Errols Weekly Music Update.

July 3, 2008

Weekly Update – 07/03/08

Eddie Vedder at the United Palace Theater on Mon. & Tues. Aug. 4th and 5th. Tickets on sale next Fri. July 11 at 10:00 a.m.$79.

The Goo Goo Dolls at the House of Blues in Atlantic City on Dec. 31. Pre-sale tickets begins tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. and goes to July 31 at 10:00 p.m. General public on sale is Fri. Aug. 1 at 10:00 a.m. $52 – $67.

Indigo Girls at the House of Blues in Atlantic City on Thurs. Sept. 25. Tickets on sale this Saturday at 10:00 a.m. $32 – $41.50.

Apocalyptica will be at Nokia Theater on Fri. Sept. 26. Tickets on sale now. $20.

Lindsey Buckingham at the Nokia on Sun. Rocktober 19. Tickets on sale next Sat. July 12 at noon.

Dion at the Mohegan Sun Cabaret on Thurs. thru Sun.Aug. 28 – Aug. 31. Tickets on sale this Mon. July 7 at 10:00 a.m. $40.

Wingstock 2008 at the First Energy Park in Lakewood NJ on Sat. Sept. 13, featuring Peter Wolf, Kansas and a “Huge Act” to be named later. Tickets on sale Mon. July 14 at noon. $35. Eight ticket limit.

Other items:

John Mayer has released “Where the Light Is- Live in Los Angeles.” This guy is growing on me. Great guitar player and nice vocals. He does a real cool version of Tom Petty’s “Free Falling.” Check it out. Supposedly Target is the place to buy it. You get both CD and DVD for $17.99.

My new favorite song of the week is from a Country Band called The Lost Trailers and the song is “Holler Back.” These guys have been around for a long time, they sound good- check them out.

My two favorite “old school” songs this week are “Mr. BoJangles” by the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band “On and On” by Stephen Bishop. The Nitty Gritty Band re-recorded this hit with Keith Urban and Dierks Bentley but I like the original better. Jerry Jeff Walker actually wrote the song but I like this version the best- it’s been covered by many artists, including John Denver and Bob Dylan.

LL Cool J has released a new single called “Baby” featuring The Game. Very disappointed in LL, this song is juvenile and a big step backwards at this point in his career. I don’t know if he’s trying to get “street cred” but the cursing and the lyrics are laughable.

Fans of Little Feat, myself included, will be glad to know that 14 of their greatest hits have been re-recorded by various artists which include Dave Matthews, Chris Robinson, Jimmy Buffet, Vince Gil, Brooks & Dunn and Bob Seger.

Caught some needling on why no review of Motley Crue’s new release “Saints of Los Angeles.” I’m almost there. I don’t want to piece-meal it from I-Tunes and then realize I want the whole CD. The first five songs sound awesome. I’m a huge Crue fan so I most likely will take the plunge. And I totally agree that the video for “Saints of Los Angeles” is real cool, this is the way a rock band is suppose to look and sound like. Excellent song and video.

I have now solidified my favorite track on “Evil Urges” by My Morning Jacket and the honor goes to the “Librarian.” This song is phenomenal. Again, I can’t say enough about this album but if there is one song to get- this is the one. On another note about this album- you had to see the faces of my boys when I played “Highly Suspicious” for them. Talk about priceless. They hated it.

And not for nothing I am real close to getting “Real Animal” by Alejandro Escovedo that was just released this past Tuesday. Last week I mentioned his new single “Always a Friend” and as I listen to the 30-second previews on I-Tunes- it sounds like a smash hit!!

This week’s I-Tunes shuffle landed on “You May Be Right” by Billy Joel, so of course I had to go back and listen to my one and only album by Mr. Joel- “Glass Houses.” This was his seventh studio effort, which was released back in 1980. I know this album alienated fans from his first six albums but you know what? – it dragged me in. Now for myself back in 1980, it was not cool to own a Billy Joel album, so the people who knew me back then- probably never knew that I bought this. (I had a metal image to uphold). Now I recognize Mr. Joel’s space in American music history and he can’t be denied, but I was never a real “big” fan. I like a lot of his stuff but again this is the only album that I have ever purchased from his extensive library. And yes I have seen him live and have to admit I liked the show. He has earned his place in music history.

Now for me, the opening breaking glass sound on “You May Be Right” symbolized that he was shattering his image of just being a piano man and was ready to rock and roll. Say what you will about this song but when it’s cranked up loud (as I have it now) this is a fun rock and roll song. “Sometimes A Fantasy” is a cool song and I love the hook. With a good set of headphones, the background vocals come through great. I love the drum parts to “only you can give me satisfaction.” Again play this loud. “Don’t Ask Me Why”- well don’t ask me why but I love this song- I know its soft but there is a soft side to me. “Don’t wait for answers, just take your chances.” Sort of reminds me of something Paul McCartney would sing. OK now I know you have heard “It’s Still Rock and Roll To Me” over a thousand times, especially in the summer of 1980 but you know what? It’s a great song.

Tell me you don’t like “All for Leyna?” Oh man I wore this album out and this is my second favorite track. I love the piano work and the bridge of the song that takes it into “I’m failing in school, losing my friends…” is something that I can listen to over and over. If you have the album- side 2: track # 1: “I Don’t Want To Be Alone” is not only my favorite song on this album, this could very well rank up there in my top 20 songs of all time. Can you say “desert island” song? I have always wanted to perform this song a la karaoke style. How cool is this song? “She said she meet me in a bar at the Plaza Hotel, wear a jacket and a tie-eee-eye..” It has a funky stop and go beat that flows real well and Billy’s vocals are spot on. Perfect bar song. Then for all sports fans, “Sleeping With the Television On” starts with the National Anthem and then back in the old days the TV would turn off and you’d hear just a steady noise. “Your Eyes are Saying Talk to Me… This isn’t for me to say Dianne… All Night Long..” I believe this is one of his all time classic songs, I know a lot of folks out there probably think I’m sleeping with the television on right now. And how cool and rocking is “Close to the Borderline” – I love it- crank it up. How many songs by Billy Joel can you say “Crank it Up?” I love the guitar throughout. “A buck three eighty won’t buy you much these days… I don’t change channels, so they must change me..” How many Billy Joel songs can you “air guitar” to? Come on, this is probably the only one. The album closes with “Through The Long Night,” a great slow song and Joel’s vocals are top notch. It’s a sing along song for the whole family- take it on your next trip together.

Glass Houses spawned two number 1 hits for Mr. Joel: “It’s Still Rock and Roll to Me” and “Don’t Ask Me Why.” “You May Be Right” peaked at # 7. Now there is not one bad tune on this album and it classifies as a “desert island” disc. It’s short and compact- like many albums were back in the late ‘70’s and early ‘80’s. At the time I bought it, I knew it was a classic but again wasn’t too vocal about it. But now I will tell all of you- run out and get this album now!!! And he also won a Grammy for this album “Best Male Rock Vocal Performance”- would I steer you wrong?

Remember the VH1 Honors show this year is on Thurs. July 17 at 9:00 p.m. and the only band being honored is The Who. Should be a great show.

Back on this day in 1971, Jim Morrison died of a heart attack in France at the young age of 27.

Today would have been Laura Branigan’s 51st birthday, she passed away in Aug. 2004. She was born in Brewster NY.

Back on this day in 1988, Cheap Trick had its only #1 song with “The Flame.”

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

