Errols Weekly Music Update.

January 16, 2009

Weekly Update – 01/16/09

3 Doors Down at the Mohegan Sun on Fri. Feb. 27. Pre-sale tickets on sale now thru fan club. General public on sale this Monday at 10:00 a.m.   $45.

Kenney Chesney with Lady Antebellum and Sugarland at Mohegan Sun on Sat. Apil 18. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m.  $95 – $125.

For Parents: Jesse McCartney at Nokia Theater on Thurs. Feb. 26. Pre-sale on now through American Express Cardholders and Z-100. General public on sale tomorrow at noon.  $27.50.

Public Enemy at BB Kings on Sun. Mar. 15. Tickets on sale next Tues. Jan. 20 at 10:00 a.m.  $25 ($30 day of show).

Other items:

Congratulations to the new members of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame: Wanda Jackson, Bill Black, D.J. Fontana, Dewey Oldman, Little Anthony & The Imperials, Bobby Womack, Jeff Beck (his second time in- the first with the Yardbirds back in 1992), Run DMC and Metallica. All are very deserving!! Yes DMC belongs in the Hall, no question. Now of course you know my focus is on Metallica. I would say this section is called “Ode to Metallica”:

As I watched their press conference yesterday I was “beaming with pride.” To see the guys up on the podium with the flash bulbs popping and all the pomp & circumstance surrounding them was probably something they never envisioned when they started this band more than 25 years ago. For those of you who know me, the ultimate joy would be for the NY Jets to win the Super Bowl- now I won’t say that this reaches that point but this is way up there. I’ve been “on a high” since it was announced and was telling everyone that I knew that they were in. (of course everyone looked at me like “who cares?”) Well I’m not even going there- that tells you how happy I am. I guess one of the reasons I feel this way is because for years I had to wait while many other people’s favorite bands were inducted and I always felt that I needed something to “defend” the bands that I am drawn to. Of course this now means that I am older (as you need 25 years experience to be even nominated). But METALLICA IS IN THE HALL OF FAME!!!

Now as I have mentioned, I joined the Metallica band wagon on the “Black” album. (Then subsequently went back and dove head first into their first four albums, five if you include the “$5.99 album”). The opening licks to “Enter Sandman” hooked me in and never let go. From that song on through “The Struggle Within” I can honestly say that I think that I have listened to this album more than any other one that I own. I can remember one time- some people driving next to my car on the Jersey Parkway, staring and pointing fingers as I was headbanging to “Through The Never.” As I looked over and dying of embarrassment, they just stuck their thumbs up at me. I became obsessed with this band. I went to all their concerts every time they hit the NY area. One particular stop at the Garden, in March 1997 I believe, was the one concert I will never forget because before the lights went off, out came the boys whipping up a sizzling rendition of “So What.” The stage was in the center of the Garden and they totally kicked the Garden’s ass that night (as they do on every night they play). That is the one thing that I will say to those who are still on the fence about these guys, you see them live ONCE and you will be hooked. You won’t be “dipping your toe” in the water- you will also be “diving head first” and want to see them every time they come back to your town.

Another special night was when they played with The St. Luke’s Orchestra at Madison Square Garden in Nov. 1999. That night, I introduced many of my family members to Metallica live as they sat in the MBIA corporate box. I, of course, was not in the box but in the stands soaking up the atmosphere. (There are a few bands you just can’t see “up top” and these guys are one of them). I was proud of them that night as they did not disappoint. Then my brother convinced his friend to come see them live at Giants Stadium (Jerry Cantrell was the opener). In the beginning he didn’t know what to expect, by the end of the night he was saying that it was the best concert he had ever seen. It brought a smile to my face as I thought “another satisfied customer.” On July 8, 2003, I brought some of the boys from MBIA (we took the day off) to see them at Giants Stadium on the hottest day of the year. They ate it up- again more satisfied customers.

I could go on and on about the shows but that gives you an idea of how many other people I dragged into the world of Metallica. In my mid-thirties I joined their fan club (a secret that few knew) but now you all know. I was a member for at least 8 years. Yes I know, “don’t teenagers do that sort of stuff?” Well hey I’m a teenager at heart and always have been. This band gets me psyched like no other.

As the accolades rained down and the questions were being asked of them up there on the podium, I was struck on how comfortable they look as a band. They answered every question “professionally” and seemed as elated as I was, to be up there. As James said, this is a day that happens once and only once. (This is why I was so angered two years ago when Van Halen blew it when certain members didn’t show up). This is a day to celebrate. I hung on their every word and somehow I wish I could make their introduction to the audience in Cleveland on Apr. 4. (shown live on FUSE). There better be somebody up there who appreciates Metallica and James stated that they would do the right thing and not just take anyone to “get up the ratings.” (Like when Velvet Revolver did that putrid job of introducing Van Halen). They were all very grateful to be voted in. One thing that sticks out in my mind is when Robert stated that “playing with these guys is like being teenagers all over again in the garage.” Music is passion. Metallica exudes passion, always has and always will. I can now scream out to the world “METALLICA IS IN THE HALL OF FAME!!!!” \M/ \M/ \M/ \M/ (by the way you can watch the press conference at www.metallica.com ).

Remember a few weeks back my oldest son gave me the idea of naming my top ten songs from a band, well this week I thought of Chicago. This is a band I have always respected and I definitely lean towards the early days with Terry Kath. OK here it is:

10.          Just You N Me– Just a great infectious song that keeps you singing all day long. . Love the part “come hold me close, never release me..”

9.           Dialogue (Part I & II)– This is one of the best “duets” that Chicago ever did, the passion and the lyrics really set this song apart from the rest.

8.            Poem 58– This could be the best “guitar” song ever. These guys were the one of the original “jam” bands and this is an unknown classic.

7.           25 or 6 to 4– This could be the best “guitar” song ever- didn’t I already say that? Come on this song rocks!!!

6.            Old Days– “Good times I remember… Fun days, filled with simple pleasures.” Can you say it any better? Love the horns.

5.           Saturday in the Park– No matter how many times I hear this song, I still love it. This song has everything for the whole family. My kids even like this “old stuff.”

4.           Make Me Smile– How cool is this song? I love the drums, the piano and the phenomenal vocals.

3.          Questions 67 and 68– Brilliant masterpiece, ‘nuff said!!

2.          Colour My World– This song cracks my top 25 songs of all time. I’m just mesmerized when I hear it. The opening piano notes stop me in my tracks. I told my boys they need to perform this song on the flute and piano.

1.           Feelin’ Stronger Every Day– This song just “gets me” every time. I could listen to this song all day.

My favorite “old school” song of the week is “Everybody Plays The Fool” by the Main Ingredient. “Falling in love is such an easy thing to do…” They just don’t make songs like this any more.

This past Tuesday Derek Trucks released a new CD called “Already Free.” I have to tell you I am pretty sure that this is going to become a purchase for me. The 30 second previews on I-Tunes sound stellar. He has his wife, Susan Tedeschi, help out, as well as Warren Hayes (does this guy get any sleep?) and many others. Check it out!!

My I-POD shuffle came across “Will It Go Round in Circles” by the legendary Billy Preston and I was blown away on how “fresh” the song still sounds today. I went back through my catalog and listened to Preston all week long. How great was this man? Did you know that he started his career at the young age of 16 when he played the organ and piano on Sam Cooke’s legendary “Night Beat” album back in 1963. Check out the cool playing of the organ on “Little Red Rooster” and tell me you’re not hooked? Fast forward to the 1970’s with “Outa Space” –go ahead, try and tell me you don’t like songs with an organ in it. Better yet, buy the video for it on I-Tunes and witness the greatness. Now as many of you are probably aware, Mr. Preston was one of only two musicians who played with The Beatles and The Stones. He was often known as the “5th Beatle” and he actually played along the Beatles when they performed their final public appearance- the famous “rooftop gig” in London. He’s played with so many including Ray Charles on down to the band Jet.

My favorite Billy Preston song is “I Wrote a Simple Song” because its all about passion and as you know passion is the main ingredient for me when I choose the artists I love the most. Did you know that Mr. Preston wrote “You Are So Beautiful?” made popular by Joe Cocker? His version is fantastic as well. If you want to witness Billy at one of his best moments, then you need to purchase the “Concert for George” DVD (or CD). This is my favorite music DVD of all time and Billy is one of the main reasons why- he is flat out phenomenal through-out the whole show. His blistering version of “My Sweet Lord” will knock you right off your couch. He also does a beautiful version of “Isn’t It a Pity.”

I really can’t say enough about this man. It is such a shame that he left us at such a young age of 59 back on June 6, 2006. But he left us with a legacy of music that will last forever. Please folks, pass it on to your children, siblings or anyone else you can think of. And make sure they pass it on down to their sons & daughters. The legend of Billy Preston lives on!!!

Primus leader, Les Claypool, will be releasing a solo album called “Of Fungi and Foe” on Mar. 17 and there is actually a song called “You Can’t Tell Errol Anything.” How apropos, right?

Radiohead is supposedly releasing a rare EP called “Drill” on vinyl on April 21 and it will have 12 singles from their catalog. They have also donated a single “MK1” from their In Rainbows disc to a TV ad campaign for the homeless.

Def Leppard and Poison have apparently mended fences and are in negotiations to tour this summer. Watch out for the spandex!!

Back on this day in 1980, Paul McCartney was jailed in Toyko for possession of marijuana.

Back on this day in 1965, the first Guess Who record was released- “Shakin’ All Over.”

Back on this day in 1976, the Donny & Marie variety show debuted. 1976? Are you kidding me?

If you were born on this day, you share a birth date with Jim Stafford (“I don’t like spiders & snakes”) and Barbara Lynn (“You’ll lose a good thing”).

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

