Errols Weekly Music Update.

November 7, 2008

Weekly Update – 11/07/08

John Legend at the Fairfield University on Sat. Dec. 6. Tickets on sale next Sat. Nov. 15 at 6:00 a.m. (It says 6:00 a.m. but I doubt that) $40.00

Simply Red at Radio City Music Hall on Sun. Mar. 15, 2009. Tickets on sale today at 10:00 a.m. $39.50 – $129.50.

Kid Rock at Borgota Event Center in Atlantic City on Fri. Feb. 13, 2009. Tickets on sale tomorrow morning at 10:00 a.m.

The Ting Tings at The Blender Theater on Tues. Dec. 9. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $25.

Chrisette Michele at Apollo Theater on Fri. Feb. 5. Tickets on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. $60.50

Moe at Terminal 5 on Fri. and Sat. Feb. 13 and 14 2009. Tickets on sale tomorrow at noon. $32.50.

Candlebox at The New York Fillmore at Irving Plaza on Fri. Dec. 12. Tickets on sale today at noon. $22.50.

Blue Oyster Cult (whom some felt should have been on the top 10 Halloween songs with “Don’t Fear the Reaper”) at BB Kings on Sat. Jan. 24, 2009. Tickets on sale now. $27.50

Angie Stone at BB Kings on Tues. Feb. 17, 2009. Tickets on sale now. $30

Other items:

Thoughts and prayers go out to Deftones bassist Chi Cheng, 38, (and his family) who is currently in a coma after being in a car accident on Nov. 3 in Santa Clara, CA. He is in serious but stable condition. Hopefully he comes out of this OK.

Justice has finally been done. AC/DC appears on the cover of the Nov. 13 issue of Rolling Stone Magazine for the FIRST time ever. Can you imagine? (And to boot Rudd and Williams are left out on this cover). It’s a disgrace that a music magazine can ignore one of the most popular acts in rock history. However, frustration set aside, the article on them is very good. Last year RS finally wrote an article on Rush– whom also had been virtually ignored by them. What???????? Why?????? Help me………….

Journey’s “Don’t Stop Believin’” has become the first non-current, or “catalog,” song ever to sell two million digital downloads, according to Nielsen/Soundscan figures released this week. (2 million can you believe that?) The song originally appeared on Journey’s 1981 Escape album, but its popularity has only increased over the years. In 2005, “Don’t Stop Believin’” became the unofficial theme of World Series Champs the Chicago White Sox. The clincher came just last year, when the song was featured in the final episode of HBO’s smash series The Sopranos. The weekend after the episode aired, iTunes sales of “Don’t Stop Believin’” shot up an incredible 482 percent.

The more I listen to “Death Magnetic” by Metallica, the better it gets. Have you purchased it yet? What are you waiting for? Friggin’ ROCKS!! \m/ \m/

Michael Franti & Spearhead have released a new single “Hey World (Don’t Give Up)” and I have to say I love it. The video is gripping as well. These guys have a good sound.

My favorite old school song of the week belongs to Mr. Alice Cooper with “No More Mr. Nice Guy.” “My dog bit me on the leg today; my cat clawed my eye… I went to church incognito..” Very good song.

My other favorite old school song of the week is “Could It Be I’m Falling in Love” by The Spinners. You remember this song. Man, how great is this song. This is when music was music. (I sound like my dad, huh?)

Former Pantera and current Hell Yeah drummer, Vinnie Paul Abbott will publish a paperback photo book/DVD on his late brother “Dimebag” Darrell Abbott, guitarist for Pantera, on Nov. 18. He will appear at Best Buy in New York on Nov. 22 to sign the book. Time and venue to be announced. Vinnie did the book with his father, Jerry, which took over a year to complete. Darrell, was killed in Dec. 2004 while performing with his band, Damage Plan in Columbus Ohio.

The Kinks are supposedly writing new songs and could potentially reunite for a tour in 2009. Currently Ray Davies is touring solo and stated it all depends on the health of Dave (his brother), who suffered a stroke in 2004. Ray says it’s too early yet to determine if and when it will happen.

As I mentioned last week I am not following the dumb idea to not have Robert Plant part of the Led Zeppelin reunion, that said- Myles Kennedy of Alter Bridge has been rumored to be the singer. (I will never ever say “fill in for” or “replace” or “substitute” or whatever, ahhh I’m sick to my stomach on this one. Obviously there is more to the story here, huh?).

CD Review: I picked up the “Elvis Presley Christmas Duets” and after giving it a few listens, I have to say that it is not as good as I expected. Now keep in mind that I grew up on Elvis and love his music. I won’t even listen to anyone who doesn’t recognize his ultimate status in music history. My favorite Elvis songs have always been his Christmas songs, so to flirt with perfection (and I mean pure excellence) is a hard pill for me to swallow. Now on the other hand, I have always enjoyed and encourage collaborations amongst artists. (See Aerosmith and Run DMC). I will say that there are some songs that work. The one song that fits like a glove is “Merry Christmas Baby” that features Gretchen Wilson. This song actually seems like Elvis and Gretchen recorded this together, it has a natural flow. Only problem I have with this song is that it is way too long, coming in at over 8 minutes long. The one song that doesn’t work at all is Elvis’ classic version of “Silent Night.” When I listen to the original it puts me in a trance, so beautiful it’s hard to put into words. No offense to Sara Evans, who has nice vocals, but her pitch is too high for Elvis’s subdued bass like vocal. It’s almost annoying.

Here are the highlights (besides Gretchen as mentioned above): “Blue Christmas” with Martina McBride. This song also took me more than a few listens to finally give it a “thumbs up.” Her pitch is very good with Elvis and the song sounds real.“I’ll Be Home for Christmas”- this is one of my all time favorite Christmas songs by Elvis- and I did not want this song touched but I have to say that Carrie Underwood pulls it off. They basically sing it separately and take different verses and only at the end of the song do they sing together. “White Christmas” with Amy Grant is done very nicely and it seems effortless, so this works. “O Little Town of Bethlehem” is very pleasing to the ear as the female portion of Little Big Town-Karen Fairchild and Kimberly Schlapman- do a beautiful job on the background vocals. (Little Big Town is my favorite Country Group).

Here are the songs that are good but nothing really stands out: “Here Comes Santa Claus” with LeAnn Rimes is a decent combination although at some points her pitch is much higher than his vocals.“Santa Claus is Back in Town” should never be re-worked and even though Wyonna Judd is the perfect female for the job, it is just OK. Something’s missing but I can’t put my finger on it. Again it is not bad, but not a standout. “Silver Bells” with Anne Murray is good but I expected more from the combination. Ms. Murray is a beautiful singer in her own right and on paper it seems like a perfect fit but it falls a little short, not much but it does fall short. “O Come, All Ye Faithful” with Olivia Newton John almost drops into the category of not working at all but what makes it succeed, in my opinion, is the fact that Elvis leads most of the vocal arrangements.

The last three songs on the disc feature Elvis only and it shifts your opinion of the whole CD back to saying that it is worth the purchase, with the highlight being “Winter Wonderland.” This CD is a nice collaboration and I would say it is worth the money. However I know Elvis diehards, like my Dad, will not even entertain the thought of listening to this. However, if you keep an open mind, it puts a different perspective on the songs we have enjoyed over many past Christmas seasons. For some it will be refreshing, for others, not so much.

Harry Connick Jr. has released a holiday album and it’s called “What a Night- A Christmas Album.” He brings back the memories of the old days and we need that. He does many of the classic songs with his imprint and it works for me. Play this when you are putting up the tree or at a holiday party. On I-Tunes you get 16 songs for $9.99- you can’t beat that.

Janet Jackson will not make up the 3 weeks of shows she missed due to migraine-associated vertigo. After initially telling her fans that the dates would be made up, Live Nation announced yesterday, those folks are out of luck. The tour was also mired by LL Cool J missing shows due to “scheduling” conflicts. You’d have to say that this leaves a bad taste if you are a fan of Ms. Jackson.

Back on this day in 2002, Mr. Axl Rose caused yet another riot, this time in Vancouver after failing to show up for the first venue of his tour. The whole tour was scratched one month later. He has to own the record for missing the most shows in a career. I can’t wait until he starts up a new tour (and quickly ends it) for the Chinese Democracy release.

Back on this day in 1976, Rod Stewart had the number one hit with “Tonight’s the Night (Gonna Be Alright).”

Lots of birthday’s today: Joni Mitchell– remember her hit “Help Me” back in 1974. Nick Guilder– remember “Hot Child in the City.” Johnny Rivers-“Secret Agent Man” (and many others) and Mary Travers of Peter Paul & Mary fame. “Leaving on a Jet Plane” is one of my favorite songs. Great sing along song.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

