Errols Weekly Music Update.

January 9, 2009

Weekly Update – 01/09/09

Morrisey at the Bowery Ballroom & Webster Hall on Sat. Mar. 21 and Wed. Mar. 25. Tickets on sale this morning at 11:00 a.m. $75

Allman Brothers are back with their annual trek at the Beacon Theater for their March Madness. (last years shows were cancelled as Gregg battled Hep C) They will play the following dates: Mar. 9,10, 12-14, 16, 17 and 19-21. Pre-sale tickets for American Express cardholders only on this morning at 10:00 a.m. until next Thurs. Mar. 15 at 10:00 p.m. General public on sale next Friday Jan. 16 at 10:00 a.m. $60.99 – $150.99

David Byrne at Radio City Music Hall on Sat. Feb. 28. Pre-sale tickets for American Express cardholders only on sale this morning at 9:00 a.m. until Sun. Jan. 11 at 9:00 p.m. General public on sale this Mon. Jan. 12 at 10:00 a.m. $39.50 – $129.50.

Dave Matthews Band with at Madison Square Garden on Tues. April 14. Tickets on sale next Sat. Jan. 17 at 10:00 a.m.  $70.

George Clinton & the P-Funk Allstars at B.B. Kings on Thurs Feb. 26. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $37.50.

The Dead (yes that’s right the surviving members of the Grateful Dead- Warren Hayes will be lead guitarist) at the Nassau Coliseum, Madison Square Garden and Izod Center on Fri., Sat. & Tues. Apr. 24, 25 and 28 & 29. Pre-sale tickets go on sale on Tues. Jan. 13. General public on sale Fri. Jan. 23. For more info go to http://dead.net/dead09

Phish at Jones Beach on Thurs. & Fri. June 4 and 5 and at Susquehanna Bank Center in Camden NJ on Sun. June 7. Limited number of pre-sale tickets for $49.50 at the following site: http://phish.portals.musictoday.com/ General public tickets on sale Sat. Jan. 30 at 10:00 a.m.

George Thorogood & The Destroyers at The Ridgefield Playhouse on Mon. & Tues. Mar. 16 & 17, at Capital One Theater in Westbury on Thurs. Mar. 19. (and a few other places in the Northeast). Ticket info to follow (but you know the Ridgefield ticket prices will be steep).

Other items:

OK you know I just write about music (but you know I love it, right?!!) well there is someone else in my family that actually makes music. His name is Devin Arne and believe me folks- the music is in him!!And he is sharing it with the rest of us. I am not saying this just because he is my aunt & uncle’s son. I’ve always had a hunch that he is going to make it big and now I have the proof. Log on to www.devinarne.com click on to the link under the “soundcloud” heading and listen to “Why Are You Leaving.” (this should be on the radio right now) He also remixes songs, take a listen to “I Can See.” I can honestly say that I would purchase these two songs in a heartbeat!!! Devin- very impressive and I can’t wait for the first album release. Keep us posted!!

OK folks just got word that the Metallica shows have been lights out. The set list looks flat out phenomenal. I want in!! Please I beg of you, if you have never experienced a live show from the boys from California, please go to one of the shows in the tri-state area. If you don’t like it, I’ll refund your money. I myself, am waiting for them to come to Madison Square Garden. I can’t do the Nassau or New Jersey venues, it’s just not the same energy and excitement- but that is just me- you may feel differently.

I have to admit I enjoyed watching VH1’s Top 100 Hard Rock Songs of all time last week during the holidays. I could do without the comedians that they get to make the silly comments. I want fellow musicians only (and maybe music critics) because I like to hear how other bands/solo artists appreciate other artists- that will always be interesting to me. Bret Michaels did a good job as host. Now I’ve seen many disparaging comments about the list but I have to say overall I agree with the majority of the songs on the list. I absolutely love the fact that Foreigner made the list with “Hot Blooded.” They kind of get the “pop” label but if you are a true fan of Foreigner- you know the real deal. Also loved the fact that Sammy Hagar made the list with “I Can’t Drive 55”- I caught a lot of grief one weekly update for saying that is one of my all time favorite songs. Or how about “Breaking The Law” by Judas Priest!!! I LOVE that friggin’ song!!! (reminds me of the old Beavis & Butthead shows where they were always singing “breaking the law, breaking the law”). Or how about “Jailbreak” by Thin Lizzy? Ha!! Told you!! These guys are so under-rated it sickens me. Listen to this song and tell me it doesn’t belong on the list??!!! Are you kidding me???- this song rocks your socks off!!!!! I said that AC/DC would finish first with “Back in Black” or “For Those About to Rock”- well “Back in Black” finished # 2. (“For Those” did not make the list). The number one song was “Welcome to The Jungle” by Guns & Roses!! I can’t really disagree.

Rumor has it that Aretha Franklin will be among one of the stars performing at President-elect Barack Obama inauguration on Jan. 20. Bruce Springsteen is rumored to be playing on Jan. 18 at the National Mall.

Apparently this Led Zeppelin tour without Mr. Plant is destined to happen. Mr. Page is currently auditioning singers for the upcoming tour. One rumor has Steven Tyler performing lead vocals. (That peaks my interest a little bit- a little bit- got to admit).

Styx will perform the national anthem prior to the Steelers-Chargers game this Sunday. They will also perform an a capella version of their classic “Renegade” which has become a battle cry for Steeler fans cheering on the defense. I hope they show both songs on TV. Please CBS do the right thing!!!

My favorite old school song of the week is “Love Removal Machine” by The Cult from their monster album “Electric.” This song also made the top 100 hard rock songs of all time.

“And 5, now this is most important, Rat…comes down to making out… whenever possible.. put on side 1 of Led Zeppelin IV

Abbey Road – Side 2- The Beatles

Ok this is easily a “classic” album in total and side 1 is no slouch (especially “I Want You”) but side 2 could be the best album side of all time. (yes Ed- I agree). The reason for this is the 16-minute “medley” of short songs that blended into each other, which for 1969 was well ahead of its time. These short songs were mostly written during the “White album” and “Let It Be” sessions but mastered for Abbey Road.

Abbey Road was recorded between July and August 1969, this work was started after the Beatles actually started to work on “Let It Be.” (which officially is their 12th and last album). Tensions between the band members were very high when they started work on Let It Be (the first name was actually going to be “Get Back”). It became so bad that the sessions ended. Sensing the end, Paul McCartney approached George Martin (producer) and suggested that they record an album together “like the way they use to.” McCartney wanted to go out on top. Martin agreed but wanted it done his way. Just before the release in September 1969, John Lennon was in hiatus with The Plastic Ono Band, which effectively was the first sign of the conclusion of the Beatles

Side Two starts off with the classic “Here Comes the Sun” written by George Harrison. His two songs on this album are so beautiful, it is just amazing the talent this man had. I love the that soft guitar touch that radiates throughout the song. The song was written while George was bored in a Apple board meeting, it was influenced by Eric Clapton’s “Badge.” By the way Joe Brown does a great version on the “Concert for George” DVD. (you should all own that!!) “Because” is a song that puts me in a trance. I can’t get enough of the harmonizing vocals. The vocals were performed by John, Paul and George but then were “triple-tracked” to make it seem like 9 singers. This could be their best “harmonizing” song. Then the “medley” starts: “You Never Give Me Your Money” was written by Paul and supposedly based on the financial problems with Apple. I love the part where they say “1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 hope that you will go to heaven…” “Sun King”reminds me of “Because” with the overdubbing of the harmonies again. It is so soft that you kind of float away, especially during the Spanish lyrics. Then it kicks into gear with the catchy “Mean Mr. Mustard”- written by John on their trip to India. Before you know Polythene Pam is right in your lap with the great drumming part by Ringo that keeps you rocking along. And the guitar solo by George really adds the spice. “Oh Look Out” as your are now in the bathroom waiting for someone to come through as “She Came in the Bathroom Window” blares through your headphones. How cool are Paul’s riffs on the bass? (song was written by Paul based on a true story of a fan coming through his bathroom window in his residence). Then it’s on to my favorite two songs on the album “Golden Slumbers” and “Carry That Weight.” It is hard to find two better songs in the history of music. I get the chills every time I hear Paul’s passion. And then how great is “Carry That Weight?” Ringo was “forced” into doing the drum solo-which to me is the best solo in any song- simple but great. Then as Paul, George and John rip into the guitar solos, you are sitting there saying “Is this the Beatles?” This is almost “metal.” I LOVE IT!!! It is so LOUD right now that I may be waking up my wife and kids!!! Then just like that- you are really floating away with the piano- as the song comes to its majestic end. “The love you take is equal to the love you make.” These could also be the best lyrics ever. “Her Majesty” lasts 23 seconds but is a solid punch that makes you want more.

Fun Facts: Abbey Road was the only Beatles album that was recorded on an 8-track tape machine rather than the 4-track used on all prior albums. The “moog synthesizer” played by George was used in many of the songs, including “Because,” “Maxwell’s Silver Hammer” and “Here Comes The Sun.” One of the assistant engineers on the album was Alan Parson’s- who went on to engineer one of the most popular albums ever- “Dark Side of the Moon” by Pink Floyd and of course- the Alan Parson’s project. The photographer for the album, Iain McMillian, was given 10 minutes to snap the photo- this photo for the album cover has been the most famous and imitated in history. Rollingstone named it the 14th best album of all time from their list of the top 500. Again, side one is fantastic but side two is historic.

The son of “The Big Bopper” a.k.a. J.P. Richardson, who died along with Buddy Holly and Richie Valens in a plane crash in 1959, is selling his father’s casket-which he was buried in for 48 years- on E-Bay. In 2007, his son moved his body to a “more visible” location and now has this empty casket. I don’t know about you but that is creepy. I sort of understand Gene Simmons selling “Kiss” caskets before you leave earth but selling caskets after someone has been buried in it? I’m out.

Thoughts and prayers go out to the family and friends of Ron Asheton, 60, the guitarist for The Stooges, who passed away on Jan. 6. He was found at his home in Ann Arbor Michigan, there was no sign of foul play or drug use.

Back on this day in 1971, Elvis Presley was named one of the ten outstanding young men of the year by the U.S. Jaycees.

If it is your birthday today you share the same birth date with Joan Baez, Crystal Gayle, Dave Matthews, David Johansen and Jimmy Page. Happy Birthday to you all!!!

1 Comment »

  1. Really great article! I wish I had something like this when I started

    using . thanks

    Comment by Anwarkazi — January 23, 2009 @ 4:33 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

