Errols Weekly Music Update.

February 13, 2009

Weekly Update – 02/13/2009

Jeff Beck at The Fillmore New York at Irving Plaza on Thurs. & Fri. Apr. 9 and 10. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m.  (This is a “Live Nation” event and they don’t print ticket prices before it goes on sale)

Eric Clapton & Steve Winwood at the Izod Center on Wed. June 10. Tickets on sale Sat. Feb. 21 at 10:00 a.m. Further information to come.

PJ Harvey at the The Fillmore New York at Irving Plaza on Thurs. March 26. Tickets on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. (Live Nation)

Mayhem at The Fillmore New York at Irving Plaza on Thurs. May 21. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. Apx. $25. (Live Nation)

North Mississippi Allstars at The Highline Ballroom on Thurs. Apr. 9. Tickets on sale tomorrow at noon. $24

Shawn Mullins at The Highline Ballroom on Thurs. Apr. 16. Tickets on sale today at noon. $25

Celtic Thunder at The Beacon Theater on Wed. Apr. 1. Tickets on sale today at noon. $48.50 – $68.50.

The Decemberists at Radio City Music Hall on Wed. June 10. Tickets on sale today at noon. $39.50. (Their new album “The Hazards of Love” comes out on March 24).

Gordon Lightfoot at The Town Hall on Sat. June 27. Tickets on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m.  $45 – $55.

Chris Cornell at Webster Hall on Tues. & Wed. April 7 & 8. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $44

Buckethead at BB Kings on Sat. May 30. Tickets on sale today at noon. $25

Other items:

Congratulations to Paul Stanley and his wife, Erin, on the Jan. 28 birth of their daughter Sarah Brianna. They also have a two year old boy. Stanley has a 14 year old son from his first marriage.

Grammy’s review- First off I’m sorry but Mars Volta’s “Wax Simulacra” should not have beaten “Inside The Fire” by Disturbed or even “Saints of Los Angeles” by Motley Crue. The song sounds like cats screaming. Second, my wife and my sons were out of their minds that Robert Plant & Alison Krauss won 5 Grammy awards. They said if you have trouble falling asleep, you should put “Raising Sand” on and you will nod out before the first song ends. Even I have to admit that it’s hard to believe that they won song and album of the year. It’s a good album but the best?

I also have to say that you know I usually like everything, but there really were not any spectacular performances that stand out in my memory. The most memorable moments for me as I sit here writing about it 4 days later, were Jennifer Hudson’s “You Pulled Me Through” and Lil Wayne with Robin Thicke performing “Tie My Hands.”(and also the tribute to New Orleans).

I could hardly hear U2 when they kicked it off- thank goodness there were words behind Bono as he sang because I had no idea what he was saying. Speaking of not knowing what they were saying: the “Swagga Like Us” performance by Kayne, T.I., Jay-Z and Lil Wayne with M.I.A. (how bad was her outfit?) was in my opinion-horrible.

I had a funny feeling things were not going to go so well when Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson tried to joke about “The Beatle Fighters??!!” I wanted to throw up. C’mon Rock who wrote that for you?

Performers I still don’t get: Coldplay– yes I know they’re great but I just don’t get it. I don’t know what type of music they play. It doesn’t rock, it surely doesn’t roll but hey maybe it’s me…. Radiohead… I know it is “sac-religious” to say but I have tried and tried to listen to these guys… maybe one day I will see the light but their performance did absolutely nothing for me. I was bored to tears…I’ll use a “Faganism”- “If they played in my backyard I wouldn’t watch them.” Jonas Brothers… speechless….

I’m still scratching my head on the terrible performance by Neil Diamond. What was he doing? Was he trying his best “spoken word” version of his song? You have to be kidding me.

Biggest “slight” of the night: Boyz to Men get introduced with Al Green and Justin and they don’t even “spotlight” them once. They were limited to background vocals??… are you kidding me? Why introduce them?

Biggest “ham” of the night: Whitney Houston– Could she have figured a way to stay up on stage a little longer? And what is it with Clive Davis at every event? Did he invent music? C’mon it’s enough with him already.

Biggest “scratch your head” moment: Metallica being put in the category of best “rock album.” Even so, they should have NEVER lost out to Coldplay but they should have not been in that category.

Biggest “oversight”: Forgetting to mention LeRoi Moore, saxophonist for the Dave Matthews Band, as one of the musicians who passed away over the past year.

Artist who made me stand up and pay attention: Adele– I will now go back and listen to this fantastic voice. I thank the Grammy’s for opening my eyes.

If you haven’t heard the news yet, Ticket Master is merging with Live Nation. I’m telling you right now- this is what is wrong with our country (yes that’s right I’m on a HUGE soap box). The government doesn’t care unless it affects their wallet. How can one entity, Ticket Master, rule for so long and finally now there is competition and what happens? They create a merger to keep the monopoly going full steam ahead. (Look what has happened with satellite radio between XM & Sirius and now they are close to bankruptcy). And now to boot, Ticket Master has a subsidiary Ticket Now, who specializes in really ripping off the customer. Why does everyone look the other way? The customer has no other option but this 800 lb. gorilla and no one seems to care. The head of Ticket Master made some “lame excuse” apology for what happened in the Bruce Springsteen case. It hasn’t just happened with Bruce, it’s almost with every act. I was fully behind Pearl Jam when they went to battle against Ticket Master way back when and shame on every other band that did not get behind them. Ticket Master burns my “behind” so bad… and I guess they will continue to do so with the newly formed Live Nation Entertainment.

The long awaited follow up to “American Idiot” by Green Day is supposedly set to arrive in May. “21st Century Breakdown” will have 16 songs that will be broken into three sections. Song titles include “Know Your Enemy” and “Viva La Gloria.”

My favorite “old school” songs of the week are “Show and Tell” by Al Wilson and “Sideshow” by Blue Magic. Al Wilson’s song is so magnificent that I don’t even have the right words to describe how I feel about this song. No one makes songs like this anymore. This song is one of the best, if not the best, of the 1970’s. “Sideshow” is a lost classic I discovered on my I-Pod shuffle and again no one makes songs like this anymore. This is pure perfection and what an infectious arrangement. “So let the sideshow begin.. hurry, hurry, step right on in.. can’t afford to pass it by..” This could be the second best song of the 1970’s.

Fans of the band Filter will be able to call into the nationally syndicated show “Rockline” on Monday March 30 at 11:30 p.m. (1-800-344-ROCK). Their “greatest” hits package will be coming out on Mar. 31st.

There will be no “OzzFest” this year.

My favorite “head banging” song this week is “Moon Baby” by Godsmack. I’m about due for some Godsmack soon; hopefully they will churn out something this year, along with a tour.

Limp Bizkit is reuniting after 8 years with the original line-up (including Wes Borland). New album and tour to follow.

The White Stripes will play Conan O’Brien on Friday Feb. 20. This will be their first appearance since 2007, when Meg was diagnosed with acute anxiety.

Did you know that the Righteous Brother’s song “You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feeling” has been the most played song on U.S. radio with more than 8 million turns? The Associations “Never My Love” is second with over 7 million turns. In England, the most played song ever is Procal Harum’s “Whiter Shade of Pale.”

“And 5, now this is most important, Rat…comes down to making out… whenever possible.. put on side 1 of Led Zeppelin IV

Side 1 of “Fear Of Music” by The Talking Heads

By the time I was 14, I was already deep into bands like Kiss, The Cars and Foreigner. I was then introduced to “new wave” bands like The B-52’s and The Talking Heads by my uncle. (He bought me my first rock album- Foreigner’s debut). At first, I thought the music was strange but there was something that pulled me in and kept me coming back for more. (Though I have to admit this is my only album from the Talking Heads- I also have their “greatest Hits” but that doesn’t count). Trying to lure my friends in with The B-52’s and Talking Heads did not work-they headed straight for Ozzy and never looked back. (I eventually got there but took a different path- a path that was “open” to different sounds). “Fear of Music” was their third studio album and was released in August 1979.You want to talk about different sounds? Put on the first track “I Zimbra” and you’ll be scratching your head on why I am stating that this is a classic album side. David Byrne is multi-talented and his voice is so distinctive and on this tune he kind of “raps.” The beat of the song will have you dancing around the room in no time. (It was a dance track hit at the clubs back in 1979) Track # 2 “Mind” is flat out addictive and is the best song on the album. “I have got the faintest idea. Ahhh ya..ya..yaa.. I need something to change your mind..”It has a very simple arrangement and actually has a pretty heavy guitar solo towards the end that is  impressive.“Paper” is psychedelic song that starts off slow then gets fast and continues this format for the two and a half minutes. “Hold On to that Paper…go ahead tear up, tear up the paper..” You can’t just listen to this song once. Track # 4- “Cities” is a song you should all be familiar with- once you hear it you’ll be saying “Oh yeah I like this song.” This song kicks right into gear and in my opinion had a definite influence on bands like The Smashing Pumpkins and Weezer. This song flat out rocks and again the guitar solo is solid. This is a great song for your next Spin class. “I’m checking them out… Good points.. some bad points..” What I love about the Talking Heads is their great lyrics-very different from any other band that was out there- and this song has them. “Life During War Time” is one of my all time favorite songs and I know this song- word for word- and can out do anyone (except Mr. Byrne) in a karaoke contest. (And of course when I was 14 the best part was “This Ain’t No Disco..” again maturity was not a strong point at 14). “We dress like students, we dress like house wives.. or in a suit and a tie…” How many times was this song played on classic rock radio in 1979 and 1980? (deservedly so). The first side ends with the rockin’ & groovin’ classic “Memories Can’t Wait.” (Living Colour covered this on their classic “Vivid” album and does a fantastic job). This song was co-written by Jerry Harrison, who played keyboards and guitar. The bridge to the chorus is flat out phenomenal. This song surrounds you, lifts you up by your face and takes you to a far off land. I can’t get enough of it!! Thus ends the perfect album side by The Talking Heads. Side two has some cool tracks (“Heaven” “Animals”) and overall the album is a definite purchase but side 1 is the real deal. You see Gary, I listen to you!!

I borrowed the “Folie a Deux” CD by Fall Out Boy from my youngest son. I have been listening to it all this week and have to say that it is good, I like it. They have a very distinctive style and their songs tend to sound similar but overall I have enjoyed listening to it. I previously informed you that I did purchase the single “America’s Suitehearts” (track # 4 on the album) and I crank it up loud whenever I hear it. Tracks that stand out for me are “I Don’t Care” “She’s My Winona” “Head First Slide Into Cooperstown on a Bad Bet” (weird I know) “W.A.M.S.” and “West Coast Smoker.” My favorite track is “What a Catch, Donnie.” It’s a slow song but their vocals shine bright in this one. In my opinion, these guys are the modern day Duran Duran with a twist of Living Colour. (pop music with heavy spurts of rock and funk). This band has made a good impression on me and I consider them one of the better “new” bands out there today. If you like their sound, you will like this latest release.

This week’s issue of “Blender” magazine (with T.I.) on the cover has a “bracketology” of the worst band names ever and I have to admit I was intrigued. The one category which I did not know a single band came from the “Shock and Ugh” grouping. I was kind of surprised to see The Beatles and Metallica on the list because I always thought those two names were ingenious. I expected Limp Bizkit and Puddle of Mudd but in the end it was Toad the Wet Sprocket losing out to Hoobastank. If you view the brackets, I think you will find that they pretty much have it correct for each “stand-off.” (including the elite 8 and then the final 4).

U2 will perform for five nights in a row on the David Letterman show beginning on March 2 – 6… very strange.

Madonna took in a whopping $242M for her tour in 2008 and was the leader in the “money maker” list, according to Billboard. Neil Diamond still has it, as he was seventh on the list and pulled in over $82M. The usual suspects: Bon Jovi, Bruce, The Police and The Eagles are on the list. So is the Aussie Band- AC/DC- who came in at number 13 with $56.5M. Journey made a strong comeback with $44.8 and finished 17 out of 20 in 2008. The most surprising act for me that made the list was Miley Cyrus, who pulled in at number 15 with a huge dollar amount- $49M.

Sadly back on this day in 2002, Waylon Jennings (who gave up his seat to the Big Bopper on that tragic flight with Buddy Holly) passed away from complications from diabetes. Waylon was an original member of The Crickets.

Back on this day in 1983, Marvin Gaye sang the National Anthem in Los Angeles for the NBA All Star Game.

If you are celebrating your birthday today you share the same date with Peter Tork of The Monkees (he turns 65- are you kidding me?), Peter Gabriel and the late great “Tennessee” Ernie Ford– who would have turned 90 years old today.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

