Errols Weekly Music Update.

April 17, 2009

Weekly Update – 04/17/2009

Mary J. Blige at Borgota Event Center in Atlantic City on Fri. June 5. Tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event)

Beyonce at Madison Square Garden on Sun. June 21. All sorts of pre-sales begin this Mon. Apr. 20. There is a “radio” pre-sale and a “ticket rush” pre-sale which begins next Fri. Apr. 24 at 10:00 a.m. General public on-sale is next Sat. Apr. 25 at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event). More info to follow.

Aerosmith with ZZ Top at the Mohegan Sun on Sun. June 28. Tickets on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. $125 – $175. (recession? What recession?) They will also be at Jones Beach on Fri. June 26 and at PNC Arts Center on Sat. Sept. 12. Tickets for this show will be next Fri. April 24.  More info to follow.

Hank Williams Jr. at Mohegan Sun on Fri. May 29. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event)

Andrea Bocelli at Mohegan Sun on Sat. June 20. Tickets on sale this Sun. Apr. 19 at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event)

311 and Ziggy Marley at Rumsey Playfield, Central Park (5th and 69th street) on Thurs. June 25th at 6:00 p.m. and at PNC Arts Center on Sat. June 27. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $45 for CP and $25.25  (Lawn) – $45.25 for PNC.

The Zombies, The Yardbirds and The Spencer Davis Group (“Rock Royalty”) at the Hammerstein Ballroom on Fri. July 10. Pre-sale through Live Nation right now until next Thurs. Apr. 23 at 10:00 p.m. and the password is: singer. General public on sale next Fri. Apr. 24 at 10:00 a.m. $37.50 – $73.

Phish at Jones Beach on Tues. June 2. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event)

Better than Ezra at the New York Fillmore at Irving Plaza on Fri. June 19. Tickets on sale tomorrow at noon. (Live Nation Event)

REO Speedwagon, Styx and .38 Special at Borgota Event Center in Atlantic City on Fri. June 26. Tickets on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event)

The O’Jays at Borgota Event Center in Atlantic City on Fri. July 17. Tickets on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event)

Bonnie Raitt with Taj Mahal at the bandshell in Prospect Park (Brooklyn) on Wed. Aug. 12. Pre-sale tickets begin next Tues. Apr. 21 at 10:00 a.m. and go until Thur. Apr. 23 at 10:00 p.m. Password is Roulet. General public on sale is next Fri. Apr. 24 at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event). Bonnie will appear by herself at the Chevrolet Theater on Sun. Aug. 9. Tickets on sale May 8 at 10:00 a.m.

Chickenfoot makes their NY debut at the New York Fillmore at Irving Plaza on Thur. May 28. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $52.50 (Live Nation)

Toby Keith with Trace Atkins at PNC Arts Center on Thurs. June 18. Pre-sale starts this morning for Citicard holders only. General public on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. $33 (Lawn) – $68.

George Thorogood & The Destroyers with Jonny Lang at Nokia Theater on Fri. Aug. 14. Tickets on sale now. $49.50 – $59.50

Other items:

Thoughts and prayers go out to family & friends of Randy Cain-one of the founding members of The Delfonics– who passed away at the young age of 63, very sad. Those guys were great. Songs like “Didn’t I (Blow Your Mind This Time)” and “La-La Means I Love You” are timeless classics that will never be forgotten. Rest in peace Randy.

Have you heard the new Green Day single- “Know Your Enemy” – I’ll use Randy Jackson’s term “It’s hot baby!!” If this is any indication of how the rest of the album will be.. well then I can’t wait for the new album to come out on May. The video will premier on all MTV stations (sorry Eddie for mentioning MTV) next Friday April 24 at 8:00 p.m. across the globe.

Another single from Kate Voegele was released this past Tuesday and “99 Times” sounds real fresh, I really like her sound.

Same thing with Esmee Denters with her single “Outta Here” – this song will soon be one of the most popular songs on I-Tunes, mark my words.

The New York Dolls have released a single “’Cause I Sez so” and it rocks man. If you are a fan of these guys or rock and roll- you will like it.

Talk about an unlikely duo- Mr. Neil Diamond is supposedly hooking up with Limp Bizkit after Fred Durst twittered him and said he was a “big fan.”

George Harrison received his own “star” on the Hollywood Walk of Fame this past Tuesday. This past Tuesday? Are you kidding me? They could not give it to him when he was alive? He didn’t deserve it? I for one, do not acknowledge this, I’m sorry to his family and friends. It’s an insult.

Blondie and Pat Benatar are teaming up for a tour this summer. Look for them at a city near you.

The Killers are mapping out a U.S. city fall tour later this year and some have been announced already. I’ll keep you posted.

The New York Annex for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame will have a “New York” John Lennon exhibit next month (replacing the current “Clash” exhibit). They will be changing exhibits throughout the year. You have to go if you are a Lennon fan.

Have you seen the on-line video tape of the show “Britain’s Got Talent” with the 47-year old woman, Susan Boyle? (you probably have as over 5 million viewers in the last few days have “hit” you-tube to watch. Simon Cowell and Piers Morgan, as well as everyone in the audience, were skeptical about her performance (based on her appearance) before she started. But as she started to sing, everyone watched in stunning amazement as this voice emerged with such beauty that it was hard to believe. If you have not seen it, go to this site to witness this astonishing spectacle. I was blown away and am thinking she probably has already received a recording contract. http://www.popeater.com/television/article/susan-boyles-britains-got-talent/426649

“And 5, now this is most important, Rat…comes down to making out… whenever possible.. put on side 1 of Led Zeppelin IV

Side 1 of “Seconds of Pleasure” by Rockpile– released in Rocktober 1980.

Do you remember Rockpile? They formed for this one and only effort which spawned the semi-famous hit “Teacher, Teacher.” The band consisted of Dave Edmunds (guitar, vocals), Nick Lowe (bass, vocals), Billy Bremner (guitar, vocals) and Terry Williams (drums). In my opinion, Edmunds and Lowe were the 1980’s version of the Everly Brothers and when this album was released their music really wasn’t “what was happening at the time.” But I will say that it may have made it easier for a band like the Stray Cats to emerge (whom released their debut album in 1981) as it has that “rockabilly” sound to ignite one’s engine to dance around the room. Rockpile was a conglomerate of guys who just wanted to make rock and roll music the way they knew how and it didn’t matter if others did not think it was relevant. One key thing about music, if it is good- it will always be relevant and these guys were good. Now some of you may recognize Nick from the hit“Cruel to Be Kind” and Dave from “Girls Talk” or his remake of “I Hear You Knockin’.” This may be an obscure perfect album side in your mind but for me I wore out my record player with side one of this album. (Side two has some good tracks like “You Ain’t Nothing But Fine,” “When I Write the Book” and “Oh What a Thrill”).

Side one starts off with the aforementioned “Teacher, Teacher” and the beginning does sound like a faster version of “Cruel to Be Kind” but that is not a bad thing. I can remember WNEW-FM playing this song many times during their hey-day as New York’s best rock radio station (after WPLJ left us all flat). This song has an addicting chorus and the upbeat tempo will reel you in, as you will find it hard to get this song out of your head. “If Sugar was as Sweet As You” has a driving rock and roll beat and it is their take on a song written by Joe Tex. This definitely has that “rockabilly” I was talking about before and with a good set of headphones you will be rocking out. All these songs are short, sweet and to the heart of rock and roll. “Heart” is a song sung by Mr. Bremner and clearly has that 1950’s sound to it. I tried to get my dad back when this album came out to listen as I knew it had that old time rock & roll feel to it but of course it wasn’t as good as the guys and gals who performed in the 1950’s. “Now and Always” is definitely a song that Don and Phil Everly could have written in 1980, this tune has their signature all over it and especially that the song clocks out in less than two minutes. Track # 5 “Knife and Fork” is my favorite track of the whole album, I love that bluesy rocking beat. The lyrics are bit rough but I’m a music kind of guy and this song grooves with such ease that I can never listen to it just once. Side one ends with “Play That Fast Thing (One More Time)” and this song flat out rocks & rolls as you “twist” all around the room. And just like that, in less than 20 minutes, you have what I consider- a perfect album side.

My favorite song of the week is “Son of Detroit” by Kid Rock. (He’s not on I-Tunes, so you’ll have to get the CD just labeled “Kid Rock”). This song is the best. It brings back so many memories of boot camp at MBIA, man we played this song to death but every time we all loved it. Dave and I would trade versus- “Hey Dave how do you like your whiskey?” and like the song says “I like my whiskey straight up…daiquiris make me ill….if someone touches my beaver skins, I get mad enough to kill…” Take the piano solo Tricia!!! Rock on!!!

CD Review: Baby Darling Doll Face Honey (released Apr. 7)- The Band of Skulls

Remember when I told you last week that I liked what I heard from the 30 second previews on I-Tunes and that their debut album was only $5.99, well I took the plunge and it’s the best six dollars I have spent in a long time. This trio from Southampton U.K. will be the next hottest band to emerge from “across the pond.” Yes there will be comparisons to the White Stripes but I don’t think they will receive the backlash that the Stone Temple Pilots did when they first hit the scene and everyone painted them as “Pearl Jam wannabee’s.” First thing is that Emma plays a mean bass (unlike Meg who plays the skins) and no offense to Meg but she has better vocals. Yes, Russell Mardsen sounds a lot like Jack White on guitar and vocals on some songs but not all of them which allows them to blaze their own trail.

“Light of the Morning” actually starts off with an “ode to Led Zeppelin” as Russell sings along to the guitar, a la Mr. Robert Plant with Mr. Jimmy Page. This song will grow on you as it has an infectious groove and when the drums really kick into gear there is a wall of sound that surrounds you like a fog, where before long you will be singing “I want to see you in the morning.” This has the White Stripes all over it as the slow bass/drum groove will make you think Jack and Meg are behind this. “Death by Diamonds and Pearls” is a song that sounds like a band that has been around for a long time recorded and not by a “rookie” band. Again you will feel like you’re listening to the White Stripes, especially when you hear the guitar solo, but that’s not a bad thing, right? “I Know What I Am” was the free song on I-Tunes last week to try and hook you in and in my opinion is the best free song they have ever given away. Both Emma and Matt share the lead vocals on this simple but gripping song which will have you wanting more from this band. The fourth track, “Fires,” is where they start to spread out and this is one of the better tracks on the album. This sounds like something that U2 would record if they were just starting out in 2009. Emma background vocals really make the song that much better, she shadows his lead vocals like a cat. His vocal style is eerily similar to Bono. “Honest” is a very pleasing to the ears and on this song Emma sings a picturesque lead while Russell parallels his voice right behind hers, a flip-flop from the prior song. This song is destined for stardom, mark my words.

Track #6, “Patterns” is a rocking song which will have you feeling like you have heard this song before. It has twists and turns where you will feel like rocking out and then other parts where you feel calmness like there are in the slow U2 and Led Zeppelin songs. Then it’s back to the disorderly but yet melodic fusion which makes you stand up and take notice. “Bomb” is one of the better tracks on this debut as you will be snapping your head up & down while “air-guitaring” and “air-drumming” in no time. The song starts off with the sound of an old-time alarm clock where you have to wind it up to work. This band does not need any “winding up,” they are ready to rock you at a city near you very soon.The arrangement of this song is stellar and his guitar work is super solid. “Impossible” takes it down a bit as it is hard to distinguish who is singing lead vocals. This also will remind you of U2; I could swear that this could be included on the “No Line on the Horizon” album and one would not “blink an eye.” This song is the “dark horse” of the album and could become one of their most recognized songs in the very near future. Track # 9- “Blood” is also one of the better songs on this notable debut. Emma reminds me of Chrissy Hynde in this song as one can feel her passion bleed through the speakers. It has a psychedelic twist to it as you don’t know what’s coming next and then bam Russell is in your ears with a blistering solo. “Dull Gold Heart” takes a few turns to get use to but once you “get it” you will not be disappointed. It has a theatrical feel to it, like something Queen can do so well and I love Matt’s drumming in this song. The more I listen I actually think they may have listened to a lot of Soundgarden in their day.

“Cold Fame” ends this extraordinary album and this is my favorite track. All I can say is “wow”- take a listen to this beautiful song and tell me you don’t think its good?!! This song reminds me of My Morning Jacket and could have been placed on the “Evil Urges” album. In a weird twist, you might also hear “Oasis” in this tune, one of the more recent bands that made a huge splash out of England over the past decade or so. The background vocals add the chocolate syrup to this sundae as Russell’s passionate voice shines a very large light on the fact that this band has some extreme talent.

“Baby Darling Doll Face Honey” is the best release by a new artist so far in 2009 and in my opinion The Band of Skulls have the chance to generate as much excitement as Oasis once did, if not more. They already sound like a seasoned veteran band and if this is their first release, I honestly can’t wait to hear what is next from this trio. But let me not get too far ahead of myself, I have plenty of time to soak in this gem of a debut album and am eagerly awaiting their next trip to the U.S.

This week’s I-Pod shuffle landed on “Do The Evolution” by Pearl Jam off of their fifth studio album – “Yield” and it had me thinking that this album is really my favorite from these guys. Now I know this may be hard to believe, especially in light of their blockbuster debut, “Ten” and their super solid sophomore effort- “Vs.” Now these albums may be better (artistically and/or in popularity) but for me, Yield matches up “pound for pound” against any recording they have done. According to the band members themselves, things really started to open up once Eddie Vedder seemed to loosen up his control of the group by asking the others to contribute by writing more songs. Mr. Vedder had made the final decisions on “Vitalogy” & “No Code” (two previous albums) and wanted to release this pressure so he engaged his band mates to become a team with the end result being that “Yield” received critically acclaimed success. (although not a “smash” selling album with just over a million units sold as compared to “Ten” which sold over 13 million and “Vs.” sold over 7 million). With the friction dissipating, the recording of “Yield” goes back to the basics of just making good rock music and in my opinion this album set them back on course of becoming a “classic” rock band. I myself lost sight of this band after “Vitalogy” and didn’t even purchase “No Code.” But then my friend Steve lent me “Yield” (which I was reluctant to take) and told me that I wouldn’t be disappointed; he was right and eventually it became my most preferred Pearl Jam album. On a separate note, Steve and I were in the MBIA corporate box in Madison Square Garden to see the “Yield” tour and what a night it was. The box was over-packed and everyone who attended said it was one of the best concerts that they had ever been to, myself included.

The album kicks off with the explosive “Brain of J” a hard driving short song which packs a whale of a punch. Don’t ask me what Eddie is saying, all I understand is “The whole world will be different…” The guitar solo is electrifying and just like that the song ends. Track #2- “Faithful” really slows down and at first I was like “What happened? I was just head-banging with the best of them and now..” but you know what it works. It was a sign of maturity to me and also showed that they were in control of their arrangements. Before too long, you feel that edge and heavy guitar work in this song as well as you begin to “head-bang” albeit at a slower pace. The chorus is addictive and the fade out of the tune is classic, reminds me of The Who. (one of their biggest influences). Then it’s on to my favorite track of the album- “No Way.” There is something about this song that keeps me coming back for me. The groove is infectious- “I stopped trying to make a difference, I’m not trying to make a difference..” I love the guitar work in this song along with the twists and turns, you can not help but bop your head up and down. “Given to Fly” is probably one of the more recognizable tracks as I remember hearing this on the radio very often back in the late 1990’s. It has a U2 feel to it in the sense that there is a quiet period but then builds into this majestic aura that completely surrounds you and then quickly falls back to the solace place it started out. As I listen to this track, I’m thinking that Eddie maybe should have placed in my top ten screamers of all time, he definitely cracks the top 15. “Wishlist” is the “hit” from this album and deservedly so. The lyrics are phenomenal, especially “I wish I was a messenger and all the news was good” or “I wish I was the pedal brake that you depended on.” The guitar work on this song is stellar, period end of story. Track # 6 –“Pilate” has a bluesy feel to it with a rocking ride from the bridge to the chorus. At times you wonder to yourself if it is the same song that you started out listening to because of the dwindling parts which quickly burgeon and then diminish again.

The aforementioned “Do the Evolution” comes right at you and the first time I heard it, I didn’t like it but after a few turns the light bulb clicked on and I was hooked. I love the “howl” in the beginning signifying a rooster and also for everyone to wake up because it’s an “evolution baby.” This song rocks and the driving force is enhanced by the sound of clicking drums. It’s another roller coaster ride as you don’t where you are going but you know its going to be fun and quick. I love his screaming/singing at the end of the song, rock the way it was intended to be- loose and loud!! There is a quick one minute interlude with no title which kind of reminds of something that the Beatles would do. The song just appears as a circle, 0. Track 9-“MFC” is the “traditional” sound of Pearl Jam and when you listen, you’ll know what I am talking about. “Low Light” should be a song you recognize as this was played a lot on the radio. Their “ballads” have always been excellent and this one is no different. There is a sense of beauty and passion that blinds you, almost as if you are walking in a snowstorm on a dirt road surrounded by trees- that’s what I feel when I hear this song. The softness continues with another “hit” from this album – “In Hiding” and even though the intensity picks up a bit, especially with the guitars, this is a magnificent song which is very pleasing to the ears. “I’m in hiding” exclaims Eddie as his passion bleeds through your headphones or speakers, the arrangement of this song from start to finish is incredible. Track #12- “Push Me, Pull Me” is a psychedelic fusion of Eddie’s deep vocals, guitars, drums and strange noises. Again I’m reminded of U2 for some reason; I could definitely see Bono and The Edge writing something like this. “Yield” ends as most of their albums do- with a long song- “All Those Yesterday’s” is seven minutes long and I have to tell you it conjures up images of the Beatles for me, I don’t know why but it does. I can feel George and John creeping into the picture, especially the guitar solo as I can picture George neatly sitting on a stool jamming away. The trick here is you need to stay tuned as that song ends quickly (about 3 minutes or so). Then with a little more than 2.5 minutes left you hear a “flamenco” like guitar joined by hand clapping and I am taken back to the episode of “The Odd Couple” where Oscar almost marries the Greek woman and the last scene is Felix dancing with the family members-this track is actually called “Hummus.”

Now you may not agree with my assessment that “Yield” is their best effort but it won’t change my opinion. From top to bottom, this album has no holes in it. Sometimes the most unassuming is the most inspiring.

Sadly back on this day in 1960, Eddie Cochran died in an automobile accident at the young age of 21.

Sadly back on this day in 1998, Linda McCartney passed away from cancer at the young age of 56.

Sadly on this day one year ago, Danny Federici-keyboardist for the Bruce Springsteen band, passed away at the young age of 58 from melanoma.

Back on this day in 1979, the number one song was “Knock on Wood” (remake) by Amii Stewart. (It’s not available on I-Tunes for some odd reason)

If it is your birthday today you share the same birth date with James Keenan (Tool) and the Rapper- Redman (Reggie Noble).

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

