Errols Weekly Music Update.

June 11, 2010

Weekly Update – 06/11/2010

Aerosmith at Jones Beach on Thurs. Aug. 12 and PNC Bank Arts Center on Tues. Aug. 24. Pre-sale tickets will be available starting next Wed. June 16 at 10:00 a.m. until 10:00 p.m. Fri. June 18. General public tickets on sale next Sat. June 19 at 10:00 a.m. Jones: $41 – $207.50; PNC: $35 – $200.

Stone Temple Pilots at Jones Beach and PNC Bank Arts Center on Sat. & Sun. Sept. 4 & 5. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. Jones: $29 – $131; PNC: $26.25 – $131.

Kiss at the Mohegan Sun on Thurs. Aug. 19. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $75 – $95.

ZZ Top at the Beacon Theater on Sun. Sept. 12. Pre-sale tickets will be available beginning 10:00 a.m. this morning until 10:00 p.m. tonight and the password is HETOP. General public tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. $39.50 – $79.50.

Arcade Fire and Spoon at Madison Square Garden on Wed. Aug. 4. Pre-sale tickets available now for American Express cardholders until 10:00 p.m. tonight. General public tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 9:00 a.m. $49.50

Barenaked Ladies at Mohegan Sun on Fri. Aug. 6. Tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. $33

John Legend at the Borgota Event Center on Sat. Aug. 6. Tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event)

The Black Crowes at the Music Box in Atlantic City NJ on Sat. Rocktober 30. Tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event)

Rick Springfield at the Nokia Theater on Sat. Sept. 25. Pre-sale tickets for American Express cardholders on sale until 10:00 a.m. this morning. General public tickets on sale at noon. $39.50 – $89.50.

Exodus at the Gramercy Theater on Sat. Aug. 28. Tickets on sale today at noon. $20.

Relient K at the Gramercy Theater on Thurs. July 29 Tickets on sale tomorrow at noon. (Live Nation Event).

Drive By Truckers at Terminal 5 on Fri. Dec. 31. Tickets on sale today at noon. $55 ($60 day beginning Dec. 29).

Patti LaBelle at the Theater in Westbury NY on Thurs. Nov. 27. Tickets on sale tomorrow 12:30 p.m. (Live Nation Event)

Gov’t Mule at the Theater in Westbury NY on Thurs. Aug. 12. Tickets on sale next Sat. June 19 at 12:30 p.m. (Live Nation Event).

Other items:

It only took more than two years but Live Nation admitted their mistake with trying to re-name Irving Plaza the Fillmore New York (or New York Fillmore) at Irving Plaza and have put back the traditional name that everyone knows- Irving Plaza. Can you imagine coming in and making that decision? And then leaving it for two years despite the public outcry? The arrogance is stifling and now they can live happily ever after with the other arrogant company-Ticketmaster- a marriage made in heaven.

Behind the Music with Christina Aguilera premiers this Sunday June 13 at 9:00 p.m. on VH1 and she talks about the abuse that her mother suffered at the hands of her father as well as herself. Jealousy amongst her schoolmates heightened as her career took off. Her new album has received less than favorable reviews from a few different outlets with comparisons to Lady GaGa running rampart. That said I know I will be tuning in this Sunday night.

My favorite “metal” song of the week is “Heaven & Hell” by Black Sabbath with the late Ronnie James Dio on lead vocals. Man is this a freaking awesome tune or what? Not for nothing but when everyone thought Sabbath was done after Ozzy left, he breathed new life into this band and made some awesome tunes during his short stint-this one included. Black Sabbath created metal with Ozzy and Ronnie did more than a formidable job on continuing their dominance, this song rocks baby!! \m/ \m/

The Go-Go’s had to cancel their farewell tour-including dates in New York- after their guitarist, Jane Weidlin, fell 20 feet while hiking in CA and injured her knee, she needs surgery for an ACL replacement-Ouch!! Get better Jane and then come back later in the year near the holiday’s to go out on top, it can’t end like this, can it?

My favorite “1980’s rock” song of the week belongs to Loverboy with “The Kid is Hot Tonight.” Go ahead and laugh if you will but I love this stuff. Yes I have been to a Loverboy concert and it was during their “hey-day” and guys were outnumbered at least 10-1 by the girls attending the show. Who’s laughing now?

Remember when Ozzy had the show-“The Osbournes”- and half the time on the show you would get the idea that there were some of earth’s natural substances having an effect on the king of metal? Well it turns out that he confessed this week that he would hide in one of his rooms in the house (while MTV was filming) and smoke away. The first season of that show was hysterical and maybe now we know part of the reason. Speaking of Ozzy, he released his second single from his upcoming album-“Scream”- and it’s called “Soul Sucker.” It is a heavy fusion of that classic metal sound including a pulsating bass line, the almost talking guitar and his familiar vocals, it’s a slow trudging head banging song that quickly picks up the pace midway through and blasts its way into your blood stream. Has sort of a “Soundgarden” feel to it. Check it out.

My favorite “southern rock” song of the week goes to Lynyrd Skynyrd with their delicious “funk-a-fied” “Whiskey Rock a Roller.” How great is this freaking song? There is no other way to listen to this track but super LOUD!!! Love the piano in the background, it makes the song that much better. Man you always ask-“What coulda been if Ronnie was still around?” Songs like these make you realize what a talent this man was and it’s upsetting that he still can’t be around to sing these great songs as well as make some new down home cooking.

Ratt had to cancel tour dates in Europe in support of their new album-“Infestation”-because lead singer-Stephen Pearcy- underwent surgery for a hernia. In addition, their drummer-Bobby Blotzer- was arrested over the Memorial Day weekend for DUI while driving a boat on a lake in Arizona.

My favorite “Nu-Metal” song of the week belongs to Marilyn Manson with his super knockout –“Mobscene”- yes folks I have many songs from this person who many consider the devil. Now as you all know it is the music for me, I try not to get all mixed up in what he is trying to sell (but admit it is pretty hard with him). This is a song that I blast in my car when I’m by myself or downstairs in my house (when my wife is not home, like now). Be aware there are many “F” bombs in this track. This was a mainstay in our boot camp classes at MBIA back in the day.

My favorite “folk” song of the week is the beautiful and masterful-“The Wedding Song (There is Love)”- by Peter, Paul & Mary. I don’t make a sound or move when I listen to this spectacular song. This brings tears to the eyes if you let it sink in. Has to be one of the best songs ever written.

“And 5, now this is most important, Rat…comes down to making out… whenever possible.. put on side 1 of Led Zeppelin IV

Fair Warning

Side 1 of “Fair Warning” by Van Halen released on April 29, 1981

Ahh to be 16 again, where has the time gone? I can’t believe next year will mark the 30th anniversary of the release of “Fair Warning.” In 1981, I was a sophomore at Brooklyn Tech and enjoyed playing football every Sunday morning (not with Tech) during the fall and winter with The Outlaws. We used to meet before every game at the corner of 48st and 8th avenue in Sunset Park Brooklyn (in front of “Izzy’s”) and toss the ball around and then load up in different cars to head to Dyker Heights to play football on the concrete. Fights galore on every kick-off. In 1981, the NY Jets had their first winning season in a long time and almost pulled off a history making comeback in the playoffs against the Buffalo Bills, losing 31-27 as Richard Todd threw an interception with 10 seconds left in the game when the Jets were on the 10 yard line. Oh well, back to the music-I was in the early stages of my “rock” days and by this time was fully integrated to the sound of Diamond Dave, Eddie, Alex and Michael, also known as Van Halen. By this time when Fair Warning was released there were signs of dissension between Eddie and Dave. Diamond wanted more “pop” songs while Eddie wanted to “metal” out and make a heavier Van Halen album. In a sense they both won out because “Fair Warning” was considered a return to the “guitar” rock that Eddie had displayed on the first two albums but on the other hand it was the shortest Van Halen album that was ever released. The album was released almost three weeks after Eddie had married actress Valarie Bertinelli and during this time Ace Frehley had left Kiss and Eddie actually auditioned for the role but Gene Simmons and his brother Alex convinced him to stay with Van Halen. Whew thank goodness.

Now recently my oldest son has finally started to acknowledge that Van Halen with Diamond Dave was one of the better groups “back in the day” but for some reason thinks that “Fair Warning” is one of their worst albums. But the thing is, he is reading all these comments on I-Tunes about how “over-rated” this album is and that “1984” is the best Van Halen album. Please….I was there in the thick of it-the ground floor, the belly of the beast-however you want to say it and when “Fair Warning” was released the excitement that Van Halen was “back” spread from coast to coast. Songs like “Unchained” and “So This Is Love”-which appear on side two!!- changed hard rock forever. (Ok that might be a little strong but you know what I mean). And what about side one you ask? Well it happens to be my recommendation this week for a “perfect album side.”

Side one begins with arguably the greatest guitar riff beginning of a song-maybe in the history of rock-“Mean Street.” When you listen to this “greatness” you realize that Eddie meant business and was there to show you that he was the best guitarist of his generation. I don’t know about you but every time I hear the start of this song, I lose it-I become so pumped up that I immediately have to hit the volume and blast it as loud as I can stand it (or until my wife screams to turn it down). I can remember riding in my best man’s car with the windows down and slowly driving under the “L” on 86st street in Brooklyn trying to drown out the other cars who had their disco blaring out of their speakers. (If you go back today, disco has won out because those same cars are still playing “Saturday Night Fever”). When Dave exclaims-“Dance Baby”- and Eddie breaks in with that phenomenal guitar solo you have to ask yourself if this is one of the best guitar driven songs ever. As I listen I am doing the “Wayne’s World” bow and what about Alex? His drumming makes Eddie sound that much better, he has to be considered one of the best “hard-rock” drummers ever. I can’t imagine why Diamond Dave would want to sing a pop song over this but I don’t want to conjure up all the bad memories. “…its all over but their shouting… I’ve come to take what is mine…” Doesn’t get much better than this folks. “… turns you from hunted into hunter…” \m/ \m/ Now say what you will about “Dirty Movies” but I consider this a “perfect” song and I will not waiver to any suggestions that this “kills the album.” Quite the contrary-if you listen to Eddie’s fabulous work again you have to be convinced that this song is good just based on this fact. I love the slow bluesy groove that works it way up into a rocking song whereby Diamond Dave is at his best. What the heck does his say at the beginning? “bebo-lous?..” The chorus is addictive and Van Halen has always been considered as having the best background vocals in the business and Michael and Eddie shine brightly. Now admittedly this is not the type of song that you can sing along with the family as the lyrical content is for a mature audience. Then it’s on to the blazing –“Sinner’s Swing”- hold on to your seats boys & girls because this ride is fast and filled with twists & turn not meant for the faint of heart. Both Alex and Eddie jam their way into the door while Diamond Dave waits in the wings to sing what could be one of his greatest vocal efforts on any Van Halen song. And Michael Anthony’s bass is all over this track. Now I will warn you on this track-there is a major “F” bomb that drops at the beginning, so hold the kiddies ears for that one. (I really think that is the only recorded curse word on any of their songs-now of course there may be a cuss word or two at their live shows-but not as many now as there was then). Then Eddie kicks down that door with an electrifying guitar solo that makes the hair on the back of your neck stand up. How freaking good is he? The song is short but packs a powerful punch and could be used at your next Spin class; especially if you are doing sprints-it could coincide with Eddie’s solo. As the song fades out and you catch your breath, Eddie slows down the pace a bit with the fantastic riff to what I consider to be one of their best songs-“Hear about It Later.” I know I have mentioned this before but every time I hear this song I am taken back to standing outside Brooklyn Tech (near the park across the street) as one of the students had his car parked blasting this song as all the windows and trunk were open for all to hear. “Ain’t got no money, got no house on the hill…tell me honey will your lovin’ pay my bills?” C’mon how can this not psyche you up? Eddie has one of the most amazing guitar solos and again I’m doing the “Wayne’s World-We are not worthy” bow- please join me. As the song starts to fade out, Mr. Roth does his best screeches and squeals as Alex makes you want to take drum lessons as he bashes away. Pure perfection.

Yes folks take it from me (and only me) “Fair Warning” is a fantastic album and side 1 is definitely a “perfect album side.” In my opinion, this album was made at the height of their career and just like when the Cyclone reaches that first hill, there is a long drop down. Now I won’t say that their career went all the way down because obviously they made some more great songs but one could tell that the musical differences between Dave and Eddie caused some inconsistencies in “Diver Down” and “1984.” Not that I don’t like those albums, just wasn’t “top to bottom” something that one could listen to like on their first four albums (don’t even think about saying anything negative about “Women & Children First”). “Fair Warning” sounds just as fresh today as it was when released in 1981 and who knows in 2011, we may yet again experience a new Van Halen album. Thirty years later, I still believe if they do make some new music, most Van Halen fans would say-“How does it hold up against Fair Warning?”

“TOP TEN”:

Image of Motley Crue

This week’s I-Pod shuffle landed on “Too Young to Fall in Love” by Motley Crue and you know when you haven’t heard a song in a long time and it conjures memories of how much you loved that song and also where you were at that point in your life. This song is off of their 1983 classic-“Shout at the Devil”- and by 1988 I was a fully fledged “Crue-ster”-having gone back and purchased their debut (thanks Audrey!!) as well as “Theater of Pain.” I love their driving sound and have always thought that of Tommy Lee as being one of the best drummers of his generation. He brings so much energy and excitement to their shows that he really is a spectacle to see when they tour. The much maligned Mick Mars has proved everyone wrong and to this day remains the driving force behind the machine called “The Crue.” Call him robotic, call him what you want-but there is no better person for the job of being the lead guitarist for Motley Crue, so tell your story on the way out. Nikki Sixx is (and always has been) a person who speaks his mind whether you want to hear it or not but if you listen to this band, his work has always been outstanding. How many bass players do you want to “air-guitar” to? He’s one of them. Vince Neil is also one who will voice his opinion even when not asked and with all the “explosive” personalities in this band (minus Mr. Mars-at least from what I can tell) it is amazing that they have lasted all these years and continue to tour and create new music. Mr. Neil is also the only “voice” for this band-with no offense to Mr. Corabi- and the first song I think of when I think of Neil is “Kick Start My Heart” (even though it’s the story of Nikki). C’mon his vocals are perfect for this tune, no one can sing it like him.

Anyway, it’s 1988 or so and at that time my younger brother was turning nine years old so my thought was to turn him on to the awesome album-“Shout at the Devil”-I purchased it to give to him but before I did, I mentioned to a few others that I was going to give it to him. “Are you crazy??” “Shout at the Devil to a 9-year old?” “It’s devil music, you can’t give that to him”- these were the quotes that I was given and it forced me to rethink my position. You all know that I don’t “read” into any lyrics to seriously and my love has always been for the music but I was told that just because I could distinguish between what was reality and what was for “show” didn’t mean that I should assume that others could do the same. He might be negatively influenced-even the cover of the album just bleeds with “scariness”-don’t do it. So of course I never did give it to him (although a few years I did purchase it for him) but I made up for it when he turned 26 by taking him to their “reunion” tour in 2005 at Madison Square Garden and to this day, Motley Crue remains as one of his favorite bands.

I have seen Motley Crue more than a few times and attended their shows when they were at the height of their career-in my opinion- in the late 1980’s. I remember attending a show at Madison Square Garden for their “Girls, Girls, Girls” tour and being blown away by their stage presence and how exciting the entire show was. Now all their fans know for that tour, Tommy was placed high above in the air-inside a revolving cage-and had one of the most memorable drum solos ever. The thing that was different about his solo was he selected some great classic rock tunes and blasted away on the drums to them. And then just like that crazy ride you went on as a kid (or now that you’re a parent you go on with your kids) where the cart spins wildly in circles, Mr. Lee was frantically smashing his way as the cage spun like a bicycle tire-seemingly enough to get anyone sick but he continued on. By the time they let him down, my jaw was on the floor-I couldn’t believe the spectacle that I had just witnessed. To this day I can still feel, taste and smell the energy inside the Garden that night. One more tidbit about this band that has affected my life- when my lovely bride and I were introduced by the DJ at our wedding for our first song to dance to as husband & wife- I informed him to play the opening licks of “Live Wire” just so as to mess with the audience. If you could have seen my mother’s face as she really thought that was our “first song”-talk about priceless? My wife was a good sport about it and we made believe we were “head-banging” and the DJ turned it off after 30 seconds or so. There was a collective sigh of relief as the DJ put our “real” song on.

Next year will mark the 30th anniversary of “Too Fast For Love”-now for all of you out there that are my age all I have to say is-“Can you believe that?” “Motley Crue” and “30 years” are two phrases that no one would have ever thought would go together (even the band members would agree). They are still “head-banging” and are showing no signs of stopping. Now this is a tough one to do because I love the first album so much that more than half of the top ten songs could come from this work alone. The same can be said about-“Dr. Feelgood”-arguably their most popular album. So many songs to choose from but I will do my best to represent what I think are their finest songs. I am on an island and am told that I can only have ten songs by the band called Motley Crue-“These are Them:”

10.     Dr. FeelgoodNo matter how many times I thought this would fall out of my top ten list, it kept coming back and beating some of the other songs that I had on my list. (remember I start out with “a lot” and whittle it down by having a showdown between songs). There is something about this song that psyches me up so easily-is it the awesome drumming of Tommy or the pulsating bass lines from Nikki or the blazing guitar from Mick?- Yes it’s all of that and more. The one thing I will never forget about this song is that I put it on one of my CD’s that I created for boot camp exercise class at MBIA and Dave (to his credit) always played the CD’s very loud. This song was blasting out of the exercise room on to the floor where the weights were and this woman didn’t like the song and came in like a crazed person holding her ears demanding that Dave turn “that crap off.” I couldn’t stop “air-guitaring” while she was screaming. Ahhh those were the days. This song has an awesome solo by Mr. Mars.

9.     Too Young to Fall in Love Love the way that Tommy starts off the song with the vivacious bass drum beats while Nikki and Mick provide the rhythm section that pulsates with life while Vince is at the top of his game on this track. This has a very addicting chorus which will have you singing it all day. This is a perfect song to cover if your band is just starting out in the garage and is hoping to move up to the local pub-it will get everyone out of their seats to either dance, join a “mosh pit” or just “air-guitar” everywhere there is a little room. \m/ \m/

8.     Piece of Your Action“I want you… I need you… I want you to be mine tonight…” Is there a better way to start off this classic tune from their debut album? You can feel the “rawness”- you can feel the “drive to get that record contract”- you can feel the “pure energy.” This song puts me over the edge, especially when you can hear the “high hat” on Tommy’s drums. Does this song rock or what? When Mick and Tommy trade their parts back and forth it makes the song that much better. Then Vince enters with a primal howl that just knocks me out. Can it get any better? I think not. This is some good stuff right here folks, you need to own this track (as well as the album).

7.     Looks That Kill Please put on a good set of headphones, test out the volume on any other song that you want to listen so as to know what your limit on how loud it can be, then put this song on and tell me you don’t get psyched? Oh my this is “head-banging” at its best. Love the part when Vince says “…the clock strikes midnight” and you then hear that bell (think “Hells Bells” by AC/DC for that sound I’m talking about) in the background-can it get any cooler than that? This has that classic AC/DC sound as you really can “break your neck” as I know I can’t stop moving my head up and down. Did you ever see that commercial for “J&R Music” where all those dudes with the long hair have the headphones on banging their heads up and down? This just may be the song they are listening to.

6.     Saints of Los Angeles-I knew from the first time I heard this track that it was going to be one of my all-time favorites. In my opinion, this is “classic” Motley Crue complete with all the trimmings including the familiar heavy guitar riff (think the guitar part from the song “Girls, Girls, Girls”) by Mick, the thick bass lines from Nikki that makes you hold on to your chest, the frenzied pace of Tommy on drums (he’s always on top of his drumming skills) and Vince has that classic “heavy metal” voice that all of us were quite use to hearing during the 1980’s. I turned my younger son on to this track and he loved it (so now that’s my younger brother and youngest son). He’s not a full fledged “Crue-ster” as of yet as his Mom is closely watching his father to see what songs he allots to him. (No I have not given him “Shout Out the Devil”). The song rocks and was definitely one of the best songs to come out in 2008.

5.     Too Fast for Love– Are you looking for a good work-out song? Or how about something that you can bang your head to? Then look no further than this song. This is pure energy and again you can feel the “primitiveness” in the recording, it sounds like it was recorded in one take while they were in their garage. Sometimes you just have to love the “unpolished” sound better than all the production that goes into most recordings today. I love the guitar work by Mick and Tommy’s drumming has me picturing kids in the back seat of a car bouncing up and down while hand drumming on the back of the head rests for the passenger and driver. Now of course the lyrical content is not for the kiddies but hopefully they don’t listen to the words too intently as the musicianship should put them in the mood to dance around. Nikki has a cool 5-10 second bass solo towards the end of the track that puts the icing on the cake to this super cool song.

4.     Public Enemy #1– I think if I had to pick one song that depicts what Motely Crue is all about then I would have to say that “Public Enemy #1” not only describes their long journey which included many battles with the press, record companies, other bands and also internal fighting amongst themselves which created this aurora of being that down, dirty, street-fighting band before Guns & Roses grabbed that label from them but the music demonstrates the tenacity that was needed to be an up and coming metal outfit that proved that they were a force to be reckoned with, while causing parents everywhere to consider them-“Public Enemy #1.” (and of course the song has “cowbells” so you know it’s a cool song, right?) Think through the years of all the controversies along with their well publicized demons, is this not the ideal song that would easily describe this band? Anyway, this song flat out rocks and I have already hit the rewind button four times.

3.     Same Ol’ Situation– Now I know for many of the die-hards, this song may be too far to the “pop” side but I can’t get enough of this track. I absolutely love the chorus and once it gets in my head- I sing the song all day long. I have NY Jets season tickets and walking through the parking lot before game time I have heard this song plenty of times blasting from some of the most absurd sound systems that are outdoors in East Rutherford NJ. Back to the music, how great is Tommy on the skins? Mick is the man on guitar and his solo needs to be played as loud as you can stand it. When this first came out on the album-“Dr. Feelgood”- it wasn’t one of my favorites but over the last few years this has catapulted its way to the top of my all-time favorites.

2.     Wild Side– I really believe that this is their best song they ever recorded, so why is it number 2 you ask? This was the toughest call for me since I have been doing these top ten lists but I “like” –“Kickstart my Heart”- just a tiny bit more but again I still stand by the statement that this is the highlight song of their career. This song is like an early Mike Tyson right hook-this is Lenny Dykstra when he first came up with the Mets and crashed into every wall, floor & player who was in his way- this is “All in the Family” during its prime and dare I say this is like the “GodFather II?” The arrangement of this song is spectacular and at points it really sounds like Tommy is down in an NYC apartment building banging on the pipes. This is “grit” at it’s best-again you can feel and taste the raw power just like a dog rips away on a nice bone. You have to go see them once just to hear them play this song- it is a righteous experience. \m/ \m/

1.     Kickstart My Heart– Mick’s guitar riff in the beginning had me from the first moment I heard this song-the only reason this beats out “Wild Side” is because of the pace. I feel like running everywhere when I hear this song. When I put it on in the house I blast it as loud as the walls can take (of course no one is home) and ran frantically from one end of the house to the other all along while “air-guitaring.” (perfect tune for your next “boot-camp” exercise class) I love that “double sounding” drum part that Tommy pounds away on. This song psyches me up like none other. When Vince slows the pace down when he says-“…when we started this band all we needed, needed a laugh… we’re still kicking ass..” –well that sends me over the edge as I know the breakneck Mars solo is on its way. Yes so I’m 45 going on 17- I don’t care-this is what music is all about-this is one of my ultimate “release” songs. Now I’m assuming everyone knows the story behind the title, right? For those of you in the know bare with me as I let those who don’t know-Nikki Sixx was basically dead and then received a bolt to the heart to kickstart his life over again. (think the scene in “Pulp Fiction”). Doesn’t get much better than this folks. \m/  \m/

Trivia Questions

Answers from last week:

1.     Cher

2.     Smokey Robinson

3.     The Beef Eaters

4.     ABBA

This week’s trivia (Random)-

1.     Peter Wolf, lead singer for the J. Geils Band use to be married to this Academy Award winning actress. Name her ?

2.     Which Beatle song did Earth, Wind & Fire re-record which landed in the top ten of the pop charts in 1978?

3.     True or False: Robin Trower was a member of Procol Harum ?

4.     Who is known as the “Motor City Madman?”

Name That Tune

Answers from last week:

1.     “Waterloo”- ABBA

2.     “You Shook Me All Night Long”-AC/DC

3.     “New York Groove”-Ace Frehley

4.     “Dream On” –Aerosmith

Can you guess the title from the following lyrics from part of the song?

1.     “…I remember finding out about you…everyday my mind is all around you…looking out of my lonely gloom …”

2.     “…Oh my music makes you dance…and gives your spirit to take a chance…and I wrote some rock and roll so you can move…”

3.     “…don’t tell me what it’s all about cause I’ve been there and I’m glad I’m out…Out of those chains, chains that bind you…that is why I am here to remind you…”

4.     “…drowning deep in my sea of loathing…broken your servant I kneel…(will you give it to me?)…it seems what’s left of my human side…is slowly changing in me…”

Back on this Day .

Back on this day in 1966, rumors ran wild on European radio that Roger Daltrey had been killed in an auto accident. Turns out it was Pete Townsend involved in a car accident where he had minor injuries.

Back on this day in 1971, Dennis Wilson-drummer for the Beach Boys-severed some nerves in his hand after he put it through a window pane. The accident caused him to miss three years of work.

Back on this day in 1976, Rush began a three night stint in Massey Hall in Toronto Canada which was recorded and turned into their first live album-“All the World’s a Stage.”

Back on this day in 1979, Chuck Berry was convicted of tax evasion and was sentenced to a four month prison term.

Back on this day in 2002, Paul McCartney married Heather Mills-which lasted four years.

If it is your birthday today you share the same birth date with Frank Beard, (ZZ Top) Donnie Van Zandt (.38 Special) and Jimmy McCulloch. (member of Wings)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

