Errols Weekly Music Update.

April 18, 2008

Weekly Update – 04/18/08

The Crue Fest with Motley Crue, Buckcherry, Papa Roach, SIXX: A.M. and Trapt at Jones Beach on Tues. July 8th beginning at 5:00 p.m. Pre-sale tickets on now through fan club and also to Citi card members. 4 ticket limit for pre-sale. General public on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. $35-$99. Massive road trip coming to a ctiy near you.

John Mellencamp at Jones Beach on Thurs. July 10 and PNC Arts Center on Fri. July 11. Tickets on sale Sat. May 3 at 9:00 a.m. $26-$99.

Earth Wind & Fire at Mohegan Sun on Fri. Aug. 1 and Radio City Music Hall on Tues. Aug. 5. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $45 for Mohegan. Pre-sale this morning at 9:00 am for Radio City till 9:00 tonight and password is HELEMENTS. General public on sale tomorrow at 9:00 am. $44-$89.50.

Neil Diamond at the Garden on Tues. & Thurs. Aug. 12 and 14th. Pre-sale starts this Monday at 10:00 am for all American Express cardholders until the following Sunday at 10:00pm. General public on sale Mon. Apr. 28. $55-$120.

Melissa Etheridge at the Borgota in Atlantic City on Fri. July 4. Tickets on sale tomorrow at 10:00 am.

Other items:

Bonnie Raitt will be touring this summer. No Tri State area dates or venues have been announced as of yet. Will keep you posted.

Motley Crue has released their first single off of their upcoming album due to hit in June and it’s “Saints of Los Angeles.” Have to say if you crank this one up, you’ll will like it. Starts off with a nice calm bass line and then you can hear Mick’s guitar almost like the start of Girls, Girls Girls…  After a while you won’t be able to stop singing the chorus… “We are, We are, the Saints.. we signed our life away.” I give it two thumbs up. \m/ \m/

Another blast from the past has emerged this week with a new single of of their upcoming album. “Standing on the Outside” by Dokken will no doubt put a smile on the fans of hard rock/heavy metal sound back in the early ’80’s. If you are a fan of “Under Lock and Key” or “Tooth and Nail”  you will love this song. A definite “windows down..blasting from your car stereo” type of song that will pump anyone up.

New favorite song of the week is from Ace Young and the song is called “Addicted”. Pop music at its best. This will be on the radio non-stop and will be a hit all summer long. A get up and dance song!! Full album to be released in July.

Staying with the pop theme, another song I discovered that I can’t get out my head is “Is This Life” by Delta Goodrem. Check it out- a very good tune. 

CD review: Black Keys “Attack and Release.” Ok I have to admit I was swept up in all the buzz associated with this CD. It was released on April 1st and almost every review I saw was positive, so I purchased the CD. Another admission is that when I put the first song on “All You Ever Wanted”- I almost hit the eject button. But “upon further review” I have to give this album a thumbs up. Black Keys are made up of Dan Auerbach (guitar and vocals) and Patrick Carney (drums). They have been compared to the White Stripes and I’d have to agree. The second song on the disc “IGot Mine” is a  slow blues head banging heavy guitar song that is the classic “garage song.” Track # 3 kicks it up a bit with “Strange Times” a head bopping guitar line with a psychedelic twist to it. Then it slows down a bit with “Psychotic Girl” and to me it sounds like something The Band would do if they were just starting out in 2008. Tracks 5 through 7 are real bluesy and Dan vocals in “Lies” are excellent, full of passion and pain. They also create this “wall of sound” for a band that only has two members and it comes blasting through with Lies. Track 8, “Same Old Thing” has some flute in the beginning and kind of reminds me of Tull or Traffic, I like it. As the CD starts to wind down it gets better and track # 9 – “So He Won’t Break” is the best track in my opinion. Its a finger snappin’ song with a groove that will remind you of the classic R&B you grew up with. (I tell you if they got Amy Whinehouse to sing a duet with them on this song- it would be awesome- not that it isn’t now, as I said this is the best track). The finger snapping continues on “Oceans and Streams” a crisp and tight song that sounds awesome with a set of old headphones that we use to use with our 8-track system. The CD ends with the slow mellow “Things Ain’t Like They Use to Be”- ain’t that the truth and dare I say that this song reminds me of the Beatles, sort of like “Don’t Let Me Down.” Overall a thumbs up and its a throw back in the amount of time an album use to be- a compact 39 minutes.

Classic album review: This week’s I-POD shuffle had me listening to a heavy dose of Queen and my all time favorite Queen album is The Game (circa 1980- ahh life as a teenager). Ok now I know all of you rockers out there are scratching your head on this one because of the disco song “Another One Bites the Dust.” Back then I played the part, stating publicly that I did not like the song and was pissed that Queen would sell out. Privately though I knew this was going to be (and still is) one of my all time favorite albums- period!! Find me a better song than “Dragon Attack”- the bass is grooving and Mercury’s vocals are spot on. About 1:35 seconds into the song you have that drum break and then the bass comes in with Freddie saying “nice and slow” and about 2:50 into the song the background vocals are friggin’ great. I can’t get enough of this song. And the blazing Brian May ends the song with a screeching guitar solo. And then there it is… “Steve walks merrily down the street” OK I admit I like this song. One of the few disco songs I can keep up with the claps. Then its on to the rocking “Need Your Loving Tonight”- this may well be the one song I have listened to more than any other song in my life. “Hit Me”.. then its on the crashing of the cymbals.

I know all you rockers out there are going to point to the Elvis sounding “Crazy Little Thing Called Love”  and say this is the second non-rock song on the album- but you know what I love Elvis and I love this song. Actually, did you know that this song was Queen’s first #1 song in the U.S.? John Deacon’s bass playing is fabulous through out but this song it really stands out. Come on you know you like this song. Then its on to my favorite song of the album, song # 1 on side 2- “Rock It”… “When I hear that rock and roll”.. but then John Taylor- the drummer- takes over the vocals and this song flat out rocks with May’s classic touch on guitar. Hand claps begin track # 2 of side 2 and Deacon’s bass again takes over on “Don’t Try Suicide”- a song that you can not get out of your head. My favorite part is when the piano kicks in and Freddie states “You need help, look at your self..” Track # 3 of side 2 is the beautiful song “Sail Away Sister” where Brian May takes over on vocals. This is a sing along song that the whole family can enjoy. It picks up again with the rocking “Coming Soon”- again just put the old headphones and listen to how the vocals and guitars go to the left ear and then to the right. I love May’s guitar solo on this one, I’m air guitaring now…The album ends with the powerful “Save Me” one of the many songs where you feel Mercury’s passion come pouring through the speakers. What can I say about this album? This is a desert island disc for me, always has been, always will be. If you don’t have this album, please run out and buy it now. If you don’t like it, I’ll refund your money.

A couple of weeks ago, I-Tunes had a cool free song and it was from the band Lady Antebellum and the song was “Love Don’t Live Here” and they have released their self titled album this past Tuesday. Again some real cool country music out there- growing on me daily.

Weezer will be releasing their 6th album on June 17 and it will be self titled. (or the “red” album as the cover is all red). The first single “Pork and Beans” will be released next Tuesday April 22.

I-Tunes has released a Black Crowes CD where the band talks about how they made it in between some new songs recorded just for this CD as well as some of their greatest hits.

I-Tunes has also finally put “The Concert for George” on their system. For those of you who say the DVD concert is boring- what do you know. Still say this is the greatest music DVD ever and now the soundtrack is available tune by tune. Check it out.

Gregg Allman battling Hepatitis C and that is the reason for the postponment of the shows at the Beacon in May.

Back on this day in 1987, MTV premiered the weekly series devoted to heavy metal music and news, “Headbanger’s Ball.” \m/ \m/

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

