Errols Weekly Music Update.

September 5, 2008

Weekly Update – 09/05/2008

Metallica with Machine Head and The Sword at Nassau Coliseum and Izod Center on Thurs. Jan. 29 and Sun. Feb. 1. Pre-sale tickets for American Express cardholders go on sale Sept. 8 at 10:00 a.m. through Sept. 9 until 10:00 p.m. Tickets on sale next Sat. Sept. 13 at 10:00 a.m. Nassau: $59.50 – $79.50; Izod: $62.50 – $82.50. There is a 4 ticket limit per household.

Tina Turner at Prudential Center on Wed. & Thurs. Nov. 26 & Nov. 27; at Madison Square Garden on Mon. Dec. 1; at Nassau Coliseum on Wed. & Thurs. Dec. 3 & 4. Pre-sale tickets for American Express cardholders on sale now until Sun. Sept. 14 at 5:00 p.m. General public on sale Mon. Sept. 15 at 10:00 a.m.  Prudential Center: $59.50 – $153; MSG- $59.50 – $179.50; Nassau-$56.50 – $150.

Mary J. Blige and Robin Thicke at Radio City Music Hall on Fri. Rocktober 3. Pre-sale begins today at 10:00 a.m. until 10:00 p.m. (Citi)  General public on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. $69.50 – $165.50.

Susan Tedeschi and James Hunter at the Fillmore New York on Wed. Nov. 12. Tickets on sale next Friday Sept. 12 at 10:00 a.m. $31.50.

Dolly Parton at Izod Center on Fri. Rocktober 31. Tickets on sale today at 9:00 a.m. $56.50 – $96.50.

Lucinda Williams and Buick 6 at the WAMU Theater at Madison Square Garden on Fri. Rocktober 3. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $38

The Decemberists at Terminal 5 on Wed. Nov. 5. Tickets on sale today at noon. $31.

In Flames at Terminal 5 on Sun. Dec. 7. Tickets on sale today at noon. $25

Vonda Shepard at BB Kings on Fri. Jan. 9, 2009. Tickets on sale today at noon. $28.

Alison Moyet at Blender Theater on Tues. Rocktober 7. Tickets on sale today at noon. $49.50.

Soulfly at Blender Theater on Fri. Nov. 14. Tickets on sale today at noon. $25.

Jack’s Mannequin at Blender Theater on Fri. Nov. 21. Tickets on sale next Sat. Sept. 13 at 10:00 a.m. $32.50.

T.I. at Highline Ballroom on Tues. Sept. 30. Tickets on sale today at 10:00 a.m. $50.

Blues Traveler at Highline Ballroom on Thurs. Rocktober 16. Tickets on sale today at noon. $25 ($30 day of show)

Other items:

“Just Stand Up” is a new single from Mariah Carey, Beyonce, Mary J. Blige, Rihanna, Fergie, Sheryl Crow, Melissa Etheridge, Miley Cirus, Carrie Underwood, Natasha Bedingfield, Leona Lewis, Ashanti and LeAnn Rimes that is in support of tonight’s national broadcast of the “Stand Up to Cancer” special. It will be shown on ABC, CBS and NBC at 8:00 p.m. For more information go to www.su2c.org  It is a feel good song with inspirational lyrics that should do real well. Purchase it now!!!

This week’s single release from Metallica is “Cyanide” and from the 30 second release from I-Tunes it again sounds solid. I will buying the CD, sorry I-Tunes,when it comes out next Friday. Check out the video for “The Day That Never Comes” at http://www.923krock.com/pages/2892697.phpDeath Magnetic has already received a 4 star rating from Rolling Stone Magazine. The review states that Rubin has brought back the original Metallica. Are you ready for next Friday or what??!!! \m/ \m/

My favorite old school song of the week is “Beds Are Burning” from Midnight Oil? Remember that song? And the video? They also had another cool song “Blue Sky Mine.”

My favorite “oldie” song of the week is “Those Lazy Hazy Crazy Days of Summer” by Nat King Cole. Don’t scratch your head, take a listen. You have to pass on down the classics, right?

I have to tell you I like some of the new songs by Journey (no I did not go to Walmart, a friend brought it to my house). “Like a Sunshower” has really grown on me and I’m telling you this is the Journey you knew in the 1980’s. Arnel Pineda is the real deal. Hope he gets over his case of bronchitis real soon.As I mentioned in my concert review a few weeks ago, the song “Change for the Better” will be a staple at future shows. Check this song out and the rest of “Revelations.”

Nickelback is recording a new album now and it will come out on Nov. 18. No title as of yet. The first single “If Today Was Your Last Day” will arrive at radio stations on Sept. 30.

Slash is going to be a presenter at the MTV awards this Sunday Sept. 7 at 9 p.m. Britney will be “opening” the show but she will not be performing.

Target was the winner in the Christina Aguilera greatest hits sweepstakes and the retail outfit will be the only one to sell her “Keeps Getting’ Better- A Decade of Hits” due out on Nov. 11. Aguilera joins Alicia Keys, John Legend and Carrie Underwood- all of who have released exclusively through Target. If you’re keeping score at home- yes if it is one of my favorite bands that release through Target only- I will purchase it from them. (Collective Soul being an example).

Little Big Town has left their independent record label and jumped to Capitol Nashville and will re-release “A Place to Land” which will include four new tracks on Rocktober 14.Now if you remember I put that album in my top 5 albums for 2007, if you don’t have it- wait another month and you’ll get four new songs- can’t beat that.

Paul Stanley, alias the Lover, had some harsh words for a heckling fan at their Aug. 30 show in Nevada and I have to tell you I was shocked at what he told this guy. There is a video clip out there so look for it. I won’t put it here because this is a family show but this guy must have really pissed off Paul.

This week’s I-POD shuffle landed on “Young Lust” from Aerosmith off of their tenth studio album-“Pump” which was released 19 years ago this month. You know I had to listen to the whole album. “Young Lust” starts off with such ferocity that you know the ride is going to be good. Now is this my favorite Aerosmith album- yes but I will preface it by saying that this is my favorite post “comeback” album from the boys from Boston. (“Draw the Line” is my favorite pre-comeback) I don’t know what is better- Joey Kramer’s drumming, Joe Perry’s guitar, or Steven Tyler’s vocals. (I know Tom Hamilton and Brad Whitford keep this train running-so no offense to those boys). You have to listen to this song LOUD, there’s no way you can’t. And how about the ending of the song as it rips right into “F.I.N.E.?” “I’ll take a rain check until I get back on my feet.. honey…” Lots of energy in the first two songs, especially this one. Kramer’s drumming shines on this song and Tyler’s screeching is top notch throughout the song. This song rocks!! Track # 3- the irresisitable “Love in an Elevator.” The hook in this song is something that you can not get out of your head. Remember the video for this song? Man- how many times has MTV played this video? Perry’s guitar solo makes me want to get Guitar Hero and start jamming right now. “Kiss your sassafrass…” Again Kramer’s stick work is phenomenal. “Monkey on My Back” is a song about their struggles with drug and alcohol usage.I love the opening lyrics “The fortune teller looked into my eye balls, the wrinkles on her face about to crack…” Tyler steals the spotlight on this song and really highlights his ability as a frontman for one of the best rock bands in history. This is a great spin song by the way. Wow the first four songs of this album are top notch and I would put these first four songs up against any other artists album. The last track on side 1 is the very important “Janie’s Got a Gun” which deals with issue of incest and murder. Now matter how many times you hear this song, it is still good. “Everybody is on the run.. honey honey what’s the problem..”

Side two kicks off with “Dulcimer Stomp” which sounds like something around a campfire and then kicks into the rocking “The Other Side.” This is my favorite track. I love the horns, it adds to the flavor of the song. I can listen to this song over and over. Again play it LOUD. “My Girl” keeps the album in 5th gear and every time I hear this song I have to dance around the house. This is a perfect workout song and Perry’s solo in the middle is spot on. I don’t know what it is about this album but Kramer’s drums sound so clear and really is the engine that keeps this whole album flowing so smoothly. The drumming is crystal clear for “My Girl.” You finally get a breather as the bluesy “Don’t Get Mad- Get Even” starts out with an edge and the beat is infectious. I love the “slapping” effects as Tyler lets loose on someone. Track # 9 is the mysterious “Hoodoo/Voodoo Medicine Man.” I remember when I first heard this song I was like “what is this?” But then I quickly learned how great this song would be once Kramer’s drumming got it rolling. “Some Kind of Voodoo come across this land…” Tyler’s “scat –like” vocals really punctuate this song. You can feel his energy dripping through the speakers. The final track “What it Takes” is their “pop” hit and yes it is different from the original Aerosmith sound… but… I like it.Tell me you haven’t tried to wail like Tyler when he screeches “dice….” C’mon you know you have. This has all the makings of a radio hit but it works for me.

Pump is Aerosmith’s second biggest seller at more than 7 million units sold- Toys In the Attic is their number one at more than 8 million sold. They are the best selling rock band of all time selling more than 150 million albums worldwide, with more than 66 million sold alone in the U.S. Their “comeback” back in 1987 onwards is probably the best one any band has ever made and for me “Pump” is what put them back on the map. This album has so much power, energy and rawness and it still sounds fresh. You need to own this in your music library and all I have to say is you need to “pump” up the volume on this one!!!

Back on this day in 1946 the late Freddie Mercury was born. Today is Al Stewart’s birthday (“The Year of the Cat”) and he turns 63.

Back on this day in 1976, Dean Martin “reunites” himself with Jerry Lewis on Jerry’s Muscular Dystrophy Annual Telethon, ending a 20-year separation.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

