Errols Weekly Music Update.

April 10, 2009

Weekly Update – 04/10/2009

Metallica at Madison Square Garden on Sat. Nov. 14. Pre-Sale starts today at 10:00 a.m – 10:00 p.m. and password is HEMETAL. General public tickets on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. $54 – $74. The Nov. 14 show is completely sold out. Tickets for Nov. 15 are on sale this morning (Sat. Apr. 11) at 10:00 a.m. (there is no pre-sale for this event so you have a better chance to score good seats).

AC/DC at Giants Stadium on Fri. July 31. Tickets on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. $89.50.

The Offspring at Roseland Ballroom on Wed. July 8. Tickets on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event) $39.50 – $42

A second show has been added for the “Unwigged and Unplugged” show featuring Spinal Tap for Wed. May 27 at The Beacon Theater. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $39.50 – $59.50.

Huey Lewis & The News at Capital One Theater in Westbury NY on Fri. June 19. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 (Live Nation Event)

Smokey Robinson at the Capital One Theater at Westbury NY on Sat. June 6. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m.(Live Nation Event)

No Doubt and Paramore at Jones Beach on Sat. June 27. Tickets on sale now. (Live Nation) $29.50 – $90.

Z100 Zootopia ’09 featuring the Black Eyed Peas, Kelly Clarkson, Flo Rida, The All American Rejects and Soulja Boy and others at Izod Center on Sat. May 16. Tickets on sale next Tues. April 14 at 4:00 p.m. $27 – $257.

Motley Crue with Godsmack, Theory of a Deadman, Drowning Pool and Charm City Devils at the PNC Arts Center on Tues. Aug. 18. Tickets on sale now. $29.50 – $95. (Live Nation)

 Vamps at The New York Fillmore at Irving Plaza on Sat. July 11. Tickets on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation)

REO Speedwagon with Styx at the Mohegan Sun on Wed. July 1. Tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. $45. “Heard from a friend who, heard from a friend who…”

Other items:

This week’s free I-Tunes song, “I Know What I am” comes from a band called Band of Skulls and their new album “Baby Darling Doll Face Honey” sounds pretty good and for $5.99, you can’t beat it. Take the plunge I think you’ll like it. Two singers in the band, one female and one male and on some songs the male sounds like Bono to me. (I said sounds like, slow down). It’s like a fusion of many different influences, I can hear Jack White and Chrissy Hynde. The trio is from the U.K. and to take Randy Jackson’s words “It’s Hot Baby!!” I’m in.

Speaking of American Idol, Simon did the right thing by pulling the plug on Scott MacIntyre. No offense, but he lasted a lot longer than he should have. I give him all the credit in the world but the other seven are clearly more talented in the singing department than he is. Paula did say some poignant words at the end of his run and he deserved all the accolades but it was time for him to go.

I have to admit I am intrigued by Bat for Lashes with their second album “Two Suns. “ The song “Daniel” is very popular and “Pearl’s Dream” sounds pretty good too.

If you don’t have any Ray Charles in your record collection (shame on you first of all) you now have the chance to get “Genius- The Ultimate Collection of Ray Charles” album which just came out on Tuesday. It has 21 tracks and on I-Tunes you can get it for $9.99, how can you beat that? What are you waiting for?!!

Death Cab for Cutie has released an “EP” (remember those?) called “the Open Door” and again I have to admit I like the sound. (Here’s the $1.29 per song on I-Tunes, see below). I especially like “Little Bribes” and “A Diamond and a Tether.” Good stuff. I’m in.

Looking for something different? Take a listen to this beautiful voice – Ms. Melody Gardot – all I can say is “Wow.” She will make you stand up and take notice. Take a listen to “Baby I’m a Fool.” If you are having friends over for a dinner party or it’s just the two of you, any of her albums or songs would be perfect. Trust me, would I steer you wrong?

My favorite “old school” song of the week is “Love on a Two Way Street” by The Moments. When’s the last time you have heard that song? Awesome R&B.

My favorite song of the week is “Life is Beautiful” by Sixx:A.M. This is Nikki’s other band and they have some talent. Check it out.

This week’s I-Pod shuffle landed on “Loving Mother fo Ya” by Mr. John Mellencamp from his seventh studio album “Uh-huh.” I can’t even remember the last time I heard this song but once I did it jolted my memories of being 18 again and being back in Brooklyn. By the time 1983 rolled around, I was entrenched in the music world and at least once a week I would take the B-70 line (8th avenue bus) in Brooklyn to 86th street; walk down three avenues or so to “The Record Factory” (thanks Audrey) store near 5th avenue and search for the latest albums that had come out or prior releases that “I needed to have.” By the time the early ‘80’s arrived John Cougar had huge hits such as “I Need a Lover” “Hurts So Good” and “Jack and Diane” all over the radio airwaves that he was able to tell his record company that they needed to put his real name on the cover of “Uh-Huh.” So as to avoid any confusion, it was John Cougar Mellencamp and from that point forward it became Mellencamp. The band he assembled behind him flat out “rocked the house” and in my opinion could hold their own against any band during the 1980’s.

During one of my treks out to the Record Factory, I remember this dude (looked like Pat St. John, former DJ of WPLJ and WNEW in NY-currently on WCBS-FM) putting on “Pink Houses” and told everyone in the store that this was a brand new song from Mellencamp. Hearing that song for the very first time, at a very loud volume in a contained area is something I will never forget, as this guy danced around the store. I was immediately hooked, bought the album and jettisoned home so that I could listen to the entire record.

Side 1

“Crumblin’ Down” is the first track and I was electrified, I knew instantly that I was going to love this album no matter what. (If someone could start an album with this song I knew the rest was going to be great). He has so many great songs and this one ranks up way up high for me on his all time list. If this does not make you move your feet, nothing will. Then the opening acoustic chords to “Pink Houses” gets my so pumped (every time!!!) that I usually transform myself into a rock star and imagine myself up on stage performing this fantastic song. I look for the closest thing I kind find that resembles a guitar and start to strum away and sing “Ahh but ain’t that America for you and me baby, ain’t that America.. home of the free.” Track three, “Authority Song” is a rebel rouser and is how rock and roll was intended to be- a foot-stomping and hand-clapping affair. “I said Oh No…No, No, No, I said Oh No.. I fight authority..” exclaims John as Mr. Kenny Aronoff is pounding away on the drums. This song was used extensively in MBIA’s boot camp classes from 2003-2005. The first three songs on this album, pound for pound, can match up with any other records you can think of. “Warmer Place to Sleep” keeps the rocking moving forward as I can picture the Rolling Stones performing and/or recording this song. This tune sort of reminds me of “When the Whip Comes Down” off of “Some Girls.” The bass and drums are prevalent throughout the whole album and no exception in this case as they keep the train moving along.“Jackie O” is a very simple tune which really just utilizes a keyboard but has an appealing hook which reels you in and before long you will be singing this song all day long. I can picture being at a “penny social” (my grandmother use to take my brother and me when we were kids) and this song playing in the background as you wander from table to table looking for some good bargains.

Side 2

“Play Guitar” kicks off side two of this impressive album as John wryly points out that if one wants success, the best bet is to learn how to play guitar. This song grooves with a funky rock/blues fusion that will have your head boppin’ up and down. “All women around the world want a phony rock star.. who plays guitar” as the guitar solo wails in your ears. (How apropos). “Serious Business” definitely has that Keith Richards/Rolling Stones feel to it as one can tell that the Stones along with Dylan were a big influence on Mr. Mellencamp. His lyrics always tell a story and everyone knows John is a “no nonsense” kind of guy. He went along for the ride in the beginning, playing the game but only to get his foot in the door and then once his foot wedged that door-he blazed his own path from the point forward. “This is serious business, sex and violence and rock and roll..” no doubt reveals his sarcastic read on what sells in America. “Loving Mother fo Ya” is my favorite track on this album, I love the beginning with the drums blaring in the background and then quickly moving to the forefront as one can not help but dance around. It has a dirty, nasty feel to it and I get the feeling that they had much fun recording this rocking tune. This is one of the tunes that should be played at a party where people form that circle with individuals taking turns doing some silly dance solo, that’s how much fun this song is. “Golden Gates” takes it down a notch but does not lose its passion as this is one of John’s better slow songs he’s ever written and recorded. Take a listen and feel the raw beauty of this track. Before you know it, four minutes have passed by in the blink of an eye.

“Uh Huh” in my opinion was the catalyst that propelled John’s career in many ways. He was determined to take away the “Cougar” identity which was his “monkey” on his back. He clearly shook that off and proved to his record label (his fans already knew) that it was he who could make music that would make an impact with his listening audience without using a gimmick, such as a stage name. This album was one of the best in the 1980’s and still sounds as fresh as when it came out in 1983. I wore out the album sleeve because of the amount of times I played it and became a huge fan of his from 1983-1987 (still am but just identifying my peak interest). I remember seeing him at a sold out Madison Square Garden on Thanksgiving night back in 1987 with a bunch of friends and having a great time. John was inducted into the rock and roll hall of fame last year and is still going strong. If you are looking for a place to start with his music, get this album and then start exploring his catalog which is spectacular, the man is a living legend in my opinion.

Did you catch the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame ceremony last Saturday night? I thought it was a “well run” show however I believe the viewing audience can do without all the endless interviews by the co-hosts and there were way too many commercials which led to the show running over the allotted four hour time frame. (By the way, what’s up with Joe Perry’s hair?)I was so impressed by Wanda Jackson, of whom I was not familiar with but after seeing the video clips of her career, along with the nice induction speech by Roseanne Cash, that I became a fan- you see how great discovering music can be? I felt good for Little Anthony & the Imperials as they finally received the recognition they deserved. (There are still many other acts from the 1950’s “doo wop” era that need to be included in the Hall, so hopefully the voters will do their homework and get them in before it becomes a “memorial” induction). It was very touching to see the members of the group say a few words and you could sense how happy they were.

Eminem did a great job on his induction speech for Run-DMC. What I look for in these speeches is sincerity and the impact that a performer has made on the life of the presenter and you could clearly tell that Eminem was speaking from the heart. He was passionate in his description of the impact that DMC had on his life which led him on his journey into the world of music. And yeah so what Run-DMC is rap? Who cares? They totally mixed in the rock and roll music that influenced their life into the songs that they did, with great results. You can not tell me that their version of “Walk This Way” didn’t break down the barriers that existed back then and even the most hardened rocker has to admit that they liked the version. C’mon, give credit where credit is due. They had so many great tunes throughout their career and even changed holiday music with their own versions that have become classics we can’t live without. As Eminem keenly stated “Two tables and a microphone, that’s all it took to change the world.”

Now when Flea came out to introduce Metallica, I have to admit I was a little leery about his dedication to this bands’ impact on the music world. (My mistaken assumption was that there would be an individual from a newer band out there and not the Chili Peppers who have been around just as long as Metallica-give or take a few years- slown down OK?) But as soon as he walked out with his green hair, Metallica tee-shirt with a jacket to class it up, I knew before he spoke a word that he was so into it. His enthusiasm made me jump out of my seat; thrust my arm and hand up along with screaming “Oh Yeah that’s what I’m talking about!!” His speech was the best one I have ever seen (could have done without all the curse words but he was “in the moment”) in all the years that these induction ceremonies have been going on. (This is what I wanted to see when Van Halen was inducted and not the lame performance by the boys from Velvet Revolver-still pissed about that). I taped the show (it ran over by the way) and I had to watch his passionate speech all over again. He hit every aspect of how Metallica’s music makes an impact on the lives of the people who follow them- I admit I could not have said it any better- “friggin’ phenomenal.”

And how great was it to see Jason Newsted up there soaking it all in. At times it felt a little awkward (how could it not?) but when he was up there playing with them, you could sense how much it meant to him. It was a nice touch in letting Ray Burton, father of the late great bassist Cliff, saying a few words for his son. Kirk seemed a little overwhelmed up there as Robert appeared very appreciative of the whole event. (He is a perfect fit by the way for the band now, no offense to Jason). James’ speech was also heartfelt and you couldn’t help but feel very happy for him. Lars’ was great as well as you could sense that this was one of the best night’s in his life, a feeling of accomplishment from others that he appeared to want and need throughout his career. Vindication at last!!! \m/ \m/

I-Tunes this week unveiled some new pricing for songs. Songs can now be $1.29 or $0.69. A $0.30 cent swing in both directions. I just hope the newer CD’s don’t cost $12.99 instead of the nice $9.99 we have been use to. Oh well, you knew it was coming.

As you probably have heard all of the Beatles albums will be re-issued later this year-digitally re-mastered for the first time and to be released on the same day they will release “Rock Band”- 09/09/09.

Sadly back on this day in 1962, Stuart Sutcliffe-an original member of the Beatles, died from a brain hemorrhage in Germany. He was only 21.

Back on this day in 1967, Frank Sinatra and Nancy Sinatra had the number one hit with “Something Stupid.”

Back on this day in 1970, Paul McCartney for the first time publicly announced the breakup of the Beatles.

Back on this day in 1977, “Don’t Give Up on Us Baby” was the number one hit from “Hutch”- Mr. David Soul. Man was it that long ago?

If it is your birthday today you share the same birth date with Brian Setzer, Q-Tip (Jonathan Davis), BabyFace (Kenneth Edmonds) and Mandy Moore.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

