Errols Weekly Music Update.

October 2, 2008

Weekly Update – Rocktober 3, 2008

Oasis at Madison Square Garden on Wed. Dec. 17. Guests include Ryan Adams and The Cardinals. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m.   $39.50 – $79.50.

Neil Diamond at The Mohegan Sun on Fri. Nov. 28. Tickets on sale Mon. Rocktober 6 at 10:00 a.m.

Govt. Mule at The Hammerstein Ballroom on Tues. & Wed. Dec. 30-31. Tickets on sale next Fri. Rocktober 10 at 10:00 a.m.   $40 – $79.50.

Tom Morello at New York Fillmore at Irving Plaza on Fri. Nov. 21. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m.  $25.

Yo Majestry at The Blender Theater on Sat. Rocktober 25. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m.  $19.

The Saw Doctors at Nokia Theater on Fri. Mar. 13, 2009. Tickets on sale tomorrow at noon.  $31.

The Outlaws at BB Kings on Fri. Jan. 16, 2009. Tickets on sale today at 10:00 a.m.$35 ($40 day of show).

Nas at the Hammerstein Ballroom on Fri. Dec. 26. Tickets on sale today at noon.   $52

Other items:

In what is being billed as their first ever joint concert, Billy Joel and Bruce Springsteen will team up for a benefit for Democratic presidential nominee, Barack Obama. Reports say the show will take place at the Hammerstein Ballroom on Thurs. Rocktober 16. Ticket prices will not be cheap, the starting price will be $500 and work its way up to $10,000. In other Springsteen news, he will be performing at halftime for the 2009 Super Bowl.

Its official: Best Buy has won the rights to distribute “Chinese Democracy” by GNR (or should I say Axl Rose as he is using the name GNR). However there is no word when it will be released. Ha! Stay tuned. It will be interesting to see if Dr. Pepper stands by their word and distributes a free can of soda to everyone if it’s released before Dec. 31.

Also official: Phish will reunite for shows in 2009. Check their website for further information.

And finally another official note (a sad one at that): There will be no Led Zeppelin reunion concert. Robert Plant has confirmed this on his website and has wished the other members “nothing but success with any future projects.” Thanks for killing the dream, Robert.

Lars has responded to the recent criticism (oh surprise, Metallica is being slammed again) that the new CD “Death Magnetic” is too loud. He said the same thing I’ve been telling you- somebody always has something to say when it deals with the boys from Metallica. He said he listened to it in his car and it rocked. The Wall Street Journal jumped into the fray last week as well citing Metallica’s sound quality and in addition they quoted one of the producers saying that he was embarrassed to be associated with the release. Now there is a petition of 12,000 people who are demanding that the album be remixed and re-released. Somehow I get the feeling if it is remixed its still going to be loud… because it’s METAL people!

Paul McCartney is teaming up with producer, Youth, and will release an album on Nov. 17 called “Electric Arguments” under the band name “The Fireman.”

T.I. had his new album – Paper Trail- out this past Tuesday and I have to say some of the songs sound pretty good. Average review from fans on I-Tunes is 4.5 stars. The songs that I like from the 30 second sample are “I’m Illy”“Ready for Whatever” “Live your Life” (with Rihanna) “Swing Ya Rag” and “Slide Show” (with John Legend).

Speaking of John Legend, this man is incredible- have you caught on yet? Another single was released from his upcoming album and it features Estelle and the song is “No Other Love.” I’m telling you folks, he may be the best artist out there today. He has some many great songs already.

New single by American Idol winner- David Cook– “Light On” was released this past Tuesday and I have to say my initial reaction is I like it. The song sounds like something that the band Hinder would do.

Keeping with the American Idol theme- Jennifer Hudson– released her self titled debut album and almost every track sounds phenomenal. “Giving myself” will be performed by American Idol contestants next year without a doubt. “Pocketbook” with Ludacris sounds great. Check out the gospel like “Jesus Promised Me a Home Over There”- you will get chills- freaking phenomenal. Total thumbs up on this debut!!!

HBO will run a documentary that will air next Friday Rocktober 10 at 7:15 (and will be played on HBO Family throughout the month) and it’s called “Blindsided.” The show is about a teenager, Jared Hara, who discovered at the age of 11 that he was going blind due to a hereditary disorder passed on to him genetically by his mother. The film explores his journey as he began to give up things he loved, such as hockey. But he took up guitar and Shinedown became his favorite band. When Shinedown came to his town, Jared’s dad arranged for him to meet with the members of Shinedown. He was able to jam with the lead guitarist on their tour bus and then was called up on stage to perform with the boys in front of thousands of people, which included his family. Nice!!

Megadeth has released their Anthology- Set the World Afire- if you are a fan you probably have most of the tunes. This album has 35 top notch songs for $17, not bad. Mustaine rocks!! \m/ \m/

Nickelback has released a new single “Gotta Be Somebody” and at first I wasn’t so crazy about it but it’s growing on me. Check it out.

The Killers have a new single “Human” and I have to tell you after their sophomore effort I started to put one leg out to jump off the bandwagon. This may make it two legs.

Christina Aguilera also has a new single out-Keeps Getting’ Better- and I also didn’t like it at first but this one has grown on me as well. She is now a bonafide superstar without a doubt.

For those of you out there looking for holiday music and want to get a head start -look no further than Faith Hill’s release of “Joy to the World.”  She also does a beautiful song for new parents- “A Baby Changes Everything.” That song alone is worth the price of admission.

James Taylor has jumped into the fray of releasing an album of covers and it is appropriately titled “Covers.” Highlights for me are “Wichita Lineman” (never thought anyone but Glen Campbell could do it right but this version sounds pretty good) and “Why Baby Why.” You can’t go wrong with anything that Mr. Taylor does, so pick it up.

OK for this week’s review of an album, I will not say that the following two albums are “classics” but these are recordings that were a favorite of mine while in my late teens and early 20’s. And I mean I listened to them so much that to this day I remember almost every word of every song. Now some of you may laugh, others may scratch their heads but it may lead some to venture out and take a listen. The first album was the self titled debut from Bad English. Now many will say that this really was a continuation of The Babys as three out of the five members of Bad English were from that band. Jonathan Cain- who went on to enjoy more fame with Journey- and still is- was the keyboardist. The bassist was Ricky Phillips and the lead singer was John Waite. Mr. Waite has had a very respectable career and he is one of my favorite male vocalists. His career has spanned many decades and he’s probably most well known for “Missing You.” (check out the re-recorded version with Alison Krauss helping out on vocals). The band’s lead guitarist was Neal Schonn- yes from Journey- after Journey split up in the 1980’s- they formed this band. (Did you know that Neal started out with Santana?) The drummer was Deen Castronovo. Now I won’t review every song like I usually do but this album is super solid- yes there are a few slow songs that take it down a little but overall even the ballads are very good.

The album kicks off with the rocking “Best of What I Got.”- Ok I acknowledge that this is glam rock but so what? That was the style back then in 1989. It’s a fun song and always sounds great when blaring from your speakers. The bass stands out in track # 2- “Heaven is a Four Letter Word”- and I just love the groove- you will be moving your head up and down to the beat. I remember them performing this song when they opened for Whitesnake- yes Whitesnake- I told you this was B.N. (Before Nirvana). The following songs deserve a listen from you as they knock the cover off the ball (in no particular order): “Tough Times Don’t Last,” “Ready When You Are “(this one could be the best track of the whole album-crank it up!!) “Rocking Horse” (a slow bluesy tune) and my favorite track on the album- “Lay Down.” John Waite’s vocals on this song shine brightly. Now most bands back in the late 1980’s had ballads- and these guys were no exception- but I would say that their ballads were exceptional. (how do you like that?). One of the reasons why I love this album is because it has one of my all-time favorite ballads- “When I See You Smile”- (song was actually written by Diane Warren). This song reminds me of my wife and it was almost our wedding song (it lost out to “I Don’t Want to Live Without You” by Foreigner). Come on you can’t tell me this song is not good- yes its sappy- but sometimes in life, you need sappy. This song is a total wave the arms in the air back and forth in the air for four minutes and seventeen seconds. Every time I hear it, a never ending grin emerges on my face as I think of dancing with my beautiful bride. I love it when Waite wails “Sometimes I want give up…” and then Schon wails with the guitar. Two other songs are great ballads as well- “Possession”and “Price of Love.”

The other album which I will recommend for purchase rewinds 10 years, back to 1979 and it is “Cornerstone” by Styx. Again some may laugh, some may ask why? But I love it. One of the main reasons now today is because it brings me back to my mother. She probably listened (not sure if she wanted to..but anyway) to that album as much as I did as I use to listen from my bedroom, with or without the door closed. Whenever I hear the opening song “Lights” I just wish I could turn back the clock and go back to my room in my parent’s house. This song cracks my top 20 songs of all time, I don’t know what it is about the song but to me it’s perfect. And like I said- it brings my mother to the forefront. “Why Me” is another great song- this is my favorite song with Dennis DeYoung on vocals. (Tommy Shaw does “Lights”). The saxophone and guitar trading licks is the highlight on this song as well. These first two tracks are perfect sing-a -long songs. OK so track # 3 is the ballad “Babe.” Go ahead puke all over it but when it was released it was a hit everywhere- even on the oldies station in NY “WCBS FM”-now back then CBS did not play any contemporary songs until this one came out. “Never Say Never” is a song that you will not be able to get out of your head. I love it!! Track # 5 “Boat on the River” is another one of my all-time favorite songs (I know I have many as my kids tell me all the time). I guess I gravitate towards Shaw’s songs. This track makes me go off into a haze and I try to emulate Tommy’s vocal style. Talk about a perfect album side (remember when WNEW FM use to play those?).

Now side 2 is not as great as side 1 but still has some solid songs. The rocking “Borrowed Time” will definitely bring you back (although I recognize the part where the “yes” and “no” could be irritating. This song sounds like it could have been on “Paradise Theater.”) “First Time” is the ballad for side two and is as sappy as Babe. The album winds down with “Eddie”- song about Ted Kennedy and Styx telling him not to run for President and the under-rated “Love in the Midnight.” This is the best song on side two and again it’s Tommy at the helm.

So now you have two obscure albums to research and see if you agree with me. Again give it a chance and I believe you will enjoy them. I always have and always will.

Sadly back on this day in 2000, Benjamin Orr, co-lead singer for The Cars, passed away at the young age of 53 from cancer.

Back on this day in 1982, John Mellencamp had his first number one hit with Jack & Dianne.

Back on this day in 1992, Sinead O’Connor caused quite a stir on Saturday Night Live by tearing a picture of Pope John Paul II. NBC received thousands of calls with complaints.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

