Errols Weekly Music Update.

July 25, 2008

Weekly Update – 07/25/2008

Randy Newman at Carnegie Hall on Fri. Sept. 19. Tickets on sale this coming Monday July 28th at 11:00 a.m.

Rascal Flatts at the Susquehanna Bank Center in Camden NJ on Friday Sept. 12. Tickets on sale next Sat. Aug. 2 at 10:00 a.m. $35.75 – $75.75

Derek Trucks Band at the Highline Ballroom and Blender Theater on Thurs. Nov. 6 and Fri. Nov. 7. Tickets on sale for Highline at noon and 10:00 a.m. for Blender.

Goldfrapp at Radio City Music Hall on Friday Sept. 12. T ickets on sale today at noon. $39.50 – $75.

The Whispers at the BB Kings on Sat. Rocktober 25. (7:30 and 10:00 shows) Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m.$40. Remember “And the Beat Goes On?”

Shemekia Copeland at BB Kings on Mon. Sept. 25. Tickets on sale Sat. at 10:00 a.m. $25.

Other items:

Buddy Guy’s new album “Skin Deep” was released this past Tuesday and the 30 second samples on I-Tunes sound great. This is his first recorded album with all original tunes. He gets help from Susan Tedeschi on “Too Many Tears.” Also contributing to the album are Eric Clapton, Robert Randolph and Derek Trucks. If you have never seen Guy in concert, you are so missing out.

One Day as a Lion, the new band with Zach De La Rocha and Jon Theodore (drummer from Mars Volta) put out an EP of 4 songs. If you were a fan of Rage, you will definitely enjoy it. “Wild International” sounds great.

Rush has released a never heard before version of “Working Man” due to popular demand as a result of the song being released on the “Rock Band” video game a few weeks back. Check out this video on You Tube. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QAKhEzdSYPI

The Rolling Stones are suing rapper Lil Wayne for his song “Playing with Fire.” The Stones reps say it’s a clear derivative of their song with the same title and he used it without their permission.

Have you ever been put on the spot to name your top 25 music acts of all-time? Well my oldest son put me on notice that he wanted my favorites, with an accompanying song and a reason why I liked them? I was resistant because I felt that I would leave an artist off of my list. However, he keenly pointed out that if they did not quickly come to mind, how could they be in my top 25? (Putting them in order does take some thinking and time but again the first 25 that come to mind) So here goes: (you too can play along at home):

25. Tom Petty

Favorite Song: You Wreck Me

Why?: Like fine wine, he gets better with age. An American classic.

24. Motley Crue

Favorite Song: Kickstart My Heart

Why?:Love their energy! The other side of me wanted to be them.

23. Black Crowes

Favorite Song: There’s Gold in Them Hills

Why?: Always wanted to transform into Chris Robinson for just one tour.

22. Stone Temple Pilots

Favorite Song: Crackerman

Why?: Love their version of grunge.

21Shinedown

Favorite Song: I Dare You

Why?: Their music is in my blood stream.

20. Black Sabbath

Favorite Song: Fairies Wear Boots

Why?: Masters of Metal, period, end of story.

19. Patsy Cline

Favorite Song: Why Can’t He Be You

Why?: Her voice is mesmerizing & takes me far away; also my mother’s influence.

18. Sam Cooke

Favorite Song: Nothing Can Change This Love

Why?: Favorite male singer ever.

17. Karen Carpenter

Favorite Song: (They Long to Be) Close to You

Why?: Favorite female singer. This song reminds me of my mother.

16. Cheap Trick

Favorite Song: Lookout (Live)

Why?: A band that never dies, pure fun in concert.

15. Aerosmith

Favorite Song: I Wanna Know Why

Why?: Hard rocking boys from Boston that are just great!

14. Boston

Favorite Song: Smokin’

Why?: How can you not get psyched listening to Smokin’?

13. AC/DC

Favorite Song: Thunderstruck

Why?: Never sold out. Head banging to the end!!

12. Bee Gees

Favorite Song: I’ve Gotta Get A Message to You

Why?: Great Harmonizing vocals.

11. Soundgarden

Favorite Song: Mailman

Why?: Grunge music at its best! Under-rated.

 

And now the long awaited top ten (who was waiting? I don’t know but here it is anyway)

 

10. Kiss

Favorite Song: King of the Night Time World (Live)

Why?: I wanted to be every member of Kiss ten times over!!!

9. Foo Fighters

Favorite Song: What If I Do?

Why?: Who’s cooler than Dave Grohl?

8. Collective Soul

Favorite Song: Crown

Why?: Passionate band and I’m all about passion.

7. Led Zeppelin

Favorite Song: Boogie With Stu

Why?: Page, Plant, Bonham and Jones. ‘Nuff said.

6. Metallica

Favorite Song: Master of Puppets

Why?: See them live and tell me you don’t like them?

5. Tesla

Favorite Song: Lady Luck

Why?: So under-rated it pisses me off and makes me love them that much more.

4. The Cars

Favorite Song: It’s All I Can Do

Why?: One of my first loves of rock music.

3. Foreigner

Favorite Song: Seventeen

Why?: I WANTED TO BE LOU GRAMM.

2. The Beatles

Favorite Song: I’m Only Sleeping

Why?: So many great tunes in such a short amount of time. Timeless band.

1. Van Halen

Favorite Song: Feel Your Love Tonight

Why?: Greatest live band ever!

Now I am not going to say who was omitted from this list because the rule is that you can’t take too much time. It has to be the first 25 that come to mind. I know I left off some whoppers but this is my list. I want to thank my son for making this a fun process.

Back on this day in 1965, Bob Dylan performed his first non-acoustic set at the Newport Folk Festival to a very hostile crowd.

Back on this day in 1969, Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young had their first live performance, it was at the Fillmore East in New York.

1 Comment »

  1. You have very diverse tastes in music, but I’m sure Sam would be flattered to know he’s your favorite male singer. He was truly a one-of-a-kind artist.

    Erik Greene
    Author, “Our Uncle Sam: The Sam Cooke Story From His Family’s Perspective”
    http://www.OurUncleSam.com

    Comment by Sam's Neph — July 25, 2008 @ 9:43 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

