Errols Weekly Music Update.

May 15, 2009

Weekly Update – 05/15/2009

Filed under: CD Reviews — Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , — ea0217 @ 5:53 am

Jay-Z and Ciara at the Mohegan Sun on Fri. July 10. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m.  $70 – $110.

Green Day at Madison Square Garden on Mon. July 27. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m.   $29.50 – $49.50.

Pink with special guest The Ting Tings at Madison Square Garden on Mon. Rocktober 5. Pre-sale tickets on sale this morning beginning at 10:00 a.m. until 10:00 p.m. tonight. General public on sale tomorrow at noon.  $49.50 – $75.

Jason Mraz at Mohegan Sun on Fri. July 31. Tickets on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m.$45. Also appearing at Jones Beach & PNC Bank Arts Center on Fri. & Sat. Aug. 7 & Aug. 8 Pre-sale tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. General public on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event).

Aerosmith with ZZ Top at Madison Square Garden on Mon. Sept. 14. Pre-sale tickets for American Express cardholders only on now until 10:00 p.m. Sun May 17. Also pre-sale tickets on sale this morning at 9:00 a.m. to Sun. May 17 at 10:00 p.m. and the pass word is: HEAERO. General public on sale Mon. May 18 at 10:00 a.m.  $59.50 – $200.

Keith Urban with Sugarland at Madison Square Garden on Thurs. Rocktober 8. Tickets on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. $20 – $84.50.

Moe at the Stone Pony Summer Stage in Asbury Park NJ on Fri. & Sat. July 3 & 4. Tickets on sale tomorrow at noon.  (Live Nation Event).

Kenny Wayne Shepherd at the Stone Pony Summer Stage in Asbury Park NJ on Thurs. July 9. Tickets on sale tomorrow at noon. $32.50 ($35 day of show).

The Pretenders and Cat Power at the Stone Pony Summer Stage in Asbury Park NJ on Sun. Aug. 9. Tickets on sale tomorrow at noon.  $44. ($45 day of show)

Peter Frampton at the Stone Pony Summer Stage in Asbury Park NJ on Sun. Aug. 30. Tickets on sale tomorrow at noon.  $42.  ($45 day of show).

Staind with Shinedown, Chevelle and Halestorm at the Asbury Park Convention Hall on Fri. July 17. Pre-sale tickets on until 10:00 p.m. tonight and the password is: Live. General public on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m.$45 ($48 day of show). Also appearing at the Chevrolet Theater in Wallingford CT on Thurs. July 16. Ticket info to follow on that show. (You know I feel that Shinedown should be the headliner instead of Staind).

Dream Theater at Chevrolet Theater on Wed. Aug. 5. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. Also at the Asbury Park Convention Hall on Fri. Aug. 7. Tickets for this show on sale tomorrow at noon. $49.50 – $75.

Sugar Ray at The New York Fillmore at Irving Plaza on Fri. Aug. 7. Tickets on sale today at noon. (Live Nation Event).

Kylie Minogue at Hammerstein Ballroom on Sun. –Tues. Rocktober 11-13. Tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m.  $85 – $125.

Ani DiFranco at Town Hall on Sat. Nov. 21. Tickets on sale Fri. June 5 at 10:00 a.m.  $48

Regina Spektor at The Beacon Theater on Wed. June 17. Tickets on sale today at noon. $37.50 – $44.50

Frankie Beverly & Maze at The Beacon Theater on Fri. July 10. Tickets on sale today at noon. $50 – $80.

The Fab Faux at The Beacon Theater on Sat. Sept. 12. Tickets on sale today at noon. $45 – $125. Set 1 will be “Revolver” in its entirety; Set 2 will consist of fan favorites.  Anyone buying the $125 will get a chance to “meet & greet” the band.

Kenny Chesney with Miranda Lambert & Lady Antebellum at Comcast Theater on Thurs. Aug. 13. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $39.50 and $80 ($44.50 and $85 day of show).

Stone Temple Pilots at Mohegan Sun on Fri. July 17. Tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event).

Donavon Frankenreiter at the Mercury Lounge, Music Hall of Williamsburg and Bowery Ballroom on Mon., Tues. & Thurs. July 20, 21 & 23. Pre-sale for American Express Cardholders only until 11:00 a.m. this morning. General public on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m.  $25.

The New York Dolls at the Music Hall of Williamsburg (66 North 6th Street 11211) on Mon. June 22. Pre-sale for American Express cardholders on until 11:00 a.m. this morning. General public on sale today at noon.  $32.50

The Hold Steady at the Starland Ballroom in Sayerville, N.J. on Fri. July 24. Tickets on sale today at noon.  $17.50

Other items:

Thoughts and prayers go out to the family & friends of Mr. Ean Evans, the bassist for Lynyrd Skynyrd since 2001, who passed away at the young age of 48 from cancer. Prior to joining Skynyrd he played for The Outlaws and Cupid’s Arrow.

My apologies to everyone out there who reads this page faithfully but I had misrepresented that the new Green Day album “21st Century Breakdown” was to come out on the 21st of May. That is incorrect. IT’S OUT TODAY!!!! It’s a good mistake right? (or surprise). I have seen a video of four songs from the new album and I friggin’ love it. Pepsi along with Yahoo have the four new songs on video-“21st Century Breakdown” “East Jesus Nowhere” “Know Your Enemy” and “Before the Lobotomy”. Check it out at http://music.yahoo.com/promo-42778155-54-20090508-autoplay. My gut is telling me this is going to be the best album of 2009. This has the Who, David Bowie and Queen influence all over it as the “concept” album is back in full force.

This coming September will mark the 20th anniversary of Motley Crue’s “Dr. Feelgood.” To celebrate the boys have released an anniversary CD with a couple of “live” songs added to it. Personally I think their first album (“Too Fast for Love”) is the best (they were real hungry at the time they made their first) but I love this album as well. From top to bottom on Feelgood there really is not a “filler” song- well OK maybe “Time for a Change.” (I know Monica- I should throw “Without You” in there as a filler but sometimes you need those ballads). Did you know that Skid Row sang background vocals on “Time for a Change?” There are lots of songs on the album that deal with….well you know and I try to keep this a “family” page, so the fans will know the song titles by the initials.. so here we go: “S.S.” had both Bryan Adams and Steven Tyler as background vocalists. (The boys met Adams at a Strip Club in Canada and asked him to come down to their studio to help them out on the album) “S.G.D.” has both Rick Nielsen and Robin Zander help out on vocals. Jack Blades helped out on “Same Old Situation.” It’s a tough call but “Don’t Go Away Mad (Just Go Away)” has slowly over the years become my favorite track on the album. For a long time it was “Kick Start My Heart” and of course I love the title track. If you do not have anything from the Crue in your library you would not go wrong by picking up “Dr. Feelgood” but definitely get their first album.“Feelgood” was produced by Mr. Bob Rock and the story goes that Metallica loved the production on this album and hired him for the “Black” album. Mr. Rock probably stayed on way too long with Metallica as they finally “released” themselves from him after “St. Anger.”

Paul Rodgers and Queen have parted ways. Paul says there is no animosity with each other and states that they could potentially work again in the future for a charity event.

Not for nothing but just based on the performances this past Tuesday night on American Idol Danny Gokey did not deserve to go home on Wednesday night. I have to be honest and say that Adam Lambert was the one that should have been voted off. In my opinion, the last few weeks I think all the “fame and celebrity” has gone to his head and he’s trying to hard to be perfect which has led to him “screaming and screeching” throughout some of his performances. And to make it worse it seems like the judges know it but have been giving him a pass- yes even Simon has been giving him a lot of slack. He’s seems to be always trying to hit that high note and it’s not working. He needs to go “back to the basics” if he wants to beat out Kris Allen next week.

Van Halen has been confirmed for “Guitar Hero” but no mention of what songs and what band members will be represented. My money is on the Diamond Dave era.

Did you catch the clip of the 9-year old guitar prodigy from Japan, Yuto Miyasawa, on the Ellen show this past Monday? He was asked who is idol was and he stated that it was Ozzy. So he and two other guys play “Crazy Train” and afterwards Ellen says that she has a surprise for him and has Ozzy come out from backstage to meet this kid. The priceless expression on his face as he realized that Ozzy was walking towards him is something that I will not forget for a while. Check it out at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-pksFOU_ZT8

Album Review: “Duets: An American Classic”- Tony Bennett released on Sept. 26, 2006

This week’s I-Tunes shuffle landed on “If I Ruled The World” by Mr. Tony Bennett along with Celine Dion and I was immediately struck on how beautiful the song is and I had to go back and listen to his entire “Duets” album which was released in Sept. 2006. Now there is one friend of mine, Jim, who would be shocked that I am writing a review of Mr. Bennett. As I have mentioned plenty of times before, being young sometimes clouds your vision on what greatness is all about. More specifically I was out of my mind when Tony won the “1995 album of the year” on the MTV Awards show and even though it was in his genre, I was still out of my mind. I could not accept that he won in 1995 but I was wrong. Mr. Bennett- please accept my humble apology as I was clearly a 30-year old Mr. “Know it All” and should have known better. Jim- I now know better and have an appreciation for his music.

Now if you are having a “dinner party” or friends over for a gathering, there is no better album to play in the background than “Duets.” I love this album from top to bottom and it’s a must have for everyone. I will go through each song and give my comments, so here goes:

“Lullaby of Broadway” with the Dixie Chicks-Even though thoughts of Joe Piscopo performing his Frank Sinatra impersonation that he made famous on Saturday Night Live in the early 1980’s will emerge in your head, when you listen to the whole song you will see the talent that the Dixie Chicks have and they hold their own with the world famous crooner. Of course it’s about Tony but the combination of his voice with the sweet vocals of the Dixie’s work so well that you immediately have a “holiday” feeling inside. Perfect.

“Smile” with Barbara Streisand- This song is bone chilling and I usually am frozen when I hear two of the greatest voices in the history of music working together in pure perfection. This is like watching the syrup slowly cover a stack of pancakes and drip down the sides of the cakes as you prepare to take your first bite. Streisand is stunning and Tony is just too cool.

“Put On a Happy Face” with James Taylor- I saw the video (or the making of this song) and you can not help but smile. This is two legends performing an American classic with such an appreciation for each other’s talent that it shines bright in this lively version. Their vocals together are priceless.

“The Very Thought of You” with Paul McCartney- I was so curious when I saw Paul’s name on this CD and wondered if he could pull off this genre of music and of course he can, he’s Paul McCartney- why would I have any doubts? Paul’s voice is crystal clear and he makes it seem like he’s been doing this kind of work his whole life. This is why I love collaborations between artists because of songs like this. Tony’s voice is pure perfection on this track.

“The Shadow of Your Smile” with Juanes- Every arrangement on this album is spotless and includes this one as well. I was unfamiliar with Juanes but after hearing his voice on this song I was convinced that he deserved a spot on this duet CD. You can hear the passion in both men in this soft classic, it works!!

“Rags To Riches” with Elton John- The beginning of the song when Tony sings I’m taken back to Carmine on the Laverne & Shirley series who would always sing this song to Shirley. Tony really shines in this song with no offense to Elton-who does an admiral job. They sound great when they sing together.

“The Good Life” with Billy Joel- Now when I saw Billy’s name I thought there was no way he could pull it off-but again I was wrong. Wow I didn’t know Billy had it in him. You can feel Billy’s graciousness towards Tony and I believe he was in complete awe of Tony but that did not affect his performance, he is stupendous. This is one of the best tracks on the album.

“Cold, Cold Heart” with Tim McGraw- I wasn’t too familiar with Mr. McGraw’s vocals or body of work for that matter but again I’d have to say that it sounds like most of these guests were born to sing this genre. (Of course it has to be because of Mr. Bennett- he makes everyone around him sound that much better and I’ll go with my theory of “good competition”- when there is someone that is so good at what they do- they make you “step it up a notch” because you don’t want to seem far behind when you know Tony is just Tony). Tim blends in beautifully and at points you have to catch yourself and ask was that Tony or Tim?

“If I Ruled The World” with Celine Dion- By far my favorite track on the album. Wow this song really gets me; I stop whatever I’m doing and have to listen in awe. I don’t want to get too crazy but this could be one of the best duets ever recorded. This song is “out of this world.”

“The Best is Yet to Come” with Diana Krall- Following up the best track on the album is tough but for me Tony keeps me up there as I didn’t fall too far. Miss Krall also does an admiral job but for me Tony keeps this one afloat as well as the band playing behind them.

“For Once in My Life” with Stevie Wonder- This is another song performed by two living legends which will leave you in astonishment on how great these singers are. The arrangement of the song is phenomenal- totally different from the original. This song won the best pop collaboration with vocals in 2007. I saw them perform this live at Madison Square Garden and Tony brought down the house!!

“Are You Havin’ Any Fun” with Elvis Costello- Mr. Costello was born to do this genre- I can’t believe it. This is the “sleeper” song on this album- you will not believe that this is Elvis “Alison” Costello. They both sound great and it is a very enjoyable song.

“Because of You” with K.D. Lang- I can picture a smoky room back in the day where K.D. is up on top of the piano while Tony plays and they go back and forth in complete flawlessness. This is one of the key tracks of the album. The trumpet solo hits the spot.

“Just in Time” with Michael Buble- Until recently I had never heard of Mr. Buble and I have to say he was born too late in the sense that he would have easily fit in with Tony & Frank back in the day. He was born to do this kind of music and it really shows with Tony on this tune. If you look up the word “excellence” you might just see this song listed as the definition.

“The Boulevard of Broken Dreams” with Sting- Wow I didn’t think that the person who sings “Roxanne” could ever do this genre but again, Sting pulls it off and the song works. He kind of reminds me of Rod Stewart with his vocals.

“I Wanna Be Around” with Bono- This is the second best track on this album as Bono works this with such precision, you’d think that he’d been doing this his whole life. I was completely blown away when I first heard this. The blending of their voices is like peanut butter and jelly- meant for each other.

“Sing, You Sinners” with John Legend- You all know how I feel about Mr. Legend- he is all class and is a perfect match for this genre. Anything this guy does is so good and he will no doubt be around for a long, long time, like Mr. Bennett. What a match!!

“I Left My Heart in San Francisco”- This is the only solo song and if you need any convincing of the man’s talent- just press play on this song and listen. ‘nuff said.

“How Do You Keep The Music Playing” with George Michael- Very subdued type of song but their voices are so powerful but yet soft at the same time. Mr. Michael is also flawless, again I was stunned on how good they sound together. This is a perfect ending to a phenomenal album.

This week I decided to do something that would be hard for most Beatle fans. Pick your favorite top songs from the number one band of all time. Can you do it? Have you ever thought about it? Do you know what they are? Well this was really hard for me but after careful consideration these are my favorites. (Are some of them yours?):

(If I to pick my top 11, then number 11 would be “Tomorrow Never Knows”- talk about a psychedelic song? Well this song was so far ahead of their time that I’m usually speechless when I listen to it). But OK I said the top ten, so here they are:

10.      Hey Jude– Do you know that saying “You had me at hello?” well… Paul had me on the first two words that he sings on this song. No matter how many times I hear this song, I have to listen to the whole thing including all the “Nah, Nah, Nah, Nah Nah Nah’s…”

9.      Helter Skelter– this song is the song that I point to when people say the Beatles were a “pop” band. Put that in your hat and eat it. This friggin’ song gets me so pumped that I feel like I can do anything when I hear it. The guitar solo is so great and Paul’s screeching is something to behold. C’mon when Motley Crue and countless others try to cover this song- you know that this is where it all started.

8.      Everybody’s Got Something to Hide Except Me and My Monkey– This song now has a new special meaning for me as this was the song that finally got through to my younger son and he is now full throttle into the Beatles. (I’m still working on my oldest son). I love the screaming in the background- it gets me so psyched.

7.     The Ballad of John & Yoko– Paul’s bass work on this song is phenomenal and the upbeat tempo to this song makes me get out of my seat all the time and dance around the room (well try to dance). “Saving up your money for a rainy day.. THINK!!!” It’s so good, it’s unreal.

6.      All You Need Is Love To me, this song was the number one song of the 1960’s. How perfect are the words and meaning for those times? And the version that appears on the “Love” album is now my new favorite version, especially at the end when you hear John and George speaking.. “this is Johnny Rhythm just saying good night to you all and God Bless You.” I get chills every time I hear that.

5.      I’m So Tired– This song puts me in a trance every time I hear it. You want to talk about passion? Listen to John’s vocals and tell me it’s not masterful?

4.      Something– This song is astonishing. If I was asked the following question: What ONE song do you wish that you could have written?-This would have to be it. The arrangement of this song is overwhelming and I can’t get enough of Ringo drumming down the sides throughout the song.

3.      I Will– Short and simple song by Paul and for me this is the best song he’s ever written. It’s impossible to not sing along to this song.

2.     Julia– My second favorite song ever by John. The raw beauty of this song is staggering. I immediately stop what I’m doing if I hear this song and listen so attentively even after all these years. Pure perfection.

1.      I’m Only Sleeping– For me this is the best song that John has ever done. No matter how many times I hear it, I just love it. The groove is so infectious that I really feel like I’m floating up stream.

Trivia Questions

Answers from last week:

1.     The Paris Sisters

2.     Bernie Taupin

3.     The Moonglows

4.     My Way

This week’s trivia (random)

1.     Who wrote the song that Joe Cocker made famous-“You Are So Beautiful?”

2.     Who wrote “Me and Bobby McGee” which was made famous by Janis Joplin?

3.     Name the Hotel and where it resides that appears on the cover of the classic Eagles album “Hotel California.” (Where in California?)

4.     What band holds the record for the most #2 records without ever recording a #1 hit?

Back on this day in 1963, Tony Bennett won a grammy for “record of the year” with “I Left My Heart in San Francisco.”

Sadly back on this day in 2003, June Carter Cash died from complications following heart valve replacement surgery in Nashville, she was 73.

Back on this day in 1982, Paul McCartney and Stevie Wonder had the number one hit with “Ebony & Ivory.”

Back on this day in 1977, Stevie Wonder had the number one hit with “Sir Duke.”

If it is your birthday today you share the same birth date with Brian Eno, Graeham Goble (Little River Band) and the late great Country star Eddie Arnold. (he passed away last year on May 8).

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

