Errols Weekly Music Update.

May 2, 2008

Weekly Update – 05/02/08

The following acts will be at Jones Beach and pre-sale are already on, so check the internet for your favorite acts to see how to get pre-sale tickets (usually made available for AMEX or Citi card members). Public on sale tomorrow at 9:00 a.m.

James TaylorSun. June 22$26$79.50

Chicago/Doobie Bros.Fri. June 27$39-$135

Donna SummerSat. July 19$26-$109

Martina McBrideFri. July 25$26-$76

Poison/Dokken/BachWed. July 30$25-$77.50

Boston/SpeedwagonTues. Aug. 12$26-$79

Heart/Journey/TrickThurs. Aug. 14$31-$131

KTU’s BeatstockSat. Aug. 23$26-$149

The following acts will be at PNC Arts Center and pre-sale are already on, so check the internet for your favorite acts to see how to get pre-sale tickets (usually made available for AMEX or Citi card members). Public on sale tomorrow at 9:00 a.m.

Frankie ValliSat. June 17$49.25-$99.25

Chicago/Doobie Bros.Wed. July 2$20.25-$125

MellencampFri. July 11$20.25-$80.25

3 Doors DownWed. July 16$20.25-$70.25

Donna SummerFri. July 18$20.25-$109.25

Boston/StyxSun. Aug. 10$20.25-$71.25

Poison/Dokken/BachTues. Aug. 12$20.25-$71.25

Heart/Journey/TrickThurs. Aug. 21No info.

Toby KeithFri. Aug. 22$34.75-$69.75

KTU’s BeatstockSun. Aug. 24$24.25-$149

Bloc Party at Webster Hall on Wed. & Thurs. Aug. 6 and Aug. 7. Tickets on sale today at noon. $26.

ButtHole Surfers at Webster Hall Tuesday July 29. Tickets on sale today at noon. $35.

Wolf Parade at Terminal 5 on Thurs. July 31. Tickets on sale today at noon. $20 ($22 day of show).

Neil Diamond at the Garden (third show added after first two sold out) on Fri. Aug. 15.Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $55-$120.

Echo & The Bunnymen at Radio City on Wed. Rocktober 1. Pre-sale on now through fan club. General public on sale next Sat. May 10 at 10:00 a.m. $39.50-$59.50.

Stevie Wonder at Jones Beach on Wed. June 18. Pre-sale tickets start tomorrow. General public on sale next Sat. May 10.

New Kids on the Block at Izod Center and Nassau Coliseum on Tues. &Wed. Sept. 23 & 24. Pre-sale starts this Monday at 10:00 am and goes to Sun. May 11 at 10:00 pm. General public on sale Mon. May 12 at 10:00 am. $36-$74.

Rockstar Energy Drink Mayhem Festival at Nassau Coliseum on Wed. Aug. 6 at 2:00 p.m. featuring Slipknot, Disturbed, Five Finger Death Punch, others and Black Tide. Tickets on sale tomorrow at 10:00 am $49.75. (If you have a Citi preferred card you can get tickets now)

Other items:

Coldplay will be playing a free show at MSG on Monday June 23. Check their web-site for further details.www.coldplay.com

Metallica is thinking of giving away their music for free. After seeing what Radiohead and NIN have done, Lars has stated that they might just do it.

This past week I had one of those “I love that song” moments and that song is “Rockin’ Pneumonia and the Boogie Woogie Flu” by Johnny Rivers, a huge star who still going strong today. Go back and listen to the groove on this tune, I love the piano and his vocals. Grab a set of headphones and listen or crank it up in the house, whatever. Most will know Rivers from the ever- popular “Secret Agent Man.” He really has some solid hits such as “Summer Rain.” Check him out on I-Tunes or his web site www.johnnyrivers.com.

My favorite “old school” song of the week is “Could It Be I’m Falling in Love” by The Spinners. This is another band that had memorable hits. The aforementioned song takes me back to the carefree summer days of the 1970’s when these songs were heard on 77 WABC AM radio.

CD Review: Mudcrutch by Mudcrutch, released April 29, 2008. This is a band that Tom Petty had formed back in the early 1970’s. In 1975, they released a single “Depot Street” which failed to hit the charts. Soon there after, Petty along with Mike Campbell and Benmont Tench formed the Heartbreakers. This past year they decided to get back together with Tom Leadon on lead guitar (and some good vocals) with Campbell. (Petty plays bass as mentioned last week). Back behind the skins is Randall Marsh. The album starts off with the traditional “Shady Grove.” The sound of this band is not that far off from what we all know as the Tom Petty sound. It is different from the Heartbreakers and thinking about it may be the country cousin to the Traveling Wilbury’s. Shady Grove kind of reminds me of something off Springteen’s “We Shall Overcome” CD.The single from the album “Scare Easy” is something that Petty would have done as a solo artist, a head shaking slow groove that would be good for your summer BBQ.

If you like the Byrds, there is a heavy influence throughout this CD. “Orphan of the Storm” is a country song that sort of sounds like something Roger McGuinn would do today.Track # 4 “Six Days on the Road” kicks it up a bit with a rocking twist that will get you dancing the “do-see-do.” Then what I love about Petty (and other such as the Black Crowes) is that the 5th song is over 9 minutes long.“Crystal River” is a jam song that other bands would never dare to put on their album; if they did it would probably be the last song. I have to admit it’s a bit slow but it kept me hanging on. The second half of the CD gets progressively better with the highlights being “The Wrong Thing to Do,” “Lover of the Bayou,” “Topanga Cowgirl” and “House of Stone.”

This album will probably not get much airplay but who cares? True music fans will find what they like and if you are a fan of Tom Petty- you will not be disappointed with the purchase of this CD.

Def Leppard has released their first new album in a long time and its called Songs from the Sparkle Lounge. I-Tunes reviewers give it 4.5 stars on average.

Steve Winwood’s “Nine Lives” CD was released this past Tuesday. Check it out; this man is a living legend.

OK this weeks I-Tunes shuffle landed on a song by Led Zeppelin off of their double album “Physical Graffiti” and that song was “The Rover.” Boy, I had forgotten how much I love that song- so of course I had to go back and listen to the whole 4 sides (or now 2 discs). Just recently I have heard people make comments like “I never really got the whole Led Zeppelin thing.” Now I completely understand if Zeppelin is not your cup of tea. However, the can be no denial of their impact on the music world. You have to recognize their contribution and realize that these four guys are one of the most influential groups in music history. And talk about talent? To this day there has never been an equal to John Bonham behind the drums. He always had this way of playing that even just listening to him, you would say, “how can he do that so easily?” Go back and listen to “In My Time of Dying” and you’ll see what I mean. The drumming is phenomenal through out and you just can’t get enough of it. If I ever became a drummer this is the song that I would want to play. And this is just one song; there are so many more songs. I could go on a long time about Mr. Bonham but I will try to move on.

Getting back to Graffitti, I forgot to mention that my uncle was the one who turned me on to this back in the late 70’s. He really turned me on to some good bands when I was a kid. And I am trying to return the favor by passing it on. I remember while listening to the album as a teenager I would love to look through the cover and the inside sleeves for this classic disc. This has to be my favorite album design; I love the whole apartment building effect. Well enough about the cover, side 2 starts off with “Houses of the Holy” and most casual fans forget that this song is on this album. Then it kicks into “Trampled Under Foot.” There is no way you cannot crank up the volume on this song. This may have been one of the first “headbanging” songs to get things rolling. John Paul Jones organ solo flat out rocks. And again Bonham’s drums will have you bobbin and weavin’. And of course the incredible axe man- Jimmy Page. What can you say about this man that hasn’t already been said? Freaking phenomenal is what I’ll say. These guys were in a zone for this album and this is my favorite Zeppelin album. The ever lasting “Kashmir” ends side 2 and I know you have heard this song a million times but I’m telling you when you have not heard it in a while and then you put it on. Wow it’s like magic you just seem to drift away from everything for 8 and half minutes. I love Plant’s “Oooooooohhhh” or “Loooooow Yeah” “All I see turns to brown.” And was there a better front man than Robert Plant? How cool was he back in the day? It is really hard to come up with a better one.

Side three starts off with the incomparable “In the Light”- now I know for some of you out there you are scratching your heads and saying that it takes too long to begin and the song is way too long overall. However, just remember you were already drifting away with “Kashmir”- You are still there, so keep it going. You’re on that cloud so don’t jump off because you have “Bron-Yr-Aur” coming up and this instrumental will keep you in that groove. You are now totally relaxed and the beautiful “Down by the Seaside” will have you swaying your arms back and forth like all those kids in the front row of American Idol are doing to every song. Side three ends with another classic “Ten Years Gone.” One thing I will say there are not too many other bands that switch gears mid stream, start another groove within the song like Zep can do. This song is a perfect example of that.

Then it’s on to my favorite side of the album- side 4. It kicks off with “Night Flight”- “I received a message from my brother…” Again you have to listen to this LOUD!!! This is a family sing a long song. I would love to have millions of people listening to this song at the same time. It puts such a smile on my face when I hear this song- I get so psyched. Keeping the loud theme, it strolls right into “The Wanton Song”- Bonham’s skills shine brightly here. OK track’s #3 and #4 on side four are without a doubt my favorite Led Zeppelin songs EVER!! Now for most Zeppelin fans these songs probably don’t crack their top 10 favorite Zep songs, OK their top 50 favorite songs but that’s what is great about music- you can pick your favorite. “Boogie With Stu” starts off with such a cool groove with the piano and the drumming is spectacular. And Plant’s voice is spot on. Talk about being on a cloud? I am dancing right now as I listen and type. I am also “air-piano-ing.” Track 4 “Black Country Woman” could be the coolest song Zep ever made. “What’s the matter with you mama?” I love when the drums kick in and really ignite the tune. These two songs were my mother’s favorite as well. Whenever I would be in my room, as a teenager, with the door closed listening for hours to my music, she would always open the door for these two songs. I can see her now sitting at the dining room table shaking her head to the beat of Country Woman and squinting her eyes as she tried to emulate Plant’s vocals. I would have to play these two songs over and over for her as we both sat there and sung and danced our way through these tunes. I will never grow tired to listening to these songs. The classic disc ends with the blues/rockin’ “Sick Again.”

Now as I mentioned at the beginning you don’t have to like Led Zeppelin (I find it hard to believe that there are not at least a few songs that you could like but…) but you cannot dispute their place in music history. They are right up there as one of the greatest bands ever and their music is so diverse that you can’t label them into one category. So if you don’t own Graffiti- give it a shot- you won’t be disappointed. Thanks Gary!!

Back on this day in 2003, Barry White suffered a stroke. Two months later he passed away. Today is Engelbert Humperdinck’s birthday, he is 72. “Please release, let me go… for I don’t love you anymore…”

1 Comment »

  1. thumbs up on physical graffiti. i’m a fan, even tho so many ppl i know talk it down as being their least favorite zep album.

    Comment by Diana — May 5, 2008 @ 10:56 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

