Errols Weekly Music Update.

October 30, 2009

Weekly Update – Rocktober 30, 2009

U2 will be at the “new” Meadowlands Stadium (future home of the NY Jets and NY Giants) on Mon. July 17, 2010. Ticket info to follow. (It’s so disappointing to see that their new album “No Line on the Horizon” has done poorly with sales. Folks this will most likely be the best album of 2009 when I put out the top ten albums toward the end of the year. What are you waiting for? Why just because it doesn’t have a “hit” song? I will say it again-this is their best album since Joshua Tree and may be a little better in my opinion).

Sting with special guest Chris Botti at The Cathedral Church of St. John the Divine (1047 Amsterdam Avenue NY) on Tues. & Wed. Dec. 8 & 9 for the “Winter’s Night” concert (his new album). Pre-sale tickets for fan club begins today. General public tickets on sale this Monday Nov. 2 at noon. $75, $150 and $300.

The Greyboy Allstars at New York Fillmore on Sat. Dec. 19. Tickets on sale today at noon. (Live Nation Event).

Wolfmother at the Music Hall of Williamsburg Brooklyn on Mon. Nov. 9. Pre-sale tickets for American Express cardholders on now until 11:00 a.m. this morning. General public tickets on sale today at noon. $27.50

J. Geils Band at the Mohegan Sun on Thurs. Dec. 31. Tickets on this morning at 10:00 a.m. $50.

Patti Smith at Bowery Ballroom on Tues.-Thurs. Dec. 29-31. Tickets on sale today at noon. $40

Artic Monkeys have added another date for Terminal 5 on Thurs. Dec. 10. Tickets on sale today at noon. $34.50 ($39.50 day of show).

Al Green at the Wellmont Theater on Sun. Feb. 14, 2010. Tickets on sale today at noon. $45, $75 and $95.

Between the Buried and Me at New York Fillmore on Sat. Jan. 30, 2010. Tickets on sale today at noon.

Dave Mason at BB King Blues Club on Tues. Jan. 19, 2010. Tickets on sale now. $28.50

Other items:

Eric Clapton had to bow out of tonight’s second show at the Garden for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Concerts. He was set to play tonight along with U2, Aretha Franklin and Metallica. (Last night was The Boss, CS&N, Stevie Wonder and Simon & Garfunkle). Clapton is recovering from gallstone surgery and he will be replaced by Jeff Beck.

The “Boo of the week” (no, not Halloween related) goes to Bon Jovi, Ticket Master and I’d also have to throw in American Express into the fray as well. As I mentioned in last week’s update, pre-sale tickets for Bon Jovi shows at the new Meadowlands Stadium next May began this past Monday at 10:00 a.m. What I didn’t know was that in order to buy these “pre-sale” tickets you also had to purchase Bon Jovi’s new album – “The Circle”- which is due out Nov. 10. Now I’m a fan of Bon Jovi , but don’t force me to buy their new album. Second, you all know how I feel about Ticketmaster- not only do they go along with this nonsense (as well as American Express) but they throw Bon Jovi under the bus and point the finger at them.

Not so fast Ticket Master, it was time for you to stand up and say “No!! We can’t do that because we are already ripping the face off of our customers, we can’t afford to charge any more to the consumer.” [But not to be outdone by Bon Jovi- at the very end of their site before you click on “submit” to purchase tickets, Ticket Master has the GALL to offer the consumer “ticket insurance” on the delivery of those tickets that are ordered. Wait, isn’t that your job?- To deliver the tickets to the consumer-So after all the “add-on” charges to your ticket (which adds up to almost the price of the original ticket), they “highly recommend” that you click on the “yes” button for an additional $7 so you have insurance? I couldn’t click “no” fast enough but at that point I think a vessel had burst in my head because I couldn’t see the screen after a while].

[Update: My good friend Frank pointed out that I need to read the fine print and the $7 was not a delivery insurance charge, it had something to do with actual insurance in the sense that if something bad happened to you that you’d be able to turn the ticket over to someone. Still a useless fee].

I am so out of my mind with this sick way of trying to make the public spend more of their hard earned money on useless fees and then for Bon Jovi to be the first band (that I know of) to charge an additional $11 for an album that I do not want, just to be able to see them in concert?? This is so outrageous, so sickening that I want to throw up. I would assume by now that Bon Jovi has some “money for a rainy day” and really don’t need to exploit their fan base like this. Is this a way to make them get the number 1 sales on Billboard? Why wouldn’t they let their album do the talking and then let the people will decide if they want to buy it?

You see folks this is what happens when a monopoly like TicketMaster is the only game in town. Bon Jovi probably figured well…”we can’t beat ‘em so let’s join ‘em.” Let us also reap in the business of ripping the consumer off because there is no other competitor. Why not, right? Who cares about the consumer? No one seems to care and imagine if the Government stepped in to help out? They would be lambasted for getting involved in the private sector, right? But…..wasn’t it the right thing to do when the Government forced “Ma Bell” into many different companies to entice competition and offer customers variety? No one seems to care. Kudos to Pearl Jam for giving them a long fight and shame on the rest of the industry that did not back Pearl Jam up. I for one, wish that I could never give Ticketmaster one penny more for the rest of my life but I love going to concerts and they have me between a rock and a hard place. Now bands will be coming out of the woodwork for these “pre-sale”rules to make sure you never squirm out of that rock & hard place. So thank you Bon Jovi, thank you American Express, thank you Amazon-thanks for colluding against the consumer (isn’t this illegal?)and please Ticketmaster: don’t EVER thank me for my business- I am a disgruntled consumer and you will NEVER be able to appease me, NEVER!!! (Whew… I need to calm down… I know…)

My favorite “old school” song of the week belongs to Tony Orlando & Dawn with their fantastic “Knock Three Times.” “Hey girl what’s you doing down there?… I can hear your music playing…” Is this the ultimate “sing-a-long” song or what? Love the “twice on the pipe” sound effect. I’d go see Tony in a heartbeat, he’s still around. Who’s in?

Fall Out Boy will release a greatest hits album on Nov. 16- “Believers Never Die”- I like these guys but didn’t they just begin their career like 5 years ago? Well I guess everyone releases a “best of” so they might as well. Very strange and one of the songs on it, is a cover of Michael Jackson’s “Beat It.” (That tells me they needed a few more years before a “greatest hits” should be released).

As I mentioned last week, the article about Lemmy Kilmister (Motorhead) in Rolling Stone magazine was so interesting to me that I had to read it again. He was kicked out of his original band-“Hawkwind”- because he did too many drugs (or rather too much of the wrong drug-speed). The author equated Lemmy to a Japanese soldier stranded on a remote island who never learned that the war was over because he has been doing the same thing since the 1970’s. Apparently there are 138 types of bourbon in the U.S. and he has finished off a bottle of each. Ozzy was quoted as saying “I don’t know how the guy breathes.” Motorhead has always been the band that everyone says is the loudest act out of anyone in the history of music, at a concert in England in 1981 they played on a stage made out of speakers-117,000 watts. The story has it that a man that lived 4 miles away called police to complain that he couldn’t hear his television. Lemmy is “old school” and guys like him fascinate me to no end. I would like to live in his shoes for two days, one day just hanging out and the other day when he has a gig.

Chris Cornell is re-working his latest album –“Scream”- (that’s what most of his fans did) and he is losing Timbaland as the producer and is reworking all the tracks to be a rock album. Very disappointing sales his given Chris a change of heart to go back to what he does best-rock on. Can the reunion of Soundgarden be far behind? It’s only a matter of time.

Metallica has offered an additional $50,000 to a reward to find a missing 20-year old woman-Morgan Dana Harrington- who disappeared after seeing Metallica perform live at John Paul Jone Theater in Virginia on Sat. Rocktober 17. Police are now treating this as a criminal matter. She apparently left the arena during the show and was told there were “no re-entries.” She informed her friends not to worry that she would find her way home. The total reward is now $150,000 for information that will lead to her recovery. Whew, this is a tough one, hopefully she is found safe and sound.

Album Review: “Back to Black” by Amy Winehouse released on Rocktober 4, 2006.

Ok everyone knows about Amy Winehouse and all of her struggles these past few years as she tries to straighten out her life (my assumption) as she seems to be the headlines on many tabloids here in the U.S. and England as well. And I for one hope that she comes out of it all right because I want her to get back to making great music. This week’s I-Pod shuffle landed on “He Can Only Hold Her” and I immediately went back to listen to this classic album. Yes I know it’s only three years since she made it but I’m calling it a classic and not just because she has that “old school” sound (which helps) but she keeps it contemporary and fresh sounding.

The album kicks off with “Rehab” and you know that you love this song. You know that you have sung the part when she says “No, No, No…” This track makes you dance in your seat while you’re driving your car (not advocating that) and hand slap the steering wheel as you make believe you’re playing the drums. I remember seeing a “grandmother” moving and singing to this song as we were at a party. It just puts a smile on your face even though it really is a serious song about her life-again it’s weird how music can make a sad or serious topic into a fun dancing song? Isn’t it? Track # 2-“You Know I’m Good”- is a “funk-a-vibe” track that makes you squint your eyes and lips as you try to match Amy’s vocals. So many influences as you hear that early “girl band” R&B influence but mixes in today’s rap style music and the concoction just works. “Me & Mr. Jones” really reminds me of that late 1950’s or early 1960’s sound that emanated from those old style radio players. I would even dare say that my father would like this song because of the “doo-wop” sound (but don’t tell him it’s someone from today, make believe it was an artist from the 1950’s).“Just Friends” fast forwards to the 1970’s with sort of a Jamaican style sound that will get you up on the dance floor with that someone special. Track # 5- the title track- sounds like “Baby Love” by the Supremes for me. I can just picture Amy with a set of headphones on her ears in the studio recording this tune, her vocals are crystal clear and sung perfectly.

“Love is a Losing Game” heads back to that classic R&B sound and to me conjures up images of Aretha if I dare say. There is a certain softness that Amy has (despite her image) which captivates you and commands your attention. Track # 7-“Tears Dry on Their Own”- samples the 1960’s classic-“Ain’t No Mountain High Enough” (written by Ashford & Simpson). I would have to say that when you hear the melody you are constantly waiting to hear Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell to come in with their vocals, so even though the song is good, there are some songs that are untouchable and maybe in this case, it should have been left alone. (By the way Marvin & Tammi made the best duets ever in the history of music). “Wake Up Alone” is “old school” again and I would say that this song highlights what is so special about Ms. Whinehouse. Her vocal on this track are spectacular and makes me hope that she comes back to making music. “Some Unholy War” is a short tune that fits perfect in a smoky bar lounge as the blues rushing out of the speakers will take you back as you realize that she was born in 1983. Are you kidding me? The music is in her and this song proves it. The last track, the aforementioned “He Can Only Hold Her” is one of the best tracks on the album and my oldest son swears that she took the chords from John Legend’s “Slow Dance” from his album “Once Again.” But I’d say that Amy’s song came out twenty days before Legend’s album, so who is copying who? And believe me I’m not knocking Legend- I think he’s great-so now you have two great songs to download.

Like I mentioned, hopefully Winehouse emerges soon with a new album because she has talent which can not be denied. Her first album “Frank” was actually released in the U.S. after “Black” became so popular. That album was released in Britain back in 2003 and many swear that is better than “Black.” Either way you can’t go wrong with picking up one or the other album. The woman has “it.”

“TOP TEN” :

As mentioned in last week’s page my youngest son (12 yrs. old) wanted to get into the fray on this page (and not just let his older brother contribute) and he wanted us to compare our favorite Rolling Stones songs. Again I did not look at his list until after I was done with my favorites. This is real tough because they have so many great songs but here goes, my favorites are in blue and my son’s are in red, (if I could have eleven songs-my 11th would be “Tumbling Dice”):

10.     Rocks Off-This classic track that kicks off “Exile on Mainstreet” (which many say is the best Stones album- you know my favorite- “Let It Bleed.”) has it all- rocking groove, piano, guitar, drums and an unbelievable horn section. I wonder when they were recording this song if they knew they had a homerun? Over the years, they must have had many of those moments. This is pure rock and roll.

10.     Midnight Rambler – This song is a classic, but the reason why it’s number 10 on my list is that the song was just a little too long for me. Still it’s a great song.

9.     Ruby Tuesday-Every time I hear this song, I stop whatever I’m doing and concentrate on this phenomenal tune. Jagger’s vocals are spot on and it’s almost impossible to not sing the chorus- “Goodbye Ruby Tuesday.. who could hang a name on you…” Mr. Watts drumming is very simple but yet is the best part of the song.

9.     Jumping Jack Flash – When I first listen to “Forty Licks” this song just stayed in my head because of the chorus. It is such a fun song to sing along to.

8.     Paint It Black When I hear this song I just picture a snake coming out of a bottle (remember that Abbott & Costello movie?) because of the middle eastern melody. This track was so different from anything that came out in 1966. Even when Jagger hums, it sounds great.

8.     The Last Time – Once I heard the rift of this song I knew that I was going to love it and I was completely right. This had to be on my list because you just feel good about yourself when you listen to it.

7.     Honky Tonk Women – This song always reminds me of my mother. I know she loved the beginning of the song (which definitely ranks up there as one of the best starts of a tune) which has such a funky groove that you do two things: 1) Turn up the volume 2) Start dancing (even if you don’t know how). No matter how many times you may hear this song, you can’t turn it off-IT’S THAT GOOD!!!

7.     You Can’t Always Get What You Want – This is just pure greatness. The only problem I have with it is the beginning of the song with has the chorus singing in the background. They didn’t really need that because it ‘s better at the end of the song.

6.     Dance Little Sister – If you look up the word “rock and roll” in the dictionary one of the many definitions included would be the title to this song. I think Richards must have had Berry in mind when he created the riffs to this song. If this song doesn’t get you out of your seat- you’re not from this planet.

6.     Shattered – Whenever I went over to my brother’s friend’s house, their fathers would always sing and play this song….including mine. Beside that, it really is a great song to dance around to and that’s why I like it.

5.     Shattered– I talked about this song last week when I did the perfect album side for “Some Girls” and I stick by my comment that this could be the best arranged song in the history of music. “All this chitter chatter, chitter chatter chitter chatter..”- how can anyone not know the lines right there, you can just picture Jagger with his swagger dancing around the stage, spitting out this classic line- along with many others in this song-pure perfection. ‘nuff said.

5.     She’s a Rainbow– The piano in this song is flawless. I could never skip this song in my life. It’s just too great.

4.     Gimme Shelter– So many different images come up for me in this song and I bet for many veterans and if you were old enough in the 1960’s to remember- images very different than I have. (Blame it on the movies or TV but whenever I hear the beginning of the song I always think of “Goodfellas.”- I really dislike that fact because it’s like I’m selling out) This song was basically “the end of the world” do to the very violent turbulent times in the late 1960’s with the Vietnam War and civil unrest in the U.S. The female background singer-Merry Clayton- is so phenomenal in this song that I am ready to nominate her part as being in the top 5 of all duet songs ever recorded. When she screams I just can’t believe how friggin’ awesome it is and Jagger’s vocals could be the best he has ever done in any Stones song. You can feel the passion, pain, worrisome and everything associated with those turbulent times. (Isn’t it weird we in the same cycle now again?).

4.     Sympathy for the Devil– When I hear the drums in the beginning of this song the energy just rushes through my veins and when Bill Wyman plays his bass solo it just is so awesome. Then Keith Richards plays that sick guitar solo. These guys are too awesome.

3.     Angie –If anyone has an “Angie” this could be the best love song ever recorded. I stand still and don’t move when I hear this song. I am completely and utterly mesmerized by this song whenever I hear it. Folks, when you stop to think how many great songs this band has made throughout their career it really blows your mind. This is song for the ages-which should be passed on to future generations a thousand times over. This is a masterpiece.

3.     (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction– I used to play this song all the time and all because of Charlie Watts amazing drumming skills.

2.     Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker)-I get so psyched when I hear this song “Police in New York City… in a case of mistaken identity…” For years this was my ultimate Rolling Stones song (it was always flip flop with “Bitch”). I love Charlie Watts drumming in this track- I don’t know what it is about the drumming because it’s not that identifiable but if you listen carefully, it’s just well…. great. This song with the background “doo, doo doo, doo, doo” vocals ranks up there as one of the best tracks of the 1970’s.

2.    Street Fighting Man– The intro to this song is perfection in your ears. Keith you did it again with your guitar.

1.     BitchAs mentioned, this song along with “Heartbreaker” have always flip flopped back and forth as my number one song by the Stones but when I sat down in front of my I-Tunes library while typing this review, this song edged it out. Again the horn section just adds the gravy to the meat and potatoes (Richards and Watts). Hold on I need to take a minute or so to air guitar…………………… Ok I’m back- wasn’t that great? Folks put on your headphones and let this song take you where you need to be. I’m going to listen to it again.. see ya.

1.     Beast of Burden– This is my number 1 favorite Stones song from all those times listening this song in the car coming home from New York City just daydreaming to this song. I can’t describe in words how perfect this song is. There is no other song that could “never be” another Rolling Stones song that could change my mind about Beast of Burden

So there you go folks, we actually have one song together-“Shattered”- and 18 other great songs to choose from but with a band like this there are so many songs to choose from that it would be interesting to see everyone else’s list.

ROCKTOBER JUKE BOX

Since ROCKTOBER is my favorite month of the year I decided to try and come up with something different especially for this month only. I’m thinking a “Rock and Roll Juke Box” with some of the best rock songs for your next party or I-Pod playlist. This week’s list is what I would call the “America’s Best”; a list of tracks from some of the best from right here in the good ole U.S. of A. So here goes in no particular order:

1.     “Critical Mass”- Aerosmith- off of their lesser known “Draw The Line” album but the die-hard Aerosmith fan realizes the greatness of this track. I can remember buying this album when I was like 12 or so and I was immediately polarized by this song. This song rocks baby, it is hard rock at its best

2.     “Revival” – The Allman Brothers – One of my all time favorites by Gregg & the boys, this is a feel good song that should have everyone out of their seats-including Grandma, Grandpa, Mom, Dad and the whole family dancing, hugging and of course feeling that “love is everywhere.” Doesn’t get much better than this song.

3.     “Ain’t Got No Home”- The Band– Some consider this the greatest American Band ever and deservedly so. This band had it all, you could just feel their passion and the music flowing through their veins to their heart as the rest of us used our ears to hear their greatness. If this song doesn’t get you moving, you need to check for a pulse. Rock and Roll the way it was intended to be.

4.     “Thirty Days” – Chuck Berry- The “Father” of Rock and Roll, no? So many songs to choose from it’s unbelievable. Mr. Berry was the “six degrees of Kevin Bacon” before Kevin Bacon. We should all bow to this man and say “we are not worthy.” This is my favorite Chuck Berry song of all-time.

5.     “Captain Jack”- Billy Joel- My oldest son made me promise that I would not put any song down from his “Glass House” album (my one & only album that I own) so I dug deep and forgot how much that I love this song. There’s no denying Mr. Joel’s impact on rock and roll, the man is a genius.

6.     “Positively 4th Street” – Bob Dylan– Believe it or not I have Dylan on my I-Pod. Again there’s no denying his impact on music history and could be the greatest artist to have ever walked this earth. I absolutely love this song and could listen to it all day. Raise the glass and serenade everyone around “Do you take me for such a fool… Yoooouuuu see me on the street..” Classic.

7.     Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out” – Bruce Springsteen – I remember when my uncle Gary was dating his wife, Mary, back in the 1970’s and I visited her parent’s house and I went right over to their record collection. Her brother Andrew, had the “Born to Run” album and I listened to it every time I went over. Love this tune, my favorite Springsteen tune.

8.     “Rave On” – Buddy Holly– What else can anyone say about the sad loss of this man. We could only imagine how he would have developed into (think early Beatles to “White Album” Beatles-that is my guess). Awesome tune that will get the party started or keep it rolling..

9.     “Long As I Can See The Light” – Creedence Clearwater Revival –In my opinion, the greatest American Band ever and it such a shame that the brothers still can’t get along but while they were together, I have a hard time thinking of a better band. I get the chills every time I hear this song. I’ll never forget that one Spin class when Jim was so pleased that we played this song and he sung it word for word. Things like that psyche me up like nothing else. I love when people feel it. With this band, you have to feel it-friggin’ awesome tune.

10.     “Suite: Judy Blue Eyes” – Crosby, Stills & Nash- How many times was this song played on classic rock radio during the 1970’s and 1980’s? But you know what- it deserved to be played as much. This more than seven minute classic tune is a national treasure and should be stored in the Smithsonian.

11.    “Ohio” – Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young –Ranks up there as one of the greatest “protest” songs ever recorded in U.S. history. The music is absolutely phenomenal and isn’t it weird how we can all sing along to this song when there was such a tragedy? I wonder about things like this but again the music is priceless.

12.     “Victim of Love” – The Eagles- My all-time favorite Eagle song. I LOVE THIS FREAKING SONG!!! This is rock and roll at it’s best!!! I’m telling you right now-put on a good set of headphones and tell me this isn’t one of the greatest songs ever recorded???!!!! “Some people never come clean.. I think you know what I mean..”

13.     “One Night” – Elvis PresleyThe King of Rock and Roll- period end of story. I can just picture my dad swaying his “fifties” hairdo (like Elvis’s) around in a circle as he imitated Elvis and singing like he was the King. My dad knows every word of every song ever recorded. How could I not love rock and roll music without Elvis? Thank you Dad for your passion in music, which has been passed down to me. Elvis is the man.

14.     “Silver Springs (Live Version)” – Fleetwood Mac – This is another song that I get the chills every time I hear it. I was in a Spin class in Danbury CT last year and the instructor threw this song on his list. I didn’t think it would work but it does (and did). I will never forget that moment as we were struggling up “hills” and clearly remembering how much I love this song.

15.     “Rock and Roll Soul” – Grand Funk Railroad- Don’t even try to say these guys shouldn’t be on the list. In their “heyday” they were the biggest band in the U.S.-period end of story. Listen to the driving bass in this song and the unbelievable vocals. This band kicks ass I’m sorry.

16.     “New Speedway Boogie” – Grateful Dead– Another band that I am not the biggest fan of but again there’s no denying their impact on American music. I do have some of their songs on my I-Pod and this is by far my favorite song by these guys. Love the blues boogie twist.

17.     “Crosstown Traffic” – Jimi Hendrix– So many songs to choose from but if you want everyone to get out of their seats and “headbang” or gyrate, then look no further than this song. No other way to listen to this track BUT LOUD!!!!!

18.     “Call Me The Breeze” – Lynyrd Skynyrd-. This is a knee slapping tune that again will get you out of your seat and dance all around the room. This is another case of “What could have been?” And by no means to I mean any offense to the current members of Skynyrd, it’s just when a band had the talents of Ronny Van Zant, well there’s no telling where this band would have went. Phenomenal piano solo in this track and this is pure fun..

19.     “Seek & Destroy” – Metallica-. Now this may throw the party into overdrive as this is pure metal. And for many “Tallica” fans this was the only great album in their opinion. Taken from their first album “Kill ‘Em All” this track has stood the test of time and has always been a fan favorite at their shows. These boys always give it their all and their live shows will blow you away. Have to go down in history as one of the greatest American bands of all-time.

20.     “American Girl”- Tom Petty– Don’t Cha just love the bass in this song? Then when Petty breaks in with his vocals, well it just doesn’t get much better. Folks- this guy is a living legend and he is to be treasured. If you have never seen him live, you’re missing out. This is American music at its finest, thanks Mr. Petty for giving us all of yourself!!

21.     “The Full Bug”- Van Halen– Do you want one of the most rocking electric songs that VH has ever made? Look no further than this blistering track from their “Diver Down” album. I can remember being in my bedroom when I was growing up and I made the walls shake whenever this song came on. Diamond Dave, Alex, Michael & Eddie were at the top of their game and they still are, obviously with Wolfgang now aboard the train called Van Halen.

22.     “People Are Strange” – The Doors– Ok for those people who know me a long time, they know that I have never been a huge fan of two of the biggest bands ever- Pink Floyd and The Doors. Now I respect and appreciate their massive impact on rock music but there are more than a few songs that I like. This track is perfect for the Halloween weekend and fits the many people I see riding the NYC subway.

Trivia Questions

Answers from last week:

1.     True- He played the congas

2.     False- They were once married and Jack took Meg’s last name.

3.     The number 3- (All the “E”’s on the “Elephant” album are number 3’s).

4.     “Get Behind Me Satan”

This week’s trivia (Random)

1.     Who played lead guitar on David Bowie’s smash hit “Let’s Dance?”

2.     What is Bob Dylan’s real name?

3.     True or False- Led Zeppelin is the only band to have had all their albums reach the top 10 on Billboard charts?

4.     How did Black Sabbath get its name?

Name That Tune

Answers from last week:

1.     “Scenes from an Italian Restaurant ”- Billy Joel

2.     “Use Me”-Bill Withers

3.     “She Will Be Loved”-Maroon 5

4.     “Ladies First”- Queen Latifa

Can you guess the title from the following lyrics from part of the song?

1.     “I’ve been lost now days uncounted and its months since I’ve seen home.. ”

2.     “Hey Mister, have you got a dime..mister, do you want to spend some time.”

3.     “I’m just mad about Saffron.. Saffron’s mad about me…”

4.     “Ol Mississippi she’s calling my name.. catfish are jumpin.. that paddle wheel thumpin..”

Back on this day in 1970, a Miami court sentenced Jim Morrison to 8 months hard labor and a fine for exposing himself during a concert in Miami.

Back on this day in 1978, Kiss Meets the Phantom of the Park premiered on NBC. I remember watching this with my Grandmother in the living room of her house when I was 13. I loved it because it was KISS!!

Back on this day in 1982, Elton John played a royal command performance for Queen Elizabeth in London.

If it is your birthday today, you share the same birth date with Grace Slick, Chris Slade (drummer for Manfred Mann’s Earth Day and also AC/DC) and Otis Williams (Temptations) and Timothy B. Schmit.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

