Errols Weekly Music Update.

November 13, 2009

Weekly Update – 11/13/2009

Mariah Carey at Madison Square Garden on Thurs. Dec. 31. Pre-sale tickets available now for Citi card holders until 10:00 p.m. tonight. (6 ticket limit). Also pre-sale password beginning at 10:00 this morning until 10:00 p.m. tonight: HENYE. General public tickets on sale tomorrow at 11:00 a.m. $20.10 – $175.75. (8 ticket limit).

John Mayer with Michael Franti & Spearhead at Madison Square Garden on Thurs. Feb. 25. Pre-sale tickets for American Express cardholders go on sale this coming Mon. Nov. 16 at 10:00 a.m. until Sat. Nov. 21 at 8:00 a.m. General public tickets on sale at 9:00 a.m. $50 – $80.

Pete Yorn and David Gray at Hammerstein Ballroom on Sun. Dec. 6. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $39.50.

Lady Gaga at Radio City Music Hall on Wed. & Thurs. Jan. 20 and 21, 2010. Tickets on sale today at noon. $49.50 – $69.50. Also appearing at the Borgota Event Center in Atlantic City on Sat. Jan. 16. Tickets for this show on tsale this morning at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event).

The Dead Weather at the Music Hall of Williamsburg Brooklyn (66 North 6th Street 11211) on Tues. Nov. 17. Tickets on sale today at noon. $30. No tickets will be mailed. You will pick up at “Will Call” window with a Government Issued Photo ID.

Rascal Flatts at the Mohegan Sun on Sat. Jan. 16. Tickets on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. $85 – $115.

Citizen Cope at Bowery Ballroom on Fri. –Sun. Feb. 12-14. Tickets on sale today at noon. $28.50.

Flogging Molly at Hammerstein Ballroom on Tues. Mar. 2, 2010. Pre-sale tickets available now for Citi card holders until 10:00 p.m. tonight. General public tickets on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. $32 and $45.

Raekwon at New York Fillmore on Wed. Dec. 16. Tickets on sale today at noon. (Live Nation Event).

Aaron Lewis at the Music Box at the Borgota in Atlantic City on Fri. & Sat. Feb. 12 & 13. Tickets on sale tomorrow at noon. (Live Nation Event).

Zebra at Theater in Westbury NY on Sat. Apr. 3, 2010. Tickets on sale Sun. Nov. 15 at 12:30 p.m. $27.50 and $32.50.

The Doobie Brothers at the Wellmont Theater on Fri. April 30, 2010. Tickets on sale today at noon. $40, $65 and $85.

Johnny Winter at BB Kings on Mon. Jan. 4, 11 and 18. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $30 ($35 day of show).

Chrisette Michele at BB Kings on Wed. Feb. 24. Tickets on sale now. $35 ($39 day of show).

Other items:

Metallica this weekend in New York at Madison Square Garden. Are you going to either the Saturday or Sunday night show? I will be there Saturday night!!! Can’t wait. I already know it’s going to be great………\m/ \m/

Congrats to Darius Rucker on winning the “Best New Artist” at the Country Music Awards show the other night. I told you folks last year about his album-“Learn to Live”- and like I said last year- I think this genre suits him better than what he does with Hootie & the Blowfish.

James Taylor and Carole King will embark on a world tour –“The Troubadour Reunion Tour”- which will begin in Australia and end in the U.S. As of right now there are no Tri-state area dates but I will keep you posted.

Steven Tyler showed up Tuesday night at Joe Perry’s solo gig concert at the New York Fillmore (he bought his own ticket) and dispelled all the rumors that Aerosmith are no longer a band. Tyler sang “Walk This Way” with Perry’s band while Perry stated that “all the rumors you have been hearing are bulls**t.” Really Joe?? Haven’t you been the one talking all this nonsense for like two weeks and now all of a sudden, it’s all a bunch of lies? Seems like you are the one that has been spreading the gossip. Meanwhile the review on Joe’s new singer (for his Perry Project) that was discovered on You Tube was pretty bad, one writer wrote “there was a reason he wasn’t discovered.”

AC/DC’s box set –“Backtracks”- was released this past Tuesday and it includes 3 CD’s, 2 DVD’s and one LP with a 164 page collector’s book.

Remember I told you that Rob Halford was going to release a holiday album, well “Winter Songs” is now out and I actually picked up one of the songs from this album-“Oh Holy Night” and I have to tell you folks, this is really good. Normally with Christmas music I am a “traditionalist” and don’t like “crazy” versions of holiday standards. Now there will be some out there who think that I’m crazy to say that I would like this version. But this is not “metal-metal” (if you know what I mean)- this is very impressive, see for yourself. Some of the other songs are good as well and yes for you headbangers the first track is “metal” which I shy away from when it comes to Christmas tunes.

My favorite “old school” song of the week goes to the Lemon Pipers with their most excellent “Green Tambourine.” This is 1960’s music at its best and was definitely part of the “flower power” movement. Boy do I wish I could have witnessed that period of music as an adult. My dad drives me crazy, he was right in the thick of all the great music to come out in the late 1960’s and 1970’s but stuck with the 1950’s “doo-wop” era. Not that I don’t like the “doo-wop” era, I do but I definitely would have branched out. Oh well, get this song!!!

Rodney Carrington has actually made a grown up Christmas album-“Make It Christmas”- (probably due to his kids now being teenagers) and I’d have to say that so far this pre-holiday season, his is the best Christmas album to come out. He nails the traditional songs with crystal clear vocals that will really impress you. [I know I was waiting for the “crazy” stuff that he has always done but it is not here-maybe except for “The Presents Under the Tree (Better Be for Me)” which has some funny lyrics but it sounds so “Sinatra” era like that you don’t realize some of the lyrics].Stand outs: “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas,” “Winter Wonderland,” “I’ll be Home for Christmas” and “White Christmas.”

Album Review: “Us and Them” by Shinedown; released on Rocktober 4, 2005.

One of the many I-POD shuffles this week landed on “Fake” by Shinedown and after listening to this phenomenal song I had to go back and review their sophomore effort- “Us and Them”- and yes the players have changed but the intensity, along with the passion that defines this band is so evident from this release that it will make you stand up and take notice. Now I have been touting this band for some time now, especially their 2008 release-“The Sound of Madness,” but I am now going to give you an additional opportunity to purchase another great album of theirs. (I know the die hard fans have all three releases, like myself). As I mentioned in my last concert review on these guys, they are slowly growing and you have time to jump on the band-wagon to feel what I am talking about. In the words of Kid Rock- “If you feel it, then it’s real”- and Shinedown are for real. So what are you waiting for?

The album starts off with a young girl reciting a poem and sounds like a bed time story as “you are listening to a dream.” As the word “dream” keeps getting repeated it dissolves and the blistering “Heroes” kicks off the aspirations of this band to produce a record that you keep coming back for more-I know I do. The opening guitar riffs pump me up like no other and Brent’s wail into the microphone like he’s trying to get something off his back is a perfect way to deliver a knock out punch. Brent steals the show with his passionate vocals, can this guy deliver the goods or what? This is pure enthusiasm and has me banging my head so many times back and forth that my neck hurts. Then it’s on to the exhilarating “Save Me” which I’m assuming depicts some personal struggles that Brent went through as the lyrics really describe a dire situation. “How did I get here and what went wrong?” You can feel the hurt and desperate “cry for help.” (song from Madness) The video behind this song is also fantastic. This is some “1-2 punch” to start off this album and I’m sorry but this is some of the best music put out in the 21st Century so far. I’m still confused on why they don’t have a mass following. (It’s coming though). Track # 4-“I Dare You” was their most popular song before “Second Chance” and as I listen to it now, I am completely blown away- I’ll put up the first three songs on this album with any album you want to throw out there. If you are an “Idol” fan you should remember that Daughtry performed this song the season that he came in second place. (I knew there was a reason I liked Chris). I have to hit the rewind button again as well as listen to the acoustic version of this song-that’s how good this song is.

“Yer Majesty” is a track that I put on a CD that I made for my good buddy Ron and his son, Joey, as I knew they weren’t too familiar with this band. Ron appreciates “knock down, drag out rock and roll” and this is exactly what this song is. If you are starting a band and are looking for some songs to cover while you do your own thing- look no further than “Yer Majesty”- you will blow away your friends and family. Whew as I am sweating, Brent & the boys take it down a notch with the poignant “Beyond the Sun” but don’t get too comfortable because even though the pace is down a bit, the heaviness doesn’t dissipate-no, quite the opposite, you will feel the heavy bass line along with the stirring guitar riffs. As usual Brent delivers the goods with his unrelenting fervor, is there a more passionate singer out there today? I think not!!! “Trade Yourself In” gets back to the crushing beat that has to get you out of your seat as you bang your head up, down, left to right and all around in a circle. How is this band not in your life?There is no other way to listen to this song but very LOUDLY!!! This could be one of Brent’s best vocals ever for any song that they have recorded. This will knock you out!!! Track # 8-“Lady Devine” is their “epic” song that lasts over 7 minutes long and the more you listen to this track, you realize how talented these guys are. This is a perfect song if you are hill climbing in your next Spin class. The middle part of the song with the long guitar solo will get you pumped and then the pace picks up again when Brent breaks back in with his vocals. The chance every band takes with playing songs over 6 minutes or so is “filler” and this has all protein with no fat on the edges, so enjoy. “Shed Some Light” is a beautiful track which I could picture Brent and the boys playing this song in front of a fireplace at some ski resort while the snow is quickly falling and it looks like no one can leave as the roads are too treacherous, so the only thing left to do is enjoy more Shinedown. The next time I am at my local pub and some artist is playing the acoustic guitar and taking requests, this is what I am going to shout out. (instead of “Freebird”). If we are still in that ski resort you’ll have to run over to the windows and tape them up because the next song just might burst them wide open and then we’ll really have a problem with the snow. “Begin Again” starts off slowly but just like those crazy spin rides (think the “Cups” ride where you sit and spin) it begins to creep up on you and before you know it, you feel like the Incredible Hulk and want to rip your shirt off and scream as passionately as Brent. Can it get any better? Whew do you feel it?

Track # 11-“Atmosphere”- begins another incredible “three-fer” and just as the beginning of this album has three great songs, the last three will also make you clinch your fist and say “Yeah Baby!!!” Atmosphere has a heavy riff which just grips you by the throat and doesn’t let go. The guitar solo towards the end of the song is virtuous. Then it’s on to the aforementioned “Fake”- the more I listen to this song, the more I am convinced that this could be the best song that they ever recorded (I can see my top ten Shinedown songs coming soon). Folks- I beg of you- please listen to this song and squeeze your hands into your ears as tight as you can while turning up the volume to the point where it might hurt just a little and tell me you don’t love this band? Listen as the guitar starts out in your left ear as Brent’s vocals close in on your right ear and let them take you away. Another thing, please close your eyes and chase anyone near you away so that you can soak this song in. Are you there yet? Do you feel it? Don’t tell me you don’t because it’s not allowed. As I listen to Brent scream I have to say that I may have been mistaken to not add him to the top ten screamers of all time. Brent Smith is by far the best front-man out today, period end of story!! This incredible album ends (it’s over already?!!!) with the majestic “Someday.”Folks I’m telling you this track is brilliant, tremendous, fantastic—whew—Ok you get the picture, right? This music moves me like no other, like I said last summer- I feel like it’s in my blood stream. I really can’t put it any other way.

Shinedown is such a phenomenal band that doesn’t seem to get the accolades they deserve but hopefully that will be changing soon. “Us and Them” is an excellent album and in my opinion is a “classic” that deserves a five star rating (based on the Rolling Stone magazine way of ranking an album). And for some odd reason, Rolling Stone magazine ignores them but that’s OK because we all know how much they avoided bands like AC/DC and Rush for the past 30 years, so I guess it’s cool, they acknowledge their blasphemy 20 years from now.

Ok I went crazy for “The Sound of Madness” and now I am imploring the people that I recently turned on to Shinedown (you know who you are) to run out and buy this incredible album. You will then be part of “Us” as we try to turn “Them” into “Us.”

“TOP TEN” :

Continuing on the I-Pod shuffle theme, you know how sometimes within the first 25 songs of a shuffle, your I-Pod plays one artist more than a few times? Well this time around it was Cher and I looked at my collection of songs from her (including her days with Sonny) and actually was very impressed with the body of work this woman has done over the years. Now I definitely lean more to the early days of her career but readily admit that she has remained more than relevant and redefines herself every decade without aging. She has just revived her Las Vegas residency at Caesars Palace which will begin next week and continue until mid December, then start up again next April. (On another note- one of my favorite all time movies is “The Mask” and her performance was brilliant). So here are my top ten songs by Cher:

10.     I Found Someone– Yes I know I’ll take some abuse for this song (as well as for picking Cher-next week is Barry Manilow). But you know what, if a song is good there’s no denying it and in this case I really like this track. Yes it’s pop but I am well diversified as you can tell if you have been following along in class. No one lasts this long with out having true talent- in her case she not only can sing but act as well. (It actually has that heavy guitar riff at the end, so it rocks!!).

9.     The Beat Goes On– Talk about your “Beat-nik” song, right? I can picture Bob Denver before he was “Gilligan” in that early role he had on “The Many Loves of Doby Gillis.” I can just picture Sonny with all those different color shirts with that “straw like” vest, that was the ‘60’s look, right? This song puts a smile on my face every time I hear it because I want to say I don’t like it because of Sonny’s vocals but you know what? It is the exact opposite, that’s why I like the song. (as well as Cher’s part of course).

8.     The Way of Love– This song also takes me back to the good old days in the 1970’s as a pre-teen growing up in Brooklyn. I can remember watching the Sonny & Cher show on TV (yes I know this song was when she went solo). This song is short and sweet but her vocals shine bright, this is one of her best vocal performances.

7.     The Shoop Shoop Song (It’s in his Kiss)– OK normally I don’t like to include “covers” as part of an artist best songs but there are exceptions to my crazy rules, right? And this is definitely an exception as I think her version is better than the original (sorry Betty Everett). The arrangement of the song is top notch and her vocals make it that much better.

6.     Dark Lady– There is a certain “eeriness” to this song, especially when Cher sings “next thing I knew they were dead on the floor… dark lady would never…” I can picture gypsies doing belly dancing and clapping their hands twice to the beat. I can also picture a fortune teller looking into a crystal ball (like the Wicked Witch in the Wizard of Oz). How many different images are in this song? (The strange perfume in her room?). Great song, period end of story.

5.     “Half Breed– This is a great song with a lot of meaning behind it. It tells a story of racial injustice and I’m assuming this song touched many people in a lot of ways. If you have ever felt like an outsider at some point in your life, this song has to resonate with you. I love the melody as well.

4.     All I Really Want to Do– Sonny and Cher had it going on in their heyday and there is no denying that fact. They made songs that will stand the test of time. This is one of those songs and as I listen to it in 2009 it still sounds fresh. The chorus is addicting and I know I’ll be singing it all day.

3.     Baby Don’t Go– Every time I hear this song it really takes me back to my days of growing up on 46th street in Sunset Park Brooklyn. I can remember playing stoop ball, “triangle”- heading down to “Eggebows” to get those wacky planes with all the crazy designs. Cher’s voice in this song is absolutely mesmerizing. Don’t kid yourself- Sonny was no dummy and he also had a real ear for talent. A few years back Dwight Yoakem and Sheryl Crow covered this classic.

2.     I Got You Babe– I can remember being very angry with Cher for re-making this song with “Beavis & Butthead.” I couldn’t understand why she would make a mockery of this song. I know my oldest son shakes his head when he hears this song and he doesn’t understand why I love it but I can’t get enough of this song. I always have to hit the “replay” button, so go ahead and laugh if you will but I don’t care, this is right up there as one of my all time favorite songs.

1.     Gypsies, Tramps and Thiefs– This is my absolute favorite Cher song. I will always remember the reaction that people would have after hearing this song at some of the Spin classes at MBIA. I would throw CD’s together for some of the instructor’s and there would be songs from Linkin’ Park, Metallica and then this song. People would look up at the instructor and say “Errol had to make this list, right?” Perfect sing-a-long song.

Trivia Questions

Answers from last week:

1.     John and Tom Fogerty

2.     Gregg and Duane (deceased since 1971)

3.     Chris and Rich Robinson

4.     Ann and Nancy Wilson

This week’s trivia (Relatives)

1.     What is the name of Bob Dylan’s son and what band is he a part of?

2.     Who is Derek Truck’s uncle and what band does he play for?

3.     What was the name of the band whose lead singer’s dad is Jerry Lewis?

4.     Who is Chynna Phillips (from Wilson Phillps) mom?

Name That Tune

Answers from last week:

1.     “Paradise by the Dashboard Light ”- Meatloaf

2.     “I Honestly Love You”-Olivia Newton John

3.     “Fighter”-Christina Aguilera

4.     “Bad Moon Rising”- Creedence Clearwater Revival

Can you guess the title from the following lyrics from part of the song?

1.     “Who can take the sunlight, sprinkle it with dew…” (if you don’t know this I give up)

2.     “Trouble ahead, trouble behind and you know that notion just crossed my mind…”

3.      “ Do it nice and easy now and don’t lose control.. a little bit of rhythm and a lot of soul…”

4.     “Getting cards and letters from people I don’t even know.. and offers coming over the phone..”

“On November 13, Felix Unger was asked to remove himself from his place of residence, that request came from his wife. Deep down he knew she was right but he also knew that someday he would return to her. With no where else to go, he appeared at the home of his childhood friend, Oscar Madison. Sometime earlier, Madison’s wife had thrown him out-requesting that he never return. Can two divorced men share an apartment without driving each other crazy?”(Sorry folks I couldn’t resist since today is Nov. 13).

Sadly back on this day in 1992, Ronnie Bond, the original drummer for The Troggs passed away at the very young age of 49.

Back on this day in 1971, Bonnie Raitt released her self titled debut.

Back on this day in 2005, Paul McCartney woke up the space shuttle astronauts with The Beatles “Good Day Sunshine” at his concert in Anaheim CA.

If it is your birthday today, you share the same birth date with Bill Gibson (drummer for Huey Lewis).

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

