Errols Weekly Music Update.

April 3, 2009

Weekly Update – 04/03/2009

All Points West Festival is on again this year at Liberty State Park and it is three days beginning on Fri. July 31 – Sun. Aug. 2. So many bands with the Beastie Boys headlining on Friday; Tool on Saturday and Coldplay on Sunday. Tickets on sale today at noon.$199 for 3-day pass. $89 for single day pass. Click here for tickets: http://www.apwfestival.com/buy-tickets/ If pre-sale is still on the password is WRXP.For more information go to http://apwfestival.com/

U2 at Giants Stadium on Fri. Sept. 25. Tickets on sale this Mon. Apr. 6 at 10:00 a.m. $30 – $250.

Elvis Costello and The Sugarcanes at Beacon Theater on Wed. June 10. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $49.50 – $89.50.

Jackson Browne at the Prospect Park Bandshell on Tues. July 21. Tickets on sale Mon. Apr. 6 at 10:00 a.m. GA Lawn Standing – $45; Reserved seats- $79.50 – $100.

O.A.R. at Madison Square Garden on Sat. Aug. 15. Tickets on sale today at 10:00 a.m. $37.50 – $45.

Allman Brothers and Widespread Panic at Meadows Music Theater in Hartford CT on Sun. Aug. 30. Tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event)

Buckcherry at the New York Fillmore at Irving Plaza on Fri. May 15. Tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event)

George Strait at PNC Arts Center on Fri. May 29. Pre-sale tickets for Citi-card members only today at 10:00 a.m. General public tickets on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation Event) $33.50 – $78.50

Rick Springfield at Capital One Theater in Westbury NY on Fri. Aug. 7. Tickets on sale Sun. Apr. 5 at 12:30 p.m. (Live Nation Event)

Peter Frampton at the Capital One Theater at Westbury NY on Fri. Aug. 28. Tickets on sale Sun. Apr. 5 at 12:30 p.m.(Live Nation Event)

BB King and Buddy Guy at the Capital One Theater at Westbury NY on Sat. Aug. 29. Tickets on sale Sun. Apr. 5 at 12:30 p.m.(Live Nation Event)

MMRBQ festival at Susquehanna Bank Center on Sun. May 17 at 3:00 p.m. featuring the Offspring, ZZ Top, Papa Roach, Puddle of Mudd and Saliva. (Has to be a great show with this line-up) Tickets on sale now through livenation.com $49.50 – $75.

Bad Company (Reuniting for summer tour) at Jones Beach on Sun. June 28 and at Resorts in Atlantic City on Sat. July 4. Ticket info to follow.

Jenny Lewis (she has some voice) will be at the Music Hall in Williamsburg Brooklyn on Tues. June 9. Tickets on sale today at noon. (pre-sale for American Express cardholders through 11:00 this morning)$22.

Korn at Starland Ballroom on Tues. May 19. Tickets on sale today at noon. $44.50

The Hold Steady at Bowery Ballroom and Music Hall in Williamsburg Brooklyn on Mon. & Wed. June 8 and 10. Pre-sale tickets for American Express cardholders on through 11:00 a.m. this morning. General public on sale at noon. $20.

The Average White Band (c’mon who doesn’t like “Pick up the Pieces?”)at BB Kings on Sat. Dec. 5. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $25 ($28 day of show).

Johnny Winter at BB Kings on Thurs. Sept. 17. Tickets on sale Mon. Apr. 6 at noon. $30 ($35 day of show)

Other items:

I’m taking my oldest son to his first concert tonight: Bryan Adams will be at the Beacon Theater for two shows with tonight being the first. I’m so excited and he is the one who picked the show, good taste I must say. “Every where I go the kids wanna rock!!!”

My favorite “old school” song of the week is “Don’t You Want Me” by The Human League. Forgot how much I love this song and I heard it and immediately went to I-Tunes to download.

My other favorite “old school” song of the week is “Brand New Cadillac” by The Clash. I friggin’ love this rockin’ song. Two minutes of rock and roll the way it was meant to be.

The 2009 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame ceremony will take place live tomorrow night on FUSE TV beginning at 9:00 p.m. Metallica will be introduced by Flea; Run-DMC by Eminem; Jeff Beck by Jimmy Page; Little Anthony & The Imperials by Smokey Robinson and Bobby Womack by Ron Wood.

So disappointed that ABC pulled the plug on “Life on Mars”; the last episode appeared this Wednesday and was great as usual. Again the music was spectacular on this show and Wed. night it played near the end of the series the classic “Mona Lisas and Mad Hatters” by Elton John. How friggin’ great is that song? I can listen to it for days… see ya Sam.

“And 5, now this is most important, Rat…comes down to making out… whenever possible.. put on side 1 of Led Zeppelin IV

Side 1 of “Moving Pictures” by Rush released in Feb. 1981.

By the summer of 1981, I was entrenched into the world of rock music and possessed an insatiable appetite for discovering additional bands to add to my ever-growing compilation of albums. The first time I heard “Limelight” on the radio, I knew that this was only the appetizer and immediately bought the full course meal, the album-“Moving Pictures.” The opening guitar lick to “Limelight” gets me all the time; I still get psyched up hearing it today. Now I will say that this entire record is a classic album but for me, side one is a “perfect” album side. These four songs alone should be all the evidence needed to convince the voters of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, that this band, Rush, deserves to be incorporated into their prestigious place of residence. I would go as far as saying that the all instrumental “YYZ” track catapults them right into the Hall, sort of like the ball that sits in the Baseball Hall of Fame that Bucky Dent hit into the upper deck at Fenway.

This 1981 perfect album starts off with the incomparable “Tom Sawyer.” Yes I know you have heard this song one million times since 1981 but that’s why it is so good. Would a song that is not that good be played as often? I think not. You really have to step back when you hear this song and think about this fact for a second- there are only three guys producing this full body of work. You know you all “air-drum” the parts that Mr. Neil Peart does, especially the part about half way through the song. Mr. Alex Lifeson plays the phenomenal guitar licks throughout and in my opinion Mr. Geddy Lee is often under-appreciated with his work on the bass. He is spot on throughout this song with his skills as well as his vocals.

The second track, “Red Barchetta” is my favorite song on the album. In my opinion, this is a masterpiece, everything about it is perfect-the lyrics, the music, and the entire arrangement. “My uncle has a country place that no one knows about..” It’s soft and then rocks out with the heavy riffs as Geddy’s high pitch vocals keep the train moving along. Mr. Lifeson’s guitar solo adds the coal to the steam engine as Neil’s drumming will get you to the next station in no time, before you know it 6 minutes of your life has passed you by in what seems like seconds. I know I need to listen to that again, what about you?

The aforementioned “YYZ” hits you over the head like a brick and I remember the first time I ever heard this song, I was blown away. Talk about tempo changes? Friggin’ phenomenal is all I have to say. This song spotlights all of their talents- Geddy’s work on the bass had to have made John Entwistle smile; Neil’s work on the skins puts this man right up there as one of the best drummers the rock world has ever seen and heard. Alex’s shredding could be the best on any song that Rush has ever recorded. (I know what you’re thinking- “Working Man”- well Ok then second best?) The guitar sounds like it has a middle eastern flair complimented with the pounding sound of the western world. How fast does this song end? There is no way you can listen to this song just once, I have already listened three times while writing about it.

Track four- “Limelight” could arguably be their most popular song that they have ever recorded. Again how great is the opening lick to this song? You immediately know what song it is and can’t wait to exclaim “Living on a lighted stage approaches the unreal, for those who think and feel, in touch with some reality beyond the guilded cage.” I would think that this would be a great song to compete in an air-guitar competition or at least be included on “Rock Band” or “Guitar Hero.” The chorus is addicting and you will not be able to stop singing “living in a limelight the universal dream, for those who wish to seem..” Did you know that Mr. Peart writes the lyrics? The man not only is one of the best drummers on the planet but is an amazing song writer. Again, as we enter the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame weekend, my question to the voters after listening this perfect album side- How can Rush not be in the Hall?

Been thinking a lot about my mom lately and decided to do a tribute for her and list my top 10 songs from her favorite singer- Patsy Cline. Here are my favorites:

10.     Let The Teardrops Fall– Of course all of these songs are going to remind me of my mother. This song has a rocking beat and Patsy has a twinge of roughness in her voice which makes you realize she could sing in so many ways.

9.     Faded Love– This song puts me in a trance. “I miss you darling more & more everyday.” This song is pure magnificence.

8.     Love Letters in the Sand– The two things that stands out about Patsy is her passion and elegance. This is exactly what you’ll find on this tune.

7.     I’m Moving Along– Very simple and short song but also very catchy. With a good set of headphones, boy will her voice blow you away.

6.     Walking After Midnight– One of her most recognizable songs and still today it sounds as fresh as when it was recorded many years ago. Still being covered today, most recently on American Idol.

5.     I Fall to Pieces– Wow listen to this song and tell me you’re not a fan? Virtually impossible to not like this song.

4.     So Wrong– I can picture my mother singing passionately and seeing the music in her definitely had an impact on me in my appreciation of music. The music was in my mother. Music is meant to move you and she would move me the way she sang this song.

3.     Crazy– No matter how many times my mother played this song, I again had to listen to her and Patsy sing this all time classic. Flat out phenomenal song.

2.     Sweet Dreams (Of You)– This song is so tough to listen to without crying but this was my mother’s favorite Patsy Cline song. I can’t even move when I hear this song.

1.     Why Can’t He Be You– By far my all time favorite Patsy Cline song. I can listen to this tune all day long. I think this is my all time favorite recording by a female artist. Pure perfection with a spectacular arrangement.

Sadly back on this day in 1990, Sarah Vaughn passed at the age of 66.

On this day back in 1975, Steve Miller was arrested for setting fire to a “friend’s” possessions and then resisting arrest. (strange).

Back on this day in 1956, Elvis sang “Blue Suede Shoes” and “Heartbreak Hotel” on the Milton Berle show on NBC.

If it is your birthday today, you share the same birth date with Tony Orlando.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

