or lower) throughout the entire track. (I can actually picture Dorothy’s house being lifted off the ground and spinning in circles when I hear this tune).His solo in the middle is absolutely electrifying and it’s hard to believe there are only 3 guys making all that music behind Zack because it seems like there is at least double that amount creating the incredible wall of sound. This is some heavy stuff and perfect for your next work-out.

3.     Born of a Broken Man – This is one of the heaviest songs ever created-in my opinion- and similar to Linkin Park they can create this soft sound but then turn on a dime and create this outrageous fit of rage which makes you wonder where all this anger comes from. So why do I like it? It’s weird but I can do the same thing, I can listen to soft music but I have always had a thing for heavy stuff that gets me so psyched that I don’t know anything else but to air-guitar while banging my head to try to match the furiousness of what is blasting through my speakers. This song is violent I must admit and like I said- I have to be in the mood to listen to this. This isn’t like “Breakfast with the Beatles” that you hear every Sunday morning on your classic rock station but a few hours before that as Saturday night turns into early Sunday morning at one of those metal clubs is most likely the best time to listen to this.

2.     Guerilla Radio – Man hold on to your seat with this track. This is a violent fast paced knock-out punch that a young Mike Tyson use to apply to his opponents (victims) when they dared to enter the ring with him as he first started out his boxing career. There seems to be so much going on musically again it’s unreal that it is only three guys making this awesome sound. I love the part towards the end when Zack passionately exclaims in almost a whisper like tone-“It has to start somewhere…it has to start sometime…what better place than here?…what better time than now?…Ugghhhhh!!!!” Love the passion. Whew this song will wear you out.

1.     People of the Sun – Again this is my list and this is my all time favorite RATM song so don’t even try to ask me why-it just is. The beginning of this song is one of the greatest ever as that bass line is deep and thrusts into your chest as you begin to bounce up and down looking for a mosh pit. I can clearly remember leaving a softball game in Ringwood and as I pulled away from the “botchy” ball courts I had this blasting from my car while people looked over and probably wondered whose car was trembling as Zack says “People come up..” The bass and drums punctuate every beat together creating this minor earthquake and as the song progresses Mr. Morello adds his zesty flavor of his guitar. Does anyone play guitar like him when he made those albums with Rage? (who knows they may do some more work now that they are back together). His sound is so distinctive and again I don’t think there was ever a band like Rage before or after they came into existence. I have tried to sing this song (or rap to it) and in my opinion it is virtually impossible, only Zack can do this.

Trivia Questions

Answers from last week:

1.     Lou Gramm (Foreigner)

2.     Aretha Franklin

3.     Chuck Berry

4.     Jim Morrison (nice job Chris)

This week’s trivia (Random)-

1.     I was the lead singer for one of the biggest bands during the 1970’s and 1980’s and my roots are in the Middle East. I could sing with the best of them, even with an opera star. Who am I?

2.     I am the lead singer for a band that started out in the 1970’s and we were considered “new wave” or “alternative” when we first exploded on the scene. We have had many personnel changes but are actually back together in 2010, it is a “mystery” to me that we have “achieved” this? Who am I?

3.     I was part of a trio that was really popular during the flower power era and I was the only different one in the group. One of our songs was discussed between Robert DeNiro and Ben Stiller in the movie “Meet the Parents” where Mr. Stiller insinuated that the song was “drug” related. What group is it and who am I?

4.     I was in the band “Humble Pie” but achieved more fame and notoriety individually as some consider my solo live album to be one of the best ever. I can make my guitar talk. Who am I?

Name That Tune

Answers from last week:

1.     November Rain – Guns & Roses

2.     Centerfold-J. Geils Band

3.     Grazing in the Grass- The Friends of Distinction

4.     Double Vision- Foreigner

Can you guess the title from the following lyrics from part of the song?

1.     “…leaning on my pillow in the morning…lazy day in bed…music in my head…crazy music playing in the morning…”

2.     “…Hello (hello, hello)…is there anybody in there…just nod if you can hear me…is there any one home…”

3.     “…Oh it’s what you do to me…Oh it’s what you do to me…Oh it’s what you do to me…Oh it’s what you do to me…what you do to me…”

4.    “…tonight I’m gonna to break away…just you wait and see…I’ll never be in prison…like a faded memory…just when I think I’m over her…this broken heart will mend…”

Back on this Day .

Back on this day in 1973, Stevie Wonder was seriously injured in a car crash in North Carolina and he remained in a coma for four days (but obviously recovered).

Back on this day in 1988, Guns & Roses “Appetite for Destruction” finally reached number one on the Billboard charts after more than a year climbing its way to the top of the charts.

Back on this day in 1989, Adam Clayton (bassist for U2) avoided jail time after donating $40,000 to the Dublin Women’s Aid Center after he was found with marijuana by Dublin Ireland police.

Back on this day in 1996, The Ramones had their final concert together in Los Angeles which included appearances by Dee Dee Ramone (who at that time was the “former” bassist) along with Lemmy, Eddie Vedder, Chris Cornell and Ben Shepherd.

Back on this day in 1996, Vince Neil pulled an “Axl Rose” when he walked off the stage a small club in Indiana after three songs and didn’t return after the crowd had waited four hours for him to come on. Of course the police had to be called as the “rightfully upset” patrons demanded their money back after being told that there would be no refunds.

If it is your birthday today you share the same birth date with the late great Issac Hayes.

2 Comments »

  1. What a lovely blog you have & many thanks for stopping by over at mine! Very Nice for me….thanks for share

    Comment by New Mp3 | Mp3 Downloads — August 18, 2010 @ 1:04 am

  2. very good music !

    (good luck)

    thank you…

    Comment by türkü dinle — August 18, 2010 @ 9:48 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

