Errols Weekly Music Update.

July 10, 2009

Weekly Update – 07/10/2009

Alice In Chains at New York Fillmore at Irving Plaza on Tues. Sept. 8. Pre-sale tickets for Citicard members begins this morning at 10:00 a.m. General public tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event).

Rob Thomas at Mohegan Sun on Sat. Nov. 7. Pre-sale for club members on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. until 10:00 p.m. next Fri. July 17. General public on sale next Sat. July 18 at 10:00 a.m. $45.  Also apperaring at the Beacon Theater on Thurs. & Fri. Nov. 12 & 13. Pre-sale for Citi card holders starts tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. General public on sale next Sat. July 18 at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event).

Lyle Lovett and his Large Band at the Beacon Theater on Wed. Nov. 4. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $49.50 – $79.50.

Taking Back Sunday at the Bay Stage at Jones Beach on Fri. Aug. 28. Pre-sale tickets on now for Citicard members. General public tickets on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. $27.50.

Clutch at the New York Fillmore at Irving Plaza on Fri. & Sat. Rocktober 9 & 10. Tickets on sale next Fri. July 17 at noon. (Live Nation Event).

Seether at the Starland Ballroom in Sayerville N.J. on Sat. Rocktober 3. Tickets on sale tomorrow at noon. $25.50.

Michael McDonald & Boz Scaggs at The Music Box at The Borgata in Atlantic City on Fri. Sept. 18. Tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event).

Loggins & Messina at The Music Box at The Borgata in Atlantic City on Sat. Sept. 19. Tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event).

Brian Wilson at The Capital One Theater in Westbury NY on Sun. Nov. 8. Pre-sale tickets on sale now for Citi cardholders. General public tickets on sale this Sun. July 12 at 12:30 p.m. $59.50.

Engelbert Humperdinck at The Capital One Theater in Westbury NY on Sat. Nov. 14. Tickets on sale this Sun. July 12 at 12:30 p.m. (Live Nation Event).

Tony Bennett at The Capital One Theater in Westbury NY on Sat. & Sun. Nov. 21 & 22.Pre-sale tickets on sale now for Citi cardholders. General public tickets on sale this Sun. July 12 at 12:30 p.m. $72.50 and $87.50.

Lupe Fiasco at the Beach on Governor’s Island on Fri. Sept. 11. Tickets on sale today at noon. $34.50.

Billy Squier at the Ridgefield Playhouse on Wed. July 29. Tickets on sale now. $82.50 and $75.

Nitty Gritty Dirt Band at BB Kings on Tues. Rocktober 6. Tickets on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. $35 ($40 day of show).

Counting Crows with Augustana at Hammerstein Ballroom on Tues. Aug. 25. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $59.75

Other items:

Pearl Jam has announced a short U.S. tour later on this fall and so far the closest place to the tri-state area is in Philadelphia at The Spectrum on Wed. & Fri. Rocktober 28 and 30. Tickets for those shows go on sale next Fri. July 17 at 10:00 a.m. Their ninth studio album “Backspacer” is due out on Sept. 20 and will be distributed by “Target.” The new single “The Fixer” will be played on radio stations across the States beginning on July 20.

I-Tunes has this cool “Sinatra” thing going on now, they have his songs and then covers from some of today’s artists out there. Maroon 5 does an excellent cover of “The Way You Look Tonight.” Joshua Radin does an absolutely stunning version of “Fly Me to The Moon.” He makes it sound brand new and very contemporary. Seether continuing it’s covers (they did a George Michael “Wham” tune) with a completely different take on the classic “I’ve Got You Under My Skin.”

My favorite song of the week is “Not Meant to Be” by Theory of a Deadman off of their “Scars & Souvenirs” album. Actually I heard my youngest son singing this song word-for-word and I couldn’t believe it. He said “Dad this song’s been on the radio for a long time now.” You see I told you about these guys, keep an eye on these boys as they might become as big as the band that signed them-Nickelback.

My favorite “old school” song of the week is “Chapel of Love” by The Crystals. (I know the “Dixie Cups” did this song as well but for me- it’s The Crystals version). What a song?!! This is a super, super classic and reminds me so much of my aunt Carol. I can just picture her singing this song at the kitchen table.

My favorite “new” song of the week belongs to Nickelback with “Burn It to The Ground.” I heard it the other day for the first time and was pretty impressed. I like this band but in spurts, meaning I have songs in my library by them but not a complete album. I do like this, it’s pretty heavy. (I know not by metal standards but you know what I mean). Love the way the song comes to a crashing end.

The Foo Fighters spent the 4th of July at the White House performing for the President and over 1,200 active military servicemen and women. They performed a new song “Wheels” which is one their new album which is suppose to come out in November 2009.

Living Colour is back with their fifth studio album (first one in six years) “The Chair in the Doorway” and it will be released on Sept. 15. I will check it out.

Have you purchased the new Jet song like I told you? I can’t get enough of “She’s a Genius”- it’s friggin’ hot baby!!

Last week I told you that CS&N will put out a “covers” album and this week The Killers have announced that they will do the same and it will be out before the year end. Artists such as Neil Young, The Cars and Cyndi Lauper have been mentioned as some of their influences.

Mariah Carey has released a new song called “Obsessed” and the word on the street is that it is a direct hit on Eminem. He taunted her on his album “Bagpipes in Baghdad” and now apparently she is doing the same with this single off of her upcoming album “Memoirs of an Imperfect Angel” to be released on Aug. 25.

“And 5, now this is most important, Rat…comes down to making out… whenever possible.. put on side 1 of Led Zeppelin IV

Side 1 of “Slave to the Grind” by Skid Row released on June 11, 1991.

This week I was in a “head-banger” mood- don’t ask why- I don’t know and I came across “Monkey Business” by Skid Row from their heavy/ripping/hard rocking sophomoric effort- “Slave to the Grind.” Now I know there are the “haters” out there that will say that this is a “glorified hair-band” that made an “OK” album but would still label them as a “wannabee” metal band. Hey but that’s OK, you know I don’t get tied up with labels- if it makes me move or groove, I will usually like it. I admit I’m not into the “death” metal scene but I can tell you that most of the “general” public does not (or would not) gravitate towards this album and knowing this keeps a bit of a smile on my face. (Hey I didn’t say I was completely grown-up yet).One thing I will state is this is their best effort, I love the whole album but side one really blows the cover off the ball. Another recommendation is that the rule here is you have to listen to this very LOUDLY; there is no other way to get psyched out to the max.

Side one starts off with the aforementioned-explosive- “Monkey Business.” I remember buying this album-bringing it home- I had just been married that February and my music taste really started to lean to the “heavier” side of things- (I know weird but as I aged I liked the heavier stuff more and more-keeping in mind that I know some of you “real head-bangers” are laughing… but anyway..)- and I felt this electricity run through my whole body. I wanted more and wanted it louder. My wife hated it, so I knew that I could not play it when she was home but when the house was mine (before kids), the walls would shake- and if I could recommend a song to bring down the walls in your house when no one is around- then “Monkey Business” is your chance to see if I’m right. The first thing I remember about this tune is how raw it sounded- it seems like they recorded this in a dungeon-like the one on the TV show-“The Munsters.” The energy sprang right from the speakers straight into my veins and into my blood stream. I couldn’t get enough of this song and then when the video was played almost every hour on the hour on MTV it made me like the song even more. “Kangaroo lady with her bourbon in a pouch.. Can’t afford the rental on the bamboo couch!!!” This song made a statement that Skid Row did not want to join the crowded room of Winger, Poison and Cinderella [all bands that I like(d) as well]. They were angling for the heavier room of Metallica and the like; in my opinion this album put them in that category. Don’t kid yourself; this album will rock your socks off. Sebastian Bach incorporated Diamond Dave and Axl into his frontman repitore and the result is something that he can be very proud of. The next song is the title track and the blistering heavy bass line seeps out of the speakers like that some sort of smoke and gets you in a headlock and slams you to the floor. This is a perfect song to “shadow box” or “kick box” or any other kind of physical activity. If this doesn’t get you pumped, nothing will. Love it!!! Track # 3- “The Threat” reminds me of a mix of “Tora Tora” and “Kingdome Come” between Sebastian’s vocal style and the slamming guitars. If you loved the music of the late 1980’s, (“B.C.” Nirvana) then you should know both Tora Tora and Kingdome Come. Rachel Bolan’s bass work beams right into your chest and doesn’t let up while Bach’s screeching followed by the nice handy guitar solo by Scotti Hill all blends perfectly with the reckless abandon that Rob Affuso displays on the skins. Blast this song out of your car windows on your next trip to Grandma’s.

I’m trying to catch my breath and with track # 4- “Quicksand Jesus” I am able to get my cell phone out and wave it back and forth (the 2000 version of the “lighter” days). Even though you are starting to relax it doesn’t mean that this song is not good, quite the contrary- this is super solid melodic heavy metal. Skid Row (with Bach) had that way about them to make every slow song to sound like a “perfect” head-banging ballad that everyone can nod their head and say “that is some quality stuff.” Then it’s back to the banging of your head and neck with breaking speed with my favorite track on the album- “Psycho Love.” The beginning sort of reminds me of Megadeth’s “Peace Sells” with the clear bass line. This song is crazy and at points it really is chaos but sometimes I really need that-you know what I’m saying? I admit you have to be in the mood to listen to this song (as well as the album) because it is loud and in your face. Bach really hits the high points in his screams as he does Diamond Dave proud.

Now with the final song on side 1 I know some of you will be scratching your head because I am usually against cursing, especially the “F-bombs” and they are all over the track – “Get the **** Out.” I know it’s “sophomoric” and was probably recorded just to prove that they were “metal” and I am not advocating that the younger audience purchase this album for this song. But I admit that I like the song because of the music (just like I love the song by Puddle of Mudd – “She ***** Hates Me”), so yes even me-Richie Cunnigham- will listen to this song- and yes I still consider it a “perfect” album side.There is actually a “clean” version of this album and this song is excluded-so parents you can purchase this for your teenagers. The replacement song is “Beggar’s Day.”

“Slave to the Grind” was the first “metal” album to ever hit number one on the charts when it was released. Metallica and Pantera were the next to hit the number one during that year. We all know what happened next when “A.D. Nirvana” occurred later that year. In one fell quick swoop, Nirvana ended the “hair” band era but the Skidsters managed to get this classic headbanger out the door before it closed. (for a while anyway). Skid Row is still going strong-as their fan base already knows-so if you want to check them out, look no further than “Slave to the Grind.”

Since my oldest son is a huge fan of Rob Thomas, I asked him if he wanted to write a review of his second solo album-“Cradlesong” and he was happy to do it. So here goes, this review was written by my son. Hope you enjoy it:

Album Review: “Cradlesong” by Rob Thomas released on June 30, 2009.

Four years ago Rob Thomas, front man of the successful band Matchbox Twenty, put out his first solo album titled “…Something to Be” which debuted at #1 on the Billboard 200 List making history. The music world has changed a lot since then.  Pop/rock music no longer dominate the charts like it used to. The genres of songs that make the Top 10 have changed since 2005.  With the odds against him Rob Thomas released his sophomore album called “Cradlesong” on June 30th 2009. I, being a huge fan of Rob, was very excited buying the CD at the store and popping it into the CD player in my dad’s car. I was eager to see if it was a better album than “…Something to Be.” It is better.

Rob Thomas’ second solo album, “Cradlesong” starts out with the hit single “Her Diamonds.” This song which was released back in April received airplay on a lot of FM radio stations. When I first heard this song it was a reminder that Rob was still alive and better than ever and it made me very excited to hear the rest of the new album. This is a perfect album opener for “Cradlesong”, it puts you in a happy mood and Rob sounds great with the background vocalists in the song. The album’s second song “Gasoline” is a bit of a step back from “Her Diamonds.” It’s a decent song but it’s just not one of the songs that stick out on the album. But then the next song, “Give Me The Meltdown” gets you pumped up again with a catchy chorus that you will be singing all day. This going to be the second single released and is easily going to dominate radio stations.

Another potential single, “Someday” follows that song and I award it with the best track on the album. This song has great lyrics, vocals, background vocals, and beat. This song is followed by two more upbeat songs “Mockingbird” and “Real World ’09.”“Mockingbird” is another great song but it is nothing compared to “Real World ’09.” That song is a perfect song for jumping around; it is great for singing along, and another great song by a fantastic artist. The next song is unlike any Rob Thomas song I have ever heard. “Fire On The Mountain” has a cool drum beat in the beginning and gives the song a different feel than most of his other songs. After that song the album starts to take a downward turn with the next two songs “Hard On You” and “Still Ain’t Over You.” They are just filler tracks and I can’t picture them as singles on the radio. They are just average songs on a record with a lot of above average songs.

Luckily the album starts getting really good again with the epic song “Natural.” This song has a different feel to it than the other songs on the album, it’s an angrier song and Rob sings it with a great amount of passion. This is the turning point of the album where every song from here on is a grade A song.Track 11, “Snowblind” is a beautiful ballad with great lyrics. Rob’s songwriting is something that always seems to get better every record he puts out. The next song follows is like “Natural” because it’s a song of frustration. Rob sings “No I can’t be myself and I can’t be nobody else, but if I could would you love me them?” This probably has to do with the fact that his music won’t top the charts like it used to, because his music is not what’s “cool” right now. He can’t change his style to rap/ hip-hop because that wouldn’t be staying true to himself. Musically it’s a little jazzy with the horns in the background and is a great upbeat song.

The fantastic lyrics continue with the title track “Cradlesong.” I have been a Rob Thomas/Matchbox Twenty fan for a long time now and to be honest this is probably the best song he has ever written. It truly is a touching and beautiful song and you really have to listen to the lyrics to understand its wonder. This fantastic album ends with another excellent song “Getting Late.” This reminds me of a song people would sing around a campfire. This really is a perfect album finally; it’s calm and lyrically is about the end of things, which is appropriate over an album closer. After the brief acoustic guitar solo after the end of the singing I thought “Wow Rob did it again!!” He made another fantastic record, it’s not perfect but it is sure close to it. Rolling Stone magazine called him “The last great pop/rock singer” and that statement could very well be true. This record is proof.

Overall Rating: An almost perfect record with great lyrics, vocals, and musical style. This is a must buy for any Rob Thomas or Matchbox Twenty fan and is a great buy for anyone who loves good pop/rock music. You will not be disappointed with this record.

Key Tracks:  Someday, Cradlesong, Real World ’09, Her Diamonds and Getting Late.

Order of songs best to worst:

1.       Someday

2.       Cradlesong

3.       Real World ‘09

4.       Her Diamonds

5.       Getting Late

6.       Snowblind

7.       Natural

8.       Wonderful

9.       Give Me the Meltdown

10.     Fire on the Mountain

11.     Mockingbird

12.     Gasoline

13.     Hard on Me

14.     Still Ain’t Over You.

Trivia Questions

Answers from last week:

1.     Chubby Checker’s “The Twist” which was number one in Sept. 1960 and then again in Feb. 1962.

2.     Whitney Houston

3.     “Ice, Ice, Baby” by Vanilla Ice

4.     Hall & Oates

This week’s trivia (Skid Row)

1.     Where was Skid Row formed? (What city and state)

2.     Who helped sign Skid Row to a record deal and then received royalties from the songs that Skid Row had written?

3.     How did they get their name of the band?

4.     True or False- Sebastian Bach was the original singer of Skid Row?

Back on this day in 1965, five weeks after its release, the Rolling Stones had their first number one U.S. hit with “ (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction.”

Back on this day in 1968, The Band released their debut album “Music from The Big Pink.” I have it, do you?

Back on this day in 1974, Gladys Knight debut her “Summer Variety Show” on NBC. Now that is something I did not know. Do you remember that show?

If you were born on this day you share the same birth date with Elijah Blue Allman.

Just a quick note on the Michael Jackson memorial this past Tuesday, I have to say that eulogies by Brooke Shields and Smokey Robinson were by far the best. The reason I loved Ms. Shield’s speech was because she gave us a view from the inside on what kind of person Michael was. She was poignant and one could tell she was speaking with her heart. You could also feel her pain. I also loved what Smokey Robinson said-“this boy can not be ten years old” and later on “someone that young could have that much feeling and soul and know, he had a lot of know…” It couldn’t have been stated any better. That’s what I have said when I talk about music-it’s a passion.. a feeling… something that hits your soul… Smokey, my hats off to you as that was one of the greatest tributes that one could ever hear. Other touching moments was Jermaine Jackson singing “Smile”- I don’t know how he did it but he did. It was a beautiful but at the same time, a heartbreaking moment. Marlon’s words at the end of the memorial had me in tears and when Michael’s daughter spoke, the tears just continued down my face.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

