Errols Weekly Music Update.

September 4, 2009

Weekly Update – 09/04/09

Jay-Z at Madison Square Garden on Fri. Sept. 11. Pre-sale tickets for Citi-card holders go on sale next Tues. Sept. 8 at 9:00 a.m. until 11:30 a.m. (Password is the first six digits of your Citi card without the dashes). General public on sale is Tues. Sept. 8 at noon. $54.50.

Brad Paisley and Dierks Bentley at Madison Square Garden on Wed. Rocktober 21. Tickets on sale next Sat. Sept. 12 at 9:00 a.m. $39.50 – $59.50.

Trans-Siberian Orchestra at The XL Center in Hartford CT on Sat. Nov. 14 at 3:00 p.m. Tickets on sale Sat. Sept. 19 at 10:00 a.m. $25 – $57. Also appearing at the Izod Center in NJ on Sat. Dec. 12 at 8:00 p.m. Tickets for this show go on sale Fri. Sept. 18 at 10:00 a.m. $21 – $68.

Roger Daltrey at Music Box at the Borgota in Atlantic City on Fri. & Sat. Nov. 13 & 14. Tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event)

GWAR at the New York Fillmore at Irving Plaza on Sun. Dec. 13. Tickets on sale next Fri. Sept. 11 at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event).

Train at Webster Hall (125 East 11st in NYC) on Tues. Nov. 10. Ticket information to follow.

Jackson Browne at the Bardavon Opera House at 35 Market Street in Poughkeepsie NY on Fri. Nov. 6. Tickets on sale Mon. Sept. 14 at 11:00 a.m. $60.

Other items:

The Rolling Stones are denying reports that Charlie Watts has left the band. This news sent shock waves through the music industry as the Stones are approaching their 50th year together, but Stones management has stated that it is a false rumor. Whew…

The Foo Fighters will release their first “greatest hits” on Nov. 3. The disc reportedly will include “My Hero” “The Pretender” “Times Like These” and “Best of You.” It will also contain two new tracks, one which is “Wheels.” I thought it was going to be a whole new album but it’s two new songs along with their best. I’m kind of surprised that they would release it already but everyone seems to be doing it. (except for AC/DC!!!!)

Kiss has joined the Loud & Proud/Roadrunner Record label (just like Collective Soul-see below) for their new release-“Sonic Boom”- which will be part of a 3 disc release exclusively through Walmart on Rocktober 5. The disc will be $12.99 which is not a bad price for three discs, so I feel better now.

Amazon is offering an exclusive EP from Straight No Chaser– a 10 man a capella group that put out a fantastic holiday CD last year- is back with a six pack of non-holiday songs including covers of songs done by Jason Mraz, Amy Whinehouse, Stevie Wonder, Frankie Valli and the legendary Sam Cooke. I listened to the 30 second samples and I have to say I really like what I hear. For $6 you can’t go wrong, buy it now!!! They will also be releasing a new holiday CD on Rocktober 27.

Big rumor going around that Lars is trying to put together a Metallica tour with Megadeth, Slayer and Anthrax sometime in the near future. Metallica and Megadeth last shared the same stage in 1993.

According to the Wall Street Journal, Van Halen reportedly made an extra $1 million from their last tour in 2007 by taking tickets from Ticketmaster and letting scalpers sell them for much higher price. The scalper made 30% and the remaining 70% was split between Van Halen and Ticketmaster (including Live Nation). If the story is true, that really bums me out. Very sad situation.

The Scorpions are back in the studio and should have a new disc out by the spring of 2010. Looking forward to it, their last album-“Humanity Hour 1” was most excellent.

Album Review: “Collective Soul (Rabbit)” by Collective Soul released on Aug. 25, 2009.

Collective Soul released its eighth studio album, another self-titled but known as the “Rabbit” on their new record label- “Loud & Proud/Roadrunner Records.” This label mostly has “heavy metal” bands but now has added Collective Soul and they know what all fans of this band know: it has always been about the music and when you make good music you will attract fans as well as record labels. Maybe it’s a coincidence with being on a “heavy metal” label but this new album “Rabbit” is filled with lots of energy and is laden with guitar riffs throughout. Now of course there are a few softer songs that are sprinkled in but you will be surprised on how this album seems to continuously groove with some of their best guitar riffs/hooks since their last self titled album. This album is a must for the “die-hard” fan of the boys from Atlanta and I would say that after a couple of turns, the casual fan of this band will not be disappointed with this purchase.

The album blasts off with “Welcome All Again” which will hook you in and after Ed sings “the worlds now starting” about 1:12 into the song you will be “air-guitaring” to Joel’s cool riffs as Mr. Roland uses the phrase “yeah” a few times coinciding with Mr. Kosche’s riffs as Cheney Brannon prepares to break in with his slick drum part. Within two minutes you will find yourself completely engulfed with this song and waiting with baited anticipation for the rest of the album. “Oooohhhh welcome all my friends” as hopefully this will result in more people becoming fans of Collective Soul. Now when you first hear track # 2-“Fuzzy” – you might be thinking “what the heck just happened here?” I was all pumped up and now I hear somebody whistling? (I know only when Otis Redding whistles at the end of “Sitting on the Dock of the Bay” is whistling acceptable or when John Lennon whistles on “Jealous Guy”). However, please give this song a chance as it will definitely grow on you and before long you will be singing the chorus “Not Tonight Not Tonight…Oh No Oh No OK so let’s go.”Then towards the end of the song as Ed sings “We’re all just pissed here tho” it will conjure up images of David Bowie as it sounds like his influence all over this song. “Dig” is a heavy straight-forward rock song that deserves to be played very loudly. This song has some “giddy-up” to it especially when it transitions to the part where Ed is singing “We say we’re up then we say we’re down..” and Joel has a nice guitar solo. Track # 4-“You” was written by the whole band together, a first for them, and this song will be one of the “hits” from this album. It has a nice groove with the acoustic guitar and Ed’s vocals really stand out on this track as he accentuates the word “you” throughout the song. It’s a perfect song for you and your someone special.

“My Days” is my favorite track on the album as it has a crystal clear sound and Joel’s guitar really takes over this exceptional song. The arrangement is really good as the song changes gears a few times while the “rhythm” section shines brightly throughout. If you want to talk about a song changing gears, look no further than “Understanding.” It is like a song within a song. When I first heard it, I was blown away on how different the time changes are and how they make the two parts come back together to make it all work cohesively. The beginning will have you “air-guitaring” as your head and feet jam together at a nice pace, then BAM!!! The song shifts into fourth gear as the head-banging becomes apparent, then just as you are use to the fast pace, it drops back to that nice acoustic guitar pace. The song ends on a real slow pace-just picture the crowd swaying back and forth with their arms extended over their heads- as Ed laments “Do we understand, do we understand all the words we’ve said.” The toned down ending leads right into what could possibly be the best song on the album-“Staring Down”- the more and more you listen to this song will make you realize how good this band is, as this song is flawless. As the song heads to the bridge: “Long days, long nights” it gets that much better. The more I listen makes me realize that I may have to re-adjust my top ten favorite songs from these guys and put this song in there, it’s that good!!

“She Does” is another tight Collective Soul tune that will have you rocking out in no time as the catchy hook and chorus will have you singing you this song all day long. The crispness to this song adds to the perfect melody as the musicianship in this song really stands out. “Lighten Up” is as probably as rough as Collective Soul gets and it works, there is an “edgy-ness” to this song that really catches your attention. This song has a phenomenal driving beat that has to get you out of your seat. This would be a perfect song to anyone’s workout. Again the bridge to the chorus really kicks the song into gear as the volume has to increase as Joel wails on his guitar. I have to say the drumming on the song is the highlight of the tune. The rocking continues with the super cool “Love.” This song sounds like they recorded it when they first started out. The more I listen, I think this may become my most favorite song on the album but for now it is a close second. If I had to pick a song for people to listen if they have never heard a Collective Soul (again not likely but indulge me) “Love” is the song that I would play for them. If it did not move them, shake their head up and down or bring a smile to their face, then… I give up. Then as you hear the piano for one of the most beautiful songs they have ever recorded “Hymn for My Father” you realize that the album is over and you want more. (so if you do you can head to I-Tunes for three additional songs). Ed and Dean Roland lost their father four years ago and they dedicated this song to his memory-it is a poignant masterful song that will give you chills if you have lost someone close to you.

So there it is folks, another solid effort by the band called Collective Soul. As mentioned, the “die-hards” should already own this but if you are on the fence about this band, I’m telling you right now-buy it and you won’t be disappointed. I will acknowledge that it took more than a few turns to come to this suggestion but the more I listened the more I realized how fast the songs flew by and in my mind that is the number one test when listening to a new album. If it goes by quick, then you know that you like it. Now when I listen, I feel like the opening piano notes to “Hymn” comes so quickly and that is after ten songs. As I have mentioned in the past, there is a certain passion that this band possesses that draws me to them. To me, they do this for the music because of their passion for music. They have survived a rogue manager earlier on in their career which could have derailed them but they persevered and continue to make some of the best music out there today. And for that I am thankful and grateful. Play on boys!!!

Heavy dosage of Def Leppard for me this week, I was a big, big fan in their “hey day” and absolutely loved “Pyromania” and “Hysteria.” I wore out both album sleeves and remember when I first started working I would listen to Hysteria on the way to 25 Broadway and back home to Sunset Park Brooklyn. Now of course these are the more popular albums but I also love their debut album-“On Through The Night” as well as their follow-up “High ‘N’ Dry.” There are lots of good tunes on both albums and could automatically fill up ten songs on their own. Now just because it’s popular doesn’t mean that is not good (it took me getting older to understand this but anyway…) so I have to include some songs from Hysteria. Ok this is also tough but here goes my top 10 songs from Def Leppard:

10.     Animal– I can’t get enough of this song. I love it from start to beginning. “And I wantand I need…” The melody in this tune is so addictive and can be enjoyed by every member of the family, including Grandma. Play this on your next road trip and I guarantee you someone will ask to hit the rewind button and play it again.

9.     Wasted– This has Thin Lizzy written all over it as the song rocks out from the opening note on their debut album. This was Def Leppard before they were Def Leppard (if you know what I mean). The guitar work is addictive and this is a perfect song for those garage bands just starting out. Learn how to play this and you will go far. You can hear the raw energy on this track as the boys from England were trying to make it big and they did with this classic tune.

8.     Die Hard The Hunter Sort of reminds me of Metallica’s “One” in the beginning. This is the “sleeper” hit song on “Pyromania” and could be the best vocals from Joe Elliot on any Def Leppard song recorded. This song flat out rocks!! Put a set of good headphones on and tell me this isn’t a great recording??!!

7.     Mirror, Mirror– The next to last track on side two of “High ‘N’ Dry” the guitar work from their former great guitarist, Steve Clark, who unfortunately passed away in 1991, really stands out to me out of all the songs that he ever took part in. “Take a look into my eyes tell me what do you see?” Awesome song!!!

6.     High ‘N’ Dry-This song should be on “Rock Band” and/or “Guitar Hero.” This song has it all, the blazing guitars, the screeching vocals and the pounding of the drums-again perfect for Rock Band. Play this LOUD!!! \m/ \m/

5.     Two Steps Behind-OK yes I know it’s sappy but I need sappy in between the hard stuff. I love this song and it always takes me back to my friend’s wedding, Sal & Maria, where Maria danced to this song with her brother. This song can be used at special events and will definitely tug at the heart if it is something that means a lot to you. This song was also part of the “Last Action Hero” soundtrack.

4.     Hysteria– I try to listen to this song with no other distractions in the room, car or train as I never want to miss a note. I know it’s “poppy” or a “sell out” (to the die-hards) but I friggin’ love it. Every time I hear it, I really drift off to a better place.

3.     Bringing on the Heartache– How cool is this song? When is the last time you have heard this classic? Do yourself a favor, if you have it-listen now; if you don’t, run out and buy it. I remember being in Brooklyn “Under the L” on 86st street with this song blasting from my friends car as we disturbed the “disco” songs that were flaring from all the other cars. We got weird looks with scrunched faces as that neighborhood wasn’t use to rock songs but we were trying to enlighten.

2.     Too Late for Love– Love Joe Elliot’s voice as the tune starts out.. “Some where in the distance”.. this could be the best beginning to a song in the history of rock music and then as the song takes off a minute into it you can not help but bang your head slowly to this masterpiece. “But when it comes to playing life, she always plays the fool…” ‘nuff said!!! Play it LOUD!!!

1.     Women– I know what you’re probably thinking- “Out of all the songs Def Leppard has, you picked this one?”I don’t know what it is but when I hear this song I get so amped up. It’s not fast or that heavy but it has “it.” Do you know what I’m talking about? Sometimes you can’t explain it but all you know is that you FEEL it and it MOVES you. This song does it for me. I love the way Rick trails with his drumming. Again put on a good set of “Bose” headphones and take off.

Trivia Questions

Answers from last week:

1.     He was tired of the comparisons to Elvis, so he decided to dress in black.

2.     Everly Brothers

3.     Linda Ronstadt- “Blue Bayou”

4.     Emmy lou Harris- “That Loving You Feeling Again”

This week’s trivia (Random)

1.     Who played with David Bowie on “Hunky Dory” and went on to one of the most successful “progressive” rock bands?

2.     Who played percussion on George Harrison’s “Art of Dying” from his epic album “All Things Must Pass?”

3.     What is the highest selling album ever in the U.S.?

4.     Who co-wrote “Do Ya Think I’m Sexy?” and also has played drums for numerous acts such as Ozzy and Paul Stanley?

Name That Tune

Answers from last week:

1.     “Boots Were Made for Walking”- Nancy Sinatra

2.     “Walking After Midnight”-Patsy Cline

3.      “Nothing Can Change This Love”-Sam Cooke

4.     “Animals”- Nickelback

Can you guess the title from the following lyrics from part of the song?

1.     “People can you feel this.. Love is everywhere.. People can you hear it..”

2.     “Baby you touched-a my soul now.. Woman don’t let go now”

3.     “The first thing I met was a fly with a buzz and a sky with no clouds…”

4.     “Ooo your kisses… sweeter than honey guess what?. so is my money..”

Back on this day in 1972, John Lennon & Yoko Ono appeared on the Jerry Lewis Telethon.

Back on this day in 1969, The Youngbloods walked off the set of the Tonight Show on NBC due to poor sound quality.

Back on this day in 1971, the last episode of the Tom Jones show appeared on ABC TV.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

