Errols Weekly Music Update.

February 29, 2008

Weekly Update – 02/29/08

Ray Davies at the Beacon on Tuesday April 8. Pre-sale tickets today at 10:00 am. till next Friday at 5:00 pm. Password is HEDAVIES.  General public on sale Sat. Mar. 2 at 10:00 am. $59-$99.

Alicia Keys with Jordin Sparks at the Rock and the Garden on Tues. & Wed. June 17 and 18. Tickets on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. $39.50-$129.50.

My Chemical Romance with Taking Back Sunday and Drive By at the Garden on Friday May 9. Pre-sale until tonight at 9:00 p.m. and pass word is HEMCR. General public on sale tomorrow at noon. $26.50 -$37.50.

The Verve at the WAMU Theater inside the Garden on Mon. & Tues. Apr. 28 and 29th. Tickets on sale tomorrow at 11:00.

James Taylor at PNC and Jones Beach on Fri. June 20 and 21st. Pre-sale starts this morning at 10:00 for Citi card holders only until next Sunday at 10:00 p.m. General public on sale is Mon. March 3 at 10:00 a.m. $20-$70.75.

Other items:

Concert Review: Steve Winwood and Eric Clapton at the Garden in Thursday Feb. 28, 2008. A warm feeling on a cold winter’s night. It truly was blind faith that brought 18,000 fans to the Garden last night to witness one of the most historic nights in music. If you were in attendance to any one of the three shows this week at the Garden, you will be able to tell your grandchildren “I was there the night that blind faith blew me away.” Being the sentimental guy that I am, I have to tell you the best part of the night for me was to see Clapton and Winwood embrace each other at the end of the show. Two musical giants, showing a genuine respect for each other. Again I am at a loss for words but I will attempt to tell you how great the show was. I will say that I have seen Clapton more than a few times but last night was the best he ever was. Blistering guitar solos one after the other. His bluesy, rhythmic and lead work was something that will have people talking for years about this past week shows. His vocals were spot on as well. My theory on why he was so good last night- Mr. Steve Winwood.

Why do I say this? Well, I’ll go back to sports again, my feeling my whole life is that you play up to your competition (as well as down), meaning if you are playing with or against somebody good- you will play better. It’s an instinct. Steve Winwood is an amazing musician and does not get all the accolades that Mr. Clapton does, but you know what, he can more than hold his own. I’m talking guitar playing here, as many just think of Winwood as a keyboardist. Clapton had to be beyond his game in my mind because he knew what Winwood was bringing to the table. I am not saying that there was a competition between them because you could see they enjoyed being on the stage with each other. Again just my theory.

Winwood’s vocals are just like they are on any of his Traffic albums or solo efforts. Unbelievable is what comes to mind. He did a wonderful job with a cover of Ray Charles’ “Georgia on my Mind.” A favorite part of the show for me was when they would both sing together, their harmony was sensational.

The night started off for Chris, Tricia and I thinking we were going to have bad seats because we were all the way up in the nose bleed seats in section 403. But we had the first row and the seats turned out to be very good. The stage setup was very basic, couple of amps and small drum set. There was a “hippie” type circular rug that Clapton was standing on most of the night. There was a “TV like” screen that was huge with HD quality shots of all the band members, high above the band to the left. Over their heads were rectangular lights that changed colors throughout the night, almost like the space ship from Close Encounters of the Third Kind. Show started off with “Had To Cry Today” off of the only Blind Faith album and it was spot on in every aspect. The next song was “Low Down,” a song that I was not familiar with but rocked. The fourth song in was a song dedicated to Buddy Miles, drummer for the Jimi Hendrix band who just passed away this past Tuesday at the age of 60, “Them Changes.” Then the song that I had been waiting for and never thought I would get to hear live- “Presence of the Lord” a song that Chris turned me onto more than a few years ago at his Spin class. At that point, if the show had ended right there, I would have been satisfied. Then they went into Traffic’s “Glad” with Clapton showcasing his talents and then went right into “Well All right.” The highlights of the show for me were “Pearly Queen,” “Tell the Truth” “Cocaine” and of course- the ever popular “Dear Mr. Fantasy”-which was the encore. During Cocaine, Winwood had a terrific guitar solo. There were bluesy songs throughout the night that had me just bopping and weaving my head up and down like I was on a cloud, at one point when they were performing Hendrix’s “Voodoo Chile” I found myself not wanting the show to end. The quality of the music was so great that I wish all of you could have been there. If I had my way, I would force everyone to see these guys. It was great to see all the white and gray haired guys air guitaring through out the Garden.  For those of you who didn’t see it, I’m saddened, but take notice- there is a new DVD featuring Clapton and Winwood at a music festival last year in Chicago. Or maybe there will be a DVD out on the Garden shows down the line. (there was camera men filming the whole show). Again, simply a phenomenal show and definitely cracks my top 5 shows of all time.                  

Think about this for a second, Clapton and Winwood haven’t played in nearly 40 years, have not put out any new material (although Clapton is on one of Winwood’s new song- but you know what I’m talking about) in the same time period and yet SOLD OUT the Garden for three nights this week. Now that is blind faith.

Steve Winwood’s “Nine Lives” CD slated for release through Columbia on April 29 featuring the single with Clapton (mentioned above) “Dirty City” which hit the airwaves this past Monday.

The new Black Crowes “Warpaint” album received 3.5 stars this week from Rolling Stone magazine. The magazine “Maxim” issued an apology to the Crowes after giving a mediocre review but the author never listened to the album. The Crowes are still furious.

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame has announced who will be delivering the induction speeches at this year’s ceremony. Justin Timberlake will be doing the honors for Madonna. Lou Reed will be inducting Leonard Cohen, Billy Joel will do the honors for John Mellencamp, John Fogerty will sing the praises of The Ventures, and Ben Harper will give the speech for Little Walter. Actor Tom Hanks has been tapped to induct The Dave Clark Five. Ceremony takes place on March 10.

Back on this date in 1968, Aretha Franklin won her first Grammy with the hit “Respect”

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

