Errols Weekly Music Update.

June 18, 2010

Weekly Update – 06/18/2010

Aerosmith at Jones Beach on Thurs. Aug. 12 and PNC Bank Arts Center on Tues. Aug. 24. Pre-sale tickets available beginning at 10:00 a.m. this morning until 10:00 p.m. tonight and the pass-word is: “Aero.” General public tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. Jones: $41 – $207.50; PNC: $35 – $200. Also appearing at the Mohegan Sun on Sat. Sept. 4. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $135 – $185. (C’mon boys that is way too much for a concert, what is up?)

Stone Temple Pilots at Mohegan Sun on Tues. Aug. 31. Tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. $44.50 – $54.50

Donald Fagen with Boz Scaggs and Michael McDonald at PNC Bank Arts Center on Thurs. Sept. 2 and Jones Beach Fri. Sept. 3. Pre-sale tickets available beginning at 10:00 a.m. this morning until 10:00 p.m. tonight and the password is: Q104. General public tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. PNC: $46.25 – $100.25; Jones Beach: $46 – $150.

Sheryl Crow at Radio City Music Hall on Sun. Sept. 26. Tickets on sale this morning at 9:00 a.m. $50.50 – $126.

My Morning Jacket at Terminal 5 on Mon. & Tues. Rocktober 18 and 19, then Thurs.-Sat. Rocktober 21-23. Each night they will be playing one of their albums in its entirety. Pre-sale tickets are available now for American Express cardholders until 11:00 a.m. this morning. General public tickets on sale today at noon. $41. 18th: “Tenessee Fire,” 19th: “At Dawn,” 21st: “It Still Moves,” 22nd: “Z,” 23rd: “Evil Urges.”

Ian Anderson at the Wellmont Theater on Wed. Nov. 17. Tickets on sale today at noon. $35, $60 and $75.

Keith Urban and Kris Allen at the Oakdale Theater on Sun. Sept. 5. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $73.50.

The Backstreet Boys at Manhattan Center Hammerstein Ballroom (must be another Live Nation/Ticketmaster venue name change, why can’t it just be the Hammerstein ballroom?) on Thurs. Aug. 26. Tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 11:00 a.m. $52.50 – $72.50.

Black Label Society at Manhattan Center Hammerstein Ballroom on Wed. Rocktober 20. Tickets on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. $39.50 – $59.50.

Adam Lambert at the St. George Theater in Staten Island NY on Tues. Aug. 24. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $30 – $40.

Lisa Lampenilli at the Beacon Theater on Fri. Dec. 10. Tickets on sale now. $59.50.

Pink Martini at the Beacon Theater on Sat. Nov. 13. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $44.50, $54.50; $79.50 and $89.50.

Other items:

On Thursday June 10 while performing in Milan, Italy an unruly fan jumped up on stage and tackled Slash while his band was playing-“Sweet Child O’ Mine”- but before things could have become worse, security was able to pounce on the guy to prevent any further damage. Slash continued to play after a brief pause. The guy busted his guitar.

In honor of the World Cup, Weezer has made a single-“Represent”- and it is now available on I-Tunes. Rivers Cuomo grew up in the New York area and his father was an Italian-American who took Rivers to many a soccer game in the neighborhood. He loves soccer and this is his return gift to the sport he loves. Check it out. It was free on I-Tunes but now I think you have to pay.

Last Saturday, June 5, Ozzy was at the Los Angeles Dodgers game against the Anaheim Angels (or whatever they are called these days) and proceeded to set a world record for the longest scream with more than 50,000 fans in attendance holding it for 60 seconds. I was channel surfing and found it odd that he came out in the 5th inning to do this and I saw this dude with a stop watch but didn’t realize it was a man from Guiness until after he finished screaming. His new album-“Scream”- is out this Tueday June 22.

Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers new album-“Mojo”- received a four star rating from Rolling Stone magazine this week and based on the many positive reviews from I-Tune listeners, it sounds like Petty has hit a homerun with this album. I have not made the plunge as of yet but most likely will. I will keep you posted.

Santana is making a “cover” album containing some of the best classic rock/hard rock songs made over the last 30 years or so. He gets help from Nas as they pour through AC/DC’s “Back in Black.” He utilizes Chris Cornell to perform the Mighty Zep’s “Whole Lotta Love.” Ray Manzarek (the Doors) joins Carlos on the classic-“Riders on the Storm.” Scott Weiland belts out the Stones classic-“Can’t You Hear Me Knocking” while India Arie does her take on the Beatles classic-“While My Guitar Gently Weeps.” The album is slated to come out later this year.

My favorite “classic rock” song of the week belongs to Bad Company and their tender-“Do Right By Your Woman.” This is pure perfection folks. I always put this as a “cool down” song when I tried to help out Chris and make a CD for his classes back in the day. Paul Rodgers vocals are spot on baby!!

Rob Zombie will host the “WWE-Raw” show on the U.S.A. network which will air on Monday June 28 at 9:00 p.m. Perfect match, no?

Steve Miller’s new album-“Bingo”- is out and judging from the previews on I-Tunes this is a rocking blues album that will open your eyes and ears. Steve still has his chops, the songs are all covers with help from Joe Satriani.

My favorite “old school R&B” song of the week is “Crying Time” by the incomparable Ray Charles. I love this time even though you may feel like crying. There is another version where Barbara Streisand gives Ray a hand in a spectacular duet. Fantastic song.

My oldest son turned me on to the “best guitar song ever” and you can be the judge. The song is “Blues for Salvador” by the one and only Carlos Santana. My youngest son said the song is “sick.” I did the “Wayne’s World We are Not Worthy Bow.” Check it out for yourself at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7GP1nV44fE

Unfortunately next Friday marks the one year anniversary of Michael Jackson’s passing. It still remains something that I can’t believe, he was only 50 and again the “What if’s?” will always remain. Billboard has decided to rank his 50 best songs and you can see them here at http://www.billboard.com/#/features/1004098667.story?tag=hpflash1

My favorite “new” song of the week is-“Compliments”- by the Band of Horses from their new album-“Infinite Arms.” This band is growing on me, they sound like a mixture of America, Steve Miller and the Eagles all rolled into one. Very nice tune.

Album Review: Metallica (“Black”) by Metallica released on Aug. 13, 1991.

Metallica

This week’s I-Pod shuffle landed on “Through the Never” by Metallica from the brilliant “Black” album and since I am on a “metal” kick the last couple of weeks I figured to do a review of one of the best albums of the 1990’s, if not the best-then definitely in the top two of the decade. Now I will not listen to all the “haters” out there for this album so I will try not to bring them up too much, I will concentrate on the positive. You all know that I am a huge Tallica fan and this was the album to draw me in. As I have time and time again, I jumped aboard the “metal” train at a much later age than my fellow brethren. Most of my friends growing up in Sunset Park Brooklyn would be surprised to hear that I was a member of the Metallica fan club for much of my adult life because they couldn’t get me to listen to the really hard stuff, they saw me as a “light weight” because I listened to bands like The Cars, Foreigner and Journey and I just didn’t get “it.” When we all use to hang out near Pershing junior high school listening to the “boom box” (that was the thing to do back then) my friends with were heavy into bands like Metallica, Ozzy and Suicidal Tendencies (ironically the band that Mr. Robert Trujillo was in for many years before later joining Ozzy and of course now that bassist for Metallica) and I would listen but never ran to the store to buy their records. (sorry Rob but to this day I still don’t get Suicidal Tendencies-way out of my league). So the story goes that I marry my lovely bride in Feb. 1991 (at this time I am 26)and sadly leave the lovely confines of Brooklyn NY and head out to Ringwood NJ. Who knows maybe it was the “quiet” that we had to get use to; there were no sidewalks, no street lamps, no NYC buses blazing by my parent’s apartment on 8th avenue, no fights outside the local bars that occurred almost every Friday night, no blasting music from every fifth car that drove along the avenue- since both my wife and I grew up “in the city” we were not use to all the “quiet.” Honestly it took us probably six months or more to adapt our new environment and maybe it only makes sense that I was looking for loud “noise”- welcome Metallica (I mean this in a great way).

Of course to the dissatisfaction of the early die-hard fan, the song that hooked me in was obviously “Enter Sandman.” If you watched MTV during this time there was no way you did not see this video and it intrigued me to no end. I was so captivated by the blurry images of James, Lars, Kirk and Jason constantly flipping back and forth on the screen. I was blown away by this little kid’s voice saying the prayer that most of us say before we go to bed. It was “scary” but at the same time it was a door that I wanted to enter. So I decided to make the plunge and bought the album. I can honestly say that this record changed my life forever. If there is one album that altered my being, this is “it.” I became so obsessed with this album that it made me go back and purchase every single album before that as well as following every release since while making it a point to see them every time they hit the tri-state area. As with many of us, we lose touch with people we grow up with but I always wanted to let them know-“if you could only see me now”- well maybe they will read this and hopefully I have finally earned their respect as I finally “get it.” The Black Album is a brilliant masterpiece which will forever stand the test of time and many years from now when none of us are around, I can just picture someone finding a copy of the album on a beach somewhere, running back to see what piece of history they think they can sell off of E-Bay’s successor and when they put the first song on, they will be a light straight up to the sky. The person will realize that there is no way he or she can sell it, so they mass produce copies for free (no not Napster) to distribute to every household so they too will realize the beauty of this historic landmark.

Once I moved to Ringwood NJ, most every trip I made was a long car ride to every where because Ringwood is “out there.” And just like a dog has its trusty bone, this album became my side kick for many a trip to any where. I clearly remember making a trip from Northern NJ to South NJ almost every weekend playing softball for what I thought was going to lead to a new career but it ended up being that I was only needed for softball. (Once I realized that I was out before the beach season opened as there was no way I was riding the Garden State on Friday or Saturday nights in the summer). Anyway on one of these trips, I was completely engulfed in this album as it was blasting so loud that it could have made my ears bleed because I kept all the windows shut so as to not lose the flavor. While I was driving, my head was banging up and down to “Don’t Tread on Me” and I must have been in a zone because when I looked over to my right there were these two people in the car next to me that slowed down to see what the heck was wrong with me, I just gave them the \m/ sign and I could see them laughing. I have listened to this album so many times that I know every note, drum beat, grunt, growl and to this day I have to listen to the entire album from start to finish-there really is no other way to do it. Anyway, here is my review.

What else can be said or written about “Enter Sandman?” This was a ground breaking song that catapulted them into another stratosphere. Yes I know many of the original fans probably think this was the start of their downfall. This was the first album that they went “outside” to look for assistance with the production-Enter Mr. Bob Rock. Say what you will about some of the other Rock productions but there is no denying that this is his “Sgt. Pepper’s.” The only thing that is wrong with this song is that you may play it so many times that you may overload your system and it may backfire, so just like anything else-watch your intake. This arrangement of this song is superb especially when Mr. Hetfield and that child go back and forth with the night prayer; it really is unlike any song you have heard. The song is dark and mysterious but the groove is so addictive that it attracts many who don’t do “metal”- take my wife for example, there are only a handful of songs that she will actually tolerate from any “head-banging” band and this is by far her favorite. I think that this is what angered their original fans because they didn’t want the general public involved-something I use to live by and totally get but remember I went back and purchased every public piece of work they ever recorded along with some material for which the fan club is only privy to. If you have never been to a Metallica show you are truly missing out and there is a good chance that they will perform this song. The last time I saw them in November at the Garden, they brought the house down with this song, a true spectacle. “Sad but True” is a flat out, knock ‘em dead, all out blitz of power and energy. I can remember when James couldn’t understand all the complaints that this song wasn’t “heavy” enough-fast forward almost 20 years-this song has become a staple at their shows. I think they probably add a little “umph” into this song every time when they play it just to prove the power this song always contained, listen to the original recording and feel every bass line crushing your chest as well as every drum beat on the top of your head. This is the best “slow head banging” song of all time-there is no way you can’t move your head up & down. “Holier Than Thou” picks up the pace in a hurry and Lars is all over the place on the drums as his consistent playing is one of the main reasons that this band is still going strong after more than a quarter of a century. James and Kirk keep the train ignited with their blazing guitar work as Kirks solo is an eye opener and he has to be considered one of the best guitarists for the genre called “metal.” And Mr. Hetfield’s vocals take no prisoners as you know he means business, so don’t mess with him. Love the part where he scowls “… you…know…NOT…” Jason’s pulsating bass and his background vocals (listen carefully) are top notch. Track # 4-“The Unforgiven”- is-in my mind-a masterpiece. The arrangement of the song is flawless as Lars punctuates many of the words that James belts out. Yes there is a “soft” spot in the middle of the song but so what? It’s not like they didn’t take it down on their other albums (see “Sanitarium”). Actually in my opinion again, I think this showed the world that James can sing very well and his range is impressive. But the strange thing is that there are parts of this song that is super heavy, however most don’t recognize this because of the chorus-“.. what I felt, what I’ve known.. never free…” It doesn’t get much better than this folks. “Wherever I May Roam”- whenever I hear this song I feel like I’m in the middle of a desert being chased by someone and am having a hard time getting away but then when Lars drums bang into action I emerge, rising out of the sand, standing about 50 feet tall, ready to take on any action that comes my way. “Any where I roam, where I lay my head is home…” I now have the power to leap tall buildings in a single… oh well you get the picture. To see them perform this song live is really a treat as the entire crowd knows every word, every riff, drum beat, and if you have never experienced 18,000 fans or more “air-guitaring” at the same time, then there is a void in your life that you need to fix. Side one ends with the vivacious-“Don’t Tread on Me”- a pointed message to those who want to mess with the U.S. (when this was released the first Gulf War began). There is no other way to listen to this song but LOUD!!! This has to get you psyched up and has this consistent beat where you can not help but bang your head up and down for a full four minutes. “.. so be it, friend no more…liberty or death… once you provoke her, rattling of the tail…” Head-banging music at its best.

Side two starts off with the twisting and turning –“Through the Never”- which has to rank up there as one of the best songs on the album. Kirk’s guitar is like a laser beam, nailing anything in its path while James passion bleeds through your headphones as you can not believe how great this album has been so far and I for one, do not want it to end. Kirk’s guitar solo is down right righteous. Love the part where the song slows down a bit and James sings-“On through the never.. we must go…” and then the song comes crashing back to the same pace. Pure perfection folks. Then it’s on to arguably their most popular song-“Nothing Else Matters”- (I know many of you are banging your head against the wall and screaming “No!!!” what about “One?” what about “Master of Puppets?”) C’mon folks, (even the haters) you have to admit that most anyone can listen to this song- our parents, our aunts & uncles and even maybe our grandparents, it’s that enjoyable. This song really puts me in a good place as I wander off and think of my life-where it has gone, what lies ahead and everything that happened in between. It makes you think about what matters most. Even my best man-Johnny Boy- likes this song and he’s a “disco” guy. (On a weird note, he has always maintained that he wants this song to be played at his funeral). Call it pop, call it a ballad but you can’t call it bad. This has to rank up there as one of the best ballads in the history of music. James Hetfield’s vocals are flat out spectacular and no one can sing it like him. Dare I say that this song never be covered-sort of like “American Pie” by Don McLean. (I will never acknowledge any covered version of American Pie, so don’t even mention Madonna). As you remain there in a trance reveling in your relaxed atmosphere, all of a sudden like when Freddy Kruger comes out of know where to scare you out of your wits, Lars does his best to make it feel like his drums are coming through your chest as you are back to thrashing with the ever popular-“Of Wolf and Man.” This song will always remind me of Jason (sorry Rob no offense intended) because he has the backing vocals-“Back to the Meaning”- and I can just picture his face when he played with the boys-was he intense or what? This song is like sticking your finger in an electrical outlet and having that electricity travel throughout your body. Next time Dr. Frankenstein needs to wake his monster all he has to do is put a set of headphones on his ears and press the play button on the I-pod for this song. Can it get any better? Track #4 on side two is-“The God that Failed”-now to describe this song I would say that this could be ‘metal-blues’ because the his nothing short of spectacular, while James make you move your neck at a controlled pace and Kirk knocks the cover off the ball with his amazing guitar solo. The one thing about these songs is that they are all pretty long but are so good that they fly by in much less time than actually occurs. “My Friend of Misery” is probably my favorite song on the album, this is an epic song which contains one of my most favorite lyrics-“…they say an empty can rattles the most…”-we all know people in our lives like that but I’m here to focus on the music. The arrangement of this song is so well constructed, almost like a great novel as it seems to contain chapters where the song has timing changes, shifts and builds the story with the artistic work of Kirk on guitar that makes it the song larger-than-life. This grand album ends with the blazing-“The Struggle Within”-starts off with a marching band drum beat that makes you put your right hand up to your left eye and salute them for making this fantastic album. Then it’s on to the “mosh pit” as the beats in this song will cause most of the crowd to look for something to bang into, especially when Kirks guitar solo kicks in-I would even maybe look to jump in to the fray. (Ok that’s a lie but I can dream). Love the part where James says –“Go”- and I can picture an orchestra conductor pointing his pointer while kicking over the music stand to letting James and Kirk know that their parts are up. Of course the always reliable Lars Ulrich is crazed with his awesome drumming skills to keep this song motoring along. As the song comes to a crashing end I am totally wiped with the sweat pouring off of me as I do the Wayne’s World- “We are not worthy”- bow.

Folks, the “Black” album changed the course of history for both Metallica and the world of metal. Now just like any other democratic society, you will have people on both sides of the fence who have positive and negative thoughts on this album. Since I have stated that this album changed my life forever, I think you know what side I sit on. I understand that the original fans wanted to contain their “niche” in the market (hey I have stated that when I was younger, I dropped bands once they became too popular) and did not want the band to change their sound or to have “fair-weather” fans board the Metallica bandwagon but when a machine like Metallica is growing, how can you stop it? Why would you want to stop it? And the complaints that it isn’t heavy enough? I will always go back to what James said (or something to the effect of)-“Sad But True isn’t heavy??!!!” Please…Don’t buy it because it’s heavy or because it’s not heavy enough, buy it because it is arguably the best album that came out in the decade of the 1990’s.

“TOP TEN”:

 

Megadeth - Greatest Hits

The last few weeks I have been really getting my “metal”on and sometimes I go through phases where I stay on something for a while but then leave it and eventually I go back to it. Well folks I am “back on it” and I might as well dive head first into one of the heavier head bangers of all time because this week it made sense that my I-Pod shuffle landed on “Train of Consequences” by Megadeth. That was the sign that I needed because I dove right into lots of Megadeth and decided to make them my top ten list this week. Now admittedly, they are an acquired taste to say the least (with no offense to Mr. Mustaine) and they are not for the faint of heart. Now I am not going to sit here and tell you that I was at the forefront when they first came out on the scene after Dave left (or was kicked out- I don’t want to start this up again) Metallica. As I have stated more than a few times, as I became older my taste changed and I wanted “heavy” cream in my coffee and went for bands like Metallica and Megadeth long after they were well established in the metal world. But I have done my homework and know a majority of Megadeth’s work, again no expert but I will give it my spin on what I like as their top ten songs.

Way back when I use to work at MBIA, I would go to shows by myself because sometimes I felt that people might look at me strange if I said I was going to see Megadeth or most times, many had not even heard of the bands that I followed, so I made up my mind that I wasn’t going to deprive myself and again I headed to many a show on a solo basis. (Once the light’s go out there isn’t going to be much conversation anyway, especially with a Megadeth). So I made up my mind that I was going to experience what I had read or heard about and went to see Megadeth at Irving Plaza about 7 years ago. I didn’t know what to expect when I arrived but the first thing I felt was the unbelievable adrenaline that was abuzz in this pretty tight room cuddled right on a seemingly residential block. If people walking outside Irving Plaza could feel what was going on inside, it either would have you: a) run for cover and head home or b) soak up the energy and get in there. I chose “B.” When they took the stage, I couldn’t believe the mosh pit that formed and the circle seemed to widen at every song. I could feel my chest pulsating with every bass line and the atmosphere was like someone accidentally knocking over a bees nest with the emerging bees swarming violently around the nest in incessant circles trying to protect its Queen. For more than two hours it was straight up speed metal like you have never experienced and when I left Irving Plaza I was so drained, it was like I was in a 15 round boxing match with both boxers going the distance, blow for blow with standing eight counts and the such. I would definitely go see them again but this time I want some takers, any one in? Ok so I am on an island and have been told that I can only have ten songs by the machine called Megadeth, “These are Them:”

10.     Hangar 18This classic from “Rust in Peace” is a mainstay at their live shows and the one thing about this song that stands out are the timing/tempo changes that constantly shift in and out. Mustaine’s initial solo is lights out and then he and Marty Friedman exchange solos the rest of the way with Dave closing out the tune with an all out blitz. The video to this song is one of the coolest you will come across as it depicts the torture of aliens and then all the members of the band are shown locked up in a room where they are being frozen. The lyrics were written by the drummer at the time, Nick Menza, and the topic dealt with UFO conspiracy theories. Blazing guitar work.

9.     Kick The ChairI remember the first time I heard this in my car when I took the CD out of the plastic, I immediately wanted to start kicking over chairs. This song comes right at you with seemingly thousands of punches all over your body as you try to stop all the blows. The intensity is too real as it feels like there are about 10 drummers playing on this track. This is the perfect song for kick boxing or shadow boxing as you won’t be able to keep up with the number of punches thrown because it’s just too quick. This is thrash head-banging metal at its best. \m/ \m/

8.     Holy Wars…The Punishment DueAs soon as you hear the opening riffs, it’s like falling down a trap door and you don’t know when you are going to land, I don’t know what it is to sky dive but that’s the image I get when I hear this song. Now for those of you who don’t know Mr. Mustaine-the man is really intelligent and most of his songs have critical questions on why the world is the way it is and he will always give you his opinion on how it should be. This song relates to the age old conflicts between the Catholics and Protestants in Northern Ireland and his opinion on religious disagreements. The musicianship on this track is freaking unbelievable and the tempo is in the “fifth” gear for most of it, except when an acoustic guitar comes into the picture around 2:24 into the song and then there is a pounding pace that is easier on the neck but don’t get too comfortable because the break-neck speed returns along with some walloping guitar solos. Thrash metal baby!!!

7.     Symphony of Destruction-Even though I have listened to this song so many times, when I was doing the battle of the songs, this kept winning out amongst some others. Since this is not as “thrashy” as many of their other tracks, I always felt compelled to play it for friends and family when they came to my house figuring they would think it was cool. Sometimes I would get a “hit” but most times when they heard Dave’s vocals, they walked away. I did put this on a Spin class CD that I made while I was at MBIA and most did not like it but the instructor, Melissa, said she liked it, so that made my day. This is the perfect song to snap your head and neck up & down to, I love the part where Dave says “acting like a robot…” and then he makes this sound like he is sucking in air- yes I do listen closely.

6.     Dread and the Fugitive Mind– Metal with melody- that is what this song is. Love the stop and go effect that resonates throughout the tune. This song is about looking within oneself for meaning-I told you Dave is an intensely intelligent man. I bet you wouldn’t have thought that a Megadeth song would have you searching for your true self, so what if the music behind it sounds like you better run if you can’t find yourself. “If you shake my hand you better count your fingers…” Ouch even the lyrics pack a punch. The guitar solo is scorching as usual. Educated metal is a terrible thing to waste. Give it a chance!! \m/ \m/

5.     A Tout Le Monde (Set Me Free) (the single version released with Cristina Scabbia) – I like the original version of this track but when I heard this “duet” with the lead singer from Lacuna Coil, it put a different spin on this song and I actually like this version better. I love the harmony between Dave and Cristina and this could be his best vocal performance on any song they have recorded and maybe because she is in the picture. Totally cool version of this track.

4.     Sweating Bullets– Can’t get enough of this song, I love the fact that Mustaine is talking/singing about himself in the third person. C’mon we all have talked to ourselves at some point in our lives, I know I have (and continue to do so). “…hello me, it’s me again…”- how great is that? Anyway love the vibe of this song and the deep “monsterous” voice that laughs as the word-“sweat” is constantly repeated as the octave gets higher and higher. “My icy fingers claw your back…” Yes I know you can feel kind of claustrophobic from this song but only if you let in creep in deep enough. And yes there is a bit of anger in this song but again I focus on the music. The military like drumming makes it easy to bang your head while Mustaine’s slick guitar work will open your eyes. Put on a great pair of headphones and squeeze them as tight as you can to your ears and listen to this schizophrenic battle of wits.

3.     Skin O’ My Teeth– For some reason I can picture this song being used to promote “NASCAR” because the beginning of the song with the drums and the guitar remind me of the guy who stands atop these car racing events waving the checkered flag, as the cars are about to start up the race again (after a minor crash) and then BOOM: the red flag comes out and it is off to the races as the tempo of this song goes from 0 – 60 in about 13 seconds. “…No escaping pain… you belong to me…clinging on to life… by the skin of my teeth!!!” This song is lights out and the guitar work is phenomenal-listen to the solos, they will blow you away. Can it be any more energetic? I think not. Sports fans- do you remember when Bo Jackson ran up and down the outfield wall in Kansas City way back when he caught that ball? That’s what I feel like doing when I hear this song. ‘Nuff said.

2.     Kill The King– I recently played this song for my youngest son and he had the same reaction I had when I first heard it- his eyes grew bigger-like a major league baseball player sees that fast ball which he is about to crush over the wall- and his jaw dropped and he immediately said he wanted this song on his I-Pod. This song is like smelling salt it will completely wake you up and knock you out. For me, it’s like an immediate sting to my body, gets into my blood stream and I am completely possessed. The song could be the best head-banging tune ever. There’s always a lot going on in their songs as they talk and make noise in the background while the preparation for the pulverizing pace is being prepped for its comeback. I recently rode home in my car and literally had the volume on the highest it could go and I swear my car was vibrating. When I came to a stop sign, a few people looked over to see what the heck was going on, I quickly turned and headed home so they couldn’t see who it was. Hey it was a long day and this is my release. \m/ \m/

1.     Train of Consequences– For me, this is their ultimate song. I immediately think of a dog ripping at his favorite bone as the unbelievable arrangement with the stops & starts, twist & turns is almost too much for me to take. I keep rewinding the start of the song so I get more pumped up. You have to turn up the volume. The guitar solo is mind numbing as all the band members are clicking on all cylinders as I am in a complete frenzy and don’t want the song to end- so yes I have rewound it again for like the fourth time as I write about it. This is a flat-out knockout of a song-you need to own it. \m/ \m/

Trivia Questions

Answers from last week:

1.     Faye Dunaway

2.     “Got To Get You Into My Life”

3.     True

4.     Ted Nugent

This week’s trivia (Random)-

1.     Ed and Dean Roland are part of this band which hails from Georgia

2.     What is Billy Idol’s real name?

3.     Who sang the song- “Addicted to Love?”

4.     Simon Kirke and Mick Ralphs were part of what band that were highly successful in the 1970’s and 1980’s.

Name That Tune

Answers from last week:

1.     “Day After Day”- Bad Finger

2.     “I Write the Songs”-Barry Manilow

3.     “I’ll Never Fall in Love Again”-Dionne Warwick (written by Bacharach)

4.     “Down with the Sickness” –Disturbed

Can you guess the title from the following lyrics from part of the song?

1.     “…you tell her that she’s the one…she needs someone to tell her…that its gonna last forever… so tell me…”

2.     “…it’s like this and like that and like this and like uh…it’s like this and like that and like this and like uh…”

3.     “…Yeah she’ll tell you she’s an orphan after you meet her family…she paints her eyes as black as night now…she pulls those shades down tight…”

4.     “…If the sky that we look upon…should tumble and fall…or the mountains should crumble to the sea…”

Back on this Day .

Back on this day in 1977, Fleetwood Mac reached the top of the Top 100 singles on Billboard with “Dreams” which lasted for one week representing their one and only number one hit.

Back on this day in 1977, Johnny Rotten & Paul Cook of the Sex Pistols were stabbed and beaten outside of a bar in London.

Back on this day in 1977, Tina Weymouth & Chris Franz, both band mates in the Talking Heads were married and are celebrating their 33rd anniversary. Congrats!!!

Back on this day in 1984, at the end of a Judas Priest concert at Madison Square Garden, fans ripped out and threw seats up on to the stage. It cost over $250,000 to fix and the Priest was the first band to be banned for life from The Garden.

If it is your birthday today you share the same birth date with Sir Paul McCartney and Carl Radle (Derek & the Dominoes)

1 Comment »

  1. […] Weekly Update – 06/18/2010 « Errols Weekly Music Update. […]

    Pingback by Danity Kane @ Hammerstein #3 | Videos 4 you — June 18, 2010 @ 5:52 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

