Errols Weekly Music Update.

August 28, 2009

Weekly Update – 08/28/2009

KISS at the Mohegan Sun, Nassau Coliseum and Madison Square Garden on Sat., Fri. & Sat. Rocktober 3, 9 and 10, respectively. Pre-sale tickets for Madison Square Garden begin this morning at 10:00 a.m. until 10:00 p.m. tonight and the password is: HEKISS. General public tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. Mohegan: $75 – $95; Nassau: $21.50 – $125; MSG: $25 – $150. This is the “Kiss Alive 35” Tour. Buckcherry will be the opener.

Lynyrd Skynyrd at The Beacon Theater on Thurs. Rocktober 1. Tickets on sale this morning at 11:00 a.m. $39.50 – $99.50. Also appearing at the Borgota Event Center in Atlantic City N.J. on Sat. Rocktober 17. Tickets for this show on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event).

Mars Volta at Roseland Ballroom on Thurs. Rocktober 8. Tickets on sale today at noon. $42.

The Used at Roseland Ballroom on Tues. Rocktober 27. Tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. $29.50.

The Yeah Yeah Yeahs at Music Hall of Williamsburg Brooklyn on Tues. Sept. 29. Tickets on sale today at noon. $31.

The Zac Brown Band at Terminal 5 on Sat. Rocktober 24. Tickets on sale today at noon. $25 ($30 day of show).

Thursday at the Bowery Ballroom on Sun. Rocktober 25. Tickets on sale today at noon. $20.

Mika at the United Palace Theater on Fri. Rocktober 16. Pre-sale for American Express cardholders on now until 9:00 a.m. this morning. General public on sale at 10:00 a.m. this morning. $35.

Frankie Valli at the Music Box at the Borgota on Fri-Sun. Nov. 20-22. Tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event).

Michael Bolton at The Bergen Performing Arts Center on Thurs. Mar. 11, 2010. Tickets on sale now. $29, $49, $65, $95 and $115.

Keith Sweat at the BB Kings on Sun. Nov. 29. Tickets on sale tomorrow this coming Tuesday Sept. 1 at 10:00 a.m.$35

Other items:

Jay-Z will be performing a benefit concert at Madison Square Garden on Sept. 11 for the New York Police and Fire Fighters Widow’s and Children Fund that is for its members killed in the line of duty. Ticket info is scarce but it looks like Sept. 8 may be a date to purchase. Fuse will be making an announcement shortly. Jay-Z’s new album-“The Blueprint 3”- will be released on Sept. 11.

The article in the current issue of Rolling Stone Magazine about the Beatles breakup is riveting and kept my interest for the entire 11 pages. The more I read about the Beatles, especially the last couple of years, it appears to me that John was especially unkind and hurtful in many instances and didn’t care if he hurt others. Now I’m not going to say that he was the sole cause of the breakup- as there are two sides of the story (or in this case-four sides) but it sounds like he was really stubborn and tough to deal with. It seems that Paul was labeled as the perfectionist and appeared to be running the Beatles (by the other three) when according to John, he was the one who created the band and should have been the one to remain running the band. (Meanwhile he was all engulfed with Yoko). The three probably let their emotions get the best of them when they decided to name Allen Klein as their manager (this was after Mick Jagger informed them to steer clear of Klein) instead of Paul’s father-in-law-Lee Eastman. In the end, the three ended up suing Klein and McCartney went on to become one of the biggest money making performers in the industry under the management team of the Eastman family. Sounds like Paul never wanted the Beatles to end. Anyway that was my takeaway from the article by Mikal Gilmore.

With all the recent “exclusive” outlets for recent albums by Journey, AC/DC, Kiss, etc. you knew it was a matter of time before I-Tunes got involved and now with the upcoming Pearl Jam album, issued through Target, I-Tunes will now have a “Target” section for the album and include “exclusive” songs on their site that will not be included on the Target edition. I’m exhausted, are you? Can I just buy the same CD everywhere? And we all know the “extra” songs are either an acoustic version or songs that the respective band did not think “cut the mustard” for the album- so it becomes an “extra.” Is everything about money? Ok yes I know the answer….

Weezer has a new album to be released on Rocktober 27 and it’s called “Raditude.” The first single- “(If You’re Wondering If I Want You To) I Want You To”- (again I’m exhausted) is out on I-Tunes and I have to say I love it (inspite of the title). The song moves and is a perfect exercise song.

Yes I have purchased the new Collective Soul album-self titled- but will be known as the “Rabbit” album. I am giving it a couple of turns and it is getting a lot better. If you are a fan-it is a must. I’m still on the fence for the casual fan- you may have to give it a few more turns than the die-hard. I will say that this album has more “faster” songs on this disc than any that I can remember and a lots of guitar. As mentioned last week, their albums really do not have that much “filler.”

Smokey Robinson has released a new album- “Time Flies When You Are Having Fun” – and all I have read about this album states that it is a good one. He does a cover of The Jacksons “I Want You Back” as well.

Surprisingly Rolling Stone magazine has given only a two star rating for “Shaka Rock” by Jet. Rob Sheffield is quoted as saying “They’re back with another dull slog through the AC/DC catalog…” Ouch.

Artist ProfileRoy Orbison

It’s been a while since I have written an artist profile so I figured I would do one for the legendary Roy Orbison. I get on those kicks where I listen to an artist and soak them in for like a week or two, this week happened to be Roy Orbison. Now I would like to think that almost everyone out there reading this has to have a Roy Orbison song on their I-Pod or at least a “greatest hits” album in their music library. He was taken from us 21 years ago but his career spanned four decades. He was the one with “The Voice.” Elvis Presley stated that “Roy was the greatest singer in the world.” His compilation of records is so extensive that there is really no excuse for you not to explore the greatness of this man, from “Ooby Dooby” to “You Got It” and everything in-between. Now everyone clearly should recognize “Oh Pretty Woman” but the misconception about his career was that this was his last great hit. But that is totally false as he (and every other artist) ran into a buzz-saw called The Beatles. Roy left Monument Records in 1965 and signed a long term contract with MGM. What I love about Roy was that his records could stop you right in your tracks with his mesmerizing vocals (“Too Soon To Know”) but then rock and roll with the best of them. (“Claudette” or how about “Mean Little Mama?”). I put him in the same category for me as Patsy Cline with both of them having the ability to hypnotize any audience.

Now I will start off with the more popular songs that Mr. Orbison graced us with. Songs like “Ooby Dooby” and “Uptown” are pure “rock-abilly” that you’ll ever come across. “Uptown” is one of my favorites by the man from Vernon, Texas. “Candy Man” is a bluesy country song that has wonderful background vocals to flavor the most excellent vocals by Roy. The whole arrangement of this song from the harmonica to the what sounds like a bass guitar makes this song groove like gravy spreading over your mashed potatoes. How about the tune-“Dream Baby?”- Wow talk about a song that just captivates you? “I love you and I dreaming of you but that won’t do..” There is no way that this song will not make you move. Or how about the often covered “Mean Woman Blues?” I always like his version a little better than the Elvis version-dare I say? The guitar solo in Roy’s version is smoking and this song moves- you can use this in your next exercise class-Spin or Boot camp.

Then I’ll move on to such superior classics, that they need their own paragraph. “Only The Lonely (Know How I Feel)” is such a great song that I can listen to it over and over without ever getting tired of hearing it. “But that is the chance Yoooouuuuu got to take..” Phenomenal. One of my favorite all time songs from Roy is the impeccable “In Dreams.” This could rank up there as one of the greatest songs ever recorded, I would have love to been in the recording studio when they put the finishing touches on this baby, can you imagine? Everyone had to be awestruck, I can just picture everyone in the studio with “lock jaw” as they ponder if they could top this song-pretty much done, over and out-walk away because you’ll never be able to top it. The same feeling must have been present after “It’s Over” was recorded. As you listen to the arrangement and the quality of the song it really does sound like it was recorded last year or so. “All the rainbows in the sky start to weep and say goodbye… It’s Over… It’s Over… It’s OOOOOOvvvvveeerrr…” Ooops sorry I’m back. “Crying” is pure genius-Mr. Orbison makes you feel his pain and passion over losing that someone special. If you have had a recent breakup or loss, you won’t be able to listen to this song with crying-it’s that good.“Running Scared” is a gripping song that will have you wishing that you could sing like him-I know I do. As the song transitions with the violins making their entrance it just takes the song to another level as Roy belts out the ending, whew awesome!!!Of course “Pretty Woman” belongs in this paragraph “Mercy!!!” Talk about a timeless classic, even Diamond Dave and the boys from Van Halen covered this song almost 20 years after its release. Now I am going to throw another song into this paragraph and that is his holiday song “Pretty Paper” written by Willie Nelson. As I mentioned last December, this is my all time holiday classic and I NEVER grow tired of this song and NEVER will. This song always puts me in a good place even though it’s a sad tale and that is because of Roy’s voice. No one has ever replicated this song the way that Roy has performed it, no one ever will-period end of story!!

Moving on to some “lesser known” songs-but still unbelievably great in no particular order and they are: “Losing You” –it has that classic Roy feel to it with his passion bleeding through the speakers. “I don’t want to but I’m losing you..” He makes you feel every word he sings. “Too Soon To Know” could be one the best songs he has ever recorded-listen to his vocals and tell me you are not in a trance? Folks I’m telling you right now-his talent is something that we can never let die-pass it on down to your children’s children and so on. “A New Star”- here’s a suggestion- get your partner and tell them you want the next dance-put this song on and let it take you to a galaxy- yes far, far away. “Here Comes The Rain Baby”- all I can say if this doesn’t give you chills running down your back- you may want to squeeze your arm to see if you feel. I think just based on this song he deserved to be in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. “Walk On”- his vocals sound so close to your ears, so crystal clear that you think that he is in the room with you singing this song. “Communication Breakdown”- you will want to learn how to play guitar and sing like him after hearing this fantastic tune, his voice “climbs the ladder” at points and in my opinion he did that better than any singer in the history of music. “I’m in a Blue, Blue Mood”- just like Patsy Cline, they both have a way of making you love sad songs, don’t they? “Crawling Back” sort of reminds me of the Elvis version of Frank Sinatra’s “My Way” as the piano chords sound similar. Again the sadness of the song grips you as you float away, again hypnotized. I could go on and on about but I leave it up to you to explore.

Then in the 1980’s, The Traveling Wilbury’s were stoked to have the legend Roy Orbison join the band, “Lefty Wilbury” as he was known. “Handle With Care” was mostly known as Harrison’s song but when Roy chimed in with “I’m so tired of being lonely, I still have some love to give…” well what else can be said-that’s what everyone really remembers about the song-with no offense to George and the rest of the Wilbury’s. Or how about in the Jeff Lynn lead “Rattled”- the coolest part of the song is when Roy does his famous tremolo voice where he sounds like he’s singing under water. In “Last Night” Roy again shines brightly as he compliments Tom Petty with his “bridge” part before the main chorus. How cool was Roy Orbison in the Traveling Wilbury’s? He took the lead vocals in the song “Not Alone Anymore” and captivated a whole new audience in the 1980’s. (That could have been the best song on the album). He was so relevant that Jeff Lynn produced his last solo album-“Mystery Girl” and Roy collaborated with Bono and The Edge, Elvis Costello, Mike Campbell and Tom Petty. Listen to the song “Comedians”-written by Elvis Costello (produced by T. Bone Burnett) and tell me you are not blown away? He had this way of putting his own classic sound into a 1988 tune and make it so contemporary. The song will leave you breathless. And what about the classic “You Got It?” This is my wife’s favorite song by Roy Orbison, every time I hear it, I think of her and how she really gets into it. This is another song that I never get tired of.

Whew that took a while right? But it is worth it. Folks I beg of you- you need to own something by Mr. Roy Orbison. There is so much out there for you to explore and you will not be disappointed. This man ranks up there in the top ten male vocalists of all time (and his fans would probably say he was the best that ever lived). Rolling Stone Magazine listed him the # 13 best singer of all time (we all know that list was flawed). He was initiated in the second class of the Hall of Fame and the presenter was Bruce Springsteen. He was also voted the 37th greatest artist of all time by Rolling Stone magazine. Sadly he died of a heart attack on Dec. 6, 1988 at the young age of 52, just as his resurgence was sky-rocketing. I am a big fan of Roy Orbison, he has much to offer-go out and discover his music, you won’t be disappointed. Nobody sings like him.

Heavy dosage of Mr. Dean Martin this week as well and here is another example of an artist where it is necessary for everyone who listens to his music to pass it on down to their family and friends, so that his music will live on forever. (If I could put eleven songs-then number eleven would be “Memories Are Made Of This.”)

10.     Door Is Still Open (To My Heart)– “You’re as close to me as two is to three..” I love that part of the song the most but the whole song is great.I sway from side to side as I wonder what it was like to have a voice like Mr. Dean Martin.

9.     In The Misty Moonlight– His effortlessness is something that always stands out with Dean and with this song he seems so relaxed, so natural that it flows beautifully. His distinctive style of singing is something that has never been replicated, in my opinion and he does this song to perfection.

8.     Money Burns A Hole in My Pocket Talk about a perfect song for your someone special, a candlelight dinner for two, put this song on and drift away. “They” truly do not make songs like these any more.

7.     Houston– How can this song not be on a Dean Martin top ten list? Talk about cool, he exudes coolness on this classic. You know that you try to match the deepness of his voice as I always try to replicate the “I’m going back to Houston” part.

6.     Baby It’s Cold Outside– I love all Dino’s Christmas songs and this 1959 version- I believe with one of the Andrew Sisters- is my favorite version. The whole arrangement of this song is spectacular and Dean’s part is the icing on the cake. I can listen to this song any time of the year.

5.     Let It Snow-One of the best holiday songs ever recorded. This makes me feel at home all the time, it always puts a smile on my face as I constantly hit the “rewind” button and listen to it over and over. Does it get any better?

4.     Somewhere There’s a Someone– Love the piano in the beginning and then the sweeping string section that kicks the song into gear. It’s impossible not to sing along to this song and the lyrics are true, right? Put this song as a “cool down” song on your next Spin class and just pedal away into the clouds

3.     Ain’t That a Kick in the Head– Could be the coolest song he has ever recorded. How can anyone not like this song? Dean performed it in “Oceans Eleven”-the original movie (which is better) and no one has ever come close to doing it better. Fantastic song, period end of story.

2.     Everybody Loves Somebody– I can listen to this song all day long, just a phenomenal tune that can never be replicated. “If I had in my power I’d arrange for every girl…” This tune has to rank up there in the top 100 songs ever recorded in music history.

1.     You’re Nobody Till Somebody Loves You– This song was written in 1944 and covered by countless artists, including “The Chariman of the Board” but in my opinion no version even comes close to Dean’s rendition. I’ve played this song so many times over the years that even my youngest son, who is 12, knows the lyrics as well as my oldest. I’m doing my part of passing it down to the younger generation, are you?

Trivia Questions

Answers from last week:

1.     Richie Havens and Jimi Hendrix

2.     The Doors and Led Zeppelin

3.     False; Bethel N.Y.

4.     False; but John Sebastian played solo

This week’s trivia (Roy Orbison)

1.     Why did Roy always dress in black?

2.     Which act covered “Claudette” a song written by Roy?

3.     Who does Roy say saved his career with a cover of one of his songs in 1977? Name the song as well.

4.     Who did Roy win a Grammy with in 1980 for a duet of one of his original songs? Name the song as well.

Name That Tune

Answers from last week:

1.     “Enjoy Yourself”- Jackson 5

2.     “A World Without Love”-Peter and Gordon

3.      “All I Want to Do”-Sugarland

4.     “No More Drama”- Mary J. Blige

Can you guess the title from the following lyrics from part of the song?

1.     “You keep lying when you oughta be truthin’…”

2.     “I stop to see a weeping willow, crying on his pillow”

3.     “You’re the apple of my eye, you’re cherry pie, and oh you you’re cake and ice cream…”

4.     “So come on baby get in, get in, just get in look at the trouble we’re in..”

Back on this day in 1988, Charlie Daniels escaped safely as his motor home caught fire on California’s Ventura Highway.

Back on this day in 1960, Barry White was released from prison after serving three months for stealing 300 car tires.

Back on this day in 1994, James Brown hit a bicyclist with his car in Augusta, Georgia and is ticketed for reckless driving.

If it is your birthday today, you share the same birth date with David Soul (“Don’t Give Up on Us Baby” or better known as “Hutch” from the dynamic duo Starsky and Hutch).

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

