Errols Weekly Music Update.

November 6, 2009

Weekly Update – 11/06/09

98.7 Kiss FM presents The Super ’70’s Soul Jam featuring The Stylistics, The Emotions, The Delfonics, Heatwave, Carl Carlton, The Blue Notes and Main Ingredient at the WAMU Theater on Fri. Feb. 26. Pre-sale tickets this Mon. Nov. 9 at 9:00 a.m. until 10:00 p.m. Wed. Nov. 11. The Password is HEKISS. General public tickets on sale next Thurs. Nov. 12 at 10:00 a.m. $39.50 – $79.50.

U2 will be at the “new” Meadowlands Stadium (future home of the NY Jets and NY Giants) on Mon. July 17, 2010. Tickets on sale this Mon. Nov. 9 at 10:00 a.m.$33, $58, $98 and $253

BB King and Buddy Guy at The United Palace Theater on Fri. Feb. 12, 2010. Pre-sale tickets available now for Citi card holders. General public tickets on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. $49, $69, $89, $99 and $139. (If you have not seen the both of them, here is your chance. This will be an unbelievable night that you don’t want to miss. Everyone needs to see BB and Buddy at least once in their lifetime).

101.9 WRXP Presents Matt Pinfields Holiday Show at Hammerstein Ballroom on Wed. Dec. 2 featuring Phoenix, Passion Pit, Jack’s Mannequin and Manchester Orchestra. Tickets on sale today at 10:00 a.m. $40.50

Devendra Banhart at the Music Hall of Williamsburg Brooklyn on Mon. Nov. 23. Tickets on sale today at noon. $28 ($30 day of show).

Levon Helm at Terminal 5 on Thurs. Jan. 7, 2010. Tickets on sale today at noon. $31 ($35 day of show).

John Legend at Borgota Event Center on Fri. Jan. 1, 2010. Tickets on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event).

Fabolous at New York Fillmore on Sat. Dec. 12. Tickets on sale today at noon. $30 ($35 day of show).

Pat Metheny at the Town Hall (Acoustic only) on Fri. May 21, 2010. Pre-sale tickets for American Express cardholders on sale next Wed. Nov. 11 at 10:00 a.m until 10:00 p.m. the following Tues. Nov. 17. General public tickets on sale Sat. Dec 5 at noon. $50 – $85.

Brandi Carlile at the Wellmont Theater on Sat. Feb. 6, 2010. Tickets on sale today at noon. $27.50

Other items:

Susan Boyle’s new album-“I Dreamed a Dream”- will be released on November 23 and I for one am purchasing it. Just listening to the 30 second samples and I already know that this is going to be an instant grand slam home run. I actually can’t wait to buy it. This amazing story will continue as these songs will leave you breathless. (The songs are all “covers” and included is a Christmas song-“Silent Night”).

Carrie Underwood’s new album-“Play On”- was released this past Tuesday and according to I-Tune listeners she has yet nailed another great piece of artistry. As I have said many times on this page, I am a huge fan of this woman and she is really growing into something special and one day will be an Icon. Key tracks: “Someday When I Stop Loving You,” “What Can I Say” and “Change.”

My favorite metal song of the week goes to Metallica with the pounding “Fuel.” Yes I know according to all the Metallica Haters this is pop music but I thumb my nose to you. Even though it’s from “ReLoad” this song rocks the cover off the ball. Listen to it again and tell me this is not heavy? Check your head. I played this song for my youngest son as he had never heard this (I started him off the right way with the earlier Metallica) and his eyes grew wide. (That’s my signal that he likes a song).

Jack White was willing to contribute on Slash’s new album but only as a guitarist. Jack did not want to lend his vocals and apparently he will not be included as a guest on the new stuff.

Ratt will release their first album in ten years. “Infestation” will be out next March and will include original members such as Steven Pearcy, Warren DeMartini and Bobby Blotzer. Former Quiet Riot guitarist-Carlos Cavazo- is in along with Robbie Crane on bass.

The Foo Fighter’s Greatest Hits album is out with two new songs-“Wheels” and “Word Forward”- (which has the “F” bomb loud and clear and I’m surprised that the album is not labeled as “explicit.” Last time I checked- the “F” bomb was explicit).

My favorite “old school” song of the week is “It’s My Party” by Miss Lesley Gore. What a great song, she has some really good tunes. My parents played this song all the time in our house and it brings back so many memories. That’s what music does to you, it takes you away-especially if you feel it.

Joe has released a holiday album called-“Home is the Essence of Christmas.” I like many of the songs and have purchased his rendition of “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen” and “The Christmas Song.”

Rihanna will release her new album-“Rated R”- on Nov. 23 and the first single-“Russian Roulette” is now available. Slash helps her out on the track-“Rock Star 101.” This woman is another sky rocketing superstar headed for “Icon” land.

My favorite “new song” of the week belongs to “Meet Me on the Equinox” by Death Cab for Cutie from the movie The Twilight Saga. This band is really growing on me. And this current song actually reminds me of Rush, I could picture Geddy Lee performing this song without a doubt and at certain parts if you close your eyes, you’d think it was him.

Andrea Bocelli has released a holiday album-“My Christmas”- which has a few duets that include Reba McIntire, The Muppets and Mary J. Blige. I immediately purchased the song he did with Mary J. Blige-“What Child Is This”- because she is the coolest female artist out there today. Don’t even try to compare anyone with this woman- she is just too cool and always looks like a knock-out. (And she was the good luck charm for the NY Yankees as she sung a spectacular version of the Star Spangle Banner before Game 6 was won by the Yanks).

Album Review: “Led Zeppelin” by Led Zeppelin; recorded in Rocktober 1968 and released on January 12, 1969.

Ok sometimes my displeasure gets going when I hear comments like “What’s so great about Led Zeppelin?” or “They were over-rated.” Or my personal best “How can you tell if John Bonham was the greatest drummer, aren’t all drummers the same?” (Both of my sons said to listen to Meg White, then listen to Bonham and see if there is a difference, no offense intended Meg, just trying to make a point). And these comments were not said purposely stated to get me going, they were true honest questions, so now I feel the need to reinforce what all fans of Led Zeppelin already know- they are one of the best, if not the best, bands in the history of music. Some of you may not like them- I don’t understand that but I respect that approach. But there is no denying their impact on rock music, so don’t even go there. By the way, if you lived in my house there is a test you would need to pass to be able to stay (yes my kids have to pass it… no not my wife, I’m not that crazy) and that test is to name the four members of Led Zeppelin. If you don’t know it, pack your bags.

Anyways back to the greatness called Led Zeppelin or should I say the “Mighty” Led Zeppelin. Their debut album was made over 40 years ago and 4 million years from now it will still stand the test of time. There are nine songs in total. This album has to rank up there as the best debut albums ever created. “And on this day.. God created Led Zeppelin…” The album blasts off with the oft heard “Good Times Bad Times” and the reason why you have heard it so many times is because it is freaking phenomenal. This was the first song that members of Zep decided to put out there and let’s assume that this was the only song they ever released, you would hear all the talents of each and every individual. Listen to Bonham’s drumming-this was the beginning of what was to come-unmatched fervor and furiousness that rock music has never seen since and maybe will never see again. (There are drummers who come close, I will admit that but I did say “close”). The pulsating bass line by John Paul Jones (he’s the one my youngest son struggles with when he is forced to recite the members to me.. so he doesn’t forget- I ask many times) feels like he’s plucking one of your veins as a guitar string. Jimmy Page’s phenomenal guitar playing and of course Mr. Robert Plant’s singing ability as he could be considered the greatest frontman in rock history. My friend Ron and his band- Nasty Habits- just recently performed this song at a club in Brooklyn and they lit up the audience with their blistering cover. These guys know great rock and roll when they hear it and that’s why they play songs like this. Even Godsmack recently put out a cover of this song, so my point is-it still stands the test of time. Track # 2-“Babe I’m Gonna Leave You”- is so righteous, almost a form of religion. Can you imagine putting out your first album and making a song like this? It seems impossible to think that these guys were in the twenties- this tune sounds like something that a veteran would create. Again listen to Bonham on the drums and tell me you’re not blown away? This is the fastest 6 minute plus song that you can ever listen to. “You Shook Me” is so amazing, words can not even begin to describe how I feel about this song. This is rock and roll with a massive twist of blues and probably the origin of that “Plant & Page thing” that they did that has never been replicated. Plant sings with his voice and Page sings with his guitar. (I even love the harmonica solo in the middle of the song). Folks take a second and think about this- this song was recorded in 1968, it was their first album and they make a song (and album) like this? This is natural talent and you have to feel it- this is real. This is the Babe, Mantle, DiMaggio and Mays all playing on the same team. Whew, I’m scared on how great this is… “Dazed and Confused”- What can be said about this song that hasn’t been said millions of times before? Most people picture Page basically blasting off into another stratosphere, being all alone and performing like he was possessed. He can’t be human, can he? And who is right there along side of him? Yes- Mr. Bonham-when he explodes in with the cymbals three times as Jimmy detonates, you have to ask yourself- Has this ever been matched? This could be their best song.

Ok flip over to side 2 now-“Your Time is Gonna Come”- starts off like you were strolling to church on Sunday morning. And just like that, the chaos of “Dazed” is over and the beauty of this song strikes you as you are flabbergasted that this band can change on a dime and create so many different sounds with so many various moods. Not many bands can do this. “Black Side Mountain” really takes it down as it is an acoustic instrumental song that last only two minutes. It was the ‘60’s man you had to have that “sitar” sound (originated by George Harrison-thanks Chris) and if you listen carefully you can hear how talented Mr. Page is. So the first two songs are pretty somber but don’t get sleepy because just like when you are headed up the Cyclone roller-coaster in Coney Island you know the excitement is just over that first hill. (no I have never done it but I can imagine). As you head down- the electrifying “Communication Breakdown” attacks your ears but you don’t shy away and you actually head to turn that volume knob higher. Has there been a better beginning to a song? I remember using this song at an MBIA spin class and my good friend Rosie was so psyched when she heard it- it actually does make you pedal faster. Then it’s back to the blues with the fantastic “I Can’t Quit You Baby.” How cool is the bass line from Mr. Jones? I can just picture a smoky bar room late at night and this song coming on. All I have to say is “Wow…” Page’s guitar playing actually lifts me off the ground as I levitate (take that Criss Angel!!) and at this point I am not coming down. Mr. Plant’s vocal adds to my delusion as I float high in the air and have an “out of body” experience. I remain in this state as this phenomenal album ends with the majestic “How Many More Times.” To all the people out there who don’t know the massive talents of John Bonham-please I beg of you- put this song on to the highest volume you can stand and listen to the magnificence of this man; I am speechless. This is a brilliant song and again these guys were just in their twenties.

OK I will get off my “Led Zeppelin soap box” for now but every now and then when I hear these misguided comments, I have to take the wheel, steer back to the center of the road and guide you back to the right path. So for now folks, you should also know the four members of this band and you too should force the people that live in your house to recite whenever you decide to have a pop quiz, kids and even babies have to be included, and name the legends that make up the band called Led Zeppelin. Oh excuse me, “The Mighty Led Zeppelin.”

TOP TEN” :

In honor of Lenny Kravitz’s recent small club shows here in New York City during the month of Rocktober, I decided to list my favorite ten songs by the son of Roxie Roker (also known as “Helen Willis” on the popular sitcom –“The Jeffersons”). I feel a special kinship to Lenny as he loved his mother dearly and lost her at a very young age. (As did I). Mr. Kravitz can flat out rock with the best of them and then turn it around and make some of the most beautiful songs this world has ever heard. (That’s right- The World). As I went through his catalog, I could not believe how hard this was to do (I know I say that about every artist I do but really, his library is filled with great songs). Mr. Kravitz is all about peace and love and if he were running for office, I know I’d vote for him. For those of you who do not know when Lenny records his albums he performs on all the instruments. (Obviously he has his own band when he goes out on the road). He has been one of the best artists around for the past 20 years, he is a fan of rock and roll, he respects the bands that came before him and I really can’t think of an artist that I would rather be than Lenny Kravitz. This gentleman is tops in my book. So grudgingly, here are my top ten songs:

10.     It Ain’t Over ’Til It’s Over– Go ahead and make fun but you know you love this song but you just won’t admit it. I don’t have that problem, I admit that I love this song and it deserves a spot in my top ten. This is old school R&B made contemporary by the man called Lenny. You know you wish that you could sing the song like Mr. Kravitz, I know I do.

9.     A New Door– Sort of reminds me of something that the late Michael Jackson would sing. It’s another beautiful song in a long list of tunes that Lenny pours his heart out in. This man is so talented and songs like this solidify my opinion.

8.     Stand By My Woman Now– When I first heard this song I immediately thought of my wife and how much I love her and the words are spectacular. Guys, prepare a nice dinner (or order it and make believe you made it), candles, fireplace going and then put this song on as you serve her your delicious meal. It doesn’t get any better. This is a powerful song that will bring tears to her eyes as you try to match Lenny’s passion while singing it to the woman in your life.

7.     Will You Marry Me– This funkadelic new age James Brown sounding song has to get you out of your seat and dance with that someone special. Every time I listen to this song, I squeeze my headphones as tight as I can to my ears. Please do this and tell me this is not one of the best songs that he has ever recorded. The guitar solo is righteous, the background vocals are phenomenal, and the infectious groove is something to behold.

6.     Rock and Roll Is Dead– Love the opening guitar riff and the way the drums smash in. I’ll put this song up against any rock song ever made and believe me, this will stand toe-to-toe with the best of them. And contrary to the title, Rock and Roll will always be alive and kicking as long as Lenny makes songs like this. Pure perfection.

5.     Are You Gonna Go My Way– I can remember when I went to see him in Wallingford CT with my wife, Sal and his wife a few years back and my wife was “air-guitaring” and “headbanging”-believe me that is a rare sight. Now every time I hear this track I think of my wife and how much she loves this song. Also the image of the woman drummer in the video is something that always comes to mind when I hear this track. This is rock and roll at its finest and there is no way that you can’t have fun when this song comes on, it’s impossible not to move.

4.     Stop Draggin’ Around– Love the way how Lenny just calmly and smoothly starts off the song by saying “More on Guitar, need more track… bass… more guitar..” I can listen to this song all day long. The groove on this song is so freaking phenomenal I just wish I could have wrote this song. The guitar solo smokes and is there any one cooler than Kravitz?

3.     Destiny– I freeze every time I hear this song and get the chills running down my back. Folks if you don’t know this song you are really missing out. This song is so raw, so special that words can’t do it justice. It really is a masterpiece, ‘nuff said.

2.     Calling All Angels– Now as I have mentioned many times on this page, Lenny wrote this song for his mother who passed away at a very young age. My mom passed away right around the time Lenny released the album “Baptized” which contains this song. Obviously this is a very sad song to listen to but yet also exquisite at the same time. This is a paralyzing song.

1.     Let Love Rule– This is definitely in my top ten songs of all time. The arrangement of this song is so magnificent, so pleasing to the ear but yet the message is even more powerful. This has been, always will be a staple at his shows- witnessing him perform this live is something that you need to strive for. Lenny thank you for this song and Thank you for being you, I tip my cap to you.

Trivia Questions

Answers from last week:

1.     Stevie Ray Vaughn

2.     Robert Zimmerman

3.     True

4.     Named after a 1963 horror movie starring Boris Karloff

This week’s trivia (Siblings)

1.     Name the two brothers from Creedence Clearwater Revival

2.     Name the two brothers from The Allman Brothers (one has been deceased since the 1970’s)

3.     Name the two brothers from The Black Crowes

4.     Name the two sisters from Heart

Name That Tune

Answers from last week:

1.     “I’m Your Captain ”- Grand Funk Railroad

2.     “Bad Girls”-Donna Summer

3.     “Mellow Yellow”-Donovan

4.     “Black Water”- The Doobie Brothers

Can you guess the title from the following lyrics from part of the song?

1.     “And I never had a girl looking any better than you did.. and all the kids at school they were wishing they were me that night..”.. ”

2.     “Maybe I hang around you a little more than I should.. we both know I’ve got somewhere else to go…”

3.     “Well I thought I knew you.. that you were true…(yes I) I couldn’t trust …”

4.     “I hear hurricanes a blowing…I know the end is coming soon… I feel rivers overflowin’..”

Back on this day in 1965, the Grateful Dead and Jefferson Airplane performed at the opening of the Fillmore West in San Francisco.

Back on this day in 1980, Led Zeppelin met with their manager, Peter Grant, to discuss their future in the wake of John Bonham’s death. They would publicly announce that they were finished on Dec. 4, 1980.

Back on this day in 1984, Marvin Gay, Sr. was sentenced to five years probation for the killing of his son Marvin Gaye.

Back on this day in 1993, Pearl Jam entered the Billboard 200 album chart at number one with their sophomoric effort- “Vs.”

If it is your birthday today, you share the same birth date with Corey Glover (lead singer for Living Colour) and Glenn Frey

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

