Errols Weekly Music Update.

August 21, 2009

Weekly Update – 08/21/2009

Brad Paisley and Dierks Bentley at Mohegan Sun on Sat. Rocktober 24. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event).

Steve Martin and the Steep Canyon Rangers at Carnegie Hall on Tuesday Rocktober 6. Tickets on sale now. $55 – $75.

Bowling for Soup with Flavored by Coke at The Gramercy Theater (or Blender) on Tues. Sept. 22. Tickets on sale today at noon. (Live Nation Event).

The Yeah Yeah Yeahs at Music Box at the Borgota in Atlantic City on Sat. Sept. 26. Tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event)

Kenny Rogers at the Capital One Theater in Westbury NY on Wed. Dec. 23. Pre-sale tickets for Citicard holders on now. General public on sale is this Sunday at 12:30 p.m. $51.50 and $65.

R. Kelly at the WAMU Theater in Madison Square Garden on Fri. Rocktober 16. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $59.50, $79.50 and $89.50.

Ray Lamontagne at The Beacon Theater on Thurs. Nov. 5. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $34.50, $44.50, $60 and $70.

Roger Daltrey at the Wellmont Theater on Wed. Nov. 11. Tickets on sale tomorrow at noon. $57, $72 and $97.

For Parents: Jonas Brothers at Mohegan Sun on Sat. Rocktober 10 at 3:00 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. Tickets for these shows go on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m.

Boys Like Girls at Nokia Theater on Tues. Nov. 24. Tickets on sale tomorrow at noon. $28

ZZ Top at The Beacon Theater on Fri. Sept. 18. Tickets on sale now. $39.50, $59.50 and $79.50.

50 Cent at The Beach at Governor’s Island on Sat. Rocktober 3. Tickets on sale tomorrow at noon. $45

Other items:

Daughtry has lined up a fall tour that will go until December. So far the only places listed in the Tri-state area is a spot at The Trump Taj Mahal in N.J. on Fri. Nov. 6 and the Harbor Yard in Bridgeport CT on Tues. Nov. 17. More information to follow.

Bon Jovi has stated that their next album-“The Circle”-due out on Nov. 10- is a return to rock and roll. The first single-“We Weren’t Born to Follow” was released this past Wednesday. It sounds pretty good-not sure about the rock and roll part- but it will probably grow on me. Check it out for yourself at http://www.islanddefjam.com/artist/news_single.aspx?nid=4878&artistID=7323.

The latest issue of Rolling Stone Magazine has a cover story on “Why the Beatles Broke Up: Behind the Story” – if you are a Beatles fan it is a must. Pick it up at newsstands now.

It is now official- Walmart will be the only entity that will be selling the new Kiss album-“Sonic Boom” which will be released on Rocktober 6. What I didn’t know and am kind of disappointed is that this new album will be part of a three disc set that will include a “re-recording” of some of their greatest hits (with Tommy Thayer and Eric Singer obviously) and a DVD from their live shows in Buenos Aires. “The world’s largest retailer had better get ready for the hottest band in the world and hire more cashiers” was the quote from Gene when interviewed. The new single “Modern Day Delilah” can be heard in it’s entirety at Kissonline.com. I have to admit, not just because I’m a fan- that it is a good song. Even Ace has admitted that it sounds like Kiss of the 1980’s.

My favorite “new” song (Ok I’m a little late on this one but it has finally grown on me) of the week is “I Gotta Feeling” by The Black Eyed Peas. I have to hand it to this band they are really making some of the best songs during this decade and are probably going to get even better as the years go on.

My favorite “old school” song of the week belongs to Lulu with her “To Sir With Love.” How great is this song? Pure perfection, period end of story!!!

“And 5, now this is most important, Rat…comes down to making out… whenever possible.. put on side 1 of Led Zeppelin IV

Side 1 of “American Woman” by The Guess Who– released January 1970.

The Guess Who is another band that has had many different members come and go. (They are still going strong today). The focus here today is the Guess Who with Burton Cummings along with Randy Bachman (who left after this album in 1970 after disagreements with the band members, mainly Cummings, and ultimately went on to form Bachman Turner Overdrive). First off is that everyone should own this album, it is super solid and in my opinion the first side is a “perfect” album side. This band has been under-appreciated as well as underrated. (They remind me of Thin Lizzy who often doesn’t get the respect they deserve as well). Three out of the four songs on side one are rock and roll royalty and will live on forever as some of the greatest songs ever recorded.

The album kicks off with the title track and to this day remains the only number 1 song for The Guess Who. It also marked for the first time that a Canadian band had a number one song in the U.S. The song is not about a woman but about the U.S. militaristic ways and societal problems. Ignoring that fact, the song is great. (and yes Mr. Kravitz does a smoking cover of this song but the focus is on them). The song on the album starts off with a bluesy twist as Burton spells out the letters to the title of the song (The “radio” version totally skips this part and some of you out there may have not even heard the original because the song usually starts off with the guitar riff). This song has to be one of the most recognizable songs in the rock and roll history. This song rocks!! Put a pair of headphones on, squeeze them as tight as you can to your head and listen with pleasure. I love as the song ends Burton drags out the words “leave” and “Go.” “You know I’m gonna leeaavveee.. you know I’m gonna goooooo.” Track # 2 is the phenomenal “No Time.” Listen to this song and tell me this isn’t one of the best arranged songs ever. Listen to the vocals, background vocals-sort of reminds me of CSN&Y, right? The guitar work is fabulous, the beat is infectious and the bridge to the chorus is one of the most melodic in this epic composition. (Yes that’s right I said epic). The song peaked at number 5, still scratching my head on why it never made it to the top.

“Talisman” is a stunning song where I can’t help but hang on every word that is sung. To me, the song surrounds you like a fog and before you know it you can’t move because you are totally engulfed in the song. ‘Talisman, Talisman grace my hand, Talisman grace my hand.” Love the guitar work and love the way the piano works its way into the song towards the end and takes the song to its end. OK the last song on side 1 is my all time favorite song by The Guess Who and the song is “No Sugar Tonight/New Mother Nature.” I think the arrangement on this composition ranks up there in the top ten songs ever recorded. Yes that’s right I said-ever recorded. The way the song smoothly shifts into “New Mother Nature” and then back to combining both “New Mother” and “No Sugar” is pure genius. “In the silence of her mind Quiet moments well I can find..” Does it get any better? Again the transition to “New” just kills me all the time-it is so good. This is the ultimate song for a set of headphones, this song had to be recorded with headphones in mind because as you listen you feel the shift from left to right and then right to left. I’m sorry I have to listen to it again. If I were to form a band this would be the first song that I would try to cover, the drumming keeps the song moving along so perfectly. And just like I said this is a Perfect album side!! “American Woman,” “No Time,” and “No Sugar” are three of the best songs you will ever hear on an album side. This is about 18 minutes of mastery, what are you waiting for? You need to have this in your music library, period end of story!!!

Ever since seeing Collective Soul this past Monday, I haven’t stopped listening to their CDs this whole week and decided to name my favorite top 10 songs from this band from Atlanta Georgia. Folks I have to be totally honest- this is brutally tough for me as there are not too many songs that I skip over on their albums. It bums me out sometimes that these guys don’t seem to be as popular as they are talented but I can’t worry about it-they don’t- they just play their music and have a great time making it. These guys fought hard for what they wanted and not many bands would persevere the way that they have. Anyways here goes:

10.     Never Here Alone– Totally cool song from “Afterwords.” Of course it has that “catchy hook” that they are infamous for. You will be snapping your fingers and dancing around the room in no time. Love the “percussion” section as they add some bongos which will keep your feet moving. “Three four” as it heads into “Bearing Witness” – another great song but I’m just mentioning it-not on the top 10 list. (slick, ain’t I?)

9.     Perfect Day– Love the groove in this song as Mr. Elton John helps out on vocals as well as piano. If Elton is involved you know the song has to be good, right? Elton’s piano solo is smoking and the rhythm section supplied by the boys from Collective Soul make this one of the best collaborations of the year 2000. After this song, it slides into “After All”- OK I’ll stop!!

8.     Run “Are these times contagious?” Just like in the movie where it’s said “You had me at hello”- this song had me at “Are these times contagious.” As you all know I have a softer side in my music taste and as I mentioned Collective Soul can rock with the best of them but then makes some real nice tunes, this is one of them. It’s from my favorite album by them- “Dosage.” I love the ending of the song as the drums “scat” and makes you slide across the floor.

7.     Why, Pt. 2– As mentioned in my concert review, the guitar riff gets me all the time. Nothing big, nothing that complicated but it gets me so psyched that I have to crank up the volume every time!!! “Forgive me dear for my misdirection…” Of course there is the very tasty guitar solo that leads into the “headbanging” riff. Play it LOUD!!!

6.     The World I Know– This is the one song I look forward to every time that I go to see Collective Soul. The whole arrangement of this song is top notch. “Are we listening? To hymns of offering.” The chorus is one of the most addicting words and it will remain in your head for the rest of the day. “So I walk upon high….” Friggin’ phenomenal song.

5.     Where The River Flows– Love the opening guitar riffs and the way Ed sings this song. “Find yourself another soul to hold. You think, I thought, I know!!!” Again not the most complicated arrangement but the driving beat will have you head banging in no time- as well as “air-guitaring.” Listen with a pair of headphones and squeeze your hands as tight as you can into your ears and listen to this classic.

4.     Needs– I can remember the first time I heard this song, I stopped in my tracks and was awestruck. When I use to live in N.J. and commuted to lower Manhattan I traveled a lot with a good friend and asked her to put on the headphones to listen to this song. Usually she’d listen to the songs I suggested for about 10 seconds and hand me back the headphones-Not this time. I think she was just as captivated as I was- and still am. I had this song on in the car yesterday and my oldest son even said that it is a good song- he’s not a big fan of them-Yes I’m working on that.

3.     How Do You Love?– Back when their album “Youth” came out in 2004, I boldly predicted that this would be one of their biggest songs ever. Well it never happened and I still don’t know why. Put this song on and tell me it’s not good, I defy you. They even work in violins, isn’t that a prerequisite for a good song? I thought that was an “automatic?” Seriously, this is a great composition and at least I can feel Ed’s passion and am still waiting for this song to hit it big. You wait…..

2.     Compliment– Never forget when I heard them do this live at the Ives Concert Park in Aug. 2005, I was “in the zone” and sang every word trying to match the passion of Mr. Roland. Someone tapped my wife on the shoulders and said to her- “Man he really likes this band-he knows all the words to this song and all the other ones.” I also remember Ed telling the crowd that they should know this song, most didn’t. I think this could be the best song they have ever recorded.

1.     Crown– I know what you’re probably thinking (besides that you never heard of it)- it’s too slow, how can you like it? “Of all the songs by Collective Soul, how can this be your favorite song?” There I asked it for you- well here is my response: do you know how a song relates to something in your life and it brings you right back to that moment? Well this song is that type of song for me. But besides that I love the music and Ed’s passion bleeds through the speakers. I usually lay right in front of the speakers (ask my brother) when I listen to music and this song takes me to another world, every time.

Trivia Questions

Answers from last week:

1.     Ted Nugent

2.     War

3.     Ian Gillian

4.     Todd Rundgren

This week’s trivia (Woodstock)

1.     Who opened Woodstock and who closed out Woodstock?

2.     Name at least two huge acts that declined to play at Woodstock?

3.     True or False: The event was held in Woodstock New York?

4.     True or False: The Lovin’ Spoonful played at Woodstock

Name That Tune

Answers from last week:

1.     “I Don’t Wanna Miss a Thing”- Aerosmith

2.     “Tired of Being Alone”-Al Green

3.     “Car Wash”-Rose Royce

4.     “You’re Nobody Till Somebody Loves You”- Dean Martin (Yes and Frankie)

Can you guess the title from the following lyrics from part of the song?

1.     “Let’s have some fun.. Let’s have a good time you and me”

2.     “So I wait and in a while, I will see my true love smile”

3.     “Lets just lay here and be lazy, baby drive me crazy…”

4.     “Better know your friends or else you will get burned..”

Back on this day in 1972, Grace Slick was maced on stage by police following a scuffle with them.

Back on this day in 1996, Rick James was released from prison after serving two years for assault.

If it is your birthday today, you share the same birth date with Jackie DeShannon (“What the World Needs Now is Love” and “Put a little Love in your Heart”-both top quality classic songs) and Kenny Rogers.

2 Comments »

  1. TRIVIA:

    1. Richie Havens & Henrix

    2. Iron Butterfly & Alice in
    Chains

    3. False

    4. False

    Comment by CATHY — August 21, 2009 @ 10:12 am

    • 1. Correct Richie Havens and Jimi Hendrix
      2. I was thinking more The Doors & Led Zeppelin, not sure AIC were old enough yet.
      3. Correct- False actually held in Bethel NY
      4. False but John Sebastian did perform solo

      Comment by ea0217 — August 21, 2009 @ 10:29 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

