Errols Weekly Music Update.

September 11, 2009

Weekly Update – 09/11/09

Lenny Kravitz at the New York Fillmore at Irving Plaza on Sun., Mon., Wed., Thurs. & Sun. Rocktober 11, 12, 14, 15 & 18th. Pre-sale tickets now available through Twitter and if you are a Citi-card holder. General public tickets on sale tomorrow at noon. $62.50 ($65 day of show). He puts a fantastic show, you need to catch one of these nights. Also performing at the Borgota in Atlantic City on Sat. Rocktober 24. Tickets for this show on sale at 10:00 a.m. tomorrow morning (Live Nation Event). Isn’t Rocktober the best? Kravitz five nights, KISS three nights!!!

Sean Kingston at The Gramercy Theater (Blender) on Wed. Nov. 4. Tickets on sale today at noon. (Live Nation Event).

Brad Paisley and Dierks Bentley at Madison Square Garden on Wed. Rocktober 21. Pre-sale tickets begin this morning at 10:00 a.m. until 10:00 p.m. tonight and the password is: HEBRAD. General public tickets on sale tomorrow at 9:00 a.m. $39.50 – $59.50.

Mannheim Steamroller brings their Christmas show to The Beacon Theater on Thurs. Dec. 3. Pre-sale tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. until 10:00 p.m. tonight and the password is: HEHOLIDAY. General public tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. $54.50 – $129.50.

Metalocalypse featuring Mastodon & Dethklok at the Hammerstein Ballroom on Thurs. Rocktober 29. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m.$34.50.

Echo & The Bunnymen at the Hammerstein Ballroom on Sun. Nov. 22. Tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m.$46.50 and $79.70.

Jonny Lang & Robert Cray at the Bergen Performing Arts Center in Englewood NJ on Wed. Nov. 11. Tickets on sale now. $29, $42, $54, $69 and $99. Nice duo show!!!

Train at Webster Hall (125 East 11st in NYC) on Tues. Nov. 10. Tickets on sale today at noon. $35.

Dark Star Orchestraat Nokia Theater on Fri. Nov. 27. Pre-sale tickets for American Express cardholders only on sale now until noon today. General public on sale today at noon. $29.50

A.F.I. at Roseland Ballroom on Fri. Nov. 13. Tickets on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. $29.50 ($31 day of show).

Steve Miller Band at the Capital One Bank Theater in Westbury NY on Wed. Nov. 11. Pre-sale tickets on sale now if you are a Citi card holder. General public tickets on sale this Sun. Sept. 13 at 12:30 p.m. $71.50 and $86.50.

The Meat Puppets at Bowery Ballroom on Wed. Nov. 25. Tickets on sale today at noon. $16 ($18 day of show).

Deer Tick at Bowery Ballroom on Thurs. Rocktober 22. Tickets on sale today at noon. $15.

Lynyrd Skynyrd at Wellmont Theater in Montclair N.J. on Wed. Nov. 18. (This is N.J.’s radio station WDHA 30th Anniversary show) Tickets on sale today at noon. $45, $85 and $125.

Hatebreed at Nokia Theater on Fri. Dec. 18. Pre-sale tickets for American Express cardholders only begin next Wed. Sept. 16 at 10:00 a.m. through Fri. Sept. 18 at noon. General public tickets on sale next Fri. Sept. 18 at noon. $26.

Canadian Brass Christmas Special at the Town Hall in NYC on Sun. Dec. 13. Tickets on sale next Fri. Sept 18 at noon. $35 – $60.

Taking Back Sunday & The All-American Rejects at the Mohegan Sun on Fri. Nov. 6. Tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. $25.

Other items:

Thoughts and prayers are with the victims and families of the victims of that terrible tragedy which occurred eight years ago today. It’s always a tough day on 9/11 and today is no different.

Matt Sorum, drummer for Velvet Revolver (also prior drummer for Guns ‘N Roses and before that The Cult), will be filling in for Motorhead as their drummer-Mikkey Dee signed a contract to do the Swedish version of the TV reality show “I’m a Celebrity, Get Me Out of Here.” Sorum has not had too much time to practice, he’s only had one rehearsal prior to this past Wednesday night show at the New York Fillmore. He’s been learning the songs by watching live performances via DVD’s. Lemmy doesn’t seem to be too worried about it- “He’s a good drummer, he’s a professional” is what Mr. Kilmister said. Sorum will be filling in for part of the North American Tour. Pretty cool, huh? That’s a nice gig for any drummer, who wouldn’t want to play for Motorhead? I’m surprised Dave Grohl didn’t jump at the chance.

Kind of a shock that American Idol has named Ellen DeGeneres as one of its judges-of course to replace the recently departed Paula Abdul. A confessed freak of a fan for the show, I’m not sure her credentials really serve as someone who has an ear for talent, but I could be wrong. I know one thing, she sure is entertaining and my guess is she will make everyone laugh. It will be interesting to see her go up against Simon.

There are no specifics as of yet but it appears that Diamond Dave & the boys from Van Halen will be touring again in 2010. Eddie is recovering from hand sugery but has been reportedly jamming with his son and brother on some rarified Van Halen songs that haven’t been played live in over 25 years. Without a doubt, I’m in again.

Anvil, the Canadian band that has been getting national attention after all these years as a result of a recent movie about them, (and they opened for AC/DC at Giants Stadium) will sit down with Conan O’Brien on Tuesday Rocktober 6. They will also perform their “anthem”- “Metal on Metal” which is a bonus track on the re-issue of their new album “This is Thirteen.” I know my youngest son will not be watching them.

Godsmack frontman, Sully Erna, fresh off of their tour with Motley Crue- “The Crue Fest 2” said it was good for them to get out there and squash the rumors that they were breaking up but also stated that it was their worst tour because Motley Crue put up this ego competition. Sully lamented that they just wanted to play music and hang out with the other bands but the Crue would flaunt them by letting them know that they were going to have a “kick ass” show so they had better be ready. This made for an uncomfortable summer tour and Sully let the Crue have it by saying “I’m going to go out there every night and **** crush you on stage-make sure that you look old and fat, and go home with a nice big paycheck.” Ouch!!!

Rob Halford (again don’t ask you should know) will release his first solo album in more than seven years and get this- it is a collection of holiday songs. “Halford III-Winter Songs” will be released on Rocktober 26 and will include “What Child Is This,” “O Holy Night” and “Oh Come All Ye Faithful.” The first single “Get Into The Spirit” will be released on Sept. 29.

Album Review: “Baptism” by Lenny Kravitz released on May 17, 2004.

Since Lenny Kravitz has just announced a five night concert appearance in New York I figured I would review my favorite album from this very talented musician and songwriter. This album was originally intended to be a “funk” album but he changed his mind, picked up an acoustic song and poured his heart out in many of these songs. I will always remember this album because it came out three days before my mother passed away and as previously mentioned many times on this page, the song “Calling All Angels” rips my heart out as it was written about Lenny’s mother (Roxy Roker who appeared as “Helen Willis” on the TV show “The Jeffersons”) who passed away in December of 1995 from breast cancer. From top to bottom, I love every song on this disc, so here goes:

The album starts off with the very cool, psychedelic groove of “Minister of Rock ‘N Roll.” If you don’t know, Lenny plays all the instruments on his albums and has his own band when he tours. I love the way he screams “What are you waiting for Noooooowwwww!!!” This has the Beatles and Rolling Stones influence written all over this bad boy. He can rock with the best of them and then take it way down. “I Don’t Want to Be A Star” takes it down a bit but not that much and the lyrics in this song speak volumes on how he really is only in for this because of his passion of music and to spread the words of peace and love. The chorus is addictive and you will be singing all day long “I don’t want to be a star..” There is an awesome guitar solo towards the very end of the song that makes you stand up and take notice. “Lady” is a head-bopping song that will have you “air-guitaring” in no time. I believe this was one of the songs that a friend of mine who was married about six years ago put on a CD mix that was one of the gifts that everyone received as they exited the reception. I remember things like that because I’m a huge fan of Lenny. Then it’s on to one of the most heart-breaking songs I have ever heard in my entire life, the aforementioned “Calling All Angels” and how apropos especially for today as we remember all the angels that were killed eight years ago on that terrible day that no one can ever forget. Every time I hear this song, I get the chills and most times the tears just start streaming down my face. The whole arrangement of this song is staggeringly beautiful especially with all the string instruments. This could be the best song that he has ever written, very sad but at the same time so beautiful. I guess Lenny didn’t want to stay low because the next song-“California” blazes out of the gate and has that familiar “Lenny” sound, if you know what I mean. I love the lyrics as he tells you that he was a New Yorker but his heart belongs in California. This song moves and grooves with the best of them, especially when it comes to the “bridge” of the song- play this LOUD and dance around the room!!! Perfect work-out song!!

Then it’s on to the “Funk-a-delic” sounds of “Sistamamlover.” I love the “Jimmy Page” type sounding guitar behind his vocals, freaking awesome baby!!! Listen to Lenny’s passion as it bleeds through your headphones and dance into oblivion. The “giddy-up” is back in effect with the smashing “Where Are We Running?” Do you know how certain songs remind you of a person, place or thing? Well this song reminds me of my wife because she absolutely loves this song (as well as Lenny-especially when he takes his shirt off at his shows). I can picture her trying to play the guitar and drums in the air while she dances around the room as we all try to keep up with her. I love the piano part at the very end of the song. “Baptized” takes it back down again and the thing that stands out to me is Lenny’s voice. This could be one of the best vocal efforts he’s had on any song he has ever recorded. Every time I hear it, I feel like I’m at the top of a mountain while a light rain falls as I look up to the sky and sing my heart out. Talk about passion? This song exudes it and the nice touch is the female back-up singers that give it that extra special kick. The straight-forward rock is back with the blazing “Flash” and the saxophone work is phenomenal. This song is perfect for your car on a nice day, roll your windows down and think back to your younger days while blasting this song because some days it really feels like life goes by in a “flash.”

“What Did I Do With My Life” is another song that just flat out grabs a hold of me and doesn’t let go. (I kind of get that “John Lennon solo material feel” with this song). It makes me wonder what I did with my life, this song is real deep. As you take a deep breathe, all of a sudden you are dancing to the hip hop groove of “Storm” where Lenny gets help from the one and only Jay-Z. This is one of my favorite songs on the album, I love the beat and when Jay-Z breaks in with his rap, it gets that much better. This song deserved more exposure than it received back in 2004, so if you don’t know it-make it a point to get familiar with. “The Other Side” is another poignant tune that tugs at the heart, perfect song for that nice quiet night with your significant other as you raise a toast to this great song. The last song on the album-“Destiny” is so raw that I feel like I am in the recording studio with him. I can picture just being in the sound room listening to his emotions as they pour out, an unbelievable gripping song. “No one can see the things I see.. no one can tell me how to feel.. it’s my destiny.” This is another song where I defy you to tell me that you don’t like it, impossible.

Lenny Kravitz will be voted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in my opinion and it will be in large part from this body of work that he called “Baptism.” This album is fantastic, period end of story!!!

Last week when I found out that there would be a Foo Fighters greatest hits disc out on Nov. 3, I started to go through their catalog and decided to put down their top ten songs, of course in my opinion. Now I know I say this about all the bands that I cover but I think picking my favorite ten songs from this band was the hardest for me out of any other band I have done so far, including the Beatles. As I went through their library I had forgotten how much I loved their “The Colour and The Shape” album which came out in 1997. I also remember when “There is Nothing Left to Lose” album was released in 1999, I was trying to get everyone that I worked with at the time to buy this album. I listen to that album in its entirety every time I put it in rotation in my car. Then during the summer of 2005, I couldn’t stop listening to “In Your Honor I & II. I think I stopped listening that year in November. In addition, my oldest son is a huge fan of the Foo’s and I asked him to try and list his ten favorite songs by them. He stated that this was a difficult task because “they have so many good songs.” So here are both my favorite Foo songs and my oldest son’s top ten Foo Fighter songs: His songs are highlighted in dark red. (If I was given 11 songs, then I’d have to say that “Wattershed” from their debut album would be number 11):

10.     My Poor Brain– I can remember the first time I heard this song, the beginning was real weird, distorted and I was thinking “what is this?” Then it calmed down and I was like “Ok this is getting good.” It was a real soft Dave Grohl voice and then 47 seconds into the song, it was like I was hit over the head with a hammer- I loved it. Then it went soft again and then back to the bashing of the drums. (How good is Dave on drums?). “This is a Black out..” That’s what it feels like. Most excellent song.

10.     Walking After You (Live) – One of my favorite Foo Fighters albums is their live album “Skin and Bones” and personally I think that the live versions of most of their songs are better than the studio versions.“Walking After You” is a perfect example, it’s a calm song and I just love the acoustic guitar and vocals.

9.     End Over End– The last song on disc 1 of “In Your Honor.” There is something about this song that gets me every time. In the beginning when I was listening to this album I would sometimes skip over this song (hey I’m being honest) but when I put my I-Pod on “shuffle” this song would come up again and again. I fell in love with it. Whenever we go to Cape Cod, I make sure I hear this song at least once as I stroll the beach for a week in the summer. There is nothing better than walking the beach with a good set of headphones with this song on a beautiful summer day.

9.     Learn to Fly – This song holds a special place in my heart, whenever I hear it I think of when my dad, my brother, and I used to dance around in the living room to this song when I was little.When my mom got the album “There Is Nothing Left to Loose” for my dad for his birthday and this was the only song my brother and I wanted to hear.We played it over and over and over and over again and never got sick of the song.

8.     Resolve Another song from disc 1 of “In Your Honor.” The groove in this song is so smooth and the chorus is so addictive. (Love the video as well). When I hear this song I think of how far Dave Grohl has come as an artist, it’s really unbelievable.

8.     Best of You (Live) – This is such an awesome song and the live version is the best!!Dave Grohl does a spectacular live version of this song.The best part is the when the audience kicks in and start singing “Ohhh Oh Oh, Ohh Oh Oh.” I wish I could have been in the crowd!

7.     Stranger Things Have Happened– Now if you remember my review of the Foo’s last album-Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace” I wasn’t so keen on many of the tracks, including this one. However the more I listened to the album over the past few years, this is one song that is a standout. Dave puts all of his passion into this one as this could have been on the second disc of “In Your Honor.” Love the acoustic guitar and Grohl’s vocals.

7.     Razor – As the closing track for disc two of the album “In Your Honor” this song is flawless.Everything is perfect from the guitar to the vocals.I could listen to the guitar intro all day, it’s so awesome.I remember the first time I heard this song was during vacation in Cape Cod and one day my dad had this song playing so loud you could hear it throughout the whole house, and when it finished he said something along the lines of “that is a great song” and I agree 100%.

6.     Tired of You –Very simple song and my oldest son stated that I pick the most obscure songs that no one else would put on their top ten list but what can I say? I love this friggin’ song. Did you know that Brian May is the guest guitarist on this song? Again a very simple song but addictive for me.

6.     In Your Honor – This is my pump up song!I used to listen to this during track practice; this song is just plain amazing.Everything is great the guitars, the drums, the vocals, and the screaming.This is definitely one of their best heavy songs.

5.     See You-This almost like a jazz song. Most people who have not heard this track would not believe it is The Foo Fighters but that is what makes Dave Grohl so special, he can play it rough, loud, soft, jazzy and just plain good all around. You know a song is cool when guys are credited with “handclaps” on the album. How could I not put it on the list?

5.     Let It Die – This is one of the best songs on the Foo’s latest album “Echoes, Silence, Patience, and Grace.” It was #1 for four weeks on the rock charts. The song transforms from a slow acoustic song into an awesome heavy song.The best part is the heavy chorus it is so cool!

4.     Gimme Stitches– Love the funky groove in this song. Every time I go into a music store (FYE mainly) I run over to the shelf pick this album, flick it under the set of headphones just waiting to be used, click on this song and squeeze the headphones as tight as I can take to my ears as I let the song infiltrate my whole body-runs to the top of my head down to my toes. Awesome song!!

4.     Virginia Moon – This is probably one of the most beautiful songs Dave Grohl has ever recorded.His voice singing in harmony with Norah Jones is just pure magic.It reminds me of nice cool summer nights.Along with a great acoustic guitar solo this song is probably one of the most underrated Foo Fighters songs ever.

3.     Breakout – Have to admit the main reason for this song being here at number three is due to both of my boys. Back in 1999, my oldest was 5 and my youngest was 2 and I would put this song on the stereo (as well as “Learning to Fly” as we all pretended we were planes circling the table in the living room) and we would jump, bounce and dance all over the room like we were being electrocuted. My wife would hold her ears as Grohl would screech “Breeeeaaakkk Oooouuuutttttt.” Great memories that I will never forget. This went on to be a boot camp classic as well. Hold your ears.

3.     My Hero – How could anyone not like this song?One of the things that stand out in the song is the drums.Dave pounds on those drums with all his might and it’s fantastic.This combing with great guitars, lyrics, and vocals make this one of my favorite songs.

2.     The Pretender– This probably is the best Foo Fighter song that they have ever recorded. Nothing gets me more pumped than this song. I love the way Taylor bangs on the drums and how the song moves. The video is freaking awesome, I wish I was Grohl in this video: the hair, the guitar, the voice-There is no other way to listen to this song but LOUD!!!! This is absolute excellence, magnificence, brilliance and just plain superior to anything out there.

2.     All My Life – Talk about a great pump up song!Everything about this song is fantastic; it’s so cool when the song goes from soft to very loud.This is a perfect song to play really loud from speakers, the best part is the end chorus when Dave starts screaming “Done, done on to the next one done, I’m done and I’m on to the next!”

1.     What If I Do? –The great thing about disc 2 “In Your Honor” was the fact that Dave Grohl could make beautiful music and not care what anyone thought. This song lands in my top ten songs of my entire life, so far. It just may be the number one song. If I was on an desert island (you know you’ve played this game) this would be one of the songs I would pick and to be honest disc # 2 of “In Your Honor” would also be a desert island disc. This song gives me chills every time I hear it. I love the way it changes gears with “Carolina” and it comes back with “What if I do…”

1.     What If I Do? – Like my father, my favorite Foo Fighters song is “What If I Do?” from the second disc of “In Your Honor.”I don’t know what it is about this song but there is something special about it.It gives me peace of mind.Everything about it is just magnificent; I could listen to it all day long. Most people don’t know this song, but it truly is a hidden gem.

The cool thing about this list is that we both have the same number one song but better yet we have given you eighteen different songs to pick and choose from. (or to scream at your computer to tell us we’re crazy) Now I know there are probably many of you out there yelling for “Everlong,” “Monkey Wrench,” “Times Like These” and “Long Road to Ruin.” Those are also great songs- you see it is tough. But that is what is so great about “top” lists, everyone has their own opinion and I was blown away on how different my list was to that of my son.

Trivia Questions

Answers from last week:

1.     Rick Wakeman who went on to the band “Yes.”

2.     Phil Collins at the age of 19.

3.     The Eagles “Greatest Hits”-29 Million and counting. MJ’s “Thriller” is best selling album worldwide of all-time (110 million) and since his death “Thriller” album sales in the U.S. is up again, so he may have over-taken the Eagles already. He was at 28 million but will probably be over 30 million by year end.

4.     Carmine Appice (his brother Vinny plays with “Heaven and Hell”)

This week’s trivia (Foo Fighters- these questions were done by my oldest son as he has read the biography of Dave Grohl)

1.     After Nirvana disbanded due to Kurt Cobain’s death what famous rock singer offered Dave Grohl the position of drummer in his band?

2.     Nirvana went through how many drummers before finally sticking with Dave Grohl?”

3.     The Foo Fighters hold the record for the longest running #1 song on the Hot Modern Rock Tracks.What song made this record and how long did it stay at number one?

4.     What is the only Foo’s only song to go platinum?

Name That Tune

Answers from last week:

1.     “Revival”- The Allman Brothers

2.     “Tighter and Tighter”-Alive ‘N Kickin’

3.     “A Horse with No Name”-America

4.     “Respect”- Aretha Franklin

Can you guess the title from the following lyrics from part of the song?

1.     “If I had a day that I could give you..I’d give you a day just like today..”

2.     “Cause the simple man baby pays for the thrills, the bills and the pills that kill..”

3.     “Tell everyone that you know that I don’t love you no more …”

4.     “Baby babe I’ll meet you same place same time where can get together..”

Back on this day in 1967, Frank Sinatra was denied credit at the Sands Hotel in Las Vegas and breaks two teeth resulting from the ensuing brawl.

Back on this day in 1971, The Jackson 5 cartoon debuted on ABC’s Saturday morning television.

Back on this day in 1977, David Bowie appeared with Bing Crosby for his last Christmas show taping as they performed a melody of the “Little Drummer Boy” and “Peace on Earth.” Bing died shortly thereafter.

Back on this day in 1962, Neil Sedaka married his wife Luba and are still together as they celebrate their 47th anniversary, Congrats Neil!!!

If it is your birthday today, you share the same birth date with Tommy Shaw (Do I really need to put down Styx?) and Dennis Tufano (The Buckinghams- “Kind of a Drag” or “Don’t You Care-remember those songs?)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

