Errols Weekly Music Update.

August 14, 2009

Weekly Update – 08/14/2009

Blink 182 with Fall Out Boy and All American Rejects at Madison Square Garden on Sun. Rocktober 4. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $20 – $75.50.

Van Morrison at the WAMU Theater at Madison Square Garden on Sun. Rocktober 25. Pre-sale tickets begin this morning at 11:00 a.m until 9:00 p.m. on Sunday and the password is: HEVAN. General public tickets on sale this Monday Aug. 17 at 10:00 a.m. $90 – $350.

The Yeah Yeah Yeahs at Radio City Music Hall on Wed. Rocktober 23. Pre-sale tickets on sale now for American Express cardholders only until 11:00 a.m. this morning. General public tickets on sale today at noon. $29.50 – $39.50

Maxwell with Common and Chrisette Michele at Madison Square Garden on Mon. Sept. 28. Tickets on sale this morning at 9:00 a.m. $20 – $254.50

Moby at the Music Hall of Williamsburg on Wed. Sept. 23. Tickets on sale today at noon. $32.50 ($35 day of show).

Peter, Bjorn and John at Terminal 5 on Tues. Nov. 10. Tickets on sale today at noon. $27.50 ($30 day of show)

The Big Pink at The Bowery Ballroom on Thurs. Dec. 3 and at Music Hall of Williamsburg on Fri. Dec. 4. Tickets on sale today at noon. $15

The Neville Brothers with Dr. John at the Wellmont Theater on Sat. Feb. 13, 2010. Tickets on sale today at noon. $40 and $55.

Elvis Perkins in Dearland at Bowery Ballroom on Fri. Dec. 4 and at Music Hall of Williamsburg on Sat. Dec. 5. Tickets on sale today at noon. $16 ($18 day of show).

The Bravery at Terminal 5 on Thurs. Rocktober 8. Tickets on sale today at noon. $26 ($31 day of show).

Paramore at the Hammerstein Ballroom on Wed. Rocktober 23. Tickets on sale next Fri. Aug. 21 at 10:00 a.m. $32.50.

Straight No Chaser at Nokia Theater on Thurs. Dec. 17. Pre-sale tickets on now for American Express cardholders until noon today. General public tickets on sale at noon. $23, $28 and $33. If you want to go to a nice holiday show, this would be a great one.

The Pixies at Hammerstein Ballroom on Mon. –Wed. Nov. 23-25. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m $48 – $61.

Other items:

Thoughts and prayers go out to the family and friends of Mr. Les Paul who passed away yesterday at the age of 94. He was an inventor who changed the course of rock and roll with his distinctive guitar. In 1952, Gibson Guitars began production on their Les Paul guitars and they have been used by such legendary folks as Jimmy Page, Pete Townsend, Steve Howe and many others. Mr. Paul performed almost every Monday night at the Iridium Jazz club in NYC at 1650 Broadway for the past 12 years.

Update: Steven Tyler has a broken shoulder and there is no word yet on when the tour will resume. Shoulder injuries are tough to recover from, I had a bone spur removed in 2005 and it took a few years before it was back to normal. I’m assuming Tyler will get the best treatment there is to get him back on his feet.

Update: The fourth edition of “Guitar Hero” which mainly has Van Halen songs will be released on Dec. 28. The interesting part on all 28 songs that were picked is that Wolfgang is the bass guitarist depicted on the game. He wasn’t even alive when most of the songs were recorded. It’s a total slap in the face to Michael Anthony and it is just wrong. But I guess Eddie is in charge. It’s weird after all these years that Michael would be the one who seems to be vilified after all those years where Eddie said he would never work with Diamond Dave again.

My favorite “old school” song of the week is “I’m Your Puppet” by James & Bobby Purify. When is the last time you heard this classic from 1966? I was in my car listening to an oldies station here in CT when this song came on and started blasting it so loud. “They don’t make songs like this anymore.” On a side note, Patterson Hood’s (review of his album below) dad-Mr. David Hood-played the trombone part on this song.

My other favorite “old school” song of the week is “If You Don’t Know Me By Now” by Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes. This song knocks me right out. Can it get any better than this song? Talk about pouring out your heart, soul and passion-that’s what makes it such a great song.

Bono’s wife, Ali Hewson, is suing Sir Paul McCartney’s daughter, Stella, for copyright infringement as Stella has released a new line of perfume called “Stella Nude.” Hewson owns a company called “Nude Skincare.”

Have you heard the new single by Train– “Hey Soul Sister”- You can check it out on Billboard.com (or any place you get music). I listened to it and I have to say I like it. It has a catchy hook. Their new album-“Save Me San Francisco” is due out on Rocktober 27.

LL Cool J has released a new single utilizing Michael Jackson’s “Billie Jean” and calling it “Billie Jean Dream.” He raps over the song and I guess it’s OK. It will have to grow on me.

New album just out this past Tuesday by a guy named Gary Go, the album has the same title. I haven’t made the plunge but yet agin the 30 second samples sound real good. You may want to check this guy out. He also did a cover of The Cars “Drive” so you know he’s good in my book. The song “Wonderful” is the free I-Tunes song of the week and it is the first one in a long time that I have down loaded.

Megadeth has released a new single- “Head Crusher” in anticipation of its new album release- “End Game” which will hit on Sept. 15. You can listen to the single on their website. It is heavy, thrashing and crashing. If you are a Megadeth fan you will love it. I like it. \m/ \m/

Jet’s lead singer Nic Cester collapsed on stage this past Monday in London from dehydration and extremely low blood pressure. Nic take all the time you need to come back. Their new album “Shaka Rock” will be released on the 25th of this month. I listened to the previews on I-Tunes and this album sounds real good. I think “She’s A Genius” is one of the best songs released in 2009 so far.

The Foo Fighters will release a new single “Wheels” on Sept. 28 in front of a new album that is supposedly going to be issued in November. Can’t wait!!!

Alice In Chains and Elton John have collaborated (yes you are reading it correctly) on the title track of AIC’s new album “Black Gives Way to Blue” where Elton plays the piano. Jerry Cantrell sent Sir Elton an e-mail explaining that the song was a heartfelt tribute to Layne Staley and Elton loved the track and decided to be the guest pianist.

EP Review: “Tribute To: ” by Yim Yames (also known as Jim James) released on Aug. 4, 2009.

This is a tribute album for George Harrison performed by Jim James, the front man for My Morning Jacket, which was recorded a very short time after Harrison’s death in November 2001. Since MMJ has been on hiatus, James has gone down the folk path and changed his name to Yim Yames for this album-not sure why he did this but anyway. If you are a fan of Harrison’s music I think you will like it, I love all six songs that he has recorded. The songs are totally stripped down and to some may seem too slow or a bit of a downer but if you “get it”- you won’t be disappointed. He pours his heart and soul into it and the results are excellent.

“Long, Long, Long”- The original appears as the last song on side three of The White Album and Mr. James hits a homerun with this cover as his singing is so spot on, you’ll find yourself listening to this track over and over. He grabs the essence of George for this track as his softness and his high notes blend perfectly to make you drift off. It sounds like he was sitting on the edge of his bed after hearing of George’s death and decided to take his acoustic guitar and record this beautiful track. You can feel his passion as the guitar gets louder and he wails “So many tears I was searching..” For some, this will make you realize what a wonderful artist George was and how his influence on Mr. James bleeds through this song.

“Behind that Locked Door”- The first word that comes to my mind is “Wow.” Jim’s vocals are crystal clear and with a good set of headphones it will sound as if he is in the room with his guitar singing the song to you. This beautiful song appeared on George’s solo masterpiece-“All Things Must Pass” and Mr. James plays the guitar with sweet precision and makes me wish that George was around today so that both he and Jim could perform a duet to this song. I know George approves of all the songs Jim has covered but I think he might smile a little more with this track.

“Love You To”- Jim takes it down a notch from the original recording which appeared on “Revolver” but captures the spirit of the song with his guitar playing as he makes the acoustic sound something like the sitar that George learned from his days spent with Ravi Shankar. Mr. James has this way of making you mesmerized with his vocal style as you can not help but listen intently and personally I find myself hanging on every note played and sung by him.

“My Sweet Lord”- Talk about stripped down, this is another track that will knock you out as you will be awestruck from the opening chords. I’m not a record producer and don’t pretend to be but this sounds like it was recorded on the first take. When I hear this version I immediately think of George, especially highlights from his days as a Beatle- I can see the image of him getting off the plane way back in the 1960’s to come to the U.S. –images of him on the Ed Sullivan show and then I flash to his days with the Traveling Wilbury’s. Don’t ask me why but these are the images that come to me and I forget that Mr. James is doing the song. Pure perfection.

“Ballad of Sir Frankie Crisp (Let It Roll)”- Again a slower version than the original but it doesn’t seem to matter because once more you will be enthralled by Jim’s vocals. For Jim to pick this lesser known classic from “All Things Must Pass” tells me how much he enjoyed George’s work and he puts all of himself into the song. Fabulous version.

“All Things Must Pass”- As many of you know from my top ten songs by George this one landed as number three and it is hard for me to believe that someone other than George could perform this song. Now I’m not going to get crazy and tell you that it is better than the original (none of them are) but that doesn’t mean that his version isn’t phenomenal-it is. I am completely blown away by this version, again fascinated by his closeness to the original ingredient(s) of what George was all about. This is always a tough song for me to listen to as I usually think of things that has changed in my life with losing my mother being at the top of that list. Jim takes me to the same place as George did with this song; sometimes you need that softness even though it’s painful.

Folks if you are a fan of Mr. James and/or George Harrison, this is a must. For those of you who follow Jim, this may introduce you to the world of George and for those of you who have followed George, this will open the door to the significant talent that Jim James possesses. Isn’t that what music is all about?

Album Review: “Murdering Oscar (And Other Love Songs)” by Patterson Hood released on June 23, 2009.

A few weeks back I did a review of the new album by The Dead Weather and a new reader to the blog by the name of Gary recommended that I check out a few new albums, which included this solo effort (his second) by Mr. Patterson Hood, who in his spare time co-heads the Drive-By Truckers band. I immediately went to I-Tunes to check out the thirty-second samples and liked what I heard but for some reason did not pull the trigger. As the weeks went on I kept going back to the album and really liked the 30 second samples but again didn’t take the plunge. But this past week it hit me that I should heed his advice and I’m here to tell you folks that I am a big fan of this album. Now I’m not sure if I will become a full fledged fan of the Drive-By Truckers just yet but that is what the great thing about discovering music- you can go at your own pace. There is something very appealing about this album that makes it stand out from the rest of the releases in 2009 and I think it is the “singer/song writer” aspect that hasn’t appeared that often since the good old days of Bob Dylan. The music world is filled with that “quick fix” or “instant gratification” as the need to have a “hit” can make or break most artists trying to make it big. Mr. Hood doesn’t seem to be worried about having that pressure as his talents take over and this will make you gravitate towards him. He is letting you know that he is out there if you are willing to give it a chance, as I did (thanks to Gary). This album is very pleasing to the ears and will make you appreciate the simpler things in life- I don’t know why I feel like that but I’m pretty sure it’s his music.

The title track kicks off the album with a slow trudging guitar riff that sort of reminds me of an even more pissed off Don Henley-if you can imagine that. Patterson wrote this song in 1994 so maybe he had a lot on his plate because the lyrics are very angry filled with vengeance. This is one of the heavier songs on the disc. “Pollyanna” quickly clears the air with an upbeat tune that has a nice groove along with an addictive chorus. The piano effort fills in nicely with the guitar playing. This is a perfect song if you are planning a road trip, traveling down the highway on a summer day with the dog sticking its head out the back window, which is rolled down just enough that the dog’s head fit. The kids in the back seat will watch the earth flash by them as they become enthralled with the song-it grows on you. “Pride of the Yankees” takes it down a notch but the music will have you swaying back and forth as you intently listen to the story of this song. “Now you I’m holding you here in my arms trying my best to shelter you from harm…” Patterson piano playing is top notch on this song as it sort of reminds me of an edgier song that “America” would make if they started out recording in 2009. “I Understand Now” is a rocking song that conjures up a John Mellencamp/Bryan Adams feeling for me as I am “air-guitaring” my way around the room as well as dancing. If you are looking for a “hit” this could very well be the song. Frank MacDonnell does a nice job on lead guitar. Track # 5 – “Screwtopia” – has a “Soundgarden” feel to it and the lyrics are very wacky. (Again it was written in 1994). It has a nice slow jam that will have you tapping your feet to the beat as you make believe you are drumming for the song. Patterson’s southern drawl really stands out on this song.“Granddaddy” has that “get around the campfire” and sing songs while roasting marshmallows. His songs have a way of sounding so nice and sweet and then the vinegar lyrics take you by surprise, sort of like when you have a drink that you think is sweet but the alcohol is clear and present. “Belvedere” is another head shaking song-again mostly mellow but we all have our favorite mellow albums (or songs) and this collection can be added to your list. I can’t really explain it but he keeps you interested in his songs and before you know it-four to five minutes have flown by.

“The Range War” is a cover of Todd Rundgren’s obscure classic and I could picture Neil Young helping out Patterson on this track, the whole tone of the song fits Neil like a glove. It’s a little slower than the original version but Patterson keeps the essence of the song intact. (He does another version of this song- a capella- at the end of the album which is fantastic). “She’s a Little Randy” is a finger snapping tune that was actually written for the movie “Randy and the Mob.” His songs tell a story in every one and this track has a definite Country feel to it. “Foolish Young Bastard” is a song that will have you singing along in no time and then you realize he’s cursing but for some reason it doesn’t seem like it because it sounds so nice. As I mentioned, his lyrics seem to cut to the bone and his southern twang reappears for this tune as well. “Heavy and Hanging” gets back to that edgier guitar sound-like the first track- and picks up the tempo about one minute into the song. There is a nice guitar solo enhanced by the piano in the background as Patterson’s vocals are top notch in this track. “Walking Around Sense” will definitely remind you of Neil Young as you will sway slowly back and forth as Mr. Hood starts to sing “They caught your mama underneath the Jaguar, she was acting so mad, I never seen her so sad..” This song takes me to a cornfield as I lay down with a blade of grass in my teeth underneath the warm blazing sun. Again there is another nice guitar solo on this track as they jam with the piano and drums as well. Track # 13- (CD version) “Back of a Bible” is my favorite track on the album. The first time I heard the song, it just grabbed me in a headlock and did not let go. I was mesmerized by the melody, his voice and the incredible guitar solo that he takes until the end of the song. The last song as previously mentioned-“The Range War” is just Patterson and a microphone-like the way they use to do it in the 1950’s.

“Murdering Oscar” is a solid album and very different for me, especially the last couple of weeks as I have been on an AC/DC kick (as well as Billy Squier). This is not a high energy album that will have you wailing and kicking around the room. It is an album that could be used for a long car ride, a house party or if you are listening to music by yourself-which is what I do a lot and have been doing for a very long time. Give it a chance and I bet you’ll be surprised at the results- I was. I am a fan of this album and will probably look to more from the man named Patterson Hood.

Staying with the mellow mood, I also have been listening to a heavy dosage of the Mamas & Papa’s this past week and as many of you know, this is one of my all time favorite harmonizing band. The funny thing is I know that my Aunt Gayle doesn’t like this band at all and I know she’ll be skipping right over this section. I guess maybe that is what this band does to people-either you love or “dislike” a lot. For me, the arrow shoots towards the love. So here are my favorite top ten songs from Mama Cass as well as John and Michele Phillips and Denny. (Michele is the only living member if you don’t count Jill Gibson, who filled in after Michele was ousted briefly from the band).

10.     Straight Shooter– Sort of has that “Monkees” feel to it but again the harmonization (is that a real word?) is awesome. This song to me depicts the folk, psychedelic and pop world that the Mama’s and Papa’s lived in during the mid to late 1960’s. I also think of “Laugh In” when I hear this song.

9.     California Dreaming– From the first note of this song, I am totally absorbed for the next two minutes and forty seconds as I think this is one of the most popular songs ever recorded, especially during the 1960’s. What I like to do is focus on one of the four singers in the song and follow them the whole way through and then listen again for the others.

8.     I Saw Her Again– This song reminds me of WCBS FM radio station in NY as they would play this tune many times, especially during the summer. (Maybe it should have been on my list of summer songs). It’s one of their most upbeat songs they have ever recorded. It’s a perfect song for your next Spin class.

7.     Go Where You Wanna Go– The part where Cass sings “You don’t understand that a girl like me can love just one man three thousand miles…” could very well be one of the best chorus’s ever recorded. It gets me every time, I drift away. Fantastic song.

6.     Twelve Thirty (Young Girls Are Coming to the Canyon)– How awesome is this song? The arrangement is spectacular and again if you focus maybe on the women’s vocals only, then the men’s, it really is perfect harmonies. Makes me want to attend a reunion of Woodstock right now. Peace and love!!!

5.     Words of Love– Listen to this song and tell me Mama Cass was a fabulous singer. John Phillips wrote it but it is Ms. Cass’ song all the way. Listen to her passion and range, freaking phenomenal!!! A little over two minutes of pure perfection.

4.     Creeque Alley– Ok maybe this is the song that represents what the flower power era was all about. It narrates how the band formed with references to McGuinn, McGuire and Sebastian- all major forces during the psychedelic ‘60’s. “Greasin’ on our American Express cards” was a reference for when they lived in the Virgin Islands off of their credit cards.

3.     Dedicated to the One I Love– song that was covered by the Mamas & Papas and was the only song where Michele Phillips took the lead over Mama Cass. She does an outstanding job and their version of the song (which has been covered many times) is my favorite out of them all. It’s hard not to float away with Michele’s voice.

2.     Dream a Little Dream of Me– Technically a single for Cass as a solo artist, this classic written in the 1930’s and recorded by many artists but none better than the one recorded by Ms. Elliot. It has sold over a million copies since its release in 1968. I can’t even move when I hear her rendition, this could be one of the best recordings ever in music history-I’m serious. Listen to her voice and tell me you are not moved? You can’t-it’s impossible. Even the whistle at the end is great.

1.     I Call Your Name– Song written by John Lennon but McCartney was given credit as a writer but it was mainly John. This “rocker” song was turned into a ballad by the Mamas & Papas and dare I say that I like this version better than the Beatles version? I love the piano beginning and that groovy twist as I am gripped by their harmonies and this is by far my most favorite song by this band. Cass even whispers out loud “John” a few times to credit him with the song. The “Yeah” part that ends the song with all their vocals could be the best ending to a song ever. (I know I say that a lot but you get what I mean, right?!!)

Trivia Questions

Answers from last week:

1.     Chevy Chase

2.     Ramblin’ Man

3.     Quincy Jones

4.     Buffalo Springfield

This week’s trivia (Random)

1.     Who was the lead guitarist for the Amboy Dukes?

2.     After leaving The Animals, which band did Eric Burdon serve as its frontman?

3.     Which singer has been with Black Sabbath and Deep Purple?

4.     Who produced the number # 1 single –“We’re An American Band” by Grand Funk?

Name That Tune

Answers from last week:

1.     “Release Me”- Englebert Humperdinck

2.     “I Have a Dream”-ABBA

3.     “Lose Yourself”-Eminem

4.     “T.N.T.”- AC/DC

Can you guess the title from the following lyrics from part of the song?

1.     “Well, every moment spent with you is a moment I treasure”

2.     “Won’t you help me girl.. As soon as you can”

3.     “There ain’t no telling who you might meet, a movie star or maybe…”

4.     “But gold won’t bring you happiness when you are growing old..”

Sadly back on this day in 1958, Elvis Presley’s motherGladys, passed away at the young age of 46.

Back on this day in 1971, Diana Ross gave birth to her first child, Rhonda, and it turns out that Berry Gordy was the father.

If it is your birthday today, you share the same birth date with David Crosby (everyone talks about Keith Richards having nine lives but David is right up there as well), Dash Crofts and Steve Martin. (yes that Steve Martin of “King Tut” fame).

1 Comment »

  1. 1. I Don’t Want to Miss a thing
    2. I’m so Tired of Being Alone
    3. Car Wash
    4. You’re Nobody til Somebody Loves You. GREAT Sinatra tune.

    Comment by Tricia — August 14, 2009 @ 9:54 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

