Errols Weekly Music Update.

September 18, 2009

Weekly Update – 09/18/09

Bruce Springsteen & The E-Street Band at Madison Square Garden on Sun. Nov. 8. Tickets on sale today at noon. $69.50 – $102.50.

Stevie Wonder at the Borgota Event Center in Atlantic City on Sat. Rocktober 31. Tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event).

Lenny Kravitz at the Wellmont Theater (Montclair NJ) on Fri. Rocktober 23. Tickets on sale today at noon. $59.50

The Cult at the Wellmont Theater (Montclair NJ) on Tues. Nov. 10. Tickets on sale now. $35.

R. Kelly has added a second show at the WAMU Theater at Madison Square Garden on Sat. Rocktober 17. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $59.50 – $89.50.

Rob Zombie at the Hammerstein Ballroom on Tues. Dec. 1. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $37 and $59.50. Also appearing at The Mohegan Sun on Thurs. Dec. 3. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $35.

Daughtry at the Arena at Harbor Yard in Bridgeport CT on Tues. Nov. 17. Tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. $29.75 and $39.75. (On sale “wrist band” between 8:00 a.m. and 9:15 a.m. Number will be drawn at 9:15 a.m. Anyone arriving after 9:15 a.m. goes to the back of the line).

Dashboard Confessional at the Nokia Theater from Mon. – Wed. Dec. 7 – 9. Tickets on sale now. $32. (Starting time for the show says 5:30 p.m.)

Devo at the New York Fillmore on Fri. & Sat. Nov. 20 & 21. Pre-sale tickets on sale now for Citi card holders only. General public tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $55.50 ($58 day of show).

Wolfmother at Terminal 5 on Sun. Nov. 8. Pre-sale tickets for American Express cardholders up until 11:00 a.m. this morning. General public tickets on sale today at noon.$27.50.

Mark Knopfler at the United Palace Theater on Thurs. May 6, 2010. Tickets on sale this morning at 11:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event).

Flyleaf at Gramercy Theater on Wed. Nov. 18. Tickets on sale today at noon. (Live Nation Event).

Jonny Lang at the Capital One Bank Theater in Westbury NY on Fri. Nov. 6. Pre-sale tickets for Citicard holders only on now. General public tickets on sale today at 12:30 p.m. $49.

George Benson at the Capital One Bank Theater in Westbury NY on Thurs. Rocktober 22. Pre-sale tickets for Citicard holders only on now. General public tickets on sale today at 12:30 p.m. $51.50 and $61.50.

Johnny Winter at the Stone Pony on Fri. Jan. 8, 2010. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event).

Type O Negative at Starland Ballroom in Sayerville NJ on Fri. Rocktober 16. At the Webster Theater in Hartford CT on Tues. Rocktober 20. Also at the Nokia Theater in NYC on Thurs. Rocktober 22. And at “Metro” in Chicago IL on Fri. Rocktober 30 (For you Monica!) Ticket info to follow but should be soon. If you’re a fan check early and often.

For Parents: Jonas Brothers at Mohegan Sun on Fri. Rocktober 9. Tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. $82 – $92.

Other items:

Thoughts and prayers go out to the family, friends and band mates of Mary Travers, who passed away this past Wednesday Sept. 16, from the side effects of chemotherapy after successfully recovering from leukemia. Mary was part of the infamous trio- “Peter, Paul & Mary”- (“PP&M”) who are forever etched into the fabric of this country. They performed their music so gracefully but their message was way more important. They were right in the thick of the turbulence of the 1960’s and had this way of “calming the choppy waters.” PP&M were still going strong and sadly their last performance together was May 20, 2009. (There’s that date again for me, May 20, my mom passed away on that date in 2004). Can you think of another band that made you sing along to their songs faster than any other artist(s) out there? Take “Leaving on a Jet Plane” for example- this causes any crowd to immediately put their arms around the person next to them, start swaying and singing “So kiss me and smile for me.” Instinct quickly takes over and you don’t even realize it. (By the way this song-along with “If I Had a Hammer” have become a tradition at our annual New Year’s Eve party and everyone sings along-you just can’t help it). Or how about the enchanting “Wedding Song (There is Love)?” Can you imagine how many couples had this song as their first dance? Their catalog is extensive and you really should own at least a few songs in your music library. (Of course “Puff The Magic Dragon” has to be mentioned and they have many more) “Baseball, apple pie and Peter, Paul & Mary…” Mary: Thank you for your beautiful voice and for making that voice heard in so many different ways. You will be missed. For a beautiful tribute to Mary, go to the PP&M website, click here http://www.peterpaulandmary.com/

Ok by now everyone has had their opinion on Kayne West, even the President chimed in. I was not watching the MTV awards when Sal called my house and informed me of what Kayne had done, he could not believe it. (I stopped watching the MTV awards a few years back because it’s too painful to watch; it never seems organized and once I saw the same host this year I immediately changed the channel as quick as I could. Why can’t MTV go back to what it once was?, which was good). Since then I have seen the replays I think every hour on the hour. My two cents is that Mr. West should be banned from attending the next few award shows, including the Grammy’s. It’s enough already, he’s done this more than a few times and it is really getting old. His arrogance shines brighter than his talent, which is tremendous.

The buzz this week belongs to Megadeth as their new album release –“Endgame”- is getting rave reviews across the board, including the always tough to satisfy- the “Blabbermouth.net” website. Blabber has given the album an 8.5 (out of 10) rating as well as the readers-which is a miracle because if it’s not “death metal” then “it ain’t no good.” Apparently Mustaine has a lot left in the tank and has put together a lineup that has produced a venomous piece of work that the thrash fans have been waiting for a long time. I will most likely make the plunge as I have been purchasing their latest albums before this one. \m/ \m/

Joe Satriani and Coldplay have settled their copyright lawsuit. Coldplay will not have to admit any wrongdoing for their song “Viva La Vida” which Satchamo claimed sounded an awful lot like his “If I Could Fly.” No details have been released as neither side is allowed to discuss the outcome but the lawsuit filed by Joe is now over.

Ace Frehley’s first album in 20 years- “Anomaly” was released this past Tuesday and according to I-Tune listener’s the wait was worth it as it scored a 4.5 star rating out of five. “Foxy & Free” kicks off the disc and I have to say it rocks baby!! “It’s a Great Life” is a “freaking nice tune.” “Space Bear” kicks… well you know. If you are an Ace fan it sounds like you won’t be disappointed.

Mark Knopfler has released a new album called “Get Lucky” and I have to say I like the title track very much. Fans of his will flock to this album and it is receiving solid reviews as well.

If you are looking for some really good “pop” music look no further than Marie Digbys “Breathing Underwater” album which was released this week. Songs like “Daybreak,” “Avalanche” and “Breathing Underwater” will definitely put a smile on your face.

Mariah Carey has covered Foreigner’s “I Wanna Know What Love Is.” Now I know what you’re thinking about that song… well save it. Anything that can attract attention to one of my favorite all-time bands is something I will take. There’s no denying that song is one of the most popular pop songs ever recorded but yet at the same time was probably their downfall (ask Warrant about “Cherry Pie”). Anyways, she does a beautiful version and who knows this may catapult more interest in her new album coming out on Sept. 29-“Memoirs of an Imperfect Angel” and at the same time, make people explore the huge talent of Foreigner. (see below my favorite ten songs from them).

“And 5, now this is most important, Rat…comes down to making out… whenever possible.. put on side 1 of Led Zeppelin IV

Side one of Motley Crue’s Dr. Feelgood released on Sept. 1, 1989.

I can not believe it is the 20th anniversary since the release of Motley Crue’s “Dr. Feelgood.” Now everyone has their own “secret indulgences” and I have to admit that Motley Crue is one of them. Now don’t get me wrong when I was in my “single early 20’s,” I was a huge fan and would always jump at the chance to see them live. I am still a fan and went to their reunion tour back in 2005 with my younger brother and a buddy, the show was great. But if you remember back earlier this summer when I wrote about “The Offspring” on this page and admitted that I liked their songs but made it clear that I listen to them by myself as some of the song titles, along with the content were sometimes juvenile as well as raunchy. I guess the same would apply for Motley Crue, I love their sound as well as their intensity and consider Tommy Lee one of the best rock and roll drummers out there. But fast forward twenty years later, as I approach the second half of the “forties” with two children now, I cringe a bit when I look at the song titles, as well as the content, and clearly have to listen to these songs by myself, either when I have the house to myself or in my car. But don’t get me wrong, I love the album (and all of you should know by now that it is all about the music) and am not ashamed to admit it but again it is a secret indulgence, but obviously if I am nominating side one as a perfect album side, it’s not too much of a secret, huh? Oh well I digressed, back to the music.

Side one kicks off with a 42 second intro called “T.N.T.” (Terror in Tinseltown) that begins with sort of an “ending” to a song as Tommy, Mick & Nikki jam and quickly fade out (it might remind you of “Eruption” by VH a little) as you hear voices coming over a CB channel and then BOOM!!! the title track is in your face with one of the best beginning hooks of any rock song made during the 1980’s. There is no other way to listen to this song but LOUD!!! Call it “hair rock” or “fake metal” or call it what you want, I don’t care- it gets me psyched and that is one of my criterions for music. Mick Mars, the guitarist, always looks like he’s sleeping but has a “lights out” guitar solo that will wake up most neighbors. One of the best memories I have of this song is when the health care trainer at MBIA asked me to make a CD together with some “fast moving” songs so as to use them in the “boot camp” class, so of course I obliged and put this track on the disc. Now most of the CD was rock and/or metal so when it came to this song towards the end of class, I guess some of the non-class gym members were getting a headache because as this song was blaring out of the speakers inside the group exercise room, a woman came running in the room holding her ears and demanding that Dave shut the song (and the rest of the CD) off because it was “horrible.” I have to be honest and say that I had a smile on my face because that is the same reaction I would get from my parents when I was younger and would blast off to this song. (I was hoping that Dave would play it again). Track # 3 –“Slice of Your Pie”- Ok yes you guessed it one of the topics I don’t like to discuss but again the music is what grabs my ears instead of the lyrics-yes I know it’s unavoidable. I do have to say that their background vocals are well harmonized (with a little help from Mr. Steven Tyler) and the guitar solo reminds me of Kiss. Then believe it or not, the song takes a twist and sounds a lot like The Beatles “She’s So Heavy” from Abbey Road. If I were Paul and Ringo I would sue The Crue for copying this song. Listen and tell me it’s not exactly like ‘She’s So Heavy” for most of the ending of the song. Oh well, it still rocks.

“Rattlesnake Shake” is a rocking tune that actually utilizes some horns throughout the song. Tommy really shines on this track as his drumming is crystal clear. You can actually do the “twist” to this song. I forgot how much I like this tune. Then it’s on to one of the most “kick ass” (sorry for my language, you see what the Crue does?) rock songs ever recorded by The Crue, “Kickstart My Heart” is a true story about Nikki Sixx overdosing from drugs, dying and coming back to life after an injection to his heart. If you are a New York Jet season ticket holder and have walked through the parking lot before a game starts you will no doubt hear this song blaring from someone’s car, it’s inevitable and it is usually cranked to the highest volume level the stereo system can provide. Love the ending where the guitar says “Kick Start My Heart.” Side One ends with the nice ballad – “Without You”- and yes call it a cheesy power ballad but it is still good. The bridge to the chorus gives it that extra nice touch and I’d have to say that this could be one of the best “power ballads” ever recorded. My arms are swaying back and forth just like the audience on American Idol, I can’t help it. OK quick turn over to side two to start rocking out again with “Same Old Situation.”

Now there are lots of folks out there that point to “Dr. Feelgood” as the Crue’s best album and I really couldn’t argue too much but I still say their debut album is their most excellent album. Now side two has some “fillers” in my opinion but side one of Dr. Feelgood is a perfect album side. Go ahead- it still is the summer time- go out and indulge just like I have this past week-you won’t be disappointed.

“TOP TEN” :

Going with the theme of how hard it is for me to pick my favorite ten songs from some of my favorite bands, I decided to do it again this week and go with Foreigner. Now as many know, as I have repeated this many times on this page, I wanted to be Lou Gramm while growing up as a teenager. At that time, he was my favorite rock and roll singer and no one could touch him, in my opinion. I don’t know who the new singer is and honestly don’t want to know-Lou Gramm made Foreigner, with my apologies and no offense meant for Mick Jones-who founded the band. So obviously the songs picked are from “Gramm-only” albums. I make no qualms that I am a huge fan of Foreigner- no matter what label you may apply to them- “Corporate Rock Band,” or “Pop” band- Say what you will but Foreigner for a large portion of the 1980’s was one of the best rock bands of that era. Period… end of story!!!

10.     Women– The first time I heard this song I didn’t think it was Foreigner. It was totally different from anything that they had ever done, I didn’t recognize Lou’s voice until the part where his says “Ahhh Women wanting sympathy..” This song rocks the cover right off the ball. There is no other way to listen to this but as LOUD as you can. My wife is screaming for me to turn it down… I can’t hear her.

9.     Starrider– One of the most dynamic songs Foreigner has ever recorded as Jones and Gramm share the vocals in this powerful passionate masterpiece. The arrangement of this song could be their best ever. Love the part where Gramm bleeds “Speed increasing” and when Jones has his guitar solo-well that’s just the icing on the cake.

8.     Blue Morning, Blue Day I love the story that Lou tells in this song. ‘You hear me talking, you don’t hear what I say..” Lou Gramm was all about passion and he gave his all in every song he ever recorded for Foreigner. This definitely ranks up there in the best vocal recording he’s ever done. The musicianship of the entire band really stands out on this track, I know I focus a lot on Lou and Mick but the other band members were the bread and butter for their success.

7.     At War With The World– “Never had no need for any military aid and I never took charge of the light brigade..” This is one of their best songs as well, it will rock your socks off. Love the tempo changes as the songs kicks off with a bang but then grooves slowly with Jones guitar carrying the load as Dennis Elliot (original drummer) smashes through one of his best efforts on the skins. And of course, Gramm’s vocals are top notch. A hidden classic from their debut album.

6.     Dirty White Boy –Man does this song rock or what? I love it from top to bottom and I think I hear my wife again..“Don’t drive no big black car..” I can do this song with my eyes closed on vocals and if it appears on Rock Band I will get 100% on every level, including master. Sounds like Roger Daltrey when the song ends, right? I remember Carol Miller from WNEW-FM radio back when 102.7 was 102.7 would always say that the ending reminded her of the Who. Perfect song for working out!!

5.     Long, Long Way From Home– I would put this song up to any rock song in the history of rock music and it can hold its own without one iota of a doubt. This is the perfect song for the best pair of headphones that you can find because you will hear the song switch from ear to ear. I can listen to this song all day long, all month long, … you get the picture, right?

4.     You’re All I Am– Every time I hear this song I look for my wife’s hand and ask her to dance. I can clearly remember my boys watching us (while we didn’t know) as I serenaded my wife with the passionate lyrics as we waltzed around our living room. I love this song!!! I can listen to this all day long, all month long……love the drumming again from Dennis Elliot. (who by the way is now a professional sculptor). Listen to Gramm’s vocals and tell me he wasn’t the best?

3.     I Don’t Want To Live Without You – This was our wedding song, yes I picked it but my wife grew to love it as well. I knew when this song came out that this was going to be my wedding song. When I hear this it takes me back to the GJOA club in Brooklyn NY as we floated to our first dance together as husband and wife. I remember it like it was yesterday. Again I was singing in her ear and didn’t care who was in the room; that is what Lou Gramm does to me.

2.     Love Has Taken It’s Toll– I always wanted to perform this song at a Karaoke night because this is another song I can nail. (Of course I won’t have the voice but we can play Lou lower in the background so I sound like him). Love the buildup at the beginning and then wham-“Some girls you meet seem so complete..” This song friggin’ rocks, rolls and makes you move. It’s the last song on side 1 of “Double Vision.” Again, Play it LOUD!!!! Or get a “backhand across my face…”

1.     Seventeen –I know people are asking: what song is he talking about? I know I am the king of obscure songs and this one probably takes the cake but if you are a true blue, die hard Foreigner fan like me, you know this song. Oh yes you do and again it’s the last song on a side one, this time from the under-rated “Head Games.” In my opinion, this is the heaviest song they ever recorded and if you are a garage band just starting out- pick this track to cover and see why this is my favorite tune from this band. Mick Jones has a blazing guitar solo that will flatten you as the song begins its ending. I can remember lying on the floor in my bedroom on 53rd street in Brooklyn with this song just blasting out the speakers (of course no one was home) and I knew my surrounding neighbor’s were probably screaming for me to turn it down but like now, I can’t hear anything but this great song.

Trivia Questions

Answers from last week:

1.     Tom Petty

2.     5

3.     “The Pretender” at 18 weeks

4.     “Best of You”

This week’s trivia (Foreigner)

1.     Who played with both Foreigner and Peter Frampton’s band?

2.     He played with Foreigner in the “later years” (after Gramm) and his dad was a legendary drummer, name him.

3.     Name Foreigner’s only instrumental tune.

4.     How many albums did the original six band members make together?

Name That Tune

Answers from last week:

1.     “Sunshine on My Shoulders”- John Denver

2.     “Pink Houses”-John Mellencamp

3.      “See You in My Nightmare”-Kayne West

4.     “Get Down Tonight”- KC & The Sunshine Band

Can you guess the title from the following lyrics from part of the song?

1.     “There are those who think that life has nothing left to chance..”

2.     “Dancing in the streets of Hyannis we were getting pretty good at the game..”

3.     “Tonight’s the night.. I’ve waited for.. because you’re not a baby anymore…”

4.     “Tell all the folks in Russia and China too don’t you know it’s time..”

Sadly back on this day in 1970, Jimi Hendrix passed away at the young age of 27 from a drug overdose.

Back on this day in 1983, Kiss appeared on MTV without their makeup for the first time ever. Now that was huge!!

Last year on this date, the Village People received their star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

If it is your birthday today, you share the same birth date with the late Dee Dee Ramone, Frankie Avalon (“Venus”) andJimmie Rodgers (‘Kisses Sweeter Than Wine”).

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

