Errols Weekly Music Update.

December 4, 2009

Weekly Update – 12/04/2009

Eric Clapton and Jeff Beck at Madison Square Garden on Thurs. & Fri. Feb. 18 & 19. Pre-sale tickets on sale this Mon. Dec. 7 at noon for American Express credit cardholders until 10:00 p.m. Fri. Dec. 11. General public on sale next Sat. Dec. 12 at 10:00 a.m. $64.50 – $254.50.

Black Eyed Peas at Madison Square Garden on Wed. Feb. 24 and Nassau Coliseum on Mon. Mar. 1. MSG Pre-sale tickets for American Express cardholders go on sale this Mon. Dec. 7 at 11:00 a.m. thru Fri. Dec. 11 at 10:00 p.m. General public tickets on sale Sat. Dec. 12 at 11:00 a.m.  $49.50 – $94.  

Michael Buble at Madison Square Garden on Sat. Mar. 20, 2010. Pre-sale is on now until 5:00 p.m. tonight and the password is: HELOVE. General public tickets on sale this Mon. Dec. 7 at 10:00 a.m. $74- $129.50.

Bon Jovi at Mohegan Sun on Fri. March 26, 2010. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $125 – $195. (These guys are really starting to burn me up the last month-first they force you to buy their album through Ticketmaster and now the starting price to see them is $125? $125 dollars??!! Are you kidding me?)

Norah Jones at the WAMU Theater inside Madison Square Garden on Sat. Mar. 27, 2010. Tickets on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. $39.50 – $64.50.

Furthur at Radio City Music Hall on Thurs. Feb. 23. Tickets on sale today at 10:00 a.m. $49.50 – $69.50.

Alice In Chains at Terminal 5 on Mon. Mar. 8, 2010 and at the Borgota in Atlantic City on Sat. Mar. 12, 2010. Pre-sale tickets for Terminal 5 on now with an American Express credit card only until 11:00 a.m. this morning. General public tickets on sale at noon today. $45.

Moe at Roseland Ballroom on Fri. & Sat. Jan. 22 & 23. Tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event).

Kid Cudi at New York Fillmore on Fri. Jan. 22. Tickets on sale today at noon. (Live Nation Event).

Leon Russell at Theater in Westbury NY (I guess Capital One lost the naming rights) on Fri. Mar. 5, 2010. Tickets on sale this Sun. Dec. 6 at 12:30 p.m. (Live Nation Event).

Dickey Betts and Dave Mason at the Theater in Westbury NY on Fri. Mar. 12, 2010. Pre-sale tickets on sale today at 10:00 a.m. if you own a Citi credit card. General public tickets on sale Sun. Dec. 6 at 12:30 p.m. (Live Nation Event).

America at the Theater in Westbury NY on Sun. Mar. 21, 2010. Pre-sale tickets on sale today at 10:00 a.m. if you own a Citi credit card. General public tickets on sale Sun. Dec. 6 at 12:30 p.m. (Live Nation Event).

Galatic and Tea Leaf Green at Terminal 5 on Fri. Feb. 5. Tickets on sale today at noon. $25 ($30 day of show).

Aaron Lewis at Wellmont Theater on Thurs. Feb. 11. Tickets on sale today at noon. $30, $35 and $55.

Tower of Power at BB Kings on Thurs. Mar. 25, 2010. Tickets on sale next Thurs. Dec. 10 at 10:00 a.m. $30 ($35 day of show). 7:30 and 10:00 p.m. shows.

The Stylistics at at the Theater in Westbury NY on Sat. Mar. 6, 2010. Live Nation Pre-sale tickets on sale today at 10:00 a.m. General public tickets on sale Sun. Dec. 6 at 12:30 p.m. (Live Nation Event).

Weezer and Paramore seem to be the headliners for the Bamboozle 2010 Tour which will be at the new Meadowlands stadium (parking lot I think) on Sat. & Sun. May 1 and 2, 2010. Live Nation pre-sale begins today at 3:00 p.m. General public tickets on sale next Fri. Dec. 11 at noon. (Live Nation Event)

For Parents: Nick Jonas & The Administration at the Beacon Theater on Thur. Jan. 7 and Fri. Jan. 8. Pre-sale tickets on sale now for Citi credit card holders until 10:00 p.m. tonight. Also password is: record. General public tickets on sale tomorrow at 11:00 a.m.$39.50 – $49.50.

Other items:

Congratulations to Susan Boyle as her debut album sold 701,000 copies in her first week making it the largest selling album in 2009 for the first week of sales. She displaced Eminem, whose-“Relapse”- sold 608,000 copies in its first week out. And to boot, she has sold the most “CD’s” out of anyone this year as opposed to “downloads.” All signs point towards an “older” person as they like to have the whole CD package in their hands as opposed to buying it electronically.

Have you seen the cover of Queen’s “Bohemian Rhapsody” by The Muppets yet? I love it. There have been over 8 million hits since it’s release on You Tube. Very well done. Check it out: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tgbNymZ7vqY

The Black Keys have joined forces with some of today’s biggest rap stars and they have released a new album called “Blacroc.” It sounds kind of strange to hear their slow trudging style mixed in with rap lyrics but it is starting to grow on me. Some of the artists include Mos Def, Raekwon and NOE. Check it out for yourself.

Hats off to LL Cool J on Wednesday night’s “2010 Grammy Nomination” show as he pulled a “Billy Crystal” by performing the “hit songs of 2009” in a very cool melody. (Remember how Crystal use to do the openings for the Oscar’s?- same thing here with LL). He then handed it off to probably one of the hottest, if not the hottest bands, on the planet- “The Black Eyed Peas”- with their ever popular-“I Gotta Feelin’.” Their performance was top notch. The other highlight included Maxwell performing a tribute to Michael Jackson by covering-“The Lady in My Life”- with an amazing rendition which sounded eerily similar to MJ himself.

Again have to hand it to Rob Thomas as he was the highlight on the Rockefeller Tree lighting ceremony that was broadcast on Wednesday night as well. Both of the songs he performed-“Someday” and “NY Christmas” were top notch. This guy has it going on as he slides from Matchbox 20 to his solo career very effortlessly and both gigs are really something- he is very talented and you need to catch up already!!

The best Christmas song so far this season belongs to Darius Rucker with the song-“Candy Cane Christmas”- this track has skyrocketed to the top of my all-time holiday seasonal song list. I can’t stop listening to this work of art. If you don’t own it and you are not yet in the holiday spirit-then run out of pick this beauty up and it will make you stop and appreciate this time of year. And to boot it is now the “free” song of the week on I-Tunes, so now there really is no excuse not to download it-I paid for it!!

Allison Iraheta released her debut album this past Tuesday-“Just Like You”- and when I listen to the 30 second samples on I-Tunes I’d have to say it sort of reminds me of a cross between Pink and Kelly Clarkson. My initial reaction is that I thought she was going for her own style but I guess the record producers went down the same path. I’m not saying it’s bad but I was expecting something different. I like the track- “Don’t Waste the Pretty”- sounds like an instant pop smash hit.

“And 5, now this is most important, Rat…comes down to making out… whenever possible.. put on side 1 of Led Zeppelin IV

Side 1 of “All Skook Up” by Cheap Trick– released on Rocktober 24, 1980.

Remember when you were growing up, there was that favorite album that you obsessively listened to, so much that the inner sleeve was worn out and you probably had so many scratches on the LP that it would appear that you were a DJ doing the “scratchin’” thing. I had many of these albums and one of them is the often forgotten album by Cheap Trick-“All Shook Up”- and to this day I still can’t understand the lack of respect it gets. Maybe it was too “experimental”-as the legendary Beatle producer, George Martin, was at the helm and maybe he went a bit too far but the one thing that there is no denying is that Side 1 is a classic album side, yes says me. Roll your eyes; make a face or say “huh? What album side is he trying to sell us on?” Well folks I’m here to go through each song on this side and defend my decision. This may be an obscure album side but that’s what so great about music- we all have one-c’mon you know you love something that the general public would probably make fun of but I’m here to say “Stand tall” because if I can put this album side down as perfect, well then you must have one as well.

Side one starts off with Cheap Trick paying homage to the Beatles- well of course if Mr. Martin is in charge what did you think?- as the opening and the ending of this song sounds eerily similar to “A Day in the Life.” As the church like song begins with Robin Zander singing “Well I can’t stop the music I could stop it before…” Then Mr. Bun E. Carlos crashes in with his excellent drumming skills and the song takes off. “Stop This Game” is a perfect way to start off an album because it rocks, it rolls and has a great chorus that rolls right off your tongue. The best part of the production is when Robin sings the background vocals while commanding the main part of the song. You’ll think it’s the other guys helping out but it’s all Zander. Bun E. kicks off the next track –“Just Got Back” with some pounding beats as Rick Nielsen’s guitar riff makes it easy to move your feet. My wife and kids just walked into the house without me knowing and this is bleeding out of the speakers. They are screaming for me to turn it down. I remember using this song once for an MBIA spin class and Rosie was a big fan. This track has to get you moving; I can also remember lying down in front of my stereo system when I was 15 with a pillow next to the speakers and blasting this as LOUD as I could take it. This has the Beatles written all over it, especially the background vocals.

Track # 3- “Baby Loves to Rock”- is rock and roll, pure rock and roll my friends-don’t care what anyone says. Rick Nielsen shines with his guitar riffs and Mr. Zander has one of the best set of pipes in rock and roll history. Cheap Trick performed this song (and the next one) on Saturday Night Live on January 17, 1981-maybe it’s on You Tube or somewhere at there, check it out. “Can’t Stop it But I’m Gonna Try” is my favorite track on the whole album. “It’s been a long time baby, it’s been a long time coming..”The driving head banging sound is brought to you by the ever energetic Mr. Bun E. Carlos on drums. Robin’s vocals are the best right here folks, it’s hard to find a better song by these guys than this one. “Can’t Stop… loving you baby..” The bridge- “here comes that feelin’”- to the chorus is supplemented by some fancy piano in the background-you have to listen carefully. It ends on a “Who” note as Zander takes it home. The last track on side 1-“World’s Greatest Lover”-remains a fan favorite of their live shows to this day. This has George Martin’s touch all over it as Mr. Zander emulates John Lennon as he sounds like he is trying to sing like John. Though somehow I can picture Paul McCartney singing this one. My youngest son just came downstairs as it was blasting and asked me if it was the Beatles that I had on. You see?

Now I have to throw in the fact that I absolutely love “High Priest Rhythmic Noise” which is the first track on side two. It is totally psychedelic and most again would shake their head like I’m crazy for liking it but I can’t help it. And for good measure I also love “Love Comes a Tumblin’ Down” where Nielsen has a blazing guitar solo. Anyway back to the perfect album side on “All Shook Up” the impeccable side 1. All the songs on side 1 deserve to be on Rock Band, Guitar Hero or whatever game that depicts great rock and roll. So dust off your old record player and make sure the needle still works and put on side one of this very underrated album-“All Shook Up” by the boys from Rockford, IL. You won’t be disappointed.

TOP TEN :

I have been on a Boston kick lately and decided to name my favorite top ten songs from them. Now I know what you’re thinking-they didn’t put out that many albums to make a top ten list, won’t all the songs on the first album make up most of the list? But if you slow down and take a deep breath, they did have enough material to put out a “Greatest Hits”album in 1997. This band has sold over 31 million albums in the U.S. (17 million just from their debut in 1976). Now this might come as a surprise but one of the songs on this list does not have Brad Delp on vocals, now I know this is “sac-religious” for all the Boston fans-even I can’t believe that all my top ten songs does not have Mr. Delp on them. It does not take away from the fact that Brad Delp was the voice of Boston (even though Mr. Sholz was the founder of the band)-always was, always will be and again it is such a shame that he is not with us today. He had one of the greatest voices in rock history, there’s no denying that fact. So here they are, my favorite ten Boston songs:

10.     Livin’ For You– The only song without Brad Delp on lead vocals, this track has Fran Cosmo on lead as he was the singer for Boston from 1993-2006. This track is from the only Boston album that did not feature Delp as the singer-“Walk On” was released in 1994. It is a beautiful, most unbelievable track that I could picture Delp singing but Cosmo does an awesome job.

9.     Used to Bad News– Ironically most of my songs on this list comes from the often unheralded sophomore effort-“Don’t Look Back.” Due to the perfectionist ways of Mr. Sholz this album took a long time to come out and may have taken out the air beneath the wings that the first album catapulted them into stardom but with tracks like this one, I can’t help but belief that the long wait was worth it. (obviously back in the 1970’s I did not say that but now looking back…) I know it says “Don’t Look Back” but I will. “Used to Bad News” is a solid track and deserves to be on this list.

8.     Party– I can remember being in the eighth grade when this song was released (also on “Don’t Look Back”) and I use to think that this was the coolest song that was ever recorded. I don’t know why but there is something about this song that keeps me coming back for more. I love the part where Delp says “Now man doesn’t live on bread alone… ohh.. get down, get down and party!!”

7.     Coolin’ the Engines-I betcha most Boston fans are doing a double take and scratchin their heads as I dare to put this song on the list. Yes I know this album-“Third Stage”- took even longer to be released than their second- an actual eight years-which in many cases made the fan base disappear as the waiting was excruciating. Now I am not going to say that it was worth the wait again because it was way too long but this track grabbed me by the throat and would not let go. Believe me, I did not want to like it as I was so pissed that this band took forever to release material but this song grew and grew on me until it landed on my list of all time favorite Boston songs.

6.     Amanda– Loved this song much that either of my two sons were born a girl, she would have been named after this tune. “Babe tomorrow’s so far away…” They had me on the first notes. If you know an Amanda ask her for her hand and dance to this song, it doesn’t get any better.

5.     Feelin’ Satisfied-Love the opening guitar riff. “Well come on… all you people… the time has come to get together..” This is a song that belongs on Rock Band or Guitar Hero. Of course the songs with the hand claps are always the most fun, right? There is no better song than this one to squeeze your headphones as tight as you can against your ears and listen to those guitars. This song is like when your ice cream cone is melting and you’re doing your best so none of it hits the floor- it’s hot so you better be careful.

4.     Let Me Take You Home Tonight-When is the last time you have heard this track? The arrangement of this song is second to none. If I were starting a new rock band this is one of the songs I would strive to cover. You can feel Delp’s passion in this song as he hits the cover off of the ball, the drumming is stellar and when the pace of the song kicks in towards the end, you have to ask yourself-does it get any better? This is a homerun in the bottom of the ninth when the game was tied.

3.     Hitch a Ride-“Day is night in New York City…smoke like water runs inside..” The infamous beginning lyrics to a song that is so pleasant to hear again and again. Think about how many times you have heard this song since its release in 1976 and I bet you do not turn the dial to another station, I bet you that you turn the volume a notch higher. The vocals, lead and background, really stand out on this song as well as the righteous guitar solo that takes the song to its end. Tell me you haven’t “air-guitared” to this song? It’s impossible not to.

2.     Smokin’– This song came out in 1976 but it has its best meaning to me during the years from 2002-2005 during my years at the MBIA gym boot camp class. Is there a better song to get you pumped up? When this track came on during the class during those years-no matter how many times we played it- the whole class would head bang? Am I right, Tricia? Even the long keyboard solo did not slow the class down and when the guitars break back in with the driving drum beats, well I would just lose it. This has to rank up there as one of the best rock and roll songs ever.

1.     A Man I’ll Never Be– This song is their Masterpiece. (I know you are all screaming for “ForePlay Long Time” as their Masterpiece-that is very close but this one takes the cake). This is Brad Delp’s best song that he has ever sung- there is so much passion in his voice as well as the guitars that sing along with him. The production and the arrangement of this song leaves me speechless, so I guess in some cases with Scholz the wait is definitely worth it. “If only I could find a way.. it gets harder every day..” Boy do I wish Brad was around to realize just how many lives he affected with his voice and talent. This song makes me stop in my tracks and just listen in awe. Pure perfection.

Trivia Questions

Answers from last week:

1.     Marvin Gaye

2.     Jimi Hendrix

3.     Diana Ross

4.     John Waite

This week’s trivia (“Left or kicked out” of band)-Folks these are easy ones-I keep hearing my trivia is too hard. This should be an easy four out of four, with an extra bonus that’s also pretty easy.

1.     This legendary guitarist left and started so many different bands during the 1960’s and 1970’s that one can become dizzy from all the moves. Who is he?

2.     He was kicked out of this “Iconic” Metal band before they hit it big in the 1980’s and he formed his own metal outfit-which has had about a thousand line-up changes since then. Who is he?

3.     He was booted from arguably the best band ever in the history of music and would have loved to lay low as the “fourth wheel” and ride the “Yellow Submarine.” Who is he?

4.     She ran away from “The Runaways” and formed her own “Blackhearts.” Who is she? Extra bonus– Who else played in “the Runaways” and performed a duet with Ozzy later on in her career?

Name That Tune

Answers from last week:

1.     “5:15”- The Who

2.     “4 Minutes”-Madonna

3.     “25 or 6 to 4”-Chicago

4.     “1999”- Prince

Can you guess the title from the following lyrics from part of the song?

1.     “Oh no darling, no wind, no rain.. no winters cold can stop me baby….no, no baby cause you are my love…”

2.     “I want you to listen, listen (That’s right)…to every word I say.. every word I say about it …”

3.     “And I know, I know, I know, I know, I know, I know, I know, I know, I know, I know, I know, I know, I know, I know, I know, I know, I know, I know, I know, I know, I know, I know, I know, I know, I know, I know…”

4.     “I’ve been to the edge.. and there I stood and looked down.. you know I lost a lot of friends there baby.. I got no time to mess around….”

Back on this Day

Sadly back on this day in 1993, Frank Zappa died from prostate cancer in CA with his family surrounding him. He was only 52.

Sadly back on this day in 1976, Tommy Bolin (Zephyr, James Gang and Deep Purple) passed away at the young age of 25. He opened for Peter Frampton and also Jeff Beck-after taking a photo with Beck after a show, he suffocated and died the next morning.

Sadly back on this day in 1980, the Mighty Led Zeppelin officially disbanded after the death of greatest drummer in rock history-John Bonham- that September.

Also sadly back on this day in 1988, Roy Orbison performed his last concert (before his death a few days later) in Akron Ohio.

If it is your birthday today you share the same birth date with the late Dennis Wilson (Beach Boys) and Freddy Cannon (“Palisades Park”-very cool song), Southside Johnny, Chris Hillman (The Byrds), and Gary Rossington (Skynyrd).

I usually don’t do this but have to throw in the fact that the legendary Little Richard will be 77 tomorrow!!!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

