Errols Weekly Music Update.

September 25, 2009

Weekly Update – 09/25/09

Them Crooked Vultures at Roseland Ballroom on Thurs. Rocktober 15. Pre-sale tickets on sale now for Citi card holders only. General public ticket on sale is tomorrow at noon. $45.

Snoop Dogg at Nokia Theater on Thurs. Rocktober 29. Tickets on sale today at noon. $49.99

“Powerhouse 105.1” featuring Chris Brown, Keri Hilson, Fabolous and many more at the Izod Center on Tues. Rocktober 27. Pre-sale tickets on sale today at 5:00 p.m. – 11:00 p.m. and the password is: Access. General public tickets on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. $48, $60.50, $78 and $203.

Kayne West and Lady GaGa on their “Fame Kills” tour stopping at the Izod Center and Nassau Coliseum on Tues. Dec. 22 and Sun. Jan. 3, 2010, respectively. Pre-sale for Citi card holders only begins next Thurs. Rocktober 1 at 10:00 a.m. General public tickets on sale next Sat. Rocktober 3 at 10:00 a.m.

Twisted Sister at Nokia Theater on Sun. Dec. 6 for “Christmas on Broadway.” Pre-sale tickets for American Express cardholders only until noon today. General public tickets on sale today at noon. $39.99

The Cranberries at Nokia Theater on Wed. Nov. 18. Pre-sale tickets for American Express cardholders only go on sale next Wed. Sept. 30 at 10:00 a.m. and goes until noon on Fri. Rocktober 2. General public tickets on sale next Fri. Rocktober 2 at noon. $35.

Govt. Mule at the Beacon Theater on Thurs. Dec. 31. Tickets on sale next Fri. Rocktober 2 at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event).

Vince Neil at The Capital One Theater in Westbury NY on Wed. Nov. 25. Tickets on sale tomorrow at 12:30 p.m. $39 and $49.

Elefant at the New York Fillmore on Sun. Nov. 15. Tickets on sale tomorrow at noon. $18 ($20 day of show).

311 at the Hammerstein Ballroom on Fri. Nov. 27. Pre-sale tickets for Citi card holders only on sale now through next Thurs. Rocktober 1 at 10:00 p.m. General public tickets on sale next Fri. Rocktober 2 at 10:00 a.m. $49.50.

Slightly Stoopid at Terminal 5 on Thurs. Nov. 19. Pre-sale tickets for American Express cardholders up until 11:00 a.m. this morning. General public tickets on sale today at noon.$29.50.

Longwave at the Bowery Ballroom on Sat. Nov. 14. Pre-sale tickets for American Express cardholders up until 11:00 a.m. this morning. General public tickets on sale today at noon. $13.

Kenny Rogers at Mohegan Sun on Sat. Dec. 5. Tickets on sale Mon. Rocktober 5 at 10:00 a.m. $35.

DMX at BB Kings on Sun. Nov. 22. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $30.

Other items:

The nominations for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Class of 2010 were announced this week and for the first time, KISS has been selected despite being eligible for the past ten years or so. The Red Hot Chili Peppers were chosen on their first year of eligibility as well as LL Cool J. Other nominations include Genesis, The Stooges, The Hollies (how they are not in the Hall already is a travesty), Darlene Love, Donna Summer, ABBA, The Chantels (some great songs- “Maybe” “The Plea” and “I Love You So”-They are in), Laura Nyro and Jimmy Cliff. This is the most diverse set of artists that has ever been nominated.

I would have to say that even though I love Kiss, I’m not sure if they will get voted in this year-although that may be doubtful because now that they have put their name in the hat as they begin their 35th anniversary tour- so why nominate them now after all these years and not put them in? (see Black Sabbath). And to be quite honest, I really have to think about putting these guys in the same Hall that houses the King, The Beatles and The Mighty Led Zeppelin as well as many others which are “no brainers.” I will equate Kiss to the late Gil Hodges (not that I ever saw him play) who never went into the Baseball Hall of Fame even though there have been many, especially from Brooklyn, who have stated that he deserves to be in the Hall. Kiss will have their “section” of fans that will strongly feel that they deserve to be in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and just like many who point to Bill Mazeroski, who made the Baseball Hall, even though his stats are-in the opinion of many- not Hall of Fame “worthy”-the Kiss fan will point to the “non-rock” Hall of Famers and say that they should be in just on that fact alone. I would say that is not a real argument and if you look who has been voted into the Hall in the same genre as Kiss, I would say that the bands that are in there already are better than Kiss, again in my opinion. Please “Kiss Army” don’t hate me, I love Kiss but again I’m on the fence- I can see the arguments from both sides. If Rush and Deep Purple can be ignored for so long, it makes you wonder about this nomination.

Again, no offense to the Chili Peppers but I don’t see them as a first time ballot Hall of Fame band. These guys deserve to get in but I’m not sure they should go in on their first year of eligibility. Think The Who, The Rolling Stones, Led Zeppelin and obviously the Beatles.. these are all first time, no doubt about it Hall of Famers… now when I think RHCP I’m not there on the first ballot. Same goes for LL Cool J- the man was a pioneer and made an impact on the genre known as “Rap” but do you think of him the same way as you would Run DMC? Probably not, there are even some fans who would say that Public Enemy made more of an impact than LL but again I’m not saying he doesn’t deserve to be in there-just not in his first year.

When I think about The Hollies and The Stooges not being in the Hall of Fame it’s like I’m in a dream state, can this be true? The Hollies, not in the Hall? With all their great songs?Are you kidding me? The Stooges need to be in based on the impact they made on their genre of punk. The Hollies need to be in based on the beauty of their songs. Darlene Love has put in her dues and time so she as well deserves to be voted in. She was on the ground floor of females who made music that will last forever. She made timeless classics and if there was no Darlene Love, there would not be the many who followed her. If the cement basement is the foundation, she’s the earth underneath that cement. The same goes for the Chantels, they were there in the beginning and blasted down the doors which made it possible for women bands to be taken seriously. They made some great songs and I clearly remember my dad playing their songs many times in our house growing up. The song “The Plea” was always a party favorite at the house and I heard that song “many a times.”

I would have to say that Donna Summer and ABBA will have to wait at least another year before they get in, I think both eventually will get in but it will be close. I was never a big fan of Genesis- I know there is a huge division of the fan base as the original fans will say that Peter Gabriel made Genesis and they were never the same after he left. But on the other hand, The Phil Collins era put them on the road to “commercial” success. In my opinion, this band deserves to be in.

I have to hand it to the advertising team for Visa because the latest TV commercial depicting a cross section of people dancing to Rick James “Super Freak” is the best commercial out there right now. How cool is this commercial? I love it.

Pearl Jam has released its ninth studio album-“Backspacer”- and Rolling Stone Magazine gave it a four star rating. Brendan O’Brien is back at the controls and it’s the first time since he did “Yield” with them back in 1998. RS points out that this new album is their best effort since “Yield.” The entire album is only 37 minutes long- a definite “throw-back” time like those of the 1970’s and 1980’s.

Eminem and Apple Inc. are going to trial as talks have broken down between the two entities. M has accused I-Tunes of having used 93 of his songs in a downloadable format without his permission. His management team has stated that they want part of the $16M profit that Apple has made off of the 93 songs and $4M from “Aftermath Records” who supposedly approved the digital downloads.

Alice In Chains new album- “Black Gives Way to Blue” –which will be released this Tues. Sept. 29 did not receive a favorable rating from Rolling Stone as it only muscled out a 2.5 star rating. We’ll see what the fan base of Alice has to say on AIC’s first album with new singer Will DuVall. I do like their new single “Check Your Brain” sounds like the classic AIC we’re all use to.

Harry Connick Jr. has released an album of “covers” called “Your Songs” and according to I-Tune listeners it’s not so good. Many are asking where the real Harry has gone. He covers Sinatra, The Beatles and The Carpenters among many others. Check it out.

Children of Bodom, a heavy metal band, has put out a “covers” album themselves and actually do a Britney Spears song “Oops I Did It Again” and I’ll tell you what- I love it. They do a fast moving version of the CCR classic- “Looking Out My Back Door”- hold on tight!!! They cover Poison, Pat Benatar as well as Judas Priest and others. Check it out, I think you’ll like it. This is the pick of the week.

Carrie Underwood has released a new single called “Cowboy Casanova.” Is there anything that this woman can’t do? She can sing softly, “country” and rock out when she wants to-this is a country/rock song that will rattle your boots. Check it out.

Janet Jackson has released a new single called “Make Me” and man this is a fast moving song. This will be at the clubs this weekend, if it hasn’t been already. Get ready to dance your butt off. I like it.

Gene Simmons and Paul Stanley will be on the Howard Stern show on Tues. Rocktober 6 to promote their new album “Sonic Boom.” Less than 11 days to its release and less than 15 days to their show at Madison Square Garden. Did you get tickets? Don’t be shut out.

Album Review: “The Monsters of Folk” by The Monsters of Folk released on September 22, 2009.

I have to tell you that Jim James (otherwise know as “Yim Yames” on this album) has really grown on me and there is something about the music that is in him that draws me in. He has hooked up with Conor Oberst and Mike Mogis of “Bright Eyes” Fame as well as M. Ward (the other half of “She & Him”) and created such a pleasant album that should put a smile on your face. There really isn’t a bad track on the disc and this is the perfect CD for just hanging out with friends on the back deck or inside the house for a dinner party. I was never a really big fan of the Grateful Dead but my gut tells me that their followers would be attracted to this album. If you looking for a piece of work to just “chill out” and enjoy, then look no further than to this recording, you will not be disappointed.

The album starts off with the soul like “Dear God (Sincerely M.O.F.)” and conjures up images of Marvin Gaye singing while George Harrison plays the sitar for me. The harmonization of the voices is stunning and it sounds like each of them takes a turn singing parts of the song which adds to the enhancement of the track as each has their own distinctive style. ‘Say Please” believe it or not makes me think of Soundgarden, I could picture Cornell digging this tune and playing it with his old band mates. There is a nice electric (yes electric) guitar solo in the middle that will catch your ears and make you stand at attention. This song will be on the radio very soon, if it is not already-very catchy tune. “Whole Lotta Losin’” is an upbeat song and after you hear it for the first time, you’ll be saying “Man that is a good song.” A great musical arrangement utilizing the piano with the guitar and just might remind you of a “RockPile” tune. “Temazcal” is a “down to the bone” very raw sounding tune which will quickly have you close your eyes and sway your head back and forth. This will also take you back to the early days of CSN&Y as you wonder where the music of that generation has gone, well it is right here and it’s downright enchanting. The “Right Place” is one of my favorite tracks on the album and it clearly has “My Morning Jacket” influence written all over it and that’s because of Mr. James. I’m telling you know folks, this album will flow so nice and quickly, that is a tell tale sign that an album is good. Sing this song around the fire on you next camping trip, this is nice. ‘Baby Boomer” definitely sounds like something that CSN could have recorded back in the 1960’s. It almost has that “Simon & Garfunkle” feel to it as well. The song is a finger snapping tune as you lie in a field of grass on a hot summer day. “Man Named Truth” reminds me of a song that Pete Seeger would perform; it has a nice melody with a twinge of banjo that accentuates the tune. This is folk music at its best. “Goodway” is a short sweet song that sounds like something that the Everly Brothers would record today if they were still around. It has that country feel to it, a knee slapping good time.

Track # 9 – “Ahead of the Curve” could be the best track on the disc and it will make you either listen to it so many times that you know the lyrics or you look up the lyrics (sorry I bought from I-Tunes) to sing along. I’m real impressed by this quartet, vocally as well as their talents musically. “Slo Down Jo” is a raw song that sounds like Yim on his tribute to George Harrison, this is the most laid back tune on the disc. I would even recommend this song for new parents to sing to your baby to help them fall asleep. It’s that soft… “Losing Yo Head” is the perfect song for a barn dance and is the most upbeat song on the album but still has that “folk” feel to it. Again the harmonies are top notch as Yim takes the lead vocals. This is up there as one of the best tracks on the disc, it is pure fun. “Magic Marker” takes it back down with that clear hollow sound (do you know what I’m talking about?). This song resonates in Elvis Costello’s corner as I could definitely see him singing along with the boys-or Monsters as they are known-to this tune. Very nice, calm and soothing song. “Map of the World” starts off real low and quickly ascends into a finger snapping “Simon & Garfunkle” like tune. I’m not sure who is singing the lead but he really sounds a lot like Mr. Simon, I bet Paul would like this tune as well. It takes a little too long to end but other than that, no complaints. “The Sandman, The Brakeman and Me” (weird title I know but that’s what’s in) is a story for many commuters who can relate to being on a long train ride home after a lenghty tough day at work. Warning, if you listen to this song you might become so relaxed that you may fall asleep and miss your station stop. (You know how annoying that can be, right?). This song will calm the children right as they head for bed. The last track on the disc –“His Master’s Voice”- is a wonderful tune that is very spiritual and you will be hooked on the lyrics. As the track ended I was splendidly surprised on how much I like this album. After only one reason, I’d venture to say that for its genre, this could be the best one made this year and would definitely crack my top 20 albums of 2009. If you are looking for something very laid back, with a sprinkle here and there of some spice, then this is the album for you. This has excellent musicianship as well as fantastic vocals. Buy it now.

“TOP TEN” :

This past week while “channel surfing” I came across a show on VH1 and at that particular moment was a duo performing a “knock-out” song and I immediately dropped the clicker. It was Kelly Clarkson teaming up with the phenomenally talented Melissa Etheridge performing one of Melissa’s classics- “Bring Me Some Water.” (The show was some kind of “Diva” special with Paula Abdul as the host and I caught the tail end of the special-it appeared there were more than a couple of past American Idol female contestants). Their performance blew me away and set me on the path of pulling out some of Melissa’s albums to determine what I think are her ten best songs. Again this is hard because her catalog is full of so many quality songs. I defy you to find a singer with more passion than Melissa Etheridge. She gets me so psyched when she just…well does… what she does. She can flat out rock with the best of them and then pour her heart out on the next tune and bring tears to your eyes. I remember the first time I saw her with my wife; we went to NYC when they use to hold out door concerts on the West Side, as she opened for Little Feat. There was a real buzz about the opening singer that night and everyone milling around told their neighbor not to wander away because we were all about to witness the next big artist on the music scene. Needless to say they were right, both my wife and I were blown away by her performance. The next time she came around to NYC she sold out the Beacon Theater for three straight nights and the rest they say is history. She has overcome so much in her career but the one thing that has remained constant is her enthusiasm to create the best music that bleeds out of her. There are moments in music history which people will never forget and for me, her performance on the 2005 Grammy Awards show will forever be etched in my memory bank as she respectfully and fervently covered Janis Joplin’s “Piece of My Heart.” Melissa:your music is a part of my life (and many others) and for that I thank you. With that said, here are my picks for her top ten songs: (If I were allowed eleven songs, number eleven would be “Angels Will Fall” from her 1999 release “Breakdown”).

10.     Occasionally– The first time I heard this song was when she opened for Little Feat- it was just her voice, her guitar and her hand using the guitar as a bongo to create one of the most unbelievable raw songs that I have ever heard. I can clearly remember being around so many people but this song had a way of lifting me off the ground and I felt like it was just Melissa singing to me.

9.     2001– This could be one of the coolest songs she has ever recorded and if you listen closely you would think that U2 was the backing band on this tune. This is the hidden classic on her super solid “Never Enough” album which was released in 1992. “Meet me in two, zero, zero one” and then she jams away on the guitar. Put this song on with a good set of headphones and believe me you will be blown away on how great this song is.

8.     Skin Deep Every time I put this song on, I squint my eyes and try to match the avid way that she sings her songs. This song has a funky grove that will have you shaking your shoulders while your feet try to keep up with the beat. It’s a “stop & go” type song and when she wails on the acoustic guitar in the middle of the tune.. well I’m speechless.

7.     Breathe– I was trying to stay away from “covers” (obviously the aforementioned “Piece of My Heart” is pure greatness) but her spin on this 1992 “Greenwheel” single is something that can not be ignored, dare I say it is better than the original? In my opinion, most times covers are not as good as the originals but as usual there are always exceptions to the rules and in this case I would state that this version is stellar.

6.     Let Me Go –“Am I the snake inside your Garden?” is the very cool opening lyrics to this friggin’ powerful song from her second album “Brave and Crazy.” Put this song on and tell me this is not great rock and roll or just plain great music, no need to put a label on it, right? Love the bass lines that climb up and down while Melissa keeps the train moving with her acoustic guitar playing.

5.     I Run for Life– Obviously we all know what it was written for and again the first time I heard it, I wanted to climb up the same steps that Rocky does in Philly. “They will never get a piece of my soul..” That what this woman has- SOUL!!!I can remember riding the bike in Spin class as this song blared from the speakers and we were in “standing” position, pushing ourselves all the way to the make believe yellow finish line, brings a tear to the eye.

4.     This Is Not Goodbye– This is one of those songs that when I put it on, I know I am going to cry. (like “Everybody Hurts” by R.E.M. or “Calling All Angels” by Lenny Kravitz). It is a very painful song to listen to but for some reason I can not tear myself away from it, I try, believe me I try, but her voice is so spectacular that it keeps me hanging on every word that she sings. Pure masterpiece.

3.     I’m The Only One – Melissa has this very distinct style of the blues/rockabilly and I think this song solidifies my theory. When is the last time you have heard this song? Do yourself a favor, this weekend while you are cleaning the house, open all the windows and make sure the walls shake as you keep putting up the volume. The chorus is addictive and you will be singing “But I’m the only one…” all day long.

2.     Bring Me Some Water– As mentioned above when I saw Kelly and Melissa performing this classic it really took me back to the early days when she was just bursting on to the music scene. This song will rock your socks off. It has it all- rhythm, blues, rock, roll and just about anything else that makes you get out of your seat and most of all- the passion. You will be acoustic air-guitaring as you bounce around the room and try to match the spirit and soul of Ms. Etheridge- No- you’re going to have to try harder. C’mon with some more heart!!! OK you are getting close. This is what she does to you.

1.     Like The Way I Do –Ok you’re probably saying- “finally he has picked a number one song that I know”- and I know she has made so many great songs after this appeared on her first album but there is something about this song that psyches me up in a way that no other song does. She “had me on the very first notes of the song.” This is the ultimate song for passion. I’d say that this is the most passionate song ever recorded. Melissa puts everything into this song- her heart, soul, muscle, sweat and tears. When she rips into the microphone towards the end of the song and belts out “electrify and roooccckkk yoooouuu” you have to ask yourself- does it get any better? Well the answer is no. This is a top 100 rock and roll song of all-time, period end of story.

Trivia Questions

Answers from last week:

1.     Rick Wills

2.     Jason Bonham

3.     Tramontane

4.     Three. “Debut,” “Double Vision” and “Head Games”

This week’s trivia (Random)

1.     True or False? Steven Tyler of Aerosmith does not like to be called Steve?

2.     Who was a staff song writer for “Happy Days” and “Joanie Love Chachi” before joining KISS in 1982?

3.     Jimmy Page is regarded as one of the best guitarists ever with his work with Led Zeppelin. Who did he play with before Led Zeppelin?

4.     For whom did the Eagles serve as a back-up band?

Name That Tune

Answers from last week:

1.     “Free Will”- Rush

2.     “Rock and Roll Band”-Boston

3.     “Happy Birthday Sweet Sixteen”-Neil Sedaka

4.     “Love Train”- The O’Jays

Can you guess the title from the following lyrics from part of the song?

1.     “I have a mansion, forget the price.. ain’t never been there, they tell me it’s nice..”

2.     “If you want to live your life, live it all the way and don’t waste it..”

3.     “Just say you will, say you will, say you will…”

4.     “You love her, but she loves him and he loves somebody else..”

Sadly back on this day in 1980, and one of the saddest days in music history, John Bonham– the greatest rock drummer of all time in my opinion, passed away. Obviously later that year, the nation was shocked when Lennon was killed. But if you were old enough to remember, this was as much a shock to the system as Lennon was. Led Zeppelin was never the same again and nor could they be.

Sadly back on this day in 1975, Jackie Wilson suffered a heart attack during a performance in Cherry Hill NJ. He lapsed into a coma and then passed away eight years later.

Back on this day in 1970, The Patridge Family TV show made its debut on ABC. The show lasted four seasons.

Back on this day in 1993, the Postal Service released a commemorative stamp of Patsy Cline.

If it is your birthday today, you share the same birth date with Gary Alexander (The Association who did the classic “Cherish”).

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

