Errols Weekly Music Update.

January 28, 2011

Weekly Update – 01/28/2011

Rod Stewart and Stevie Nicks at Madison Square Garden on Wed. Apr. 6. If you have an American Express card you can purchase pre-sale tickets up until 10:00 tonight. General public tickets on sale tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. $67.75 and $174.15.

Janet Jackson at Radio City Music Hall on Mon. Mar. 21. Tickets on sale this morning at 11:00 a.m. $73.35 – $274.50 ($275 for one ticket? Are you kidding me? The world has gone mad).

Chris Cornell at the Wellmont Theater on Sat. Apr. 16. Tickets on sale today at noon. $40. Also appearing at the Town Hall (he has added another date as Apr. 12 is completely sold out) on Wed. Apr. 13. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $35, $45, $55, $60 and $65.

Drive By Truckers at the Bowery Ballroom on Tues. Feb. 15. Tickets on sale now. $25

Katy Perry at Nassau Coliseum and Prudential Center on Fri. & Sun. June 17 & 19. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. Nassau: $58.65 and $68.50; Prudential:$56.90 and $68.25

Twisted Sister at the Best Buy Theater on Fri. Apr. 29. Tickets on sale today at noon. $45

Meatloaf at Irving Plaza on Wed. Feb. 23. Tickets on sale this morning at 11:00 a.m. $89.75 (again the regular price is $75-which is ridiculous-but then Ticketmaster and Live Nation add another $15 for fees-again the world has gone mad).

Three Days Grace at the Starland Ballroom on Thurs. Apr. 14. Tickets on sale tomorrow at noon. $29.50

The Script at Rumsey Playfield in Central Park on Sat. June 4. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $47.35

Echo & The Bunnymen at Irving Plaza on Fri. May 13. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $52

Boyz II Men at the BB Kings on Thurs. Mar. 10. Tickets on sale today at 2:00 p.m. $39.50 ($45 day of show).

Sick Puppies at the Gramercy Theater on Thurs. Mar. 24. Tickets on sale this morning at 10:00 a.m. $33.25

Other items:

Thoughts and prayers go out to family and friends of Gladys Horton, the powerful soul singer who co-founded “The Marvelettes” who passed away at the age of 66. The Marvelettes had huge hits in the 1960’s with “Please Mr. Postman,” “Playboy” and “Don’t Mess With Bill.” The band had their share of controversy and “tragedies” and Gladys left the group in 1967 to get married. She devoted herself to taking care of her handicapped child and mostly stayed out of the spotlight, returning once in a while to perform. Eventually the Marvelettes went on in name only as all the original members were replaced. Rest in peace Gladys.

Did you see American Idol on Wednesday night? They were in Milwaukee and I have to say there was some pretty decent talent. Now it’s early but I already know that I am going to like Steven Tyler as a judge-everyone knows that he has “the music in him” and he has an ear for good vocals, so from that vantage point-how can American Idol go wrong with him as a judge? He has been pretty funny (but has to watch his “salty” language) and has not really “passed” anyone on through that did not deserve to go to “Hollywood.” (Ok maybe that young girl who idolized him and actually dared to sing parts of “Dream On” but it was Randy who was pressured into the vote and maybe Miss Teen Tennessee-on Thursday night). The last person who auditioned was Chris Medina and folks if you did not see this, you need to go online and look for this piece. He was engaged to his long time girlfriend and she suffered a severe brain injury from a car accident. When he said that he would not leave her and would not give up his engagement, I have to admit I had a lump in my throat and was close to tearing up. Then he flat out nailed the Script’s “Break Even” and I was blown away on how good he sounded. Then the tears started to flow as he brought out his bride to be to meet the judges and I have to say that I watched Steven Tyler and he was so genuine to her & her family. Wow talk about tugging at the heart. It will be interesting to see how far Chris will go in the competition.

This week’s Rolling Stone magazine has a very interesting interview with Lil Wayne. He spent over 250 days at Rikers Island after his tour bus was stopped in NY and a weapon was found. It’s amazing how much money this man has made already and he should be at the top of the rap world for years to come.

Ozzy is reportedly going to be in a commercial with Justin Bieber during the Superbowl. Best Buy has hired the both of them to do a “futuristic” scene with both wearing black jumpsuits. On another note, Ozzy has stated that he would love to do a new Black Sabbath album with the four original members “before he dies.” Apparently Geezer Butler is not totally against it. (At least they are talking). Who knows there maybe another reunion tour and album.

Apparently Slash is not the only one who doesn’t want their music being spotlighted on the show “Glee.” The Kings of Leon have also said a “thumbs down” to the producers, and the producer of the show snapped back and stated that the band could have be brought to a younger audience. Members of King of Leon have also stated that they have never seen the show.

Kiss is supposedly going to release a new album by the end of 2011. Pretty quick turnaround this time after “Sonic Boom” was released in 2009. If they sell it in Walmart again, the workers better be dressed up in their face paint as I do not want another let down when this album is released. I want theatrics, workers walking around dressed like Kiss and the surround sound to be Kiss all day long.

Rumor of the Week: A two month tour during the summer featuring Def Leppard, Heart & Kansas. My first date with my bride was a Def Leppard concert and she loves Heart and I would love to see Kansas perform “Point of Know Return” in its entirety. Now that is a show I definitely would be up for. How about you?

Fans of the Grateful Dead, coming this fall will be a 60 CD release featuring 22 shows that were performed on their 1972 “Europe” Tour, which producers and band members consider to be one of the top three tours they ever had. It features singer-organist Ron “Pigpen” McKernan who passed away the following year.

Robbie Robertson will release his first disc in thirteen years when “How to Become Clairvoyant” hits the book stores (hey it is actually the first place I now think of that sells CDs, you see what it has come to?) in April. He gets some help from Clapton, Winwood, Tom Morello and Robert Randolph-that is a pretty diverse and talented help, should be interesting.

My favorite “hard rock” song this week is “Money Made” by AC/DC from their last album-“Black Ice”-this came up on my I-pod shuffle and I was wondering who it was because the groove was so cool and once the vocals came on I knew who it was. Maybe this was a sign to do my favorite top ten songs from AC/DC with Brian Johnson at the helm. I think this just might land in the top ten. Love this tune.

My favorite “rap” song of the week is “So What ‘Cha Want” by The Beastie Boys. I friggin’ love this song-the beat is too much to take. Two quick stories with this song-1) I threw this on a CD for Spin class and remember turning my saturated hat sideways and backwards when this song came on and remember Chris, the instructor laughing-totally cool song to Spin to. 2) My youngest son performed this song on “Rock Band” and completely nailed the vocals and as I watched him I got chills down the back of my spine. I will never forget either moment.

Nuggets

Show & Tell

 

Sometimes I come across bands/artists just by chance and love the music that is made by them but then for some reason the band seems to disappear into oblivion (or maybe it’s that I just didn’t pay close enough attention?) and I don’t ever see (or hear) from them again. This used to happen a lot with the hair bands in the 1980’s (think “Tora Tora”- I know-“who?”) but once Nirvana came in and cleared the music fields during the 1990’s, there was an opportunity to stand out with some good time rock and roll-which brings me to a band called “Silvertide.” Now of course I heard them on the only radio station in America that would play cool songs from a band like this and that was WCCC (106.9 on your FM dial) out of Hartford CT. The first time I heard-“Devil’s Daughter”- I was blown away. This band was a fusion of the Black Crowes (think “Shake Your Money Maker” and not the later Crowes), Jet (before Jet was Jet), AC/DC and the Rolling Stones with a Guns & Roses edge to their sound that was like a Mike Tyson left hook. Their guitar hooks and riffs were raw and bursting with energy that I had not heard in a long time (hey I love grunge but after a while you need a shot of adrenaline and this was the band to give it to you). Really their songs from “Show and Tell” sound like it was recorded last night, that’s how great their sound is (was). But then-“poof”- just like that I never heard from them, about them and I am left wondering-“what if?”

Now like I said maybe I don’t what happened to this band and if you know something, point me in the right direction but more than a few times I have scoured the internet or looked in CD stores (Ok, book stores you got me) or I-Tunes and I see very little information-again it’s like they disappeared into thin air. I am not sure if “Show and Tell” was their debut but from the sound of this album it sounds like something that a band that is really trying to make it and land a recording contract because this is flat-out rock and roll with a rough edge that makes you stand up and pay attention. Anyway, folks this album is like finding change at the bottom of a pay phone (if you old enough to remember) or walking up to an arcade and when you go to put your quarters in you realize that there are “credits” already in that pinball game so you now have a free game. Or if you are lucky when you find a $10 or $20 bill and realize that the bill has been there for some time and wasn’t from someone in front of you who may have just dropped it-that rush of a good feeling. This good feeling lasts for the entire album but admittedly there are one or two songs that I may skip over but overall this is a solid album. But on the flip side, it is lie eating cotton candy because it is sweet and tasty at the moment but not filling in the sense that there is no more after this awesome album and you are left with sticky hands and face looking for more but it does not happen. How can an album be this good and no follow up? I’m at a loss for words but these songs are my nuggets of the week, in no particular order:

Devil’s Daughter – Like I said the first time I heard this song it sounded like a band that I knew already- was it the Black Crowes going back to being a rock band again? But the vocalist is not like Chris, he sounds like him but it is not. Is it Guns & Roses minus Axl but with Slash, Duff and Matt with a new singer? This was like a “throw-back” song amongst the overflowing grunge music that many of us rock and roll fans were scouring for, we didn’t know how much we missed upbeat rock and roll until we heard this pure raucous sound. I immediately had to have it, I ran out and purchased the CD after I heard the DJ say the bands’ name after the song (don’t you hate when the radio stations don’t tell you the artist and the song?). Folks there is no other way to listen to this song (and album) but LOUD. The guitar riffs along with the drumming will make the hairs on your arm stand up-that’s how good this is. (Now be aware about the “saucy” lyrics and throughout the album there are multiple “F” bombs). They take a page out of AC/DC when the song ends there is a lot of screaming and clapping-totally reminds one of Bon Scott.

S.F.C. – Now you know I like to keep this a family page and am not a big fan of “cussing” on songs so this song has an immediate disclaimer on it-keep away from the “youngin’s” ears. This song’s title has the “F” bomb in it and normally I would not suggest songs like this but if you are an adult and can handle it, I say go for it because for me it is all about the music. The groove in this song is so righteous and the guitar solo in the middle of the song gets me so psyched up that I immediately hit the rewind button and have to hear this track over again. With this track I thought Guns & Roses were resurrected and had gone back to that dirty, raw sound (instead of mammoth productions like “November Rain”) and for some reason I want to put on boxing gloves and do that “kick boxing” class because this song will rock those gloves off as you will go wild especially when you air-guitar to the massive guitar solo. Whew…this is good stuff right here folks.

Mary Jane – Take a listen to the beginning of this song and tell me this doesn’t “pump you up?” I have to hit the volume button to its highest level-for the first 30 seconds or so the guitar riffs along with the pounding drums will immediately have you wanting to become a rock star. Why can’t I be a rock star? If I were going to have my first concert in front of 18,000 or so screaming fans at Madison Square Garden I think I would want to kick off the show with this song. Now again the “F” bomb is prevalent throughout so I understand if you want to skip over it but the musicianship is such that I would be running all over the stage trying to perform the old Diamond Dave jumps and splits while banging my head up and down feverishly to this jammin’ song. I’m loving the guitar solo again as I feel like I am being lifted off the ground-friggin’ awesome. But again not for the kiddies as the “F” bomb is used extensively throughout.

Ain’t Coming Home “…Uh One, Two here we go…” and away we go as this first song on the disc knocks your socks off and you instantly know that this is something special here and you can’t wait for the rest of the album. (Really what happened to this band? This is so good, how can they not be together?) You can feel the “AC/DC like” guitar riffs and the raw energy bleeding through your speakers and when the guitar solo hits you could really picture Angus playing this with the same fervor that this guitarist does. And the background vocals are reminiscent of Van Halen when Michael Anthony was providing the bulk of those singing parts behind both Diamond Dave and the Red Rocker. This song rocks!! \m/ \m/

California Rain – “..Uhh One, Two Three…” I think this is the most “melodic” song on “Show & Tell” as the groove is a “mature” rock and roll tune and what I mean by that is the arrangement is something that would come from a band that had been together for a long time and made numerous albums (who knows maybe these guys were together for a long time and chiseled this track to perfection?) Remember those headphones that I said I bought for my younger son for Christmas, well he is not the only one getting use out of those bad boys-this song sounds “most excellent” in my ears right now. There are some female background vocals for this time, a la Kid Rock and/or the Black Crowes. Nice touch!!

You Want It All – This song will rip you to shreds as you will feel like doing a Braylon Edwards backward flip (I know…they blew it) with a guitar in your hands as the drumming in this song will have you head-banging in no time and when it is time for your guitar solo, everyone will be doing the “Wayne’s World-We Are Not Worthy” bow as the crowd will wonder-“what happened to this band?” Ok that really is my question. I’m not sure what record company signed these guys but if I were in charge I would put out a “wanted” poster for Silvertide. “You want it all…you only live once…so baby come on!!!” Folks this album is a hidden treasure-do yourself a favor and find it!!!

Artists You Are Scared To Admit You Like

The Definitive Collection

Ok there are certain songs that you sing when you are alone but when you are around other people you make believe that you don’t like it-especially guys-there is a bravado, “machismo” –an image that has to be upheld with no exceptions made, right? Well here I go again- I love the song “Dancing Queen” by ABBA and oh by the way, some of my all-time favorite songs have been recorded by the band ABBA and I am not afraid to admit it. (Although I have not seen the movie “Mama Mia”). If you were listening to the radio (either AM or FM) during the 1970’s there was a very good chance that there would be an ABBA song coming on that station you had tuned into-actually various different hits from this Swedish based quartet. Whenever I hear this band, it takes me back to those days when I would spend my summers in Otisville N.Y. with my grandparents and uncle. On the car ride up to Otisville from Brooklyn we were bound to hear at least two songs by ABBA within the two hour car ride, then when we shopped in the local supermarkets the radio in the store would be pouring out hits from this talented vocal band. It seemed every where one went during the 1970’s, ABBA was there. You could not avoid them and why would you? Some of their songs have to be considered national treasures and I can guarantee you there is at least one song by ABBA that you like-if you admit it. Now the big question everyone asked last year was-“did ABBA deserve to get into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame?”-now if the Hall had stayed true to the meaning of “rock and roll,” then the answer is obviously a resounding-“No.” But as we all have seen, the Hall has expanded their arms and have welcomed in genres that have not been “rock and roll” which has included “pop.” (see Madonna). So with that factoid, then “Yes” – ABBA fully deserved to enter the prestigious Hall.

For me personally, like I mentioned, ABBA takes me back to my childhood days when things for me were so carefree but ABBA will forever make me remind me of my oldest son because at his eighth grade graduation, his class sang the song-“I Had a Dream”- and every time I hear that song I tear up because I think of when he was born and now he is almost in college. (What is going on? Why is time going so fast?). Now this coming June my younger son is graduating the eighth grade, so I will feel the same way and we’ll see what band/artist and song will win out. But as for ABBA I say thank you to this band for making some of the greatest songs in the history of music and their music will last for generations to come. Here are some of my favorite songs, in no particular order, from this fantastic band:

Waterloo”- If I had a vote, I would cast this song as one of the best songs for the decade of the 1970’s and in my opinion it would have to land in the…let’s say…the top 25 songs of the that decade (Ok should I say “pop” songs as I know there were some of the greatest rock and roll/metal/hard rock etc.- take a deep breath and come back). Now this song will forever remind me of my grandmother-we called her “Ma”- and I can picture her making “Norweigan” pancakes (I know the band is Swedish but can’t we all get along?) while I probably put WABC radio on and this song came on. The arrangement is spectacular and I love the saxophone throughout the background. (I used to play the Alto saxophone and have always regretted not staying with it). It has the obligatory hand claps and you know how I feel about those, right? If it moves you, it has to be good and one can not help but clap, sing or dance to this phenomenal song. Could be my most favorite ABBA song. “I feel like I win when I lose…Waterloo…Wa Wa Wa Waterloo…”

Take a Chance on Me” – For some reason whenever I create a party list or when I have people over to the house and have background music on, this song always seems to start it off. I am so drawn to this song and I think it is the background vocals as they are constantly singing “take a chance…take a chance…take a chance…” (Next time you listen just focus on that part and you’ll see what I am talking about-it drives my oldest son crazy that I always do this with songs). How can you not sing along to this song? I find it virtually impossible to not like this song because there is nothing really not to like. I love the “breakout” vocal solos when one of the girls blurt out-“…cause you know I’ve got…so much that I wanna do…” and the psychedelic keyboard work-again focus on that, totally cool.

Does Your Mother Know” – Between the years of 2002 through mid 2005, I belonged to a “crew”- yes a crew of gym rats that alternated every other day starting with Spin class on Monday’s, then Boot Camp on Tuesday’s. This all occurred at the gym at MBIA. Being a music freak, I became obsessed with creating cool play lists for both classes and the instructors were nice enough to play them (even though for them it probably became annoying) and I thank them for that. For the most part I think most everyone enjoyed the lists. Anyway, as you can probably guess I introduced them to a “heavy” set of songs (think Metallica, Linkin’ Park, Foo Fighters…) and when I started doing songs for Spin, I knew I had to mix it up and I remember scrolling through ABBA’s catalog and came across this song. To my surprise, this tune had some giddy-up (not full blown “sprint”) but could be used for warm-up or the beginning of the set. I don’t know if you feel better when you work out but I usually did and for some reason songs became better when you are going all out. I will always remember this song as a Spin song, love it. (Listen carefully to the background vocals-awesome).

I Have a Dream”- For the rest of my life I will forever have this song to treasure as the tears well up when I think back to the day my son graduated from the 8th grade and left his elementary school. Their class sang this song to perfection with style and grace. Love the beginning when she sings-“I have a dream…a song to sing…to help me cope…” then later on “…I believe in angels…something good in every thing I see…” As the background vocals fill in, it again reminds me of my sons’ entire class joining in behind the lead soloist and at that moment I felt like I was being lifted off the ground. Folks this is arguably their best song, in my opinion-you can’t go wrong with this tune.

The Name of the Game” – Talk about a cool groove? This is ABBA with an edge, not a sharp edge but maybe like a plastic butter knife. I love the trumpet (or other horn instrument) that quietly adds the spice to this song in the background. The track is so infectious that you will find yourself looking towards the sky as you hold your heart and sing “What’s the name of the game…can you feel it the way I do?..” Or how about the “doo doo” background vocals? You know you can’t stop singing that part. “I wanna know oh yes I wanna know…what’s the name of the game…does it mean anything to you?…what’s the name of the game?” And just like that the song is over-four minutes over in a flash.

Dancing Queen” – Ok I know this is their most popular song, right? Who hasn’t heard this song? Anyone? I’d argue besides a Michael Jackson song, this ABBA song is probably known by more people around the globe than any other artists’ song. (I can’t think one right away, can you?). This is a “fan favorite” at every wedding or special event because it takes you to back to a happy time, a memorable time or it creates an all out karaoke event as everyone sings-“you are the dancing queen…young and sweet only 17…” This also could be the greatest sing along song ever created. Love the piano parts throughout as well as the violin parts. This also lands in the top 25 songs (“pop”) during the decade of the 1970’s.

Fernando” –I think the chorus is one of the best that ABBA created-“there was this song all day and night. “If I had to do the same again, I would my friend” and I say to you my friends-this song is mesmerizing and deserves to be in you music library. Let’s all sing-“there was something in the air that night…”- I can’t get enough, love it!!!

Top Ten

Image of Bee Gees

This week’s I-Pod shuffle landed on “Too Much Heaven” by The Bee Gees and I immediately said that I need to this week’s “Top Ten” on this unbelievably talented three-some, who’s singing voices combined together created, arguably, the greatest harmonies in the history of music. Words cannot even begin to describe how much I love the Bee Gees music (no they are NOT in the category of “artists that you are scared to admit you like”) and yes even the “disco” years. As you all know by now, I was the teenager who lambasted against disco but as I grew older and wiser (the guys I have coffee with every Sunday morning-our own “Men of a Certain Age”-still say I have not grown up-which is a good sign to me) I recognized the greatness in many disco songs and have to say that my favorite disco songs have always been by the Bee Gees. Yes I liked it back then but could never admit that, I had an image to uphold. Anyways, these three brothers (sadly, Maurice, passed away unexpectedly in 2003) have created some of the most recognizable songs and the “proof is in the pudding”-they have sold in excess of 205 million records and singles worldwide; over 2,500 artists have re-recorded their songs (with “How Deep is Your Love” being covered the most as 400 artists have recorded that song); they are 6th on the all time list of albums, records and singles sold in the history of music and were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1997. They had “two” careers (as some other bands have had-Aerosmith first comes to mind) with their first being in the mid to late 1960’s with all those sensational heart breaking songs-songs that had so much meaning-songs that one could not ignore and every one had to sing along to because it was impossible to not sing along. (Think- “To Love Somebody”- and tell me you haven’t sung out loud- “you don’t know what it’s like…baby you don’t know what’s it like…to love somebody…to love somebody…the way I love you…”…. Or how about “Lonely Days”–“Good Morning Mr. Sunshine…you’ve brightened up my day…come sit besides me…” Totally awe- inspiring).

Then in the 1970’s-thanks to the great “Saturday Night Fever” movie (filmed in the greatest borough ever-Brooklyn) they wrote and performed some of their biggest hits which catapulted them to another level of fame-which will forever have them at that level in my opinion. Folks, stop a minute and think about that album (or soundtrack) and what it did for their career-or to put it another way-think of what they did to make that album as big as it is. It really is mind boggling. As I sit here and listen to their library of songs, this is nearly impossible to pick just ten songs-their work is so extensive, spanning over 40 years. I think every “hit” song they had in the 1960’s are my favorite. I know that I stated that trying to come up with the Mighty Led Zeppelin’s top ten songs (yes Ok I know I said the same about Tesla, Shinedown, Beatles, etc.) was the hardest since I started doing these “top ten” lists but I have to be honest and say that naming the top ten Bee Gees songs has been just as hard as the Mighty Led Zeppelin (I know I still haven’t done my favorite Metallica songs-maybe I have purposely avoided that task without knowing it-just thinking about it, I run away). My wife says that the “early” Bee Gee songs are too sad for her and I have to admit on many of their early songs I tear up because they do tug on one’s heart strings. (Think “Words”). Once I get into a “Bee Gee’s” trip, I can’t stop listening because those songs make you think of your life and of course there are happy moments, along with the tough moments. For me the tough moment was my mother’s passing and when I hear songs like “Words” for whatever reason I think of her and the tears start flowing. And you might ask-why listen? And sometimes I ask myself the same question but the song(s) is (are) so beautiful to ignore and I try to sing like the record –“It’s only words and words all I have to take your heart away…”-and when I am in that zone-I consider them the best vocalists of all time.

But here I am, stuck on an island and informed that I can only have ten songs by the legendary band called The Bee Gees (by the way Steven Spielberg is making a movie about their lives and yes Barry and Robin are involved-they may have to use the original recordings because who can match Barry’s falsetto’s?). Folks try and do this and see what would make your list. Here goes mine: (Now for those of you following along-like my oldest son- two years ago I put down that my favorite Bee gee song was “I’ve Gotta Get a Message To You” but fast forward two years it is not the number one song, so like everyone else, tastes change, right?)

10.     Night Fever – This song barely beat out “New York Mining Disaster 1941”as my number 10, it was neck and neck but I have to be honest with myself and say that if I am on an island, I could quickly sing “New York Mining” but then start off with this classic from Saturday Night Fever. “Here I am…waiting for this moment to dance…” I always wanted to dance like John Travolta (who didn’t?) but of course couldn’t like this because it was disco-I loved the movie because it was based in Brooklyn and “Tony” was all about Brooklyn. I always loved the music from the soundtrack but kept it a secret from my “rock” brethren. I wish I could dance…

9.     I’ve Gotta Get a Message to You – This song has fallen from the ranks but still lands in the top ten. It is a story of a man who is awaiting his execution in an electric chair and has to get a message to his wife. He begs the jail’s chaplain to deliver the message. Again the vocals are spectacular and of course that is the draw and knowing what the words mean, it has to hit your heart. Passion is the word of the day folks when it comes to this song-they sing it like they mean it.

8.     You Should Be Dancing – The first thing I do when I hear this song is take my two fists and twirl them around each other in a circle, then raise it to the left, the middle and the right while trying to move my legs like “Tony” but it doesn’t work, hey I can dream, right?!! This song has to move you, it is impossible to sit still when you hear it and you really “should be dancing.” Don’t cha just love the “yeahhhhh…yeahhh” When the bongos and other percussion enter in towards the end of the song it makes it that much better. This is a world wide classic-how many times have you heard it at a party?

7.     How Can You Mend a Broken Heart – For some reason I just picture a bunch of people in a pub somewhere in England sitting at the bar, holding the mugs while swinging them back and forth singing-“I could never see tomorrow…but I was never told… about the sorrow”. How beautiful is this song? “How can you stop the sun from shining?…what makes the world go round?” This is such a great song to sing along to and I sway from side to side (like those folks in the front row of American Idol) and drift away to another place. The age old question- “How can you mend a broken heart?”-that never really gets answered, right? I love the “la la’s” towards the end of the song.

6.     To Love Somebody – I can see an argument made that this could be their best song ever. The groove in this song is so outstanding; I wish I could have written it. There are so many great parts to the song and put it all together and again this could be their best song ever. I love the “cello” part that follows along after he sings-“That never shone on me…” Or the part-“I’m a man…can’t you see what I am? I live and I breathe for you…” Talk about passion? Find me passion than-“I live and I breathe for you…” Phenomenal song.

5.     Lonely Days–Mesmerizing is the word that quickly comes to mind once the song starts, I can’t move, I don’t want to move because I don’t want to miss any part of this tune. This is a national treasure for the entire world to experience. Love the hand claps before they sing-“lonely days…lonely nights…where would I be without my woman?..” I also love the trumpet part that blares out the emphasis but then it quickly becomes light again as we all say “good morning to Mr. Sunshine…” And then it happens again you wait for that piano part that takes it back up as the trumpet returns-“lonely days…lonely nights…” As the orchestration fills in at the end, it kind of reminds me of a Beatle production. Masterpiece.

4.     Staying Alive –Ok if this song doesn’t define Brooklyn N.Y. then I don’t know what does. If you look up the word “Brooklyn” in the dictionary, somehow “staying alive” has to appear in the meaning. It is so weird because even though the Bee Gees are singing this awesome tune, the only thing I can picture is the Brooklyn born “Tony Manero” (I know Travolta was born in New Jersey but we won’t hold that against him) walking underneath the “L” train that trails through Bensonhurst, Brooklyn. C’mon folks this could arguably be the greatest disco song ever recorded-how many times have you been at a wedding and the DJ throws this song on and everyone gets up out of their seat doing their own interpretations of Mr. Travolta? I know when I go to work and I have my headphones on and if this song comes on the “shuffle” there definitely an extra bounce in my step as I head to the dreaded #4 train at Grand Central. Songs like this make the commute bearable.

3.     Don’t Forget to Remember– Talk about a sad song, wow. If you have someone in your life that has left you-don’t listen to this song as the pain of losing someone cries through this tune. I love this song and love to sing along to it because it is so melodic. (almost “country like” at certain points). It is one of the fastest three minute songs for me as it is over before I know it. “Don’t forget to remember me…and the love that used to be…” The lines-“but I can’t get myself over you”- hits home a little in a different context when I think of my mother. This is a simply amazing song.

2.     Words – From the opening piano note I am fully entranced and close my eyes while Barry takes over-“This world has lost its glory…let’s start a brand new story..now my love..” I am clutching my hands over my left part of my chest as I grab my heart and sing “it’s only words…and words are all I have…to take your heart away…”The poignant lyrics-“And I will give all my life…I’m here if you should call to me…”-makes me think of my mother again as I would do that for her as well as my wife and my sons. This fills my heart with love, I can’t get enough of this song. Beautiful. ‘Nuff said.

1.     How Deep is Your Love For the last few years, every time this song came on my I-pod shuffle I found myself liking it more and more. Their background vocal harmonization could be the best that has ever been recorded in the history of music. The song is so soothing, so relaxing and the arrangement is beyond spectacular and again the lyrics are filled with so much passion. This past weekend, we played a family game of “Scrabble” and I had this song on a playlist and every one of us were singing along word-for-word. Yes, even both of my boys. I think this is their masterpiece and I could listen to this song 24 hours a day. “Haaaaaa…how deep is your love…I really need to learn…”

Trivia Questions

Answers from last week:

1.     Christie McVie

2.     Rob Zombie

3.     Mick Mars (oh..Motley Crue for those of you who don’t know who he is)

4.     Salt N Pepa

This week’s trivia (Random)-

1.     I was part of an up and coming hard rock band during the 1980’s and we used to play at “Lamours” in Brooklyn N.Y. before we exploded into stardom. I sat in front of congress to defend my heavy metal brethren from Tipper Gore. After our fame decreased I became a DJ and then had my own reality show for like 5 episodes. I am currently on Broadway doing a part in the “Rock of Ages” play. Who am I?

2.     I was most popular in the 1970’s and am still going strong today. I was somewhat of a music/political activist with “No More Nukes”- do you remember that? I have written so many songs and co-wrote one of the Eagles most popular song. I am on my “back-nine” but am not running on empty, who am I?

3.     I have maybe had a relationship with Kid Rock and we have made more than a few songs together. I dabble in Country, Rock and my latest album was my tribute to “R&B.” I am a cancer survivor and have a great frend from “Friends.” Who am I?

4.     I have been playing guitar and singing now for at least four decades. I came into a popular band in the 1970’s from a recommendation by my good friend-“JY”- and catapulted them to stardom. During the “hair-band” era I jumped ship and formed a band with a gun toting activist (who didn’t fit the image as a hair-band member) and we did a few albums. I went back to my original band and we had a 2010 fall tour where we played two of our most popular albums in their entirety. Who am I?

Name That Tune

Answers from last week:

1.     Red Barchetta – Rush

2.     I’ve Gotta Be Me – Sammy Davis Jr.

3.     Heavy MetalSammy Hagar

4.     All I Want To Do – Sheryl Crow

Can you guess the title from the following lyrics from part of the song?

1.     “…welcome to your life…there’s no turning back…even while we sleep…we will find you acting on your best behavior…”

2.     “…the ice age is coming…the sun’s of an end…meltdown expected…the wheat is growing thin…”

3.     “…every time I need you say you won’t be there…and you’re always there…every time I cry your name at night…you pull close and say it’s alright…”

4.     “…talking to myself and feeling old…sometimes I’d like to quit…nothing ever seems to fit…hanging around…”

Back on this Day

Sadly back on this day in 2005, Jim Capaldi, drummer for Traffic, past away at the young age of 60 to stomach cancer.

Sadly back on this day in 2009, Billy Powell, keyboardist for Lynyrd Skynyrd, passed away at the young age of 56 from an apparent heart attck.

Back on this day in 1956, Elvis made his television debut on the Dorsey Brothers Stage Show. Jackie Gleason, who was a guest that night, stated that he would never make it.

Back on this day in 1978, The Doobie Brothers made a guest appearance on the show “What’s Happening.” I remember watching it that night, I couldn’t wait to see rock and roll on TV.

Back on this day in 1978, Ted Nugent was approached by a fan who wanted Ted to sign his name on his arm…with a bowie knife…Ted obliged the fan.

Back on this day in 1985, USA for Africa recorded “We Are The World” which included so many different artists. Great event for great cause.

Back on this day in 1997, Pat Boone recorded an album of all covers of heavy metal music. It was bad all the way around for Pat as he lost his show on Christian TV and the metal world still hasn’t recovered from this. This stands second with only Metallica losing out to Jethro Tull as metal’s darkest moments. I haven’t recovered from either.

1 Comment »

  1. Found a little information on Silvertide for you. Apparently the band has broken up but members have formed two new bands. There was also an EP called American Excess that came out before Show & Tell. Here’s the site: http://elfarfulli.blogspot.com/2010/11/silvertide.html

    Enjoy!

    Comment by Joe Genovese — January 28, 2011 @ 11:54 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Silver is the New Black Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

