Errols Weekly Music Update.

February 11, 2010

Weekly Update – 02/12/2010

Filed under: CD Reviews — Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , — ea0217 @ 10:07 pm

Elvis Costello at the United Palace Theater on Fri. Apr. 23. Pre-sale tickets on sale now for American Express cardholders until 10:00 p.m. tonight. General public on sale tomorrow at 9:00 a.m. $49, $59, $79 and $89.

Peter Gabriel at Radio City Music Hall on Sun. & Mon. May 2 & 3. Pre-sale tickets on sale now for American Express cardholders until Mon. Feb. 15 at 10:00 p.m. General public on sale is next Tues. Feb. 16 at 10:00 a.m. $54.50, $89.50, $129.50 and $199.50. ($200? Holy crap you have to be kidding me?!!)

Jeff Beck at the Paramount Theater in Asbury Park NJ on Tues. June 15. Tickets on sale now. $75 and $125.

Michael Buble at the Mohegan Sun on Sunday July 4. Tickets on sale today at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event)

Dave Matthews Band at the Comcast Theater (Hartford CT) on Fri. & Sat. May 28 & 29. Tickets on sale Fri. Feb. 26 at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event)

Ben Folds and a Piano at the Town Hall (acoustic only) on Mon. Apr. 12. Pre-sale tickets for American Express cardholders go on sale today at 10:00 a.m. and ends next Thurs. Feb. 18 at 10:00 p.m. General public tickets on sale next Fri. Feb. 19 at 10:00 a.m. $39 – $54.

Atlanta Rhythm Section at BB Kings on Mon. June 28. Tickets on sale next Mon. Feb. 15 at 10:00 a.m. $20 ($25 day of show).

The Whigs with The Band of Skulls at Bowery Ballroom on Wed. Mar. 31 and at Music Hall of Williamsburg on Thurs. Apr. 1. Tickets on sale tomorrow at noon. $15. (Can’t beat that price for some good new bands).

Ozomatli at the Highline Ballroom on Fri. Apr. 30. Tickets on sale today at noon. $22 ($25 day of show).

Corrine Bailey Rae at Webster Hall on Mon. May 3. Tickets on sale tomorrow at noon. $32.50 ($35 day of show).

The Whitest Boy Alive at the Bowery Ballroom on Tues. Apr. 20 and at Music Hall of Williamsburg on Wed. Apr. 21. Tickets on sale today at noon. $20.

The Dark Star Orchestra at the Wellmont Theater on Sat. May 22 and at Music Hall of Williamsburg on Thurs. June 3. Tickets on sale today at noon. $35 for Wellmont. $32.50 for Williamsburg ($35 day of show).

Josh Ritter at The Town Hall on Wed. May 19. Tickets on sale today at noon. $26, $30.

High on Fire at the Gramercy Theater on Fri. Apr. 9. Tickets on sale today at noon. (Live Nation Event).

For Parents: Cobra Starship/ 3OH! at the Roseland Ballroom on Wed. May 13. Pre-sale for Citi card members on sale now until tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. General public on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. $28.50.

Other items:

ALERT: Axl Rose is residing in NYC for the next month or so and Thursday night they played a surprise concert at some book store in NY for about 200 lucky fans. G N R played many of the classic hits- “Paradise City”- and about three songs from “Chinese Democracy” so it was mostly the “old stuff.” Reports are that the show was amazing and rumor has it there are  going to be more surprise shows like these popping up around New York. Keep your ear to the ground. \m/ \m/

Mary J. Blige has teamed up with Steve Vai (lead guitar), Michael Jackson’s touring guitarist-Orianthi, Blink 182’s drummer-Travis Barker and American Idol’s Randy Jackson on bass to re-record the Mighty Led Zeppelin classic-“Stairway to Heaven.” Now you know how I feel about the Mighty Zep and sometimes there are songs that should never be “covered” and in my opinion this is one of those songs, BUT you all know that I think that Mary is the coolest female artist on the planet and she has my blessing (not that she needed or asked for my dumb opinion). I for one can’t wait to hear her version. It has to be good.

Slash will release his self titled debut album and the lineup of guests is staggering. The album is set to drop on April 6 and includes help on vocals from Adam Levine, Ozzy, Dave Grohl, Fergie, Chris Cornell, Iggy Pop, Kid Rock, Ian Astbury and Lemmy. I have to say that these lineup of singers has definitely grabbed my attention and I actually can’t wait for this to come out.

The original bassist for Megadeth-David Ellefson– is back with the band again and will join Mustaine and the boys on the “Endgame” tour. Welcome back Dave, we missed ya!!! If these two guys can get back together after all the bad blood the past 8 years, then any band that has had problems can get back together.

Godsmack’s new single “Crying Like a Bitch” is out and of course all the haters will have their usual complaints but being a fan of this band I have to say that I like it. Is it what the Godsmack fans are use to? Yes but if the formula works then I say stick with it. Admittedly I would like to see (hear) some change but for now I’ll take it-heavy riffs all over the place.

Two thirds of the “Dixie Chicks” have decided to make music (without lead singer Natalie Maines, who is still on a break) and the pair call themselves the Court Yard Hounds. It features the old style country music of Emily Robinson and her sister, fiddler Martie Maguire. Robinson takes over on lead vocals, look for the album release in May.

My favorite “old school” song of the week is “Smile a Little Smile for Me” by The Flying Machine. Yes this is bubble gum pop at its best but it’s a perfect love song if you know a “Rosemary” and very apropos for Valentine’s Day this weekend. However-do not purchase this from I-Tunes as it is not the original recording. They have some re-recorded junk.

Paul Rodgers has squashed the rumors that he is going to be the next singer for Aerosmith. He says he’d rather make new music than sing with a formed band (huh? Ahh Queen?) Anyways, like I said there is no other singer for Aerosmith than Steven Tyler. If they grab anyone to take his place it won’t be right. Form a new band and rename it because there ain’t no Aerosmith without Tyler-period end of story!!!

The Jimi Hendrix estate will be releasing a new album of never before released material from arguably the most talented guitarist this planet has ever seen or heard and it will contain covers as well as some of his songs, recorded differently from the final version you may be used to hearing. Look for “Valleys of Neptune” on Tues. Mar. 9.

My other favorite “old school” song of the week belongs to Chicago with the classic “Call on Me.” These guys were something else huh? I know they are still going strong but back in the day-boy there were not many bands who could do what these guys did. One of the best bands to add all the horns and they could rock with the best of them when Terry was around.

Tomorrow marks the 40th anniversary of the release of Black Sabbath. Many people say that is the day heavy metal was born. I’d have to agree so tomorrow I will be listening to the fathers of heavy metal. Black Sabbath-I salute you and hope you can settle your current disagreements. If the Stones can still tour, so can you.

There is a new metal band from Sweden- My Darling Dismay that has released a new video with the same name and I have to say that I like the sound. You can check it out on Blabbermouth.net.

“And 5, now this is most important, Rat…comes down to making out… whenever possible.. put on side 1 of Led Zeppelin IV

Book of Dreams

Side 1 of “Book of Dreams” by The Steve Miller Band released in May 1977.

How many of you out there have Steve Miller’s “Greatest Hits 1974-1978” album? Well apparently 13 million of you have been buying it since its release back in November 1978 and it ranks as the 33rd best selling album of all time here in the U.S. Anyway my I-Pod shuffle landed on “Winter Time” (how apropos with all the cold and snow lately here on the east coast) and I remembered what a fantastic album “Book of Dreams” is; then I realized that side one is a perfect album side. Now the funny thing about the “Greatest Hits” album is that all but one song came from “Book of Dreams” and “The Joker.” “Book” was Steve’s tenth studio album and contained three “mega” hits with “Jet Airliner,” “Swingtown” and “Jungle Love.” (And for the “Everybody Loves Raymond” fan you know that “Jungle Love” was the opening tune used for their 7th season). My favorite song on the album is a much lesser known track-“True Fine Love”- followed quickly by “The Stake”-which is on side two. “Nobody loves you… like the way I do…” I digress, back to side one, now I really started to wear out the album sleeve of this album right around 1980 or so. I was only 12 when it was released, so it took me a couple of years to realize its greatness. (Does it really matter when you realize that something is fantastic? As long as you recognize, I always say).

So now I take you back to my bedroom in Sunset Park Brooklyn as I have lined up a long set of albums that will take me through more than a couple of hours of listening pleasure. I take the pillow from my bed and lay my back on the hard wood floor with the pillow under my head after I had gently picked up the needle on the record player to lay it down on the outside shiny vinyl-yes folks side one of “Book of Dreams” by The Steve Miller Band. (Every so often during the time I listen to the many albums my mother will yell to ask me to open the door so she can listen as well, so be prepared). The album starts off with the psychedelic “Threshold” and if you think back to the 1970’s there were many psychedelic noises (see “Pink Floyd”) coming from many different artists-that was the “In” thing. If you are a Steve Miller fan you know that he has many of these type of songs and this one especially provokes feelings of being on another planet. And the synthesizer or keyboards was one of the main attractions of his live shows. It’s amazing that a one minute song can get you psyched but I guess it’s because you know what lies ahead-“Jet Airliner”- and as “Threshold” ends you hear the familiar foot pedals hitting the bass drum as one of the best songs of the 1970’s hits your ears. “Leaving home out on the road…I’ve been down before.. riding along on this big ole jet plane.. I’ve been thinking about my home…” How great is that? I thought I was going to be all comfortable and I am already standing up and taking the needle off the record to constantly replay this part. (Eventually I will let it play through and lay back down). If there ever was a song that I can perform “karaoke” to without the words rolling up on the little TV that you look into when you’re up there singing to a room of friends and perfect strangers, this is it. I know every word, every “nook and cranny” of this tune and will perform this song for free at your next party. My head is in the pillow and I am rocking back and forth (doing my best impersonation of my brother Rich) singing with the same fervor as Mr. Miller and for all you parents out there, I will sing the “funky kicks” part instead of the cuss word. (We’ll leave the curse words to many of the performers/presenters/winners of “The Grammy Awards”-how ridiculous was that? I can’t watch it anymore). “Jet Airliner” has a infectious groove with an addicting chorus and I for one can listen to this track all day long.Track # 3-the aforementioned “Winter Time”- sort of starts off the same way as “Fly Like an Eagle” without the big guitar lick. It sounds like a snow storm, right? Then when the harmonica comes in, I feel like I am in front of a burning fire while camping and battling winter’s elements- cold & snow. Yes this is a mellow tune but very melodic and something that is very soothing to the ears. “I’m calling, hear me calling… in the winter time.” There is a nice guitar solo break during the middle of the tune which picks up the vibe of the song but after it ends, it is back to the very solemn pace. And just like that, three minutes and fourteen seconds have evaporated just like the autumn season in NY quickly turns into winter.

Track # 4-“Swingtown”- starts off quietly but begins it’s ascension into a pretty rocking tune with the familiar “high hat cymbal” sound from the drums. This is a foot-stomping track with great piano parts and of course Steve’s vocals, especially the “Ooh Woooo Ohh oh woo oh wooooo” part. “C’mon and dance!! C’mon and dance” Well c’mon folks get out of your seats already, I have jumped up out of my lying position and am dancing while “air-piano-ing.” The groove gets that much better when it switches gears as Steve bellows “we’ve been working so hard..” The obligatory guitar solo is a nice touch as the synthesizer takes the song to its end and again there is that “outta space” feel to his songs. Track 5-“True Fine Love”- is my favorite Steve Miller song, never mind for this album. This is rock and roll the way it was intended to be, it has that “rock-abilly” feel to it that I just love. This is my ultimate “karaoke” song but the DJ’s never seem to have this song on their party list. I guess I’m just going to have to start my own business of making party lists. Yes it is a simple, short but very sweet song that should be enjoyed to its fullest. “There’ll be no hesitatin’ cause I’m so tired of waitin’ for a true fine love… I have suddenly found I’m ready to settle down.” Love the guitar solo as well while the drums take this song to the hoop and slams it through for two points. And since the song is so short, you know I have to listen to it over and over again. (Hey I’m up so I might as well keep replaying it, right?). The last song on side one-“Wish Upon A Star”- settles me back to my pillow as I again drift off with the sweet melodic arrangement of this unheralded tune. The psychedelic feel is back with the very cool organ/synthesizer playing while Mr. Miller’s vocals are hypnotic. I feel like someone is swinging a pocket watch in front of me as I “close your eyes.. and let your dreams into your heart.” And it really doesn’t matter who you are-because I think we all at some point in our lives have “wished upon a star.” (And especially for the many people who are going through a tough time in this tough economic environment, there is no harm with wishing upon a star). The beginning of the song reminds me of the INXS song-“Listen Like Thieves”- yes a much faster song but for some reason I think of the INXS song when “Wish” starts off. (Yes I know, I’m weird).

“Book of Dreams” is required listening for the rock and roll fan, there is no denying this fact and you all know there is at least one Steve Miller song that you absolutely love. More times than not, it probably comes from “Book”…. Or “Fly Like an Eagle.” Now I mean no disrespect to the “die-hard” Steve Miller fan-I know and recognize that he has much more in his catalog…but you have to admit-this is probably his most “popular” album. (obviously besides the “greatest hits” collection-which I don’t count as an album). Side one is perfect and deserves your attention. Now I love the entire album- like I said earlier-“The Stake”- is such a phenomenal tune while “Jungle Love” is also a “knockout.” You can’t go wrong with the purchase of this staple of the 1970’s, what are you waiting for-run out and buy it if you don’t have it or if you do have it, take it out again and feel the magic all over again.

“TOP TEN”:

Image of Led Zeppelin

Ok none of you know this but I was purposely putting off trying to name my top ten songs by the Mighty Led Zeppelin. I kept asking myself, why do you want to go through the pain of doing this? Each week that went by, there was this little birdie that kept whispering in my ear- “you brag so much about these guys, now you are on an island and only get to choose 10 songs… well, what are they???!!!!!” I know I have done The Beatles top ten songs and I did the Rolling Stones with my youngest son. I have yet to do “The Who” but the Mighty Zep has been laying out there for some time now but just as one puts off something they know they “has to get done,” (“Procrastination” right?) I just kept coming up with different artists each week, letting them fall to the way side. Recently, I mentioned to a friend of mine when I come up with these top ten lists (or five in some cases) the first thing that I do is name the songs by the particular artist or band that I love right off the top of my head and write them down. Then I scour my library for that artist and usually come up with a- “Oh yes how could I forget that song?”- moment. I write those songs down. Now I immediately bold those songs that have to be in the top ten no matter what because I absolutely love these songs and they have made a huge impact on my life, then to come up with the remaining precious ten, I have a “battle” with myself as I put songs up against each other and then decide which falls off the list. Now just imagine my dilemma when I knew I wanted to pick almost every song on “Physical Graffitti”-which is a “double” album. (You see why I was putting this off?). Seriously folks I literally could pick my top ten songs from “Graffitti” but how could I ignore the rest of the classics? I really want to walk away from this right now. (In the immortal words of Jackie Gleason “I Gotta Biiigggg Mooouutthhh”).

Ok I can do this, I took a deep breath and this is what I have come up with. Now everyone knows-there’s no room for debate- it’s a fact-pure and simple- Led Zeppelin, excuse me- The Mighty Led Zeppelin is in the “top two” category for me, as one of the greatest rock bands ever in the history of music. Depending on my musical mood I flip back and forth between these guys and The Beatles. So I would say “1A and 1B” in the history of music. Again I respect so many hundreds of bands with each putting their “stamp” on the world of music but in the genre of “rock” these bands are the “top two.” So here are my ten for The Mighty Led Zeppelin:

10.      Out on the Tiles-Every time I went to try and get this song out of my top ten, I couldn’t do it, so I figured this had to be number 10. Believe me this beat out so many freakin’ phenomenal songs but I kept coming back to it. This is from the often picked on “Led Zeppelin III.” Most Zep fans would say that this is their least favorite (Ok “In Through the Out Door”) but when you go back and listen to “III” there are so many quality songs that it’s laughable that people think this is their worst. If it is, then you can imagine what the best sounds like? Now the groove in this song id so friggin’ cool and the inherent magic between Jimmy Page and John Bonham shines brightly on this track. You could feel the music just pouring out of them so naturally, so purely-it really is a thing of beauty. Love the way Robert just randomly “blurts” out these random words at different points of the song. And tell me Jack White didn’t steal his vocal style from this song? Listen to the part where Plant sings “nobody knows, honey nobody cares..” and tell me that doesn’t sound exactly like Jack White? Folks this is rock and roll at its best. Bonham is a master on drums. No one plays the drums like him, not now, not before and not ever.

9.     Babe I’m Gonna Leave You-How great is their debut album? Friggin’ phenomenal!! How the heck did I leave “Dazed and Confused” off of this top ten list? (There I said it for you…). Do you have those songs that reach down into your soul? No, I’m not talking about just tugging at your heart, I’m talking deeper… not yet… deeper… this is the reaction I get when I hear Robert Plant sing this song. This song has to move you. I don’t know why but I just picture walking along the beach (NJ or Cape Cod) on a hot summer day with headphones in my ears listening to this song, feeling the waves crashing down and at other points the water is tranquil. You can feel something there, maybe a lost loved one as you look at the “No Line on the Horizon.” Do you know what I’m talking about? Do you feel the vibe I’m trying to bring you? No… well put this song on, the fellas will take care of the rest. One of the most beautiful songs ever recorded and this was on their FIRST album.

8.     The Rain Song– Ok this really is a continuation in my mind from the song above to this one. This is one of the many masterpieces that the Mighty Led Zeppelin recorded that really distances themselves from the rest of the pack. Not only could rock with the best of them but they could also take it down like no other band. The song is so tranquil, so mesmerizing it’s hard to believe that this is a rock band. Now with this song I am in a log cabin on a cold November day looking at the window and seeing the droplets of rain falling down the glass, thinking of people like my Mother who is no longer with us. It’s a sad song yes but at the same time it’s so powerful and when the pace picks up I feel like Rocky running to the top of the steps. Folks, this is brilliance.

7.     Misty Mountain Hop-I remember as a teenager this song use to be played on WNEW-FM (and WPLJ before it went “pop”) all the time and I was really drawn to the way that Robert followed along with his vocals to the guitar playing of Mr. Page. I mean he shadows him so intensely that it’s as if they have the same voice. (Think of Ed McMahon as the shadow to Johnny Carson and I don’t mean that in a bad way, it’s like peanut butter and jelly-they just go together). And of course, Mr. Bonham is there to remind you that there is no one better. I love the part where Plant screeches “I was really out of my mind..” and then “to all get in line, get in line..”

6.     The Battle of Evermore-I wish I could have been part of this song in some shape or manner. Anything-writing, singing, playing the distinctive guitar part, being in the studio when they recorded it, anything I say. The harmonization brings tears to my eyes-that’s how good it is. This song is so relevant today as we are still stuck in this war and the song makes me think of all the men and women who are not with their families, I wish they were back home. This song strikes a chord in me, it mesmerizes me again. “Bring it back.. bring it back…Oh now Oh now Oh now…” This could be one of their greatest recordings ever.

5.     In My Time of Dying– Another masterpiece (think “Achilles Last Stand”). If you want to hear the greatest drumming ever in a song, then put this song on and hold on for the ride. It feels like your chest is getting hit by the sound that is created by John Bonham and this was recorded how many years ago? There is such furiousness that he employed that no drummer could ever match. Of course John Paul Jones and Page are there every step of the way but you can not help but notice the drumming on this track. It sounds like he was in a room all by himself with headphones on just making the song groove with his improvisation-so friggin’ incredible that I am pulling a Homer Simpson-(no this time I really am, there is saliva dripping out the side of my mouth). I am awestruck every time I hear this song.

4.     Nobody’s Fault But Mine– There is no other way to listen to this song but LOUD!!! This has to rank up there as one of the greatest rock/blues song ever recorded. This could be the best Page/Plant track where Plant sings along to the guitar. Jones is friggin’ awesome on bass while Bonham is well… just Bonham. Of course you all know by now that the part at the very end where Robert screeches “NNNNNN..NNNNN.No… nobody’s fault” is my favorite part. A few months back I played this song for my family and made them sit there for most of the track. I could see they weren’t as psyched as I was for the song, so I fast forwarded to the end and mimicked Plant with my eyes closed. They just stood there and shook their heads. I LOVE THIS FREAKIN’ SONG!!!!

3.     Night Flight-I have to personally thank my uncle Gary for turning me on to Physical Graffitti, this has brought me endless amount of joy since I was a teenager and I know it will continue to do so. This song reminds me of him and he may deny it today but he loved this song. I love when I see people get psyched up by songs that move them and this song used to move him. (again he may deny today but I saw it with my own two eyes). Now when I played this album, especially side 3, my mother would always tell me to open my door and let the music “free.” She also loved this track so you know this song means a lot. Now have I talked about the groove in this song? Whew-in the immortal words of the “Good Fellas”- “forget about it”- it’s a mixture of blues and pure rock and roll. I can picture Jimmy Page sitting on a tall stool while Robert is in the “isolation booth” (remember the “Honeymooners” episode- “The $64,000 Answer?” – In the isolation booth?) with the headphones squeezed tight over his long rocker hair, singing with all the grit and passion needed to make this one of their best songs. And you’re probably sick of me talking about Bonham but listen to his drumming on this track-I wish I could have been him for about a year at the height of their popularity.

2.     Black Country Woman– Now I know I have this “backwards” as on the album “Boogie With Stu” comes first and then Black Country Woman so I know it’s hard to do the reverse but let’s concentrate on this song first. Again Gary comes to mind because he used to say the part “Not Even” but if there is one song that my mother loved, this was the one. When she loved a tune, her eyes would squint and usually she would raise her right hand and “pound the air” while trying to match the fervor of the artist who is singing-in this case Robert Plant. The acoustic guitars are spectacular while the whole vibe of the song is total and utter- “coolness.” My mom would sit at the table, eyes squinted, her fingers snapping singing “Hey Hey Mama what’s the matter heeeerre??” She couldn’t wait for Bonham’s part with the foot pedal bass drum (which again felt like it was going through your chest) because she knew the tempo was about to increase. Her hand would rise higher and she would snap her head the way Elvis did and when Bonham comes in with the sticks-well I’m dancing all around in circles, not caring who is around. Love the big crashing cymbal part- BOOM-I can’t get enough of this track and I really feel like it is in my blood stream. Like water, I need this to survive.

1.     Boogie With Stu-Ok here it is and I know you’re like-“What song is this?”- Again don’t e-mail me to tell me that I like to point out the most obscure songs because I will have none of it. The Zep fans know this song-they may not agree with me-but they know this song. EVERY TIME I hear this song I feel like I’m on another stratosphere, not part of this earth. I am lifted up and taken to a place so far away for about 3.5 minutes. My mother and Gary loved this track as well. The melody is so fantastic, words can not describe the joy that it brings me. The drumming is so odd but yet so addicting, the piano work is flawless and when Jimmy breaks in with the acoustic guitar solo I want to scream to the top of my lungs that this is one of the best songs ever recorded, since man began making music. This is such a great fusion of all their talents it is actually breath taking. “Hey Babe, Hey Babe, Hey Babe, Hey Babe… I don’t want no tutti frutti.. no lollipop.. DISCO…” I have hit the rewind button three times already while I write. I have stopped so many times just to make believe I’m either playing the drums, guitar or piano as well as lip syncing. PURE GREATNESS!!!

(For the first time I will give you what songs I had before I dwindled them down to ten- I think it’s that important-Dazed and Confused;What is and What Should Never Be;“Hots on for Nowhere;” “Going to California;” “D’yer Mak’er;Rock And Roll;Kashmir;Achilles Last Stand;In The Light;The Rover and Ten Years Gone”).

Trivia Questions

Answers from last week:

1.     Jon Bon Jovi

2.     Your Mama Don’t Dance

3.     Nothing But a Good Time

4.     False- they averaged over 20,000 fans per show

This week’s trivia (Mighty Led Zep, Steve Miller)-

1.     What was Steve Miller’s last number one hit? (Hint- deals with magic)

2.     True or False: Boz Scaggs was a vocalist in a band with Steve Miller?

3.     Who inducted Led Zeppelin into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame?

4.     How did Led Zeppelin get its name?

Name That Tune

Answers from last week:

1.     “No Time”- The Guess Who

2.     “Time in a Bottle”-Jim Croce

3.      “Time is on My Side”-Rolling Stones

4.     “Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is”- Chicago

Can you guess the title from the following lyrics from part of the song?

1.     “Is it getting better.. or do you feel the same.. will it make it easier on you now.. you got someone to blame…”

2.     “darkness imprisoning me.. all that I see.. absolute horror.. I can not live.. I can not die.. trapped in myself… ”

3.     “No is the saddest experience you’ll ever know… Yes is the saddest experience you’ll ever know…”

4.     “I feel angry.. I feel helpless..Want to change the world..I feel violent.. I feel alone..Don’t try and change my world….”

Back on this Day

Sadly back on this day in 2005, Sammie Smith dies after a long illness. She had the popular hit song “Help Me Make It Through The Night.”

Sadly back on this day in 2000, Oliver passed away from cancer. Remember the song “Good Morning Starshine?” –that was him. His name was William Swofford, his middle name was Oliver.

Back on this day in 1968, Jimi Hendrix performed in his hometown of Seattle for his first live appearance and also received the key to the city and an honorary high school degree from the school he dropped out of at the age of 16.

Back on this day in 1968, John and Cynthia Phillips (Mamas and Papas)became parents to their only child together-Chynna.

Back on this day in 1970, John Lennon performed a pre-taped version of Instant Karma for the British show-“Top of the Pops” which made him the first to appear on the show since 1966.

Back on this day in 1981, Rush released “Moving Pictures” which went on to be their most commercially successful album in the U.S. It peaked at number three on the Billboard album chart and has sold over 4 million in the U.S. alone.

Believe it or not back on this day in 1989, Tiny Tim found out that he lost his bid in the election for mayor in New York City.

If it is your birthday today, you share the same birth date with Michael McDonald (Doobie Brothers), Ray Manzarek (Doors)and Joe Schermie (Three Dog Night).

1 Comment »

  1. 1. Only You – Platters
    2. Only the Lonely – Roy Orbison
    3. Only the Good Die Young – Billy Joel
    4. Only God Knows – Kid Rock

    Everyone AND God knows Errol threw this one in because he’s a Kid Rock freak. I am a semi-convert to the Kid thanks to Errol but did have to look this one up.

    Comment by Tricia — February 19, 2010 @ 9:48 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

