Errols Weekly Music Update.

January 30, 2009

Weekly Update – 01/30/2009

Bryan Adams at the Beacon Theater on Sat. April 4. Tickets on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m.  $49.50 – $89.50.

Disturbed at The Arena at the Harbor Yard in Bridgeport CT on Tues. Apr. 21. Tickets on tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m.  $39.75.   This is the “Music as a Weapon Tour” and will also feature Killswitch Engage, Lacuna Coil and Chimaira.

Bruce Springsteen & The E-Street Band at XL Center in Hartford CT on Fri. Apr. 24. Tickets on sale this Monday Feb. 2 at 10:00 a.m.$65 – $95.

David Archuleta at the Starland Ballroom in Sayreville NJ on Thurs. Feb. 26. Tickets on sale today at noon. $24.50

The 2nd Annual Rock Star Energy Drink Mayhem Tour featuring Slayer and Marilyn Manson at Susquehanna Bank Center in Camden NJ on Fri. Aug. 7. – Tickets to the public will be available on April 24. More info to follow.

Hall & Oates at the Fillmore New York in Irving Plaza on Sun. & Mon. Mar. 8 and 9. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. Tickets available through Live Nation.

Taylor Swift and Kellie Pickler will be touring together. The tour dates and venues will be announced tomorrow.

Death Cab for Cutie will be touring this spring. No dates for the tri-state area as of yet. Will keep you posted. If you’re a real fan check out their website for up to date information.

Other items:

AC/DC will perform at Wrestlemania XXV on Sunday Apr. 5 in Houston TX. The band will play the event’s theme song, which hasn’t been picked yet. Apparently Vince McMahon is a huge fan. Who isn’t?

Bruce Springsteen’s new album “Working on a Dream” is again drawing rave reviews. Rollinstone Magazine gave it 5 stars, now I have to be honest and say that I have not seen a 5 star rating on a new release in a long, long time. This means that this in an instant classic. I was almost tempted but something is holding me back, I just don’t know why that is, I can’t put my finger on it. Oh well, I may break just yet.

Iron Maiden’s management has teamed up with a British nightclub owner to open the first luxury hotel dedicated exclusively to musicians. According to the Times of London, the hotel, which is dubbed Sanctum Soho, will be opened this April as a sanctuary for the members of Maiden and other bands playing in London. Its amenities will include a 24-hour bar, an open-air hot tub on the roof, a cinema in the basement and 30 rooms with names like Purple Haze and Naked Luxe. But don’t get the wrong idea. The Sanctum Soho will boast heavy security — and one publicist insists, “It’s not a hotel for throwing televisions out of the window.”Wouldn’t it be cool to be a guest at this hotel? How many people are going to try to get in under an alias?

Thoughts and prayers go out to family and friends of Billy Powell, keyboard player for Lynyrd Skynyrd, who passed away this past Wednesday at the young age of 56. He is a father of four, so sad. Skynyrd representatives are not sure if the band will continue on. “It’s up to Gary Rossington” said the band’s manager as Rossington and Powell were the two remaining members of the original line-up.

Papa Roach released a new single “Lifeline” from their upcoming release and I have to give it two thumbs up!! This is the first song in my library by the boys from Vacaville CA. Their new album, Metamorphosis, will be released on March 24.

Patrick McDermott who dated Olivia Newton John for nine years before disappearing in 2005 is supposedly living in Mexico. A team of investigators hired by Dateline are stating this parcel of information. Very interesting, huh? Olivia has since re-married.

ABC has finally put “Life on Mars” back on its schedule and the night has been switched to Wednesday’s. The most recent episode included the classic “Whiskey in a Jar” by the legendary Thin Lizzy. That’s right I said legendary!! That friggin’ song is so great and they almost played the whole song. The show is terrific by the way and the music from 1973 makes it that much better!!

This week’s I-POD shuffle landed on the disco classic “Car Wash” by Rose Royce and it made me start looking for more “one-hit” wonders. (No offense Ms. Royce, as I know your fans are screaming that you do have a large body of work and not just this song but for me I would consider this a one hit wonder). How great is the groove in this song? And no one sings it like Ms. Royce. Now don’t kid yourself, we need one hit wonders. Hey, it’s just like someone being called up to the major leagues in any sport and even if their career is short lived; they can always say that they “made it to the show.” It’s the same for music and the added bonus is that you can play that song “at the show.” I was going to do another list but I figured that might be getting a little stale so I decided to let all of you know what one hit wonders are in my library. Staying with the groove thing, “Rappers Delight” by The Sugarhill Gang ranks high on my list. Now for those of you who knew me in my younger days I know you’re screaming “you were one of the guys that use to scream that disco and rap stunk!!!” Again, maturity cures many ills. There is no denying the impact that “Rappers” made on music history. Everyone knows this song and I can’t think of anyone that doesn’t like this song. It’s pure fun. Staying with the disco/rap theme, I absolutely love “Rock The Boat” by the Hughes Corporation, this song brings me back to my summer days spent with my Grandparents and uncle in the 1970’s. Do you have this in your library? (You won’t be able to find it on I-Tunes, they don’t have the original- you’ll have to buy a CD with the song on it). How about “Rock Your Baby” by George McCrae? How enormous was that song? C’mon you know you love it as well. “O-o-h Child” by The Five Stairsteps has to be in my top 20 songs of all time (I know I’m way past 20 but you know what I’m saying). This song brings me back to my teenage days when I worked with my uncle at a butcher shop. All the butchers use to line up and sway back and forth and sing this song holding their knives as make believe microphones. They would always yell at me for “listening to that crap” and told me I needed to know the classics. Believe me I knew then and I know now, this song is forever etched in my heart. (again youth….) That is what music is suppose to do, it is suppose to make you happy, put a smile on your face and take you back to wonderful memories throughout your life.

Now I know you’re going to laugh at this one but I’m not ashamed to say that I absolutely find “Rose Garden” by Lynn Anderson irresistible. This is another song that takes me back to my childhood days and every time I hear it, I think of my mother. It really is a catchy tune. Another song that my mother loved was the classic “Brand New Key” by Melanie Safka. I can’t get enough of this song. Her voice and the whole arrangement of the song is just amazing. “Oh sometimes I think that you’re avoiding me…” I can picture my mother trying to hit those high notes by Melanie. (Now she has sold over 25 million records, so please excuse me if I say this is a her only hit- I just had to get it out there and in my opinion it is her most popular song).

On the heavier side of things, “Black Betty” by Ram Jam is right up there. I love the sound of the cymbals crashing every second. This song is perfect for huge stadium events such as football games-when it’s played loud over the speakers- there is nothing like it. (great Spin song as well). It kills me to even say this but again I need to get it out there- “Bang a Gong” by T-Rex. Now don’t kill me because I recognize their input into the world of rock and roll but everyone knows this song (and most likely this song only). (Don’t even say Thin Lizzy with “Boys are back in Town” because I’ll scream!!!). “My Sharona” by The Knack may be the best one hit wonder song ever. The song is phenomenal and people forget just how heavy it is. The guitar solo towards the end of the song gets me so psyched that I have to play the song all over again!!! This has to be on Guitar Hero or Rock Band right now!!!!

On the “flower power” side of things one of my all time favorites is Procol Harum’s “Whiter Shade of Pale.” Supposedly this was one of John Lennon’s favorite songs of all time. I get the chills every time I hear it. You know the feeling, it starts at the back of your neck and trickles down your back.This song is FLAWLESS!!!Or how about “Spirit in the Sky” by Norman Greenbaum? I know some people love it and some hate it. I’m on the loving side. It took a while for Mr. Greenbaum to get the rights to his song back but he can now rest comfortably now as this song has been featured in many major motion pictures. “No Rain” was the 1990’s version of the hippie sound performed by Blind Melon. This song has such a catchy hook and it’s one of the songs that is hard to get out of your head, once it’s in there. The whole arrangement on the song is top notch, it’s such a shame that Shannon passed away. Who knows what could have been. (I know that they are back together so you can stop screaming at your computer screen).

From the “pop” side, one of my favorites is The Foundations “Build Me Up Buttercup.” This is the ideal sing along song. This song brings me back to my late teens and early 20’s and reminds me of a friend I had back then, Kathy, she loved this song. “Magic” by Pilot is pop music at its best, although I will say it does rock somewhat. “Ho, ho, ho, it’s Magic you know..Never believe its not so..” C’mon you know you like it!! “Dancin’ in the Moonlight” by King Harvest is a classic in my opinion. Yes it may now be known as a 1970’s AM radio obscure tune but what does that matter? If it’s good, then who cares how it’s labeled. Now do you want an obscure pop gospel/folk hit? OK- “Put Your Hand in the Hand” by Ocean back in 1971. When is the last time you’ve heard this song? Wow!! I love it!! (I know you’re screaming at your screen again saying these songs are “cheesy.” But who doesn’t like cheese?). The background vocals remind me of the Mama’s & Papa’s.

Well I just wanted to let you all know my favorite “one-hit” wonders. Maybe you agree with some of them or maybe you’re scratching your head. Have I named any song that you do not know, well explore and discover some “new” old songs- you just may like them. “Discovering music, new or old, is what it’s all about.”

Normally for a recent band I would recommend one of their albums, instead of their “greatest hits” package but in the case of The Offspring I highly encourage you to pick up their greatest hits CD. I never realized how many good songs they have and this CD highlights most of them. (I know they have new stuff out, relax). Now parents I am forewarning you- their music is made for adult ears only. Tracks like “Self Esteem” “Hit That” and “Why Don’t You Get a Job” are great tunes but the lyrics are not for the youngsters. “All I Want” is a definite Spin song that is used for an all out sprint!! The song is less than two minutes but packs a solid punch!! “Gone Away” is a song that I totally forgot about and it is so good. “Pretty Fly for a White Guy” is such a fun song and this song reminds me of our “boot camp” days at MBIA. Wow, how many times did we play this song Dave, Tricia, Christie and Nick? I’m dancing around the room now trying to reenact the various exercises we picked. No Dave- I’m not doing the push-ups!!! “Original Prankster” is another fun song which you will not be able to get out of your head. “Defy You” is a kick ass rock song that just sweeps me into a whirl. Put this song with a good set of headphones and you’ll know what I’m talking about. “Hit That” is a great song (musically) but it’s a song that really can’t be played in a crowd. I’ll stop talking now. Of course “Come Out and Play” is on there. “You got to keep ‘em separated..” Sometimes I have to be in the mood to hear this song, some days I love it, other times I skip right over it. Do you have songs like that?Anyway, pick up this CD, I highly recommend it.

Back on this day in 1969, the Beatles performed “Get Back” on the roof top of Apple Records in London for the film “Let It Be.” It was their last “public” performance.

Back on this day in 1973, KISS had its first concert in Queens NY.

If your birthday is today, you share the same birth date with Phil Collins. Happy Birthday Phil!!! He’s has some career, huh?

Next Tuesday Feb. 3 marks the 50th anniversary of one of the saddest days in music history when a plane carrying Buddy Holly, Richie Valens and J.P. “The Big Bopper” Richardson crashed hours after they performed in Clear Lake, Iowa. Did you know that Dion was also part the of their infamous Winter Dance Party Tour- also known as the tour from hell because of the weather and riding the bus everywhere. Rolling Stone does a nice article in this week’s issue with Bruce on the cover.

1 Comment »

  1. King Harvest’s My Space site.

    Comment by Dancing in the Moonlight — January 30, 2009 @ 11:00 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

