Errols Weekly Music Update.

August 7, 2009

Weekly Update – 08/07/09

Regina Spektor at Radio City Music Hall on Wed. Rocktober 14. Pre-sale tickets on sale now until 10:00 p.m. tonight and the password is: HEREGINA. General public tickets on sale Mon. Aug. 10 at 10:00 a.m. $39.50 – $49.50

Dethklok with Mastodon and Converge at Hammerstein Ballroom on Fri. Rocktober 30. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $34.50

Lucinda Williams at The New York Fillmore at Irving Plaza on Sat., Sun. & Mon. Rocktober 3, 4 & 5. Pre-sale tickets for Citi card holders on now. General public tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $39.50.

Killswitch Engage with All That Remains and Vision of Disorder at the Baystage at Jones Beach on Sat. Aug. 29. Tickets on sale today at noon. (Live Nation Event).

August Burns Red with The Acacia Strain and Impending Doom at The New York Fillmore at Irving Plaza on Sun. Rocktober 18. Tickets on sale today at noon. (Live Nation Event)

Kid Rock: A Benefit for the Institute of Music and Neurologic Function at Terminal 5 on Wed. Sept. 2. Pre-sale tickets for American Express cardholders only on now through 10:00 p.m. tonight. General public tickets on sale tomorrow at noon. $100.

Ray LaMontagne at the Beacon Theater on Wed. Nov. 11. Pre-sale tickets for American Express cardholders only now thru tonight at 6:00 p.m. Pre-sale tickets available this morning at 10:00 a.m. until 10:00 p.m. tonight and the password is: HERAY. General public tickets on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m.. $34.50, $44.50, $60 & $70.

Ziggy Marley at the Wellmont Theater on Wed. Sept. 16. Tickets on sale today at noon. $26 ($31 day of show).

The Gaslight Anthem at Terminal 5 on Thurs. Rocktober 15. Tickets on sale tomorrow at noon. $22.

Lynyrd Skynyrd at the Capital One Theater in Westbury NY on Sun. Rocktober 18. Tickets on sale today at 12:30 p.m. $59 and $69.

Bruce Hornsby & The Noisemakers with the Wood Brothers at the Town Hall on Sat. Sept. 26. Pre-sale tickets available this morning starting at 10:00 a.m. until 10:00 p.m. tonight and the password is: metro. General public tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. $35 – $55.

Cypress Hill at Nokia Theater on Fri. Rocktober 30. Pre-sale for American Express cardholders only on now through noon today. General public tickets on sale today at noon. $36.

Roger Daltrey at Nokia Theater on Fri. Nov. 20. General public tickets on sale today at noon. $59.50. If you are part of The Who fan club you are eligible for pre-sale tickets on sale now.

Other items:

Steven Tyler fell off the stage Wednesday night during a performance in Sturgis South Dakota. He began dancing around the stage to entertain the audience after the sound system failed during “Love in an Elevator.” He was taken to the hospital where he suffered minor head and neck injuries. The injury bug has plagued Aerosmith during this tour as both Tom Hamilton and Joe Perry have had recent surgical procedures.

A new super group featuring John Paul Jones (don’t ask, you should know), Dave Grohl and Josh Homme are supposedly going to play a post Lollapalooza show this Sunday night in Chicago IL. The name of the new super group is Them Crooked Vultures. An album –“Never Deserved The Future” will supposedly be released on Friday Rocktober 23. Everyone associated with the project is “tight lipped” and very secretive.

Jack White will release a new single, as a solo artist, this coming Tuesday through I-Tunes and the song is titled “Fly Farm Blues.” I’m in for most anything he does.

Guitar Hero will release a mainly Van Halen game on Dec. 22 and the song titles were released. The songs are all with Diamond Dave on the mike and some really hard songs like “Loss of Control”, “Mean Street” and “Hot For Teacher” are included. The entire list of songs are phenomenal. Look for it right around the holidays.

Eddie Van Halen will have a cameo role this fall when “Two and a Half Men” returns to prime time TV on Sept. 21. Eddie is reportedly a big fan of the comedy series.

Kiss now has a “Bingo” game out and this coming Rocktober their faces will appear on M&M candies for a limited time only. I have to give it to Gene, this guy just makes money. Trent Reznor was way out of line by saying that Gene & the boys were “clowns who put on make-up at an old age.” Trent: grow up man. You think Kiss was the only band that put make up on? What about New York Dolls, Alice Cooper and Motley Crue? You’re just jealous that Gene is still making some major coin because he never stops working. And your freak of a band wouldn’t have had the success if Kiss didn’t pave the road for many bands out there. (And of course there were other bands that paved the way for Kiss).

A few weeks back, I received very positive feedback from readers when my oldest son, 14, gave a review of the sophomore record by Rob Thomas. I asked him to review any artist he wanted with a respective album and he chose John Mayer, “Where The Light Is.” He has actually made me discover Mayer and I have to admit some of his music is growing on me. So the review below was written by my oldest son. (My younger son has also jumped into the fray below).

Album Review: “Where The Light Is” by John Mayer released on July 1, 2008.

Many people might laugh at this but “Where the Light Is” by John Mayer is probably one of my favorite albums of all time. It came out in 2008, right around the time when I was really starting to get more interested in music, and was the first album I ever bought. I bought the album for one reason, because I liked John’s cover of Tom Petty’s “Free Fallin’.”I liked it so much I decided to give the album a chance and I bought it. Over time I became addicted to the album. I just couldn’t stop listening to it; every time I listened to it I found another reason why I love it so much. The album is divided into three sets, the first being acoustic, the second being the John Mayer Trio, and the third being the full band set. Mayer seems to be a different person in every set; it is amazing how one man can be a calm acoustic singer, a jamming blues singer, and a hit recording artist. This live album truly shows why John is not a “Dave Matthews Wanna Be” he is the real deal.

Acoustic Set:

The album starts off with the acoustic set which is my favorite set out of the whole CD. John comes out with his acoustic guitar and starts playing “Neon”, which is from his first album “Room for Squares.” Out of all the songs on the album this is the one that took me the longest to like. One day it came on IPod shuffle and I was like “Wow this is actually a good song!!”So this is a great song to kick off a great album. Then John goes into playing “Stop This Train” from his latest album “Continuum.” This is a fantastic acoustic version of the song and blows away the studio version. What amazes me about John Mayer is that he puts so much passion into his live songs especially the acoustic ones. The next song is my favorite John Mayer song called “In Your Atmosphere.”Although this song is not on any of his studio albums this song quickly became my favorite. From the opening guitar chords to the incredible ending verse this song puts me in a trance. The vocals are perfect and the whole performance is full of heart. John then starts to play the opening chords of his Grammy Awarded song “Daughters.”Arguably his most popular song, he plays a nice acoustic rendition of it. This song shows off John’s songwriting skills. After this John starts playing “Free Fallin’” by Tom Petty. Before you say anything I admit that this version is not better than the original, but it comes pretty close. One of the main reasons this album was criticized for was this cover of a classic song. As I already said this amazing cover made my purchase this album and I’m glad I did. John really blew me away with this song and it is simply amazing. This ends the acoustic set and John leaves the acoustic part of himself behind as he transforms into what seems is a different person.

Trio Set:

The next set has John come out with Pino Palladino on bass and Steve Jordan on drums. Together they are the John Mayer Trio. They come out playing “Everyday I Have The Blues” and John immediately switches into “guitar mode.” From this song on there are guitar solos galore. He proves that he can really play blues music and that he is one of the leading guitarists of our time. Next The Trio plays a cover of Jimi Hendrix’s “Wait Until Tomorrow.” They do an excellent job with this making almost equivalent to the original. One thing that I noticed in this song is the quality of Steve Jordan’s drum playing. He really is an excellent blues drummer. After that they prove that they have good songs of their own by playing their hit song “Who Did You Think I Was.” This song shows how tight the Trio is, they play with an energy that can’t be duplicated in a studio. There’s a part in the song when the drums kick in and all of the sudden John plays a nice rock solo, it’s very cool. The next song is my favorite Trio song “Come When I Call.”It’s actually a B-Side from their only album “Try!”I’ve listened to this song so many times I can hum the guitar solo without even listening to the song, it’s such an amazing song. “Good Love Is On The Way” is the next track which has more of a rock n roll feel to it than most of the other songs.After than John quickly launches into a slow blues jam which is “Out Of My Mind.” This 10 minute 10 second song is the perfect example of their ability to perform as a “jam band.” This also shows off John’s guitar chops as he plays a solo that lasts well over than 5 minutes. The Trio cools down after than performance and plays a lighter song called “Vultures.” This is also one of my favorite songs on the Trio Set.The last song of the set is “Bold As Love”, another Jimi Hendrix cover, in which Mayer gives a speech in the middle of the song. Then he goes into the solo one more time and the curtains close on the John Mayer Trio Set.

Band Set:

In the Band Set John Mayer proves that he can make great radio worthy songs. He plays songs that everyone can sing along.He starts it by playing his hit song “Waiting On The World To Change.” The great thing about John is that is sounds so much better live than on studio albums. He is freer on stage and just has more energy than the studio recordings. The next three songs are personal favorites of mine.“Slow Dancing In A Burning Room” is the next song and is my favorite song in the Band Set. You can tell John is pouring his heart and soul into his songs and I think this is the best example of it. After the guitar solo at the end of the song John plays a lighter song from his first album “Room for Squares.”The song is “Why Georgia” and it sounds so much better than the studio version. The audience even sings a verse without John because every fan knows every word to it; this song is like his anthem. The next track is “The Heart of Life” from “Continuum” and is done beautifully. Vocals are suburb on this song.Mayer then pumps up the volume with a cover Ray Charles’s “I Don’t Need No Doctor.”This song has an excellent guitar solo and an even better saxophone solo in it.

Next is the Grammy Award winning song “Gravity.” This is hands down one of Mayer best songs ever written and this live performance is pure magic. Clocking at almost 10 minutes He pours his heart into this beautiful song from the vocals to the two breathtaking guitar solos, this is certainly one of his masterpieces. After the last solo John slows it down with another long song “I Don’t Trust Myself (With Loving You)” which is another fantastic song. The song is great until the end where the guitar solo gets a little loud for my taste. After the solo John plays the opening to another Grammy Nominated winning song “Belief.” What is interesting about this song is the lyrics which are about how you can never get everyone to believe the same thing.“We’re never gonna win the world, we’re never gonna stop the war if belief is what we’re fighting for.” This is a great up tempo song with fantastic guitar too. Then John sings “It’s really over you made your stand…” which is the opening to “I’m Gonna Find Another You” the last track on the album. Another personal favorite of mine John plays the song with much more feeling than the studio version and is a perfect show closer for a spectacular live album.

Overall Opinion:

This is one of best live albums out there today, if you like John Mayer there is no doubt that you will enjoy this album if you don’t already have it (which you should). If you are not a fan of Mr. Mayer’s three studio albums “Room For Squares”, “Heavier Things”, and “Continuum” then I can assure you, you will like this album because it has so much more energy and shows off John’s real guitar skills. This is without a doubt my favorite John Mayer album and it will pretty hard for him to ever top an album like this.

Key Tracks:

Acoustic Set – Neon, In Your Atmosphere, Free Fallin’

Trio Set – Come When I Call, Wait Until Tomorrow, Vultures, Bold As Love

Band Set – Slow Dancing In A Burning Room, Gravity, I Don’t Trust Myself (With Loving You), I’m Gonna Find Another You

OK my youngest son, 11, wanted to give his review of the AC/DC show at Giants Stadium, so without further adieu, here is his opinion on the concert:

AC/DC at Giants Stadium

A week ago today my dad and I had gone to see AC/DC at Giant Stadium. AC/DC is the band that basically started me down the path of rock and roll. AC/DC is one of my favorite bands. My dad always said they’d throw a heck of a concert and he was absolutely right. This was an excellent concert. A couple of days before, I went to see Green Day at Madison Square Garden. Green Day was good, but AC/DC was so much better.

Giant Stadium was excited for AC/DC, but had to wait as there were two other opening acts. First was The Answer, a new Irish rock and roll band, well new to some people. They played some of their latest songs. I could not catch the names of the songs because of his accent, but their new album “Every Day Demons” is on iTunes. The next band was terrible and they are supposedly popular. There name was Anvil and they stank!!!!! The lead singer sounded like a dying horse who smoked all of his life. Speaking of smoking, he said that he and his band-mates were big marijuana smokers in front of the police and security of Giants Stadium. I wouldn’t be surprised if the were arrested after their performance. Finally Anvil finished and a cartoon of Angus Young jumping off a train came upon a huge screen, then a big train on the stage exploded as the band jumped out of the “wreckage” to play “Rock n’ Roll Train”- one of my favorite songs.

When they started to play “Rock n’ Roll Train,” my dad yelled-“Get up, no sitting at an AC/DC concert”. It felt so great to see that AC/DC still has that rock n’ roll spirit in them. After “Rock n’ Roll Train” they played “Hell Ain’t a Bad Place to Live.” I didn’t really know that song so I decided to sit down. The song was pretty good, but during the song I realized that all three bands that played last Friday, started with the letter “A”. Next was one of their most popular songs- “Back in Black.” This song is great because it proves that even after the death of a great singer, AC/DC can still bounce back and rock hard. Then they played one of their new songs “Big Jack.” It was really good. Next was another favorite of mine “Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap.” My dad and I rocked out to that song. It’s one of the great classics of AC/DC. “Shot Down in Flames” was new to me as well. Then they played “Black Ice.” I have played that song on my iPod so many times since the album came out last October. Next was their most popular song “Thunderstruck.” This was also a great song and I love it. The show became funny when they played “The Jack” because Angus took his pants off. I love it how Angus feels like he’s so young spirited. The performance of “Hells Bells” was superb; the way the bell came down on the stage and Brian swung on the string of the bell. “Shoot to Thrill” was new song to me and it was awesome! Next was “War Machine.” There was a cool cartoon of planes dropping long necked guitars on the enemies. “Dog Eat Dog” was another great classic that they played. They played “Anything Goes” from there new album and went right into “You Shook Me All Night Long.” This song was actually played at my mom and dad’s wedding.

Next was the ultimate AC/DC song everyone knew the words. “TNT” rocked the stadium when everyone was screaming “Oi, Oi, Oi.” After one rockin’ song they went on to an even bigger rockin’ song, “Whole Lotta Rosie.” This part was the greatest part of the show for me when they played “Let There Be Rock” and Angus Young went into a 45 minute guitar solo. In the Bryan Adams song-“Summer of ‘69” he says “I played until my fingers bled,” well that is what Angus did. In my opinion, Angus Young is the greatest guitar player ever! He even went on this platform that raised him up high the air. He was on the floor going crazy. Once I saw that I said to myself: I’m looking at greatness right now and this greatness was amazing.

The first encore was “Highway to Hell.” That was pretty cool. Then they played the famous “For Those About to Rock.” My uncle told me that my chest was going to pop out when I heard the cannons. “Fire!”…..KABOOM!!!!!

My uncle was right, my chest actually hurt for a while after the 21 gun salute. I was speechless because I was so amazed on how great that concert was. They even had a giant fireworks display. The only thing I said to my dad is- “Dad, I can’t sleep.”

AC/DC FOREVER!!!!!!

Trivia Questions

Answers from last week:

1.     False

2.     Alternating Current/Direct Current

3.     Brian May.

4.     Rock Me Tonite

This week’s trivia (Random)

1.     What famous comedian played the drums for Donald Fagen and Walter Becker in their first band?

2.     What was the only Top 10 hit for the Allman Brothers?

3.     Which artist has been nominated for the most Grammy’s of all-time?

4.     Stephen Stills of Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young fame played for what band before CSN&Y?

 

Name That Tune

Answers from last week:

1.     “Bust A Move”- Young MC

2.     “Always On My Mind”-Willie Nelson

3.     “Land of 1000 Dances”-Wilson Pickett

4.     “Roundabout”- Yes

Can you guess the title from the following lyrics from part of the song?

1.     “You’d be a fool to cling to me.. to live a life to bring us pain”

2.     “And my destination makes it worth the while.. pushing through the darkness…”

3.     “He’s nervous, but on the surface he looks calm and ready.. To drop bombs…”

4.     “So lock up your daughter.. and lock up your wife..”

Back on this day in 1970, Christie McVie joined Fleetwood Mac.

Back on this day in 1974, Peter Wolf of the J. Geils Band married actress Faye Dunaway. (The marriage lasted 5 years).

Back on this day in 2002,  Yes was saluted with a day in their honor in the city of Philadelphia.

Back on this day in 2003, The Osmonds received a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

If it is your birthday today, you share the same birth date with Herb Reed (“The Platters”) and B.J. Thomas.

1 Comment »

  1. I cant wait for Johns new album in November. I already love “Taking on Water” and “Half of My Heart” Im sure this will follow in line with his previous albums and stay in my cd player for months after the release.

    Comment by poker rakeback — September 7, 2009 @ 5:18 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

