Errols Weekly Music Update.

July 17, 2009

Weekly Update – 07/17/2009

Rob Thomas at the Beacon Theater on Thurs. & Fri. Nov. 12 and 13. Pre-sale tickets begin this morning at 11:00 a.m. until 11:00 p.m. tonight and the password is Metro. General public on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. $45.50, $60.50 and $80.50. One Republic and Carolina Liar are the openers. Also appearing at the Borgota Event Center in Atlantic City on Fri. Nov. 6. Tickets for this show on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event).

Band of Skulls at the Mercury Lounge on Mon. Aug. 17. Tickets on sale now. $12. (I’m in, who else?)

Brandi Carlile at the Beacon Theater on Sat. Rocktober 3. Tickets on sale this morning at 9:00 a.m. $35 – $50.50.

Guster at the Beacon Theater on Fri. November 7. Tickets on sale today at noon. $39.50.

Lamb of God with GWAR at Wellmont Theater in Montclair N.J. on Tues. Sept. 22. Tickets on sale today at noon. $35 ($38 day of show).

Hercules and Love Affair Weekender at the Music Hall of Williamsburg Brooklyn on Sat. Aug. 15. Tickets on sale today at noon. $20.

Bob Weir & Ratdog at Grand Ballroom at Manhattan Center on Mon. & Tues. Rocktober 19 and 20. Also appearing at the Beacon Theater on Thurs. – Sat. Rocktober 22-24. Tickets for Grand Ballroom on sale tomorrow at noon. $49.50. Tickets for Beacon on sale tomorrow at noon. $39.50 and $49.50.

Dan Auerbach at Webster Hall on Wed. Nov. 11. Tickets on sale today at noon. $25.

The Pains of Being Pure at Heart at Webster Hall on Sat. Rocktober 3. Tickets on sale today at noon. $16 ($18 day of show).

Britney Spears at Madison Square Garden on Wed. Aug. 26. Tickets on sale this morning at 9:00 a.m. $39.50 – $499.50.

Moby at the New York Fillmore at Irving Plaza on Mon. Sept. 21. Tickets on sale this morning at noon. $32.50. (Live Nation Event).

Clutch at the New York Fillmore at Irving Plaza on Fri. & Sat. Rocktober 9 & 10. Tickets on sale today at noon. (Live Nation Event).

Rick Springfield at The Music Box at The Borgata in Atlantic City on Fri. Sept. 25. Tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event).

Queensryche at The Capital One Theater in Westbury NY on Sun. Rocktober 25. Tickets on sale this Sun. July 19 at 12:30 p.m. $35 and $49.

Other items:

Daughtry’s sophomoric effort- “Leave This Town” – was released this past Tuesday and I have not made the plunge as of yet but I think I am really close. I have listened to the 30 second samples on I-Tunes and I have to say I am pretty impressed. It sounds like many of these songs will be “radio friendly” and will certainly be hits before too long. I-Tune listeners (over 750) give it a 4.5 star rating- out of 5 stars. “No Surprise” is already one of his classics and my prediction is “Life After You” will be the biggest hit from the album. Really folks, this sounds pretty amazing, I say run out and buy it.

My favorite “hair band” song of the week is “Still of the Night” by Whitesnake. I heard it the other day on the radio and wow did it bring me back. For me, this is the ultimate “poster child” song for hair bands (I know what you’re thinking-“Cherry Pie” by Warrant or even “Here I Go Again” by Whitesnake.. but hear me out). By the time Coverdale formed Whitesnake (don’t even ask who he was with prior to Whitesnake because I’ll cry that you don’t know) he had the spandex down and the “polished hair band” sound down pact. I’ll be the first to admit that when it came out in 1987 I thought this was the greatest and even though they caught a lot of slack for sounding like Led Zeppelin, I still loved it. (How come Whitesnake was able to survive by “copying” Zep but poor Kingdom Come does one album and they are lambasted?). The reason I think this is the song that represents “The Hair Band Era” is because it has many essentials: A) David Coverdale in his spandex with his “poofed out” blond hair; B) Loud guitars with a slick hook that leads to head (I’m mean “hair”) banging C) Video that contained a beautiful woman (Tawny Kitaen); D) slow middle of the song that lasts a little too long but then gets back to the catchy hook; and E) the word “mama” -if you think about it is used in many hair band songs. So no offense to “Cherry Pie” by Warrant but for me-this is the song that defines the “Hair Band” era.

One Republic has made a duet with Sara Bareilles and the song is called “Come Home” and the beginning actually sounds like “Home Sweet Home” by Motley Crue. It’s a nice song, check it out.

My favorite “hard rock” song of the week is “Mean Street” from Diamond Dave and the boys from Van Halen. I took my boys to the town fair and this dude had the XM station “Hair Radio” blasting to the max when this song came on. I grabbed my younger son’s hand and ran to get closer to the speakers (he didn’t know what was going on) and made him listen to greatness. I lip-synced and “air-guitared” throughout and did not care who was watching. “Gonna hunt somebody down…”  \m/ \m/

My favorite song of the week belongs to The Thermals with “Now We Can See.” I saw the video on MTV University over the weekend and was immediately struck by the hook. See for yourself at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QJu611UdfxA . Good stuff, this came out in April.

My favorite “new” song of the week is “Maybe” by Ingrid Michaelson, this is the first single from her upcoming album “Everybody” which will be released on Aug. 25. This was another song that hit me the first time I heard it and my prediction is that this will be a hit by the end of the summer. Just a real nice song.

My favorite “classic” song of the week belongs to the Mighty Led Zeppelin with the phenomenal “How Many More Times” from their classic debut album circa 1969. Words can not express the greatness of this band as well as this song. It highlights Mr. Jimmy Page’s skills on the axe and as usual Mr. Bonham’s unmatched skills on the drums. Of course this band (and song) would not be complete without the massive talents of John Paul Jones and Robert Plant. (Plant-when are you going to take a break from the “soft” side of Alison and jam with your brothers? The world would never be the same again. You would single handedly save the world from…. well… everything). One favor I ask of you- one of these summer nights in your backyard (or wherever you hang out)-play this song so LOUD that your neighbors will come out and ask you if you could “turn it up?!!!”

Slash has nothing new to report on the future of Velvet Revolver but states that the “dream is still alive” and they will be auditioning singers since they dismissed Scott Weiland last year. Slash is putting the final touches on a solo album while Duff McKagan already has a side project-Loaded-which issued its third album a few months back. Duff also spends his time as a columnist for Seattle Weekly.com and also as a “financial” columnist for Playboy. (Are you kidding me?) Drummer Matt Sorum has released his own clothing line and a store. Wow, sounds like they don’t have any time to look for a singer.

Win a chance to next Tueday’s listening party (July 21) for the new Alice In Chains album by sending an e-mail to aliceinchains@ velvethammer.net and include your name, phone number & e-mail address. Be sure to put “New York” in the “subject” header.

Album Review: “Horehound” by The Dead Weather released on July 14, 2009.

The amazing Jack White has done it again. He has created a third band which fits him like a glove. But now he is doing the opposite of Dave Grohl, meaning he has gone from playing guitar for the White Stripes and The Raconteurs and now sits behind the skins for The Dead Weather. (Although that was Jack’s first instrument- Grohl as you should know was the drummer for Nirvana before playing guitar for the Foo’s). Mr. White pulled bassist Jack Lawrence from The Raconteurs and he also plays with The Greenhornes. Performing many of the vocal leads (as well as playing guitar) is Alison Mosshart who in her spare time is the lead singer and guitarist for the band, The Kills. Rounding out the new foursome is Dean Fertita who plays organ, electric piano, synthesizer and guitar. Mr. Fertitia replaced the late Natasha Schneider as keyboardist in 2007 for The Queens of the Stone Age. Putting this band together seems to be like trying to put a complicated puzzle together-remember those 1,000 “tiny” piece puzzles where each piece looks the same and you just don’t know what the end result will be. But just like when you complete the puzzle, you look back and realize all the pieces fit and there is no other way you could have done it. These four individuals have such diverse musical backgrounds but yet give the impression they have been together just as long as the Allmans or U2. It almost seems like this was an experiment to see what the outcome would be like. Well folks, I have to tell you- I was completely blown away after only listening to this album just one time. I can’t imagine how many more times I will be turning this one out. And just like when you know there had to be a sequel to “Spiderman” “Rocky” or “Harry Potter”- there has to be a follow up album because this one is so good, it has quenched my appetite for more. This psychedelic “funk-a-fied” experiment uses all sorts of genres including blues, rock, punk, rap and Jamaican influences to create some of the most electrified, “stop & start” beats and crushing bass lines that is totally different from anything out there today.

The album begins with “60 Feet Tall” which takes a while to get started but you are intrigued by the sound and don’t seem to mind that it does take some time to get going. If there is to be a 40th anniversary concert for Woodstock, this tune should either be the song that begins the show or ends it. I can tell you that Jimi Hendrix would be watching front row center with a big smile on his face as this has his influence smeared all over it. This song is reminiscent of the late ‘60’s where new and untried sounds became the norm. Take a listen for yourself and tell me this doesn’t put you on a huge lawn on a hot summer day with the sun beaming in your face as you ask yourself “Does it get any better?” Track 2-“Hang You from The Heavens”- was the first single released a few months ago and Alison actually sounds like Jack on the “mike.” This song has a lot of energy and the aforementioned “stops & starts” really stand out on this song as there are a number of times you think its is going to end but it continues to groove. “I Cut Like a Buffalo” features Jack on vocals and this song sounds like something that Bob Marley would record if he got together with Jack. There is a haunting organ behind all the back beats with some weird sounds that sound like the guitar but I think they are noises coming from Jack. You will be forming your arms in the shape of the letter “U” and making quick motions like you are doing push-ups throughout the whole song. I could definitely see the Beastie Boys covering this song at their live shows. This could be the best song on the album. “So Far from Your Weapon” takes it down a bit as again you are glued to the sound emanating from these four individuals who create this unbelievable harmony. It’s a slow trudging groove with fantastic blending vocals from both Alison and Jack. One thing that stands out is the “crashing cymbals” throughout the song and it made me pause as I asked myself- “Is this Jack White on drums?” I’ll tell you, pretty impressive. Track # 5-“Treat Me Like Your Mother”- sounds like something that has been recorded in the year 3000 as it has this “futuristic” feel to it. It is a fast pace song (again you hear the “high hat” drumming from Jack) that mixes punk with rap and by the middle of the song you will be mashing in circles. The organ/synthesizer playing is phenomenal in this song and Jack keeps the frantic pace going with his mad skills on drums. (This could be my favorite song on the album). “Rocking Horse” starts off similar to the “We Gotta Get Out of This Place” by The Animals with that clear bass line and also has a Johnny Cash feel to it as I picture an old western movie where you tie up the horse as you head into the saloon. Jack and Alison do their thing on vocals and this mysterious sounding song may just be the “dark horse” on the album, you will find yourself going back to this tune again and again.

Track #7-“New Pony”- will rock your socks off. It has that “fuzz box” sound screeching out from the guitar and you will be “head-banging” in no time. The guitar solo is “lights out.” This has a definite “rap” feel to it and I guess you could say that “Rage Against The Machine” could have recorded this. And to boot this is a cover of a Bob Dylan song. “Bone House” is so “freak”-ing phenomenal that I don’t have the words to describe it. (But of course, you know I will try). The psychedelic synthesizer is eminent throughout and if you could imagine a Black Crowes song on the 78 rpm speed on your old record player, then I would say you’re close to the sound of this track. I love Alison’s screams of “I build your house I build a home..” Then it’s on to the next track-“3 Birds” which is the only instrumental on the album and you know what? I want more of these songs because it highlights all four individual skills on their respective instruments. I’m assuming Alison is playing guitar as Dean seems to be playing all the organ sounds and this really works as they are so cohesive, so tight it makes you wonder what took them so long to get together. “No Hassle Night” is the shortest track on the album but packs a powerful punch and it does remind me of the “Yeah Yeah Yeahs.” It could be the “filler” on the album, not one of their best but it’s still good. The last track-“Will There Be Enough Water”-is the longest track on the album but it won’t feel like it. What a way to end a spectacular debut album, it has the passion that is needed for a slow “bluesy” song and the musicianship displayed gives it the feel that this song came naturally for them. Jack and Alison ride out on the sunset with their arms held high as they have given the world something totally new and refreshing.

I don’t want to pass over the other individuals of the Dead Weather because obviously without their talents this album could have never been brought off the ground but I really have to point out to everyone the massive impact that Jack White is having on the music world since the mid-to-late 1990’s. Now I know I’m “preaching to the choir” to many of you out there but for those of you who are not familiar with this man, you need to start focusing on him. He is already a legend in my mind and he clearly is someone who was born with a talent that few others possess. He will go down in music history in the same breath as Hendrix, Zep, Beatles etc. and I don’t know if everyone out there apprehends this. (On a separate note- my oldest son finally realized how phenomenal “Elephant” is from the White Stripes after shunning it for a long time). That is the thing with Mr. White-maybe you have to give it some time (or multiple turns of his albums) but eventually it will click the light bulb will turn on and you’ll love it, I promise you. This new effort by the Dead Weather is amongst the top ten albums of 2009…already!!!

In honor of the recent statement that the new Kiss album will be released in early Rocktober-perfect month, no? I have decided to list my favorite ten songs from the entity called Kiss. With no further accolades as you all know that I love this band:

10.     Hotter Than Hell-I remember trying to hide this song from my parents as I knew they’d be upset with the lyrics, so this one was played when they were far away from my bedroom. I love the “gong” (you know like on the “Gong” show) used towards the end, after the “cowbell” came the “Gong” as Queen use to utilize it as well.

9.     Let Me Know– I love this song from their first album. Gene’s vocals are crystal clear and this song just rocks. Paul and Gene share lead vocals while Ace & Peter keep the train moving along. Ace’s guitar solo that takes the song to it’s end is real nice. This is the “early” sound that I’m hoping appears on the upcoming Rocktober release.

8.     Mr. Speed– The cover of “Rock and Roll Over” is something that I use to draw all the time. This song takes me back to my pre-high school days as Kiss became the biggest thing in my life at the young age of 12. Posters filled my walls (yes of course, the classic 1976 bi-centennial poster) and I kept scrap books of the “hottest band in the world.” I love the whole “Rock and Roll Over” album.

7.     Every Time I Look at You– From the album “Revenge”(which is one of their heaviest and best albums) but I actually love the version on the MTV unplugged album better than the original. I know it’s a “sappy” song but that’s me sometimes. On the unplugged album you can really hear Paul’s vocal skills, especially on this song and “I Still Love You.”

6.     Larger Than Life-This song had me on the first guitar licks, I friggin’ love it. Gene’s vocals are classic and Paul’s “Uugghh” gets me all the time. “Kiss Alive II” was the best Christmas present that I received in 1977 and the whole vacation week was spent listening to this album over and over and over. My friends were pissed that I didn’t come out the whole week. I couldn’t- I was soaking this album in and the “studio” version on side 4, well let’s just say that the album sleeves are taped and stapled. (Also loved “Rocket Ride”.)

5.     Nothing to Lose– I love the original version from their debut album but the version that appears on MTV unplugged just blows me away every time I hear it. I can’t get enough of it as Kiss pull an “Allman’s” as both Peter Criss and Eric Singer are playing the drums in unison.

4.     Love Gun– I remember waiting for “Love Gun”-the album- to finally arrive as all of us Kiss fans awaited the highly touted change in their costumes, remember that? (I personally would have stuck with the old ones but..) (Love Gun was the first album where Ace had his own song-“Shock Me”). Side 2 kicks off with this classic and it always is a highlight at their live shows. “I’ll be a gambler baby, lay down the bet, we get together mama (see mama?)” Love the “machine gun” style of the song, perfect.

3.     Shout it Out Loud (Alive II)- “Do you people want a little bit of rock and roll.. I said do you people want a little bit of rock and roll??!!!” I love the explosions and the background vocals, c’mon you have to like this song, no? I get so psyched when I hear the live version. Of course I love the original from “Destroyer.” “We Love You- Goodnight!!!.. We Want Kiss, We Want Kiss!!!” \m/ \m/

2.     I Stole Your Love– This is the song I point to when the “haters” say that Kiss wasn’t any good. I’d put this song up against any one, any time, any where!!! This song rocks your socks off and Ace’s friggin’ solo is the icing on the cake. “Listen.. I stole your love.” This is a perfect song for your next Spin workout, tell your instructor to get with it.

1.     King of the Night Time World (Alive II)- another classic from “Destroyer” but the live version is my ultimate Kiss song. It starts off with the “gong” again. I love Peter’s drumming as it reminds me of the “Wipeout” song by The Safari’s. If this doesn’t get you psyched, then I give up.

Trivia Questions

Answers from last week:

1.     Toms River, New Jersey

2.     Jon Bon Jovi and Richie Sambora

3.     By using the name of Phil Lynott’s first band. Lynott went on to success with Thin Lizzy.

4.     False, Matt Fallon was original singer

This week’s trivia (Kiss)

1.     What was the name of the Television movie that appeared on Rocktober 28, 1978 on NBC? (Of course you know I was glued to the TV that night).

2.     On what late night TV talk show in 1979 did Ace upset Paul & Gene with his uncontrollable laughter and ramblings?

3.     Who supposedly wanted to join Kiss after Ace was forced out of the band?

4.     What Kiss song was played on WABC AM radio during the summer of 1977?

Name That Tune

Can you guess the title from the following lyrics from part of the song?

1.     “Cause if they catch you in the back seat trying to pick her locks…”

2.     “Close your eyes, listen to my voice it’s my disguise…”

3.     “Cause we’ve shared the laughter and the pain and even shared the tears…”

4.     “I’m through with doubt there’s nothing left for me to figure out…”

Sadly back on this day in 1959, the legendary Billie Holiday passed away in New York City.

Sadly back on this day in 1996, Chas Chandler of The Animals passed away from a heart attack.

Back on this day in 1968, The Beatles movie “Yellow Submarine” premiered in London.

Back on this day in 1971, Sly & The Family Stone had a number one hit with “Family Affair.”

If you were born on this day you share the same birth date with Phoebe Snow. (“Poetry Man.”)

1 Comment »

  1. Hey – new reader here, great stuff!

    Thought I would share a couple of things I recently found and placed in heavy rotation.

    Check out: The Eels, “Hombre Lobo” and Paterson Hood “Murdering Oscar”.

    Paterson is from the Driver by Truckers (a recent discovery for me too)

    And I am taking my 14 Y.O. to warped tour Sunday – hoping to find something new and tasty!

    Thanks again

    Keep on rocking

    Comment by GaryG — July 17, 2009 @ 11:57 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

